Knoxville, TN 
Victor Ashe Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #16 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 221ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Open Bomber

5+    2/12/2020   2/12/2020
Review By: Colonel Sanders
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Located in a beautiful park with lots of people watching to do.
-two or three baskets on every hole

Cons: -Very busy park
-Most of the tee pads are slick. I've seen a few people slip
-If the grass gets a little tall then it can get pretty wet in the mornings or after it rains.
Other Thoughts: -This course is fantastic for bigger arms and for beginners alike because it is fairly open.
-Wind is usually the hallmark challenge of this course
-Make sure you check out the old tree on the long basket for hole 9!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bit long for my old arm!

1    7/5/2019   7/9/2019
Review By: Grayson
Played: 47  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice tee signs showing multiple basket placements with all desired information.
- mostly well-designed holes, although long!
Cons: - Next tee navigation markings at baskets would be nice. I spent more time than desired seeking the next tee.
- Somewhere about hole 5-6-7-8, the multi baskets locations offered a view of several baskets (8 or 9) which made it difficult to determine which was which! Being an out-of-towner and without a local guide, navigation was a challenge. I wasn't sure if I consistently played the A, B, or C baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the park was nice and it seemed few expenses were spared in creating the course. Someone, or many, have put much time, money, and effort into the course. The course seemed to be constructed with more professional players in mind, so it wasn't as enjoyable for my old game. However, I can see it to be a favorite for many!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

