San Francisco, CA 
Gleneagles DGC Share
Uploaded By: Gleneagles Hole #10
3 / 531ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Awesome course, challenging, wind can be rough

2-4    6/10/2017   6/21/2017
Review By: eatwithspoons
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great teepads
- Basket type catches well
- Big arm shots are a great contrast to the nearby GGDGC
- Stunningly beautiful views on a great golf course
- Beverages onsite
Cons:
- Gets windy as the day goes by
- Consider getting a cart, it's a bit long in the heat but doable if you want exercise
- Needs "next tee" markers for sure, I believe they are on order
- Not free but that should be expected*
Other Thoughts:
This is course is excellent considering how new it is, still has some work left to make it great but there are no major faults.

*It's tough to call out the cost as a con, because the owners of this property do an excellent job at upkeep despite very limited resources. I will gladly pay the greens fees, because we need this place to continue doing well so that it gains popularity

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not quite soarin’ yet

1    6/17/2017   6/17/2017
Review By: Magiken
Played: 58  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Easy to find
• Nice new baskets
• A pretty good mix of shots
• Very nice tee boxes
• Scenic views in spots
• Pro Shop with restrooms and snacks
Cons:
• Way too expensive for what you currently get
• Tricky navigation
• Rough is beyond rough and even the non-rough is rough
• Wind can be no joke in spots
• No signs (yet?)
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• Bring a spotter
• Take Mansell St. to get there. You'll thank me later.
• Bring a spotter
• Bring the map, maybe 2, and follow it closely. Also, look ahead while you're playing to spot baskets and tees.
• I was told that disc golf doesn't start until noon on the weekends. Didn't see that listed anywhere on the site.
• Did I mention to bring a spotter?

Random Thoughts:
This course just opened so I suspect it's not quite done yet, at least I hope it's not done because it certainly has potential but it does need a few adjustments. So keeping that in mind...this course shares land with a ball golf course and a foot golf course and all 3 were in full effect when I was there, which was pretty cool, although you will need to keep your head on a swivel out there because the disc course does not exactly follow the ball golf course. You will find yourself criss-crossing and moving between fairways where balls will be coming from both directions. Do pay attention and be polite, of course. As for the holes, the tee pads are synthetic turf on a hard, mounted surface, and are plenty big. I've never used this type but I liked them, and as they are a different color than the surrounding areas, it makes them a bit easier to spot. Once you find the tee, what you will have in front of you are a series of intermediate to pro shots, leaning heavily on the latter. This course demands length and a good amount of accuracy around the baskets. This is what I would call 'positional' disc golf, meaning almost every basket has a narrow approach angle, so for the most part, you can't fire and forget. You need to have a plan for where your disc is going to land in relation to the approach angle of the basket, or you shall be punished. And if that weren't a big enough challenge, the wind can swirl aggressively in spots, which will probably force you to play a safer shot versus perhaps what you might have wanted to throw without wind. And if that weren't enough, the rough here in several locations is WICKED. Super-dense bushes and forest areas will eat ya up. I had one slightly errant shot all day, and despite seeing where it entered the rough, poof, gone (please holler if you find my Beast). This is an area that I hope they improve upon. Obviously, there will be rough that is a true penalty, and that I'm ok with. But some of the rough is impossible to avoid. You're either walking through it or throwing into it. The area in front of basket 16, for example, is a mess. Because navigation is a bit tricky, you do spend a good portion of your day in those areas, which can be hairy in spots. I'd like to see some clean-up done in several areas and some clearer transitions from basket to tee. If it sounds like I'm being a bit harsher than normal, I am, because if you're going to charge $24.50, you'd better have your act together.

Bottom Line: If you haven't figured it out by now, this is not a beginner-friendly course. I consider myself an advanced player and I still struggled on this course. But that's not a bad thing. I like a good challenge, but before I come back, I think I'll wait and see if the signs show up and the course layout is clearer and cleaner. With that, thank you to the course designers for adding another course to the Bay and I hope things continue to improve.

Update (06/29/2017): Someone found and returned my disc! My thanks to an awesome individual.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not (yet) ready for primetime

1    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: doublejack
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Ocean views
• '19th Hole' bar
• Plenty of technical & challenging holes
• Most of the tee-pads are pretty nice
• The cost keeps it from getting crowded
• OMG FINALLY ANOTHER COURSE IN SF
Cons: • Non-obvious layout and zero signage (yet)
• None at all
• Like, there are small numbers on the baskets but that's it?
• And no maps, except an interesting but largely useless interactive map online
• So good luck finding anything is what I'm saying
Other Thoughts: The tee-pads are finished and professional for such a young course, and the track appears to be thoughtfully designed, so, I was surprised there weren't even numbered survey flags at the tees or small temporary signs pointing to the next tee. With nothing at all but the baskets numbered (and those often well out of sight from the tee, with numbers only legible from <50 ft.) it's very slow-going and frustrating trying to find the track.

