Brandon, MS 
Ross Barnett Reservoir - The Rez DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 A Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Very Good Park Style DG Course

2-4    9/17/2017   9/22/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 137  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play
- concrete tees
- multiple pins
- informative tee signs: fairway image with pin locations and distances, numbered
- numbered baskets
- a variety of fairway distances
- lots of chances for scoring separation
- a decent balance of lefty and righty holes
- clean fairways, clear of poke and hope
- rough is not overly punitive
- some slight variations of elevation
- course design had exciting water OB
- pin indicator on tee signs
- benches
- 2 sets of restrooms on location
- covered rest area half way through the course
- kiosk on location, though it was hard to see through
Cons:

- there might be a parking fee on weekends and holidays
- not necessarily an easy layout to follow for first timers, bring a map
- a few open, plain fairways.
- no multiple tee pads
- a few tee pads weren't facing all pin positions
- tee pads are a little weathered
- grey colorless baskets were hard to see in the shadowy woods
- multi use area, parts of the course runs parallel to the park accesses road
- I didn't understand the long alt pin for hole 17
Other Thoughts:

The Rez is a park style course that has a little bit of everything to challenge disc golfers. From short fairways with technical lines, to long bomber holes that are generally free of obstacles, and everything in between. It may not be the most intimidating course I've ever thrown, but there are many difficulty aspects, layered, that add up over 18 holes. If you have a weakness in your game, it's going to get exposed one way or another at the Rez.

The technical holes were the shorter fairways of the course. I have holes 2,3,9, and 13 in this category. They required a putter or mid for most part. These fairways were tight, mostly straight, with a mix left, right, and straight pin locations. Not a whole lot of shot shaping to the shorter pins, but they were clean and drives were not subject to random rough seeping into the fairways. The longer pin locations required more shot planing and risk/reward consideration.

The open holes tended to be longer, with the exception of 15,16,17. Those holes were relatively short, open, and used the reservoir to create a majority of challenge. Bigger arms will appreciate a chance to bomb holes 1,6,10,14, and 18. Altogether, the open holes made up just nearly half of the course, which was a few too many for me. I appreciate a lengthy drives as much as the next guy, but it felt a little repetitive after a while. 16&17 should be combined, instead, they're both sort of meh separately.

The mixed holes on the course were my favorites, they had the best of both other categories. 4,5,7,8,11,12, all great holes wrought with challenge. These fairways were long enough to be challenging, yet open enough for player creativity off the tee. 8 was a real ball buster in the long pin position.

I appreciated the versatility that 2-3 different pin positions per hole offered. The balance between RH and LH themed fairways felt fair. The subtle ascending/descending fairways throughout the course added another degree of challenge too. Overall, there's not much to complain about at the Rez. My list is sort and most cons were very minor. I greatly enjoyed this course. It's probably the best park style course I've yet to throw.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beyond phenomenal!

2-4    12/10/2016   1/2/2017
Review By: Connor_DiscGolf
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: •Great Wooded terrain
•Benches on several holes
•Water Features comes into place on Hole #15-18
•Trash Cans near Hole 13
•Lots of elevation changes
Cons: •Hole #7 (C) basket's placing is hard to spot. (Over the Fence)
•Bug Spray recommended
Other Thoughts: Bug Spray in the summer!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun play, try not to get wet!

1    2/11/2015   2/11/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 58  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a delightful course in a pretty darn nice park that plays around the reservoir. It's got tight 20ft wide tunnel shots, big open field bombs, shots over water, and one...that I have nicknamed the "fecalator" because it's sure to make you mess your pants.

A short anhuzer shot that ends with the basket at the end of a 8ft wide peninsula with water on both sides for 75ft and behind. Miss and it's probably gone.

The tee pads were pretty nice and well textured with pebbles in them. They were very long which I liked, I'm a big guy with a long Runup so I like the space. They were a touch narrow but not badly.

Baskets were good older DGA baskets, no unexpected spit outs.