1    6/15/2019   6/19/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 553  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 26.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Once pulling into the parking area for this large park in Knoxville , stay to the right and drive to a big circle where part of the lot dead ends , then swing around and park in one of the spots . Victor Ashe is a multi use park with a lot of soccer and activities going on at the same time . The non disc golfers using a cement walking trail will not interfere with the course except for maybe playing the short pin on #3 or #5 ( windy ) . I had been here many years before and had wanted to see what it looked like since . Parks and Rec here must have been disc golf enthusiasts or owed on a bet to the local chapter of disc golf , because not only can this course play long ( approx. 8000' ) but it is really spread out .A practice basket sits close to #1's tee pad ! nice long grippy cement tee pad , usually flush with the ground , the kind everyone likes . The signage is much better than in the past . They are the type of signs that are on wood posts and wrapped around at a 90 degree angle . The same as Morningside , The Mounds and Tommy Schumpert , among others . They are informative , giving you the layout of the hole , and distance to each pin . They have 1 tee pad bu boast t 2 newer baskets per hole , sometimes 3 , like #3 ( more on that later ) . Make sure you check the signs at the hole or you may be fooled by throwing at the wrong basket until you get there . Orange baskets are in the long position to differentiate for you ( they look great ) from the other ones . All catch really well . The elevation rolls here . You will get some up and down ( like #3 ) , just down ( like #12 ) or just up ( like #18 ), but nothing extreme . Wind can be a factor here , since many of the holes are in the open or semi open . The park is well kept . Even more trees have been planted to tighten some of the fairways . I never saw the bathrooms , but I am sure they have some close to the soccer fields , which would make it close to holes 1 and 2 . The fairways are much more forgiving that Tommy Schumpert Park . You can rebound from an off course drive much better , as long as you don't go into the brush on some of the holes . It can get deep and will cost you a stroke to get out for sure . This might be a better option for casuals or newer players because of the more openness of the course , and it being harder to lose a disc than some others. Plus , the short pins aren't too long . #1 is a great starter hole . It is the only water carry on the course , but it can be evil . The foliage guarding the far front of the pin and a couple of larger trees and their canopy can cause your first toss to taste water . The one position gives you a window to throw through . after clearing water . Very picturesque . #2 will be a long controlled hyzer that with the exception of a couple of trees and some brush on the right , open up to a big fairway where you will see the short basket .. The orange one will be semi tucked in to some light woods/brush past this basket and to the right . #3 is whatever you want it to be . The short pin is to your left , very close to the cement walking trail . The long is between 2 large trees and sits on a hill that drops off some , giving you a tricky putt when windy , and they left the tournament basket behind it , 1006' total feet away . and down a slowly descending hill . #4 is a hidden tee in what look like an inconspicuous small set of bushes , to the right of #3 basket that make you throw uphill to a set of baskets , the long one being close to the #3 tee . #5 is a fun downhill blind shot where the orange basket ( long ) is tucked into an edge of some foliage . If you were ever going to be held up by any of the local park users , it should end here . #6 is a long walk to your left down a large path that will end on your right . It looks like the old tee was removed where the old sign still stands and a new tee pad added to the left of it . The pins sit up a small grade , guarded by small trees in the fairway . I won't go hole by hole any more , but tell you that whoever the course designer was , , he did a good job with the course and especially the basket placement . If you continue to stay somewhere on the good sized fairways and stay out of the brush that sits off to the side of it , then the only battles you will have are the length of your drives and the wind . #9 has a great design . A slight hyzer hole with brush and a tree line on your right that starts to slope up (433' ) past the short pin at the top of the slope , then descending down to a slight right into a grove cut out of some woods , with a couple of trees and a basket surrounded by a rock formation . Really cool finish for a hole . #11 is an uphill drive that tops off at a summit , then starts slightly downhill to a raised basket on a stump . Many like hole #12 a downhill throw , either left and around a large tree to the short pin , or throw though a window a keep the tree on your left . A small grove of planted trees will be on your left , trying to snatch your drive out of the air . If your disc turns over some after clearing the window , the fairway will open up to a basket at the end of the park over 500' away . #13 is a tight fairway drive 342' through a door and the basket sits to the right of the door . Lots of risk reward on sticking your drive into some brush or face a ricochet .The course leaves this part of the park shortly and you will return to where holes 1-5 were . Tight fairway tosses until you get to #17 . I didn't remember the row of trees that they planted to the right of the fairway , making you control your downhill drive to the level to the pin with sits on a slight grade upwards 484' away . The left of the fairway will keep you honest with a brush and tree line that is very thick . I lost a disc in it years ago. A great hole ( I wish it was the finihing hole ) . The last hole is a 291' uphill drive that is more of a pinball throw . The basket sits slightly left , but there are trees everywhere . There is a slight shot right to left that give you to get your drive up as much of the hill that you can , but ,,,,,,, . for me it was better to take a little length off my drive and put it near the bottom of the hill so I get a look at the uphill basket for a 3 . A well designed bomber course with fairways that are more than fair for a higher rated course . Many of these holes are unique . If you can throw 300' or better and it's not real windy , you can shoot par on most of these . Pretty close to I-75 , The online map which matches the nice kiosk is pretty spot on .This course should drain pretty well since almost all of it is grass ( except places like #18 ) My signature hole would be #9 , mostly because of the downhill approach into the basket guarded by boulders and trees .
Cons: #1 Some players will argue that the technical aspect of the course is lacking . I would disagree . It can be refreshing to play a course where you aren't constantly digging your drive out of deep growth that attract ticks and bites all of the time .#2. Amenities , okay there aren't trash cans everywhere , but there are benches scattered on the course . Carry out what you carry in .#3. Some danger , especially newbies or casuals throwing holes 1-5 , where a gust of wind can take their drives into some jogger or walkers on the path . #4 the rough can get pretty rough in patches , but you shouldn't be in it very often . #5. Some walks that can confuse . Make sure you print a map for this long course . many of the next tees are obvious , but a few of the times ( hidden #4 tee pad to the right of basket #3 , down the hill ) , you can scratch your head being an out of towner . There are long walks from #5 to #6 , down the road and to the right , and #14 to #15 , the longest walk , where you walk back on the road that you took to go from 5 to 6 , walk past the #5 long basket , keeping it to your left and not your right , and the tee pad will be on your left in another 100' or so . Some will complain about the wind . Not much you can do about that . The course can be crowded at peak times .
Other Thoughts: What a beautiful park . Sitting 10 minutes off of I-75 , access to this course is easy . There is little reason to not play this course . Dual pins , good equipment and manageable holes for the casuals along with competitive longer holes for the pros and ams . If I lived in Tennessee , especially Knoxville , I would make playing this course a habit . The fun factor in disc golf is here for sure . The upkeep is great , the design is very good . and since it is close to the interstate , you can play a couple of the other quality courses in Knoxville . My recommendation : this course is a can't miss . PLAY IT !!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Victor Ashe Park DGC

