Thomasville, NC 
Welborn Woods DGC Share
Uploaded By: curtis27360   (Taken 5/2017)
Course Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Surprisingly basic yet fun

1    4/10/2019   4/10/2019
Review By: DiscGunner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The distances are great for introducing new players, or for practicing your short game.
Cons: The are could be mowed or maintained a bit more. Very over grown.
Other Thoughts: The tees boxes are a bit awkward and raised oddly, but again for the city of thomasville it’s decent enough

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Welborn: Well done short course

1    7/18/2018   7/20/2018
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 314  Reviewed: 308  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Welborn Woods is a short, simplistic layout. The park isn't anything special. The sign is for 'disk golf.' And somehow, this course is way more fun than expected.
- Overlook hole #1. It's brutally horrible - straight, open 115-foot layout. At least you're starting your round with a 2.
- The course starts at #2. Simple dogleg right, 250-foot layout with the basket protected by a large tree. From here through the end of the round, great shots = ace runs/short birdie putts. Good shots = within putting range. Average tee shots = simple 3s.
- This is a scaled down version of a real course. On a normal course, each hole would be 100 feet longer. #5 & 6 would offer a true risk/reward factor playing at 258 & 320 feet respectively. Instead of eating the large bbq plate, these are the junior-sized offerings.
- For a 9-hole, 1600-foot layout, there's a decent amount of variety. There are several open holes, wooded holes, and one playing close to the water - #8.
- Course can be played with only a couple of discs. Good for a quick round. It was less than 20 minutes from the time I hopped out of my truck to when I was back in and leaving.
- Excellent tee signs. There are several blind tee shots (yes, on 200-foot holes), so helpful for less experienced players.
Cons: #1 sticks out like a sore thumb. It's horrible. Push the tee back 75 feet and you at least bring the rough into play on both sides.
- Signage for the course could be greatly improved. Pulling into the park, there's one sign for a 'disk golf' course. Keep driving past one lot, then you end up in a wide-open field. Where's the course? Drove through the field until I saw a small sign for the course. How about one more sign, pointing to the right, towards the first hole?
- Those are the two worst issues with this course. Everything else is much smaller. No trash cans or benches. The park's bathrooms, near the ball fields, were closed when I was there.
- For being so close to the interstate, I felt like I was in the middle of nowhere. Not too close (nor that far) to gas stations - 5 minutes away. Drive in from Winston-Salem had me going through an 'interesting' part of town.
Other Thoughts: Welborn Woods was a surprisingly fun course. It was a half-sized, scaled-down version of a typical course. For a course averaging 180-foot holes, this is about as good as you can get.
- Walking from #3, I noticed the pond behind #4's tee. I thought, what a waste of not incorporating the pond. I was semi-pleased that the course weaves back towards the pond, with #8 playing close to it. Still, there's an opportunity there.
- The park has a lot of unused space that you could expand to a full 18. A beginner-friendly, birdie-fest sub-4000-foot layout would be a fantastic addition to the Triad. Think of Elon Eager Beaver in Charlotte (3300-foot layout) and how popular that is.
- The three-hole stretch of wooded holes - #5 - 7 - are enjoyable. On #5 you can go around or over the trees to the basket. #6 - 7 have thicker rough, so just keep your disc in the fairway.
- For more advanced players, holes #1 - 8 are all ace-able. Players more skilled than me will also be making runs on #9. I was pleased to be having a long birdie putt after sort of navigating the dogleg.
- This isn't a great course. It is, however, above average by short-course standards. Stop by for an hour and play through twice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dink n dunk but kinda nice

1    6/6/2018   6/6/2018
Review By: keltik
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very secluded
Polecat o rama
Decent flow
Just plain fun
Cons: Poison ivy on the scale of kudzu
Super thick schule (but easily avoided)
Other Thoughts: I must be getting soft hearted as I near master's age. I really enjoyed this little dinker. Second course for Chair City!

Was really careful with shots because the thickness of schule.

Empty field near parking could be used as driving/practice range.

Note: review typed on phone

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Beginner Friendly course

5+    5/28/2017   5/28/2017
Review By: curtis27360
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Definitely very beginner friendly course.
-Most of the holes are very tight and wooded, so there actually is some challenge for non-beginners.
- No courses on this end of town, so good for locals to practice.
- Course winds around a small pond which doesn't really come into play unless you do something really really bad.
Cons: - Poison oak and ivy and briers over most of the course.
-Teepad material is not good. No traction. Washing away in a couple places. Plain old dirt tees would have been better.
-Like previous reviewer mentioned, some short 2 to 3" high small brush stumps sill left in fairways. More cleanup really needed to get this course completed.
- Only 4 holes over 200' with longest at 250'.
- Course really targeted at beginners, so may not attract many serious disc golfers.
- Hole 9 has serious drainage problems as it is located below the dam for the pond where it drains. As of 27-May, it looked like ditches were being dug to help with drainage. If this is done right, this can be a nice little finisher hole.
- Flow is generally good, but really wonky between holes 5 and 6. Basically when you finish hole 5 you have to either walk back up the hole 5 fairway or cut across and walk up hole 6 fairway to get to hole 6 tee. Seems to me like hole 5 should be turned around so tee is where basket is and basket where tee is (or some other design difference.)
Other Thoughts: - So I was very concerned about the shortness of this course. However, there is enough tightness on several of the holes that more experienced disc golfer may find some good short game practice here.
- I believe the county actually erred too far on the side of beginner/recreational design.
- Also remains to be seen if the county will put forth the effort with mowing to keep this course playable from day to day. Plus, some serious poison oak/ivy removal is needed.
- I have heard rumors that another 9 holes may be put in, so there is the chance to make a more skilled 9 holes to attract more experienced golfers..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 You'll need an ocean of calamine lotion

1    5/17/2017   5/17/2017
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 762  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 36.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little beginner course that is unlikely to conflict with any other uses due to it's location in the back of the park.
Flows well, no crossing fairways.
Nice washrooms at front of park.
Cons: Carved out of a poison ivy plantation. Poison ivy everywhere, not just in rough, but in the middle of the fairways, around the tees, close to baskets...
A little too Right Hand Backhand friendly.
Still a lot of 2"-3" stumps throughout many of the fairways, possibly the clearing is not yet complete.
Other Thoughts: I would have rated this a 2.5 if the poison ivy was under control.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.