Tulsa, OK 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #5
3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A unique kind of fun

1    5/23/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: armiller
Played: 117  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -all the disc golf essentials: tees, adequate signs, good baskets, simple navigation (actually the signs and baskets are updated compared to many of the photos on here)
-decent interaction with a nice park, with front nine going one direction from the parking area, and the back nine the other way; would be a good place to bring family, kids, or new players
-no major safety concerns, though the park layout means errant throws could go either into the street or the jogging path
-it's a pretty unique disc golf experience but done well; holes are fun even if not particularly challenging
Cons: -hole diversity is limited by the type of terrain/trees available and the fact that all 18 are squeezed between the street and a park path
-no particularly long holes, though that's actually good here (I think long holes would increase the chance of hitting park users or cars)
-some of the more fun holes are actually ones where you might hit someone by accident; I had to wait for cars to pass on one hole (front nine, street on left) before hanging a RHFH out over the street; I waited for walkers on the path once or twice just to be safe, though it wasn't a problem on most holes
Other Thoughts: It's a beautiful park along the Arkansas River, and the park is in great shape overall: mowed grass, trash cans & no litter, restrooms, a play area for kids, free parking, safe area, etc. The layout of the park (being long and narrow along the river) makes for a unique round but also limits the type of holes that are available. The first 9 holes go south from the parking lot (street initially on left) before turning around and coming back north (now bordering walking path on left). The back nine goes north before coming back south. Literally only one hole goes east/west, and it's a shorty since the grassy area is only ~200' wide at its widest spot.

I thoroughly enjoyed a quick round here. There were really no negatives to the experience. I imagine during peak hours the parking might be crowded, but I was there at a decently busy weekday afternoon and had no problem. It's the kind of course that a "disc golf rich" area benefits from. You probably wouldn't want to play every round here, but since it's one of many courses in Tulsa, it's a very nice option. It won't challenge your game like Blackhawk or McClure, but it's a very nice relaxing round in a beautiful park that's conveniently located closer to central parts of Tulsa.

Rating: the disc golf itself is closer to a 2.5, but this is a park where the park itself adds value to the course. The designers knew what they had to work with and did a good job without endangering anyone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course for Experts and Beginners alike

5+    7/16/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: discgolfer2l
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play this course on a pretty regular basis. It is a nice course if you are looking for a good mix of longer holes and shorter technical holes. The course is divided into a front and back 9. The Front is to the south, the back is to the north. All the holes have signs with location of pin and distance marked. The tee pads are in good shape and the grass on the course is well maintained. Also, the course runs alongside the Arkansas river so there usually is a nice breeze to help with the hot Oklahoma summers. My favorite part about this course is it really makes me enlist a number of different types of throws. Favorite hole is 7 because it gives you a great chance to let it rip with the right side being wide open. FYI, there is a warm-up tee at the start of this one so that is no longer a problem.
Cons: The course does run right next to a Riverside Dr. which is a relatively busy street. Inexperienced disc golfers and even pros sometimes might land there discs on holes 2, 3 and 4 in the street (mostly just seems to happen on hole 3 although they moved the basket this summer to help with that). The other con is that there are two trails that run through the course so pedestrians and cyclist are around. I find this enjoyable as it's nice to see everyone out and gives exposure to the sport, but less experienced throwers may get nervous on a limited number of shots.
Other Thoughts: I cut my teeth playing on a course that is over 6000 feet long in total, so this one seemed a bit short to me at first. I quickly grew to love it, though because it is so well maintained and there's plenty of opportunity to test out your technical skills thanks to the trees and obstructions skillfully used by the course planners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A solid course

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: Front Row
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 27.6 Years
Pros: The lengthy drives combined with old growth trees make this a delight to play. The concrete tees are marked by a sign. Mandatory tape on trees make a what would be a banal drive more challenging. Many drives are ideal for rollers. Baskets where in good shape and alternated pins were seen but not available. Many tight drives and a few tunnel shots. The big trees offer some much needed shade during an Oklahoma hot summer.
Cons: The course is disjointed and some lengthy walks between baskets make it tough to find the next tee. Also, the signs offer no help on the route of the fairway and some baskets were difficult to find; most notably 2 and 14. Finding the long tees was nearly impossible on many drives. Pedestrians are everywhere and can be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Its a lovely park but it is spread out. First timers need to know that the disc golf course is in the south end. A warm up basket would be nice.