5+    1/26/2019   5/10/2019
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 73  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: Victor Ashe Park DGC is an outstanding course in Knoxville, TN. This course has everything you need from open holes to wooded holes, long holes to short holes, uphill holes to downhill holes, water holes, and a great mix of left/right holes. You start of on the intimidating Hole 1 which is over water. Hole 1 is very short, but there are a ton of trees just after you cross over the water and a bad tree kick could land you in the water. If you are playing the long basket on Hole 1, it is much less wooded on the other side, but you have to put some power in your throw to stay dry. After finishing Hole 1 (hopefully with the same amount of discs you started with) it just gets better from there on. I'm not going to go into detail on every hole like I did for the first hole, but trust me, you are going to leave this course with a lasting impression and you will definitely want to go back many more times! An outstanding layout, multiple baskets on every hole, concrete tee pads and tee signs all play a factor in making this one of East Tennessee's best courses. If you are in the area, this is a must play! And even if you are well outside the area and like DG road trips, definitely hit this one! If you want to see this course on video, check out my crew playing this course in the video below...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ej-iiIobq_k

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Came from really good to awesome!

1    2/5/2017   2/5/2017
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 164  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I played Victor Ashe in the Knoxville Ice Bowl (very terribly!). The TD said that with these fundraisers set up, they were available to add dual pin positions on every hole, and three on a few! It's somewhat challenging on the short pins because most holes either have some odd shaped fairway, a few bad trees, and the others (most of them) are medium length par 3s.

-Starts off interesting with a water carry. You can't throw straight; you have to throw some sort of hyzer to get down there. Hole 1 is very difficult for a 270' footer; the 355' position may seem more forgiving because it is to the right where you won't have to face as many trees. And holes 5 and 17 are both holes you have to love! Hole 5 is a huge downhill bomb in the long pin and it's still pretty long in the short, but the elevation takes a lot of the length away. #17 is a huge hyzer bomb. The short pin is a 439' par 3 and the long is back a little but it is a par 4.

-If you only have time for one round, I would play #1's short pin, #2's short pin (the prodigy basket), #3's medium or long (1000') pin, #4-#10 in the regular or long, #11 short, #12 long, #13 short, #14 medium, #15 long, #16-#18 in either pin. That would be the funnest way to play this course. Those long pins may be more difficult to score low on; but they are more forgiving than the short pins.

-My favorite hole in #12. Especially in the medium pin. It's 520' and downhill (at least 35'). The medium pin and long pin are both par 4's. The medium pin give me an eagle opportunity since it plays like 415'. The long pin is a true par 4 that is like 660' and on the land across the road. Still a straightforward 4, and good chance for 3, but it's tougher.

-Since most of it is open, it's good practice for your long distance. The longest pin on #3 is nearly an outlier on the hole length avg. here of around 450' on the long pins, but since it's wide open and downhill, it's a good practice hole.

-Course has new and improved tee signs. For instance, they look cooler and they give the actual par description. I've heard that the old ones said that every position was a par 3, when there are par 4's and 5's here.

-Some of the new pins have awesome placements! Hole 9 in the medium pin is tucked into the woods surrounded by small rocks. #14 is an awesome "low ceiling" shot that still allows a big drive. #15 is a fun open bomb where the basket is tucked into the woods. I already mentioned a few others and they are awesome as well.
Cons: -Lots of tweener holes in the short pins. For instance, #7. It's dead straight and like 420' but the risk in going for the 2 is so high to the point where you could potentially look at a 6 or 7. The woods are extremely dense to where you are going to lose a stroke just pitching out. Especially if it is windy. The long pin is very close to the short and it's a par 4. I usually think holes around 400' are par 3's, but not if there is high risk. I took a 6 on it first round, and a 3 the second round. Nobody else on my Advanced took a 3. Same with #17. The long is just 45' past the short and a little bit more left. The long pin is a par 4. Not saying #17 can't be 2'd, but it would require a ridiculous hyzer crush.

-#18 is a bummer of a finish. I think. You might love it if you prefer wooded holes. But chances are you won't. It's 256' in the short and the split fairways are extremely tight to where it feels like a par 4. The distance doesn't match up with the fairway. Just an annoying hole. The long pin is still a 3 but the difference is that it is straighter and doesn't require a very impressive flick just to par it.

-It's very tough to navigate before you get to hole 7. The walk to 4 is confusing if you don't play the monster hole; and if you do, the first basket you'll see is the long pin for hole 5. Walk toward that pin and up the hill to the right and you find #4's teepad. The walk from 5 to 6 is also confusing. Follow the trail to the left of #5's basket and take a right. Nothing too bad but could use next tee signs.
Other Thoughts: -Now that I live in Cullowhee, I don't get to play courses like this one very often. The golf up there just isn't great. Wish courses like Victor Ashe were closer to me. The elevation and multiple pins are what really made me enjoy this course. I've seen a few negative reviews; if you didn't like this course in the past, I would encourage you to play it again to the long pins because you're far more likely to like the long layout better. I only played the shorts and they had some great holes. But I really wish we played a round from the longs. I would've played much better if we did.

-Favorite Hole: #12. Long downhill open bomb that plays over a tree at the bottom of a hill.

-Least favorite: #18. It's no bueno. Very frustrating finisher that nearly plays as pinball.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Old Rocky Top

1    8/15/2015   1/17/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 26.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The first hole is a masterpiece over water downhill that requires some luck to get through to the green and I parked it. The course is also a masterpiece of design and great beauty from hole 7 through the finish, featuring a lot of well placed mature trees on the more long and open holes, and ragged and tightly packed woods on some of the slightly shorter holes.
Cons: The second through sixth holes are fairly open and far too long. The older or advanced player will simply have two long throws to the basket and hope the second one is parked for par. Otherwise it will be a lot of bogies. Much of the course for the next few holes is also simply far too long for the average player, but the design is great.

There is too much crossover with other park users on holes 1-6, though it is fairly secluded after that.

It's very difficult to follow for the first six holes. There are a couple of long walks between holes and direction is uncertain. There is almost no way to know where to go after hole 6, as the tee for something like #15 is in direct view and you end up wondering where the hell the next 8 holes went. After you find #7 it is fairly easy to follow.

This signage wasn't bad but wasn't great.
Other Thoughts: It's truly a beautiful park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 V.A.

1    10/17/2015   11/28/2015
Review By: johngarcia79
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: V.A. is a nice big course. It has plenty of room to stretch out the long throws. There are a few precision placements that are needed. The rough is managed well and it's pretty hard to loose a disc in this stuff. Most shots are apparent and course layout is smooth. The course lends itself to a Pro format well with the long positions and has plenty of advantages for higher skill level players with different shot types. If you've got a roller, thumber, tomahawk, flick, and distance, you'll crush it.
Cons: It has a bunch of people in the way. The park itself is just busy with non-golfers. The hole layout can be kinda boring as far as intermediate play goes. The average player will throw a lot of the same shots over and over again and probably shoot around par with maybe a few birdie opportunities. I feel that by moving some of the distances either way would make for more varied scores. There were just a lot of 3.5 holes that made for a bunch of pars.
Other Thoughts: I'll be playing this course plenty more times. It is a good course. It should make me have a bigger arm and strive for some of the longer par 3's. It's probably wise to play during the week when less people are at the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Set on the rolling hills of TN

5+    1/7/2015   1/9/2015
Review By: TaylorBCross
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long open fairways.
Challenges you to become a greater player
Great Baskets
Cons: Muddy certain times a year
Pedestrians walking through course
Needs more regular maintenance
Other Thoughts: Love this course, makes me want to play it every day

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  2014 disc adventure

1    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: akooler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained so it's easy to find your disc. Great beginner course. I shot a 47 my first and only outing.
Cons: A lot of wide open shots with minimal difficulty. Finding hole 4 and hole 15 was kinda difficult.
Other Thoughts: Over flowing trash cans. And a few missing tee signs.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just 5 min off I-75

