Brandon, MS 
Ross Barnett Reservoir - The Rez DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 B Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 What a Gem

1    4/23/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.4 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've held off on writing this review because I do not know where to start or feel if I've have ability to truly express how much of a joy it was to play this course. Since playing almost a month ago I've tried to convince many of my friends to drive to Jackson and play The Rez with me. This course is just short of perfect and is well worth any distance you may consider reasonable to drive. I personally drove 3 hours to get there just to play for a day and am itching to make the trip again. Located in a nice little park in the suburbs of Jackson this course plays to many different skill sets and abilities.
The park offered lots of little amenities and had plenty of other traffic including a boat ramp for access to the reservoir. The course was well appointed with trash cans, benches, and tee signs at every hole. You get to hole 1 and it's off to the races.
The first hole plays along the main road of the park but then you quickly enter the woods for some nice alley shots and technical holes. Around hole 5 you come back out into some more "open" fields. Then back into the woods, then out again. It really is a wonderful mix of distance and technical ability, open and tight holes. It also took me awhile to notice but each tee sign had a bolt through it to tell you which pin position was in play. A few holes of note:

3 - Your first view of the alley that you'll see often through out the course. With the basket sitting tantilizingly close you find yourself trying to really push your shot but have to be ware because the woods are quick to eat a shot.

6 - The first big long hole in an open field it's got a nice down hill slope to it and is just fun to really bomb.

8 - A nice valley sits between this tee box and basket lets you put a drive out there and watch it fly. The only problem is after a nice beautiful drive you still have to play back to the right to get to the basket.

17 - This has to be the most beautiful hole on the course! Relatively short this hole provides a true risk/ reward with the basket sitting just feet from the edge of the water. Over shooting will be punished as the back just drops down about 2-3 feet into the water. Great view great shot, I could play this hole 20 times.

18 - The final hole is just awesome. A forced drive over the reservoir just watched the first step off the tee box it's a doozie. Although wide open the best lines require long carries over the water. Even a short line over the water still has some distance and can be treacherous. Although the water seems easy enough to get into and find a disc if needed.

I would also like to point out that I ended up talking to a couple of people who were locals to the course and I have to say that they were very friendly and were a pleasure to talk to.
Cons: The holes that played along the road seemed to me to be a bit dangerous and I ended up spending a bit of time waiting for traffic. I'm guessing they have not been a huge problem yet since they haven't been moved but from my side of things it seemed less than preferable as most lines would go right out over the road.

There was also a bit of a navigation issue that honestly could have been very easily fixed. I played hole 8 twice because we realized we skipped hole 7. This is because the 8th tee was the closest one to 6's basket. Also we played the wrong tee pad for 9 because we found a cement tee pad with a bench next to it and assumed it was 9, it must have been an old tee pad as it was in the middle of the woods, and the new position made much more sense. I've seen plenty of courses put some tape on the basket spoke that points to the next tee, a nice simple solution that would solve these issues. It is also important to note that the second time I play this course none of this will be an issue. As it is really simple problems only really attributed to me not knowing the course.

One other thing that kind of bothered me is with a trash can on every hole a couple of times I ended up picking trash up out of the woods. It very easily could have been from non golfers but it was upsetting with the amount of trash cans to see that.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I think a few upgrades could make this an easy 5. Most of the problems were directly related to me playing this course for the first time and a local would not have these issues. I really enjoyed this course and if you are anywhere in the area this is a must play! Can't wait until my next trip up there.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Incomprehensible Dancing Gerbils in the Morning

1    3/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1267  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 8 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice DG experience in a large park that is mostly wooded with open areas, flat, with in a lake in play.

Amenities. Large park with a variety of activities. The DG area has ample parking and bathrooms accessible.

Variety. Decent variety of lengths from 150-400 with many different looks at technical lines and several open longer holes thrown in there. Direct ace runs are few, though most baskets are reachable in 1 if you can hit the line, birdies feel relatively rewarding.

Well maintained. The course looked very nice and well manicured, there wasn't much trash about as a trash can was provided at every hole.

Beginner friendly. This would be a great place to learn and work on technical lines, though if you're not sure about your drives you may want to skip a couple of the water holes.

Local Scene. The course was busy with locals though not overly crowded, everyone I ran into was friendly and helpful. Local leagues and tournaments seem prevalent.

Access. Within 10 miles of the freeway/city make it relatively accessible to travelers and locals.

Links. After 12 holes you pass near the vehicles if you only have time for a short round or need to pick up something from the car.

Scenery. Very nice wooded park through the pine trees.

Tees. Mostly level concrete tee pads were in relatively good condition, though some were cracked and slightly uneven. Most of them were pretty dirty and could use a good sweeping.

Scorecards/Map. A mailbox was provided with scorecards, and a map was posted on the sign - I'd suggest taking a picture of it.
Cons: Navigation. I just mentioned taking a picture of the map, it will be helpful, even with the map I struggled on 5-7 finding my way. No tee or sign for hole 5.

Other users, pedestrians and fishermen come into play on several holes, beware of where you're throwing.
Other Thoughts: Very nice and well worth the stop if traveling through.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety!

1    12/21/2010   2/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.6 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with different types and densities of foliage. There are some longer holes out in mostly open spaces with just a few trees to avoid that let you air out some longer shots. A couple of the more open holes bring the lake into play, especially on a windy day for some nice risk/reward decisions. There are some holes that play through mature trees with limited underbrush and multiple lines to the hole. These are complemented with some dense wooded holes with thick rough that will really punish an errant drive.

The open holes have some length, and many of the wooded holes are technical but short so there's a nice variety of hole lengths. The more wooded holes offer a good mix of hole shapes in general, so you'll need some different shots to be successful. The alternate pin placements changed up several of the holes enough that it would add some real variety to the course. The tees and baskets are in nice shape, and most of the signage is in good shape including the course map at the parking lot.
Cons: There are some navigation issues, make sure you take a look at the course map and maybe even take a picture of it. Hole 5 doesn't have a tee sign, so it's easy to skip a hole, and there are some other spots where you have to backtrack to find the correct tee. A method of indicating current pin position would be really helpful here, especially on a few blind holes. The road and parking lot are in play on some holes, which could be a safety issue. There were people walking dogs through the fairways in the woods, another potential safety issue especially on blind shots.

The park is very flat, I always enjoy a course a little more with at least a little bit of elevation change. The water is a great obstacle, it's too bad it couldn't be used a little more. The tighter holes are all pretty short, some length in the woods would add to the challenge and the variety, the wooded holes start to feel a little similar after a while because of the similar length. The pin set I played felt a little hyzer heavy, hopefully the course gets set up in more balanced ways sometimes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some nice holes and a good mix of foliage densities. I had a good time playing here, and would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area. It's difficult enough that beginners might be a little intimidated, especially with some dense rough in spots. Intermediate level players will find this a great test with birdies available but not too easy. Better players won't find it terribly challenging, but it's got enough interesting holes that they'll have a fun round.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One of Mississippi's Best

1    1/29/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything you read about this course is true. It's very technical will try every shot in your bag. The course layout is great.
Great signs and with the multiple pin locations-it plays like a different course each time.
High Risk-High Reward type of course!

