Montross, VA 
Lake Marshall - The Lair Share
Uploaded By: kachtz Hole #1 (Taken 3/2017)
4 / 531ft.   4 / 531ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fun fair challenging

5+    5/19/2019   5/19/2019
Review By: kachtz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic property!

Variety! Everything from a 190' par 3 to 900' par 5
Most FUN overall layout I have ever played.

Tee signs, directional arrows, and pads are now in place.
There are short tees on the more difficult holes.

There are trash baskets on most holes, no bag holders and some holes do not have a bench yet.
There is a kids/jr course on this property also, so bring the wife and kid and let them do the small course while you enjoy the big courses on the property.

I highly recommend making it out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

awesome

2-4    3/25/2019   3/26/2019
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 23.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Prodigy baskets
Great design - every hole is planned and well designed for modern disc golf
course maps available on site
variety of shots, distances
there are waste baskets place throughout the course.
Porto john available.
it's beautiful out there.
Cons: as this is brand new, and still under construction so to speak,
tee pads are not yet poured, permanent
there are some tricky spots on the trail
Other Thoughts: I've played enough courses to recognize great golf. A lot of the old courses are made for recreation and old school disc chucking. This course is designed and built for modern standards, giving a great golf experience. Most holes have a presentation showing the player where each shot should lie to set up the next shot. This is how a good golf hole is done, and it is beautifully done on this course for a great disc golf experience.

There isn't a bad or uninteresting hole on the course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Work in Progress...still.

1    10/30/2018   10/30/2018
Review By: Bilisent
Played: 74  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2019
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful Property with elevation changes over, across and along creeks and a lake.

Many Tee Boxes have benches, several of those with trash cans which are obviously used, this is one of the cleanest courses I've visited.

A friendly non-player but involved landowner interested in improving the course(s).

Layout requires all your mental focus and most of your shots/disc selection.
Cons: No hole signs/maps.The only hole map on UDisc is NOT accurate to current layout. I'll address this issue further in Other Thoughts.

Course under improvement/repair. While playable, several fairways have been dug on or scraped but still lots of tripping hazards throughout the course. Holes 7 and 9 are getting new (multiple) Tee's. Hole 14 am basket was down. While these are only temporary concerns, there is a long hike from Tee to Basket on 14 and even longer on 15 which also required walking alongside the 16 fairway, a potential problem during tournament play.

Several old hole markers/signs still on course as well as extra baskets (laid over) throughout the course increase the confusion level.

UPDATE: 5/19/19 I have been informed all of these issues have been addressed. Go check it out and post a review!
Other Thoughts: While I am just as much a fan of Free to play courses as the next guy, this type of course ownership/involvement is what it is going to take to elevate the sport. The current fees here are $10 Mon-Fri., $15 Sat./Sun. for the whole day. Compared to movie prices for 2-3 hours, it's fair; compared to Ball Golf Greens fees, it's a deal.

The Landowner/staff are committed to making this a complete Disc Golf destination facility comparable to the PDGA Headquarters Complex near Augusta GA. This (The Lair or West Course) is the Intermediate/Advanced Level course. The Lion will be the Pro level course and The Lamb will be a Beginner/Pitch-n-Putt course.

Addressing the map issue. First, the kiosk does have paper maps of the course, updated as changes are made. Additionally, the Landowner informed me current maps are available in the Files section of their Facebook page, Lake Marshall Disc Golf. That being said, I encouraged him to get a correct UDisc map uploaded.

As an old fat guy, I'd rate this as a moderately strenuous course. There are several climbs into and out of gully's/creek beds; some of which the owner has added steps/stairs to help navigate. While it is possible to use a cart, I would find it more trouble than it was worth for casual play.

I recommend checking out this course whenever you're in the area. I'm looking forward to returning, I believe it could be the next Winthrop Gold, Idlewild, etc. level experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Virginia's next Championship level course

1    9/1/2018   10/1/2018
Review By: CmHover47799
Played: 134  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's on a beautiful piece of private property with great elevation, a variety of shots, well designed, great flow, plays next a lake and it has a 2 basket putting green next to the parking area with markers going from 10ft to 60ft! This course is designed by John Biscoe who also designed Hawk Hollow and if your not familiar with HH then you are missing out! These are Championship level courses that are bucket list courses!!
-2 tees on most of the holes, maybe 1 on the shorter par 3's
-Orange Prodigy baskets on every hole
-private property/pay to play
-carpet tee pads
Cons: Since it is private property there isn't a maintenance/grounds crew working daily. So it would be a good idea to contact the property owner or someone affiliated with the course to get an update on the course condition. Its not quite complete yet. Still needs tee signs and signage for course navigation. There is course maps at the entrance but no maps/signs for each hole.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play this beautiful course at its tip top condition then I highly suggest registering for an event there!!! The crew responsible for this course will be working tirelessly to make sure you experience this course's full potential! This is 1 of 3 courses on this property and will be one of if not the best course in the state!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.