 Tulsa's Oldest Course

5+    4/17/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: vancraft
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Consistently good holes and a variety of approaches.
Parking is getting limited. Restrooms, splash-pads and recreational amenities are central to the "clubhouse" area.
Cons: Constantly dealing with the trail pedestrian traffic and cyclists.
The expressway traffic is very dangerous and at times is within 40 feet of the holes.
The rugged embankment of the river creates some severely dangerous situations for retrieving an errant disc. Poison Ivy is a problem at times.
Other Thoughts: The course was donated in 1979, by River Runner, a shop that was at 41st & Riverside, until the mayor forced them out to widen the roads, in the early 90s.
The shop sold the first-ever discs for golf. They were Whamo molds but used very heavy .polymers.
The Worldclass 119gram, to the Master165gram were kept in stock, but their weights reached 260grams using the heavy polymers (which were glow-in-the-dark).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Take me to the river

5+    4/23/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 62  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: Practice basket
Concrete tee pads
Ace runs galore
Well maintained
Cons: Repetitive
Half the holes play along Riverside Dr so get read for somebody to nail a car passing by. Half the holes border the biking/waling trails so you will have to wait to throw often. Hole 14 borders a rugby field and if a game is in progress it is usually unplayable. There is always somebody on the fairways not playing disc golf.
Other Thoughts: It's honestly not a bad course, the park is just so busy that it can be a very frustrating round. The photographs on DGCR are of the old layout and are not accurate at all.

  pretty plain

1    11/23/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: Chrisrhodes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right in middle of city
Nice park amenities
Nice baskets
If you bring family there is lots to do besides DG
Course is well groomed
Cons: Located in busy park
alot of holes play right along busy road
no real obstacles
most of the time baskets are straight shot from the tee.
short tee box
most the holes feel the same.
Other Thoughts: this is a good park for what it is. but the only real challenge of this course is trying to keep your throws from landing on the busy street. if you have time to drive somewhere else, i would do so. otherwise it is a great course in a pinch.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    10/30/2012   1/24/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 66  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very Very nice maintained grounds
- Descriptive and acurate tee signs
- Beautiful views of the Arkansas River
- Nice bathrooms
- Awesome baskets
- Concrete teepads
- Nice locals that played with us
- Easy to just play the front or back nine since they are broken up.
- Nice place for a quick round.
Cons: - Very busy. The park has a playground that a bad throw and you could injure someone. Also, The bike trail that ran straight through the course was very busy and sometimes we had to wait to throw. Also, There is a very busy road that is on the left of some of the front nine that if you were able to throw bad then you might hit a car or your disc could scrape the asphalt.
- It was very narrow between the road and the river. It kinda seemed at times that there wasnt really much room for error.
- There wasnt any substantial elevation. This would be nice but is not a big issue.
- Since it is busy, the course is busy too. We got stuck behind a guy that walked very slow but he let us play through after a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice park and one of Tulsa's best courses. The only reason im giving this a 3.5 is because of the lack of space and saftey cautions. This is an exellent park and i will for shure come back and play it again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow walk by the River

5+    4/21/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads
Good baskets
Well kept
Decent tee signs
Several different flight paths to chose from
Uses several different shots
Quick 9 or 18 hole loops
Great bathrooms
Picnic tables
Walking/biking path
Close parking
Easy access
Nice views of the river
A pretty park
Playground area for kids
Good to take family/newbies to. (This was the first course I was made to play on. I got hooked.)
Good to work on your putts, midranges, and the occasional drive
Easy logical navigation (love the two 9-hole loops)
Good use of what space they had
Good use of what elevation they had
Nice mature trees

Favorite Hole(s): #18
Cons: Some erosion around tee boxes
Crowded parking
Crowded DG Course
Walking path and street come into play on several holes
A couple of holes feel repetetive
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun quick course to play. If streets or paths make you nervous you might score badly. They don't bother me that bad so I can't use that excuse for my bad playing.

This is the first course I ever played and I might be biased. I think that I can set aside that fact though and lay out some pros and cons and let you decide whether or not to play this course. Any chance I have I will swing by for a quick round. Imo you should play this course if you get the chance.

My disc rating is weighted heavily toward the FUN FACTOR. Then I bump it up or down a .5 based on amenities give or take a little for design or flow.

Let me know how I can improve my reviews.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course in a very nice park

2-4    10/1/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has excellent amenities. The restrooms are very clean and accessible. There are water fountains and picnic tables. Parking lot is crowded but conveniently placed. The pads, baskets, and signs are all in great condition.

Course layout makes it easy to play either the front or back nine or all eighteen.

The course offers an easy 18 for experienced players and a good learning experience for newcomers.
Cons: I like the course and would give it a higher rating if not for the safety issue. The course is laid out tightly between a very busy street and a just as busy walking/biking path. Most of the front nine is either hazarded by the road or path. The walkers/bikers are seemingly oblivious to the course - or else very trusting souls.

Also many children play on the toys in the center of the course. An errant throw and you could be facing some angry parents!

Crowded!!!
Other Thoughts: This course would be very nice if they could remove the walking path and crowds.
Tulsa is an incredible disc golf city. They have several outstanding courses and a good organization. Come visit if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lunch course

5+    9/3/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy access. Nice course to play if you're short on time.
Cons: Busy street and park with walking trail full of runner and cyclists.
Other Thoughts: Another classic course of Tulsa. It was redesigned and finished around 2009. It seems to be a little longer over all. The design has taken most of the walking trail out of the equation, but it still comes into play on a few holes on the front 9.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.