Cons: Not a con if you have one but you had better have a strong flick shot or you're toast. A few holes have only 1 line and if you get off of it, taking a 3 will be a miracle.
Other Thoughts: Great course and worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, with sloping fields in between a reservoir of water and a dense pine forest. Fishing and dog walking could possibly interfere, but otherwise it's DG only.
- Holes in the forested area provide a ton of different shots, with tight lanes in spots and large trees in others. Follows the usual pattern of tight/short and mature/longer to keep a constant level of difficulty, but some of the lines are very challenging. Tunnels are tight but fair, and longer holes need good accuracy and line shaping thanks to the trees. Good mix of left, straight, and right shots, some are extreme.
- The fields with scattered mature trees do a good job of keeping things tough. Distance is a major factor on a lot of holes, and there are usually well placed trees to take away lanes and force shot selection off the tee and on approach. Holes that border the forest also force some lines, including a long hyzer-only hole and a shorter anny route (RHBH). Two holes play into and out of the forest, and both have tight windows.
- Water is definitely in play on a few holes, in a big way. Three holes in particular; where you get water on the left, water behind the basket, and water on the right. The hole with water on the left has a clear RHBH anny route, or a tough hyzer route. The hole with water in the back is short and tantalzing, with little safe room behind the pin. The hole with water on the right is a good gut check for distance and accuracy. Awesome.
- Decent elevation changes here and there; there are a few holes with pretty respectable elevation changes, but mostly it's just sloping terrain. About 2/3 of the course falls into the sloping category, hole #8 is the most extreme.
- A few well protected baskets, some with trees of all sizes, and others with close proximity to the water. Accuracy is definitely needed close to the pins, or scores can balloon.
- Great signage where present, good tees, good baskets. Navigation is a little tricky in spots, the map in front is a big help the first time through.
Cons: - A few holes are by the park's road, including traffic. It does well to serve as OB on a few holes, but it can be distracting and an eyesore.
- While there is a fantastic variety of hole lengths (with plenty of bombers), this is a perfect example of short/tight and long/open. If any hole were to be a par 4 here, it would be due to length and pretty much length alone. A few exceptions might be #5 or #8, or maybe #18 thanks to the water.
- Terrain is pretty flat overall, there aren't any exciting shots due to elevation. It is great for making holes much harder (#8) or easier (#6), but it won't take your breath away by any means.
Other Thoughts: - This course has fantastic balance, in lots of ways. The three different sections of the park give a lot of different looks, and is set up well to keep switching between them. The different lines and shots that are present throughout each part are very good as well. Plenty of spots where the obvious hyzer, anhyzer, or dead straight shot is a necessity.
- Lots and lots of different pin positions must make this course a constant challenge as well. Big differences on many, many holes in terms of lines and difficulty. I would say that the difference is big enough where a casual player might find the long pins a little too difficult, and a seasoned player might find the short pins a bit too easy.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: jbsiv
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All around this course has everything. There are many holes that are wide open and you can let a drive rip with no real consequences. Then there are many holes that take a little bit more finesse. Lots of trees that provide plenty of shade in the summer and help to make this course a real challenge.
Cons: In the summer there are many people swimming and having family outings that can make for a frustrating experience on the last few holes.
Other Thoughts: there are tee markers on every hole that provide a overview of the hole, this makes for a great tool for first time players. All in all this is a great course and I reccommend it for any skill level.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  fantastic course!

5+    8/18/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: ShawnSoter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course that is well taken care of. There are a good variety of hole types throughout the 18 holes, from wide-open fields to wooded fairways to water obstacles, which vary in distance so that it takes a well-rounded player to do well here (throwing for distance at times and pinpoint accuracy at others). And several of the holes have one or more alternate pin locations, so the course changes frequently, so it never gets boring. The baskets are in great condition and are marked for easy reference. Course layout is well designed and pretty easy to follow (at least after your initial outing). Concrete teeboxes at each hole and they are in excellent condition. Just a really fun course to play! Probably could've rated this course higher than a 4, but other than the courses at Paul B. Johnson and PRCC about 8 years ago, I haven't played enough courses to make that judgment call.
Cons: Couple of the holes have outdated or missing placards. There is a big course map near the parking lot though for easy reference.
Other Thoughts: This is a very busy course. I have played here at least 5 times in the past month (weekday evenings), and there are always at least 10 others playing the course and usually many more than that. Everyone I have come in contact with has been very respectful, allowing quicker moving players to play through and waiting for those ahead of them to finish prior to teeing off. And located along the reservoir at Pelahatchie Shore Park, this is a popular spot for boating, swimming, fishing, dog walking, etc. And I was nervous about playing earlier this week (August 20) because of all the rain, but the course really drains nicely.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rez

5+    8/2/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: VivaLaSlovak
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The pictures do not even do this course justice. The course is a great mixture between monster distance and short technical holes. The tee boxes are solid and positioned well. I play the course about 5 times a week and they move the baskets around a good bit. Hands down my favorite course in the state.
Cons: hmmm... none.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played on.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best Courses I've Played

1    7/8/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: otown pyle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wide Variety of holes from open to heavily wooded to throwing over fences, water, etc...
Cons: It's a pretty long course
Other Thoughts: You should come play this course. It's definitely worth it... Read my blog post here on the course...http://www.otownpyle.com/post...ent-and-hit-a

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best I've played!

5+    7/4/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful and very well maintained having multiple holes that make you say wow. Multiple pin positions. Trash cans and benches at almost every hole. Even holes that seem wide open have adequate shade. Great mix of long, short, wooded, open, hyzer, and anhyzer. You will have to use every shot in your bag. Distance and accuracy will be key and it will test your mental game.
Cons: Needs a few tee signs replaced to reflect new positions and a few that were stolen. Very crowded on the weekends during the summer.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course but I am in no way partial to it. I did not realize how spoiled I was until I really got into disc golf and started playing courses whenever I traveled. This course ranks right up there with any of them based on cleanliness and quality of play!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center