The course has decent maintenance and the bathroom is centrally located and nice enough.

Plent of parking as well.

16 aka fecalator has to be the signature hole, but 18, 11 and 6 are all great too. Shot variety is just plain fun here.

A lot of kids playing here, tons of teens who were well mannered and friendly, I love playing around young players who are excited and enjoying the sport.

There are also benches on most holes and signage with the pin placement.
Cons: Not a ton of cons but there are a few thing ms holding it back.

Trash, just bring a Baggie when you play guys and it'll go away quickly.

The signage was okay, but partially inaccurate due tone being a little dated.

The newly reconfigured holes 15- 18 are natural right now, small con but no deal breaker.

Has some fences in play and goes very close to the road. Not a big deal but I don't like having the risk of hitting a car with an on target shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall I reallyed like it and would definitely play again, the shot variety alone is worth checking out and the reservoir is very pretty for the most part.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Rez is Rez-ommended

2-4    12/7/2014   12/13/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 133  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Rez covers a lot of ground and throws a lot at you: big open drives, water hazards of several shapes and severities, tree-studded fairways, tunnel shots, tight windows, low ceilings, precise landing zones, OB, and even a few instances of modest and moderate elevation. It's a technical but fair course that can take a variety of forms due to its well-conceived multiple pin positions, but the focus is on challenging par 3s that force you to hit specific lines, landing zones, or windows. The Rez's obstacles make you to play their way.

The layout mixes distances, lines, and levels of woodedness well. Although pin positions often determine a hole's line, there is in general a lack of righty or lefty bias: players will really benefit from having throw versatility here, and lefties will have the opportunity to hit some picturesque hyzers. The movement in and out of the woods switches things up, providing in turn technical fairways, space to breath, and shots to bomb. More or less the entire gamut of woodedness is covered here, making for a rather complete set of DG challenges.

The presence of one set of tees is counteracted by the balanced difficulty and myriad pin positions; this course has some solid replayability. The Rez won't beat up beginners but still offers a nice challenge to experienced players. The concrete tees aren't in the greatest shape but still get the job done. Parking is ample and well-kept public rest rooms accessible. The multi-use park offers activities outside of disc golf.
Cons: This course is all about execution, both to its benefit and to its detriment. The shots it presents are usually pretty standard, it's just a matter of whether you hit them or not. I like the technicality, but wish there were more opportunities to make tough choices and exercise one's mental game.

Although the multiple pin positions vary this a bit, there is in general a focus on tough par 3s here that gets a little repetitive for me. One or two par 4s - and the space for them seems to be there - would contribute a great deal to the course. With such rich terrain you could definitely craft some interesting longer holes that weave in and out of the woods.

Although shot variety is generally good, the wooded holes are themselves repetitive, being almost exclusively straight shots. Line shaping is virtually nonexistent on these holes.

The final four holes have been recently redesigned, and vary quite a bit from what's seen on DGCR. 15-17 are all short holes with scary water hazards that become a bit boring when played back to back to back.

Navigation isn't always easy. I had the fortune of playing with locals, so it didn't effect me, but a map is highly recommended.

The course is a bit off the beaten path for an out-of-towner to get to.
Other Thoughts: I found the Rez to be a super solid destination that would make for an awesome home course. Its variety requires a complete game to score well, and it's not punishing or overly quirky.

The Rez is a good stop to make if you're in the Jackson area. I prefer Center City myself, but CC doesn't seem to get much attention in the grooming department and often threatens to overgrow. The Rez seems to be much more well kept, making it a better bet to visit. I'd recommend it to anyone passing through.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/21/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A number of holes have benched and/or trash cans
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Multiple Pins (3 on most holes)
-Open bombs, tight technical wooded shots, water and some possible aces
-The course is well marked and easily navigated (there is a map of the course on a bulletin board near Hole #1)
-Free to play
-Regular tournaments
Cons: -Tee signs need updating
-HEAVY traffic, players and park-goers (and dogs) *NOTE* Dogs, in general, are not cons. Dogs are cool.
-Parking can get tricky on the weekends
-The course is right next to the Ross Barnett Reservoir; which means, the wind is ALWAYS a factor.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing on this course since shortly after it opened and it's always fun and challenging. The layout, disc golf friendly atmosphere and variety of holes are what earn this course the highest rating in Central Mississippi. Personally I think there are a few courses that are more fun to play and/or more challenging, but if you want a fun well-rounded 18 holes of disc golf, you will NOT be disappointed!

