Humble, TX 
Humble SportsPlex Share
Uploaded By: 00Toadd00 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2017)
3 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Incorrect Pin Position shown use other Hole 14 photo



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Baskets are better than no baskets

1    2/18/2018   2/19/2018
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Humble Golf Center has all of the amenities of a typical pay to play course: map and scorecard provided, drinks for sale, coffee! for sale, and the course upkeep was immaculate.

The disc golf course plays alongside the previously existing foot golf course. Most baskets are only a few feet from the golf holes and all of them had a big flag with the hole number on top. The navigation is real easy. When I went, there was spray paint leading the way to the next tee. It would have been easy without it, but it made it super simple to follow.

The course was relatively short minus one hole over 400'. An advanced player should shoot fairly well as all of the holes are easily reachable. With that being said, the course is also a great place for new players to start.

There are a few ponds on the course, but they only truly come in play on a few of the holes. There is also a bit of elevation and the course utilizes it well with baskets sitting on the side of hills and a few tees tee off from the top of the hill.
Cons: The first thing I thought when I walked up on top of the hill from the clubhouse is that there had to have been more than 18 baskets on the course. The holes are jampacked on top of each other. 18 baskets are squeezed inside less than 10 acres of land, not to mention the 18 foot golf holes as well.
It would be impossible to play this course with more than 4 other groups on the course as you would risk hitting others or getting in their way.

I was really confused by the three different 6 hole "courses" all in one. There was a red 1-6, white 1-6 and blue 1-6. I am not sure what the reason for this is since all of the courses played in a similar style.

The course has Instep baskets, which are the worst of the worst when it comes to baskets. Though, there have been extra, albeit plastic, chains added to the baskets, making them catch a bit better.

The holes were short, which is fine, but very few holes had obstacles in the fairway. This land was an old ball golf course, so there aren't too many trees, but I do believe this course could be elevated a bit with some obstacles and adding some challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is fine for who it is geared to, which is new players. This course has major flaws with having just too many baskets on the course. If you eliminated one of the "courses" and stretched out the other two, this could have the potential to be a solid 12 hole course.

This is an area that is starved for a public course, with River Grove being private, so it is better to have than not at all. I probably would not play disc golf here again, though foot golf did seem like a lot of fun!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 it is what it is

1    6/28/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice map and scorecard provided
uses the little elevation
uses the ponds
uses the few trees on the course
all tees were marked, some even had nice turf tee's
Some of the holes had some distance
Cons: several short wide open holes
holes were pretty close together in some spots, almost crossing fairways
very cheap baskets, but they do work
Other Thoughts: Based on the other reviews for this course, I was not expecting much. I arrived before they opened and took a nap. This was my 2nd course of the day (I played 12 in all)
I paid my greens fee and got a scorecard/map to use to find the holes. First red course was actually pretty good. More distance than I expected and although relatively easy, I did enjoy throwing some of the holes.

The white course lacked a little something, but had a few good holes.

The blue course was a little boring. It does have the longest hole on the course, a true par 4. (course par should be 55)

While it was a little wet the day I played, the course was in good shape.

To me, $5 greens fee to play all day and hang out with other disc golfers would be worth it.

It is not the best course in the area, but it is not the worst one either.

Would I play again?

Yes, I would play something organized. Or I would play if they were open at night. If I was in the area, I would love playing a league out there. Then hang out afterwards.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Give it a shot!

1    5/17/2017   5/17/2017
Review By: FourPlayz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -ONLY public accessible disc golf course in NE Houston
-Tees and baskets easily navigable with the provided map
-Elevation
-Appears to be a windy location
-Although P2P, $5 greens fee is a daily rate
-Surprising hole lengths!
-Hazards increasing the difficulty level (open course)
Cons: -Baskets
-Natural teeing surfaces
-Hole proximity
-Unused land
Other Thoughts: After playing the course and having a conversation with the owner of Humble Golf Center it is apparent that the intention was to produce a beginner friendly course. I believe that he has accomplished his mission. Although the course is beginner friendly there are plenty of OB areas that skilled players can use (tree lines, bush lines, light poles for mandos, etc.). The layout of the course now is okay when there is only a limited number of people on the course. There is a gold mine of unused land on the north side of the property! Hosting events on the course would provide major logistical issues due to hole proximity. As of now, with limited play all is well. Once traffic picks up at the course there may be some dangers that arise. Overall, its good and worth a try!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Addition to North East Houston

2-4    5/12/2017   5/17/2017
Review By: dbro
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Living in the area, the only option within a 25 - 30 min drive is River Grove. With the area starving for another course, The Humble Golf Center is welcomed addition.

The course has slight elevation changes and always seems to moderately windy to add to the challenge.

The biggest Pro of all will be the lights that allow for night golf without the need for glow or lights on discs.

There is also a BYOB policy. Thumbs up for that!
Cons: The baskets. They are about the cheapest metal baskets you can buy and are far from the quality of the ones installed on your typical course.

The owner stated that the additional of disc golf is in somewhat of a trial stage to see how well it does and it would be an easy improvement if he chose to swap them out for tournament quality baskets.

The Layout. There are some holes that throw across or too close to other holes. As long as it isn't crowded this inst an issue but could cause safety issues if there were many cards on the course at the same time.
Other Thoughts: The course was originally a pitch and putt ball golf course for over 20 years. In the past 5 or so years it was converted to a foot golf course and most recently disc golf was added.

Since it is on private land it is a pay to play with the current cost of $5 for the day.

Time will tell with this one but with only having one other option in immediate area I hope it continues to be a work in progress and thrives.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Uhhh...

1    5/15/2017   5/15/2017
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 87  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Slight elevation on course.
Near the freeway
Bathroom and Coffee Shop on site
Cons: No Shade
5 bucks to play
Instep Baskets
Other Thoughts: Not a valid course in today's DG scene, especially in Houston. Will never get many plays because it's just too hot - no shade at all. Basically built on the "foot golf" course, the distances are wrong and the baskets - oh baby the baskets - are the cheapie in-step 69.99 baskets you only buy as a throwaway or when you don't know what you are doing.

It might pass if it were someone's backyard course but if you are going to charge money, You have to be at least as good as the average course in Houston...which has several awesome Park District FREE shaded courses with pro level baskets.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.