Red Oak, TX 
Cherry Creek Share
Uploaded By: kcrain7 Hole #3
3 / 320ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
meh...

1    9/9/2017   9/9/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 391  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 29.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dedicated parking lot
Course map by the parking lot, although it is facing backwards.
Decent flow, easy to follow.
Does use the brush, trees about as good as can be expected
Nice Tee signs with hole distance.
Cons: Horrible horrible tee areas.
T signs maps are not very good.
Other Thoughts: Nice little 9 hole course in a small town of 12K.

The property is not perfect for a course, but a resonable course was laid out with long and short tee's for 8 of the holes. (#2 only has one tee)

#1 tees off from a small hill on the west side of the parking lot. Nice framed throw to a basket down behind a very large tree. Slightly right to left.

#2 is the shortest hole, nice ace run, but you don't want to overthrow this hole as the hole is on the edge of the rough.

#3 nice left to right shot with some decent distance. DON'T be right or your in major dodo.

#4 tightest hole on the course, slight left to right shot.

#5 Big right to left shot around a set of trees, come in too hard to the left is trouble.

#6 Nice under 300ft hole with rough/pond when wet on the left, slightly elevated and rough/ob behind the basket.

#7 biggest left to right shot, tree in front of the basket will grab your discs. You don't want to go far right or your in major trouble.

#8 longest hole on the course with a tree/rough on the right side of the fairway and some tree/rough behind and to the left of the basket.

#9 finish off with a big right to left shot with the basket set between some large trees.

They have a few practice baskets around a small pavilion too.

I think my only complaint is that it is a long walk from #9 basket to #1 tee. As long as you stay in the open areas, this course is rather easy.

I did play all the short tee's, most were ace run holes and really not worth playing.

Would I play this course again?

Well, it is not a destination course, it is not a difficult course. If I lived nearby I would probably play it some. It would be a good course to bring out someone new to disc golf. So no, I will probably never play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice park, decent course, bad tees

1    8/11/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new Mach V baskets
-detailed signs
-3 practice baskets next to the parking lot (Mach 2s)
-long and short tees
-many large evergreens in play on all holes
-2 minor instances of some elevation used well
-counterclockwise loop, easy to follow
-adequate parking for a small town 9 hole but the lot is not large
Cons: -the elevated dirt tees are a cruel joke, natural pads would have been immensely better
-some of the tee sign maps are misleading
-a few holes could be improved by moving the basket a bit (especially hole 7)
-short pads are really short and seem like an afterthought
Other Thoughts: The park here at Cherry Creek is pretty good for a course. The park is bordered by thick lines of evergreens that are very rough if you get in them. The interior of the park is dotted with many more mature evergreens and they come in play on all the holes.

The first was my favorite and probably the best hole. The tee is next to the parking lot and throws slightly downhill into wide gap with a line of trees on the left, separating this fairway from hole 8. The basket is tucked behind a tree that sticks out from the tree line. Straight down the middle with a slight hyzer finish to get parked, simple but fun. The tee sign map is a bit misleading though. It almost makes it look like it will be a dogleg right. There are a few other signs like this but Hole 1 is the trickiest since the basket is hidden from the tee.

Other than that, the signs are excellent and the Mach V baskets are in great condition. The grass was mