Vadito, NM 
Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 78ft.   3 / 143ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 One of the best

5+    9/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on the ski runs and winds through the mountains; absolute beautiful views. The holes are challenging and require a handful of shots to get you to the basket. This course requires a lot of hiking (might be a con to some...)
Cons: Not too many cons for this course; the woods off the fairways are thick in some spots. Watch your disc or else you could lose it. If you want the course to yourself stay away on Fridays they have doubles. Also on the weekends when there are people camping or having family reunions, holes 2 and 3 are sometimes closed.
Other Thoughts: Absolute beautiful place to play disc. If there are too many people playing here there are a few more courses within a dozen miles which are worth looking into. Enjoy, and if you find a lost disc turn it in, someone will be looking for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great fun factor

1    9/29/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 137  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is quite a different experience from other courses I have played, being set in a ski area and built into the ski slopes. I had high expectations, and I liked it. The long tees weren't a "championship golf" experience like some other top courses I have played, but the fun-factor was excellent.

The tees are rubber, not my preferred type, but they were fine. The course starts off on hole 20, by throwing uphill with a standard hyzer, and then proceeds to hole 1. There are several up and down holes in the front nine of varying lengths, but all were reachable from the long tees. There was a decent balance of right-to-left and left-to-right along with open fairways. Most of the holes were a little more open than I expected, but a few of the shorter holes required some tough lines. The back 9 was more challenging, including one hole I would call a par 4, it was a nice uphill dogleg right. The highlight for me was hole 18, not too often I get a chance to drive it pin high on a 580ft hole. I wanted to empty my bag there but then I thought it might be a lot of work to recover all the discs! I settled for two drives and moved on. Good times! Then hole 19 was another sharp downhill, not long but a fun shot with the creek behind.

I liked the benches made out of old skis!
Cons: Signage was OK but I did have to walk ahead and look for baskets several times, even though the holes were not that long. I think blind baskets should be infrequent in the design on par3 holes, a couple blind holes per 18 is enough.

Another "con" I had (a very minor one) was having to do a few big climbs to get to tees where you throw back down the hill, I think that is a design flaw, should build the climbing into the prior hole whenever possible.

It needs more par 4 holes. There is so much more that could be done on that land.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ragged Glory

5+    5/14/2016   8/16/2011
Review By: nightwing
Played: 166  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2017
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Too many to list. See other reviews.
Cons: See updates below.
Other Thoughts: 'SEE-puh' has been reviewed MANY times. I only add what I hope are useful additions.

New Update for June 2017. The course is now free of spring runoff. There is some debris around the #1 and #19 baskets. Thursday dubs as usual at 5pm, with Saturday singles now at 10am on all non-tournament weekends. Weekends in general are a much better time to hook-up. Try Facebook groups NNMDG or NMDG, as well as the Sipapu site for updates.

The new chairlift is nearly blocking hole #2, which makes for a tough little birdie/ bogie shot. You then either walk down a very steep little 'Hay Cliff', or go right back through the hole #1 green!?! However, that gets you to a new bridge that keeps you off of #3.

The bridge back over the river at #4 is gone, so you walk back beside the #3 fairway and across the #2 green to the new bridge. Keep your heads up through this whole part of the course on crowded days. Meanwhile, #5 and #8 play longer but with more open lanes to the basket.

It is hard to ignore that the entire area around the new chair lift is heavily impacted and pretty ugly to see. Footing can be an issue, especially in the mud, from holes 2 through 8. That said, the time of play and course scores shouldn't go up much. The rest of the course is as beautiful as ever.

New lodgings will probably close some of the lower holes at some point. A new layout is being discussed and with some good planning the course may get back up to '4.5 Phenomenal'. A 5 star 'Best of the Best' is always possible here. Sipapu is ragged for now but always glorious.

Recent update: Early June 2014.
Right now, holes 6 and 7 are pretty bad. A new 'Magic Carpet' ski lift has made a muddy mess. You have to climb over and back on a rather sketchy ladder. And BTW the food is still terrible.

Recent update: Early May 2013.
-Typical early season debris.
-Casual water on 4 is not O.B.

"PERMANENT" NOTES START HERE"
The course is NOT pay to play. You can pay for the scorecard/map if you want. Fly freely if not.

The course is NOT 'just open late spring/summer'.
It's about May 1 until early November or so.

HINTS-TIPS-GETTING AROUND THE COURSE
-There are 3 sets of tee pads on most holes. Some with 2 have Pro Adv. or Adv. Rec on hte sign, indicating a shared tee.
-Look for course directional signs: they are gold and about 10 inchs around.
-Yes it is steep. Bring good shoes/ extra water.
-COURSE STARTS ON HOLE 20!!! and ends after #19. Yes, it's weird but just roll with it.

-The pro tees often go much farther up the grade before throwing (big air shots) back down where you climbed. So to find pro tees on 8, 9, 12, look up to the right. For 17, look up and left in the woods.

-SIPA HAS A LOST AND FOUND!!!! If you find a disc, please turn it in to the Sipapu store.

-The rec tees are VERY easy and really make this a beginner friendly course for anyone who can climb. Discs available in the store.

-Advance tees play like a mostly different course, not just a shorter version of the pro tees.

-The weather is usually great but check for lightning

-Course SEEMS short, but it's really deceptive.
A technical challenge even for versatile players.
If you only know how to bomb it, you bomb.




9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fall Experience!

2-4    10/15/2010   1/25/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome mountain course, pro shop, amazing views and weather (in the fall).

The 2 days we played here, we were pretty much alone on the course. There is lodging right behind the first hole as well as the 3rd hole teepad.

Layout is pretty good, a bit confusing at first but easy once you play it once. There are scorecards and maps available in the lobby.

This course goes up and down the side of a mountain...so you will be in for some awesome views as well as some exercise!

Teepads are all rubber but in good shape.

Some really fun holes with a lot of varying routes/lines. Well balanced. From flat, to crazy uphill, to across the mountain, to DOWN the mountain.

Baskets seemed to be in good condition.
Cons: None that I can think of really.

The course takes a WHILE to complete...but that really isn't a con. Makes for a long, fun round.
Other Thoughts: Prepare to spend about 3-4 hours on this course (first round at least). It went a bit quicker the 2nd time around.

The course isn't open year round because of the ski season, so make sure you go in season.

Pro shop has a pretty good selection actually. Also, they have womens instructional classes (weekly I think).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.