1    1/2/2014   1/10/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 330  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2014
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a pleasant, well maintained park in a nice neighborhood... others have mentioned overflowing trash cans, but it was spotless when I visited.
•Variety: Fairways are predominantly open and sparsely treed. Except for the moderately wooded final hole, the first 17 play lightly wooded, and don't require that much accuracy off the tee. Most pins are out in the open, but positioned so you'll have to work around a tree (or island of trees) on your approach to set up a putt, with a few pins nicely tucked away or well-guarded by stands of trees. Moderately rolling terrain comes into play on about half the holes, but not quite as often on putts and approaches. This combination of attributes allows for several lines to the pin off most tees, but seldom actually requires any specific routes. Nice mix of distances especially playing to the long pins. I wouldn't describe it as a bomber course, but it favors distance more than placement on all but a few holes.
• Equipment: Everything was generally in good condition. Spacious concrete tees were fairly grippy when wet. Yellow Innovas were easy to spot - long PVC poles enhance visibility on blind placements. Tee signs let you know when you've arrived. Map doesn't quite seem to scale, but getting around without it would be a bear.
• Aesthetics: Rolling hills dotted with trees are pleasing to the eye - still fairly green even in the winter. Several tees are bordered with landscaping stones at the back - provides a nice touch and helps keep sand from washing down onto the tees.
• Memorable holes: Starts with a nice water carry playing to a green ensconced by trees ready slap you down, denying your "would-be" park job...with a possible roll into the drink for a circle 4. Big arms will especially like holes 3 and 15 to the long pins, and 5 and 17 seemed particularly fun.
•Well suited to beginners (except for hole 1) and intermediate players, but probably not good for creating scoring separation among advanced players - although I think many will enjoy playing this course.
• Easy to play abbreviated rounds: play 1-5 + 15-18 = 9 holes... just don't walk to the far side of the park and skip holes 6-14.
Cons:
• Too forgiving of grip-lock and early release off the tee. I'm used to ending up in the bushes on shots like that and simply think many of the holes here make a par saving 2nd shot too easy.
• No feasible way for players who throw less than 250'or so to play hole 1. Most good water carries have some sort of bail-out route where short arms can still play if they concede a stroke or 2. The Alt Tee on the map looks like it would suffice, but I couldn't find it when I walked around to putt out. I suppose the designers simply thought this was too good a hole not to incorporate - I liked it but some will simply have to skip it.
• Navigation: JUST PRINT THE MAP!
Like many open layouts, navigation can be an issue and it's not always clear what pin you're throwing to. Course flow is more an oddity than an actual problem: holes 1-5 play through one section, then there's a decent walk to the "back of the park" where you'll find holes 6-14. To get to 15, you come back towards the section you started in. moving towards the parking lot. Really not bad once you get the hang of it, but it's certainly not intuitive.
• Two pins in the ground at the same time is nice for variety, but makes figuring out where to throw that much tougher - swear I saw 3 pins that all looked like they could be in play from certain tees.
• The biggest obstacle on many of the holes near the back of the park (holes 6-14) is the wide spread of long reaching, low-hanging branches which fill shooting lanes. But I only see these as being difficult for relatively inexperienced players: big arms can throw spike hyzers over the trees while placement players can typically hit the gaps (which aren't all that tight). That said, things could be tougher with spring/summer foliage filled in.
Other Thoughts: One of the better open courses I've played, Victor Ashe is more fun than frustrating - likely why it's so popular. Course pix and overhead maps show plenty of trees, but the reality is the most heavily wooded holes on this course play on the perimeter of the woods (rather than playing through the woods), resulting in more forgiving fairways. You can often go fairly wide to one side to safely avoid trouble on the other.

Combinations of long/short pin placements to accommodate skill levels and make it a course you can play repeatedly and still find interesting. Plays like an entirely different course depending on whether you play to shorts or longs.

Literally a few minutes off I-75: easy to get to and worth a visit for course baggers. Not for those who like tight and technical, but if you enjoy a course that gives you a chance to air it out a bit, Victor Ashe is worth a visit. Even though I favor more technical courses VA's long pin placements, fun factor, and neat water carry bump a course that's "good" on paper to "very good" with discs in hand.

Playing on a Thursday? Then head to Puleo's Grille (about 3 miles from the course) for the weekly special: a quality burger & fries for $5... you'll be happy you did. This is not greasy fast food - it's a decent restaurant your wife would be happy to sit down at.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.