If no one in your group has played the course before, save your $$ until there's at least minimal signage and printed maps.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Blown Away

5+    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: gripitandripit
Played: 58  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely fantastic. By far the best on a ball golf course I have ever played. Challenging variety of shots, awesome teepads and a very nice flow. Rarely have to wait for golfers or disc golfers. And the clubhouse is definitely a win win situation.
Cons: Going left of the basket on 16 is dangerous at best as there is tons of debris from over the years that you step through.
Other Thoughts: Someday I will play this in the morning without the blustery wind, but for now my wind game is slowly improving because of this course. Still learning where to place shots for the best approaches

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect contrast to Golden Gate Park

5+    6/4/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: A Nguyen SFDGC
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The best disc golf course on a ball golf course that I've played. The shots are unique and do a great job of using the tree lines to shape shots. Not much relying on sand traps and greens as a focus of each hole. The wind is a huge factor on this course. I can guarantee that we'll start seeing a ton of talent coming out of the San Francisco area due to the options we have to play with.
Cons: The cost makes this course for me a once a week kind of deal. I'd love to play it more often, but not realistic. Ideally, would like to see a discounted rate for an additional 9-18 holes like they offer to their ball golf customers. Also, would be nice to have a stamp card like they do for their ball golf customers.
Other Thoughts: HUGE shout out to Leonard Muise, Sean Jack and the San Francisco Disc Golf Club for executing this project. Also to Tom and Gleneagles for allowing us to enjoy this amazing course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/15/2017   6/15/2017
Review By: wolfie_wolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gleneagles disc golf course is an amazing track that happens to perfectly complement the GGP course. Mostly long pretty open drives with technical greens plus a couple tight lines / wooded shots.
It's set on a 9-hole golf course but unlike the other two disc golf on 9-hole ball golf courses in the area the disc golf holes only loosely follow the golf fairways. There's actually 18 unique disc golf fairways with multiple pin locations for every hole (not sure if all the sleeves are in the ground yet).
There's usually wind and often a lot of wind around the course. It can swirl and change directions quickly too as i have seen on one of my rounds. It adds a nice and sometimes frustrating extra challenge. I'm sure it will never get boring for years to come.
The astro turf tee boxes are generously large and will provide excellent grip dry or wet - a huge plus!
The 1100+ foot par 5 on hole 11 is a great opportunity to air one out or learn how to throw rollers.
There's a bar onsite and the staff is very friendly and welcoming towards the disc golfers. The same is true for all the other ball golfers i encountered on the track so far.
Cons: It's a bit pricey but for me still very much worth the cost.

As the course is pretty new it's still rough around the edges and sometimes the greens - but i'm sure that will get better with more play.

The area immediately left of the basket for 16 is extremely rough: It appears to have functioned as the "junk yard" for the golf course maintenance crew (lots of cut down logs and other tree/bush/gardening debris around here). If you land anywhere on the left side of the basket and be it only 15-20ft you might have to "climb" to your lie with extremely awkward footing. I would love to see an effort to clean that out a bit (30-50ft circle from the pins).
Other Thoughts: The immediate neighborhood to the south of the course is pretty ghetto and when coming from the peninsula via 101 your GPS will most likely navigate you straight through that. If that's of concern for you just take Mansell instead of Sunnydale.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Top tier 21st C urban disc golf

1    5/14/2017   5/25/2017
Review By: Cheyney
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.2 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This disc/bolf course has it all.
Located in San Francisco proper, Gleneagles DGC will prove to be a top urban disc golf course for years to come.

Designed to flow even when bolfers are playing simultaneously, there is a bit of everything you'd hope to find on such a course including anew 1100-foot part 5, long rolling grass fairways, and some wooded holes.

Plenty of elevation, length, trees, wind, OB, and variety to challenge players of all skill levels. Tees are level and sturdy. Picturesque views of The City in a tranquil natural setting make this a course not to need missed.
Cons: Any new course needs more play, volunteers to help keep long drives and errant shots from getting lost.
The cost per hole is higher than most courses currently.
Other Thoughts: Sean Jack and Leonard Muse designed a thoroughly enjoyable and fair course. The work done by the SFDGC and its members is exemplary for other regions looking to install similar courses.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.