Folsom, CA 
B.T. Collins Park Share
Uploaded By: Knee_Pains Hole #3 (Taken 2/2020)
3 / 139ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great for Learning Uphill Shots

1    10/13/2021   10/13/2021
Review By: Philrmonic66
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great signage
* Astroturf tee-pads
* Has a cool pitch-n-putt course attached
* There are now 18 baskets total.
*A lot of varied shots to make
Cons: * a couple of the short holes are a bit too short, with little technical difficulty
*The walk from 9 to 10 (1), is a bit long and waaayyy down the hill, only to have to climb back up.
* As a guy with not a lot of distance, 16 (Island Hole) is an automatic OB for me. I might as well just jump putt from the drop zone and take bogie 97 out of 100 times.
Other Thoughts: I'm a beginner that has progressed rapidly (I played some Ultimate and a lot of Freestyle in my younger years... I'm older and dumber now), but living in Sacramento, CA, this was the first course that I had to throw a real up-hill shot. I totally felt like I learned a lot about throwing up-hill. I will definitely go back to get that practice in.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun little course

2-4    11/9/2020   11/10/2020
Review By: dmgalloway1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: - Compact course
- Playground halfway through for kids to take a break
- Good use of mandos and a few trees for some shot variety
- Quick play through
- Unique "island shot" hole
Cons: - 9 pads for 18 holes can be problematic if the course is busy
- Would like to see more downhill shots rather than almost all uphill
- Occasional dogs off leash in the area, protect your discs!

 Not A Big Fan Of The Design At B.T Collins Disc Golf Course!

1    1/28/2019   3/3/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1546  Reviewed: 1480  Exp: 43.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: B.T. Collins plays partially under the the cities large, electrical towers. There is is ton of yummy elevation waiting to be used here and I don't think it was used to it's maximum potential. The nine hole course somehow managed to have three holes throwing uphill while only # 6 is a downhill hole and that is just a short touch shot at 169'.

The course has excellent amenities that you see right from the start with a very cool little lost disc return box. There is a kiosk here but it doesn't have much information. There is a practice basket, rules of disc golf sign and a picnic table. The tee signs sized w/map, the preferred route and the next tee. The tee pads are carpet and work well here. There are two baskets for each hole. 1-9 uses the green Prodigy models and 10-18 has you throwing at Discatchers which seem to be a little longer and more challenging. Some wood chips have been spread in places to fight erosion. There is next tee signing pointing you towards # 5 which might be confusing otherwise.

I liked the # 11 Discatcher which was in a well protected tree with lots of branches pointing every which way. # 4 tee pad was well engineered. # 7 was made more interesting with an island circle marked by rocks. This makes an otherwise routine hole more challenging. And I liked the # 9 basket which is set inside one of the towers and finally actually uses one of the towers as an obstacle.

Cons: Who likes throwing uphill? # 1 needs to play up the hill but then why walk down to # 2 so you can throw up the hill again. Why not make the # 2 hole a fun throw down the hill?

One if my pet peeves is tee pads that aren't sitting level. Here, the first pad slants upward with the contour of the land.

I would have liked to see the towers used more. There might be restrictions on placing a basket inside one. I've seen towers with baskets inside them on other courses.
Other Thoughts: BT Collins just didn't get my juices flowing. It was definitely OK but there were as many cons as pros. If I lived close, I'd frequent the course for convenience sake but I'd always be looking for that more exciting experience somewhere else.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun underneath the powerlines

1    11/3/2018   11/3/2018
Review By: MattSav21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets were easy to identify from the tee pads using maps provided at each hole. The fairways were freshly cut so we didn't have to worry about losing any discs in tall grass. Really enjoyed hole #7 with its designated landing zone or island around the basket in a sea of O.B.
Cons: The course has been modified into 18 holes using each Tee Pad twice with different baskets, holes 10-18 were hard to follow, not sure how to play them. it would be nice for them to update the maps to display this.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, will play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 18 hole course

1    10/11/2018   10/13/2018
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 156  Reviewed: 42
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course now plays eighteen. Seven of the nine holes have two baskets. Holes four and five play the same basket on the fist nine and second nine. Same tee pads are used for all eighteen holes. The first nine baskets are all the same lime green color. Holes ten through eighteen, minus holes four and five are yellow. Both baskets are easy to spot.
Cons: Could be a pro or a con-bathroom is an outhouse by basket 6.
Other Thoughts: There is a play structure for kids under big shade trees and picnic benches to enjoy an outdoor meal.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a quick round or two

5+    1/22/2018   2/17/2018
Review By: MikeV
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2018
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great, fast paced course that twists around a playground and some trails.

+ Fun variety of shots from tunnels, elevation, dog legs, and wide open hucks. It's pretty nice that a short 9-hole can have this much variety.
+ Nice wrap around back to the start after 9.
+ Practice basket right before 1's tee pad cleared of brush up to 30ft.
+ Some baskets have alternate locations and they do get switched often to keep it fresh.
+ Nice tee signs with bag hooks
+ Quick play. Me and my wife knocked out all 9 in about 25 minutes before dusk. Definitely a perk.
Cons: - Not much goes into course maintenance. Brought kids with me one time in the fall and had to carry them through some of the spike bush fields. And 7 and 8 can get high weeds which makes you have to search for discs.
- Dirt (loose-ish) tee pads. Doesn't bother much, they work.
- 5 and 6 go by a playground, not close, but close enough that a grip lock could ruin yours and someone else's day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.