***SIDE NOTE: They close the course often on the weekends for tournaments. Usually it's just half of one day, but it has been closed all weekend. I like to travel to new courses on the weekends, as I'm sure others do as well. I know would be quite irate if I had traveled 50-100 miles (or more) just to see a sign that reads "Disc golf course closed for PRIVATE tournament." So, be sure to check this site and the J.U.D.G.E.S. site before making a long trip.

**As of May 2013 if there is someone in the guard house there is a $2 entrance fee to the park unless your are intending to use the boat ramp.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads
multiple pin locations
huge variety of shots
Cons: tough course for beginners
new layout causes navigation problems
Other Thoughts: This is the only course i have ever played in Jackson and I keep going back to it. It is an awesome course because every time I play, it is a little bit different. The new layout adds some difficulty and you could definitely get wet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great tunnel shots

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: jordyheath
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained, epic tunnel shots, concrete tees, good mix of shots...
Cons: Signage at the box could be better, could be easier to navigate to the next box on a couple of holes, but great course overall.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful and fun!

2-4    12/19/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: SirShanksAlot
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. Very nice course design with alot of shot variants. I believe there are three pin placements for each hole. Good mix between open holes and tunnel shots. Very awesome shot on 18 where the tee pad is looking directly over part of the lake there. Will be back to play again!
Cons: I think the only problem with this course is that it's kind of confusing to navigate if you don't know where your going. After one round it's easy so this isn't really a big con.
Other Thoughts: A buddy of mine and myself drove 2 1/2 hours to play this course for one day. I will say that it was completely worth the trip. The amount of different shots there are with each hole is remarkable! Can't wait to go back!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing

1    8/16/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful park that winds through the woods. The course is set apart from most other activities, so other park users don't come into play except on only a few holes. There are many signature holes that you will remember, and it seems that the course was designed with great care. The course provides a great mix of open and narrow wooded shots, and even uses water nicely. Probably wouldn't be too difficult for new players, but experience definitely wouldn't hurt. There is also a good ratio of short to long holes. There were plenty of trash cans in the park, and there was good signage, benches and concrete tee pads at every hole. There were also multiple pin placements for every hole (3 for each, if I am remembering correctly). One of my favorite courses, and I wish I could play it all the time!
Cons: I could see this course being somewhat difficult to navigate, so follow a group or play with the locals (that's what we did). There is a chain link fence that comes into play on hole 5, 8, and 9 that was annoying. Played in the summer, so there were people in play on 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, if you follow a group or play with a local, navigation isn't a problem. They're very friendly. It is very apparent that the designers and everyone involved with creating this course really cared about it. Even the last two holes were no problem to shoot with the other park users in play. I also realize that nothing can be done about the chain link fence, but we didn't really like it. Overall, one of the best courses that I have played, and I recommend it to anyone in the area, whether you live in Jackson or are passing through.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem

2-4    12/10/2010   7/22/2011
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. It winds throught the woods around a beautiful resevoir. I was only in MS for a few days and this was the only course near my hotel. I went there 3 times and even participated in the random doubles. this is not an easy course but has its birdie opportunities.
Cons: It is a little tough to navigate so either get a map(i did not) or find a local(I did) to play with your first time. this course gets plenty of play because im pretty sure its the best in the area.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great experience. fairly well groomed. fair pin placement and challenging lines. only thing is I wish the water was used more. only a few holes bring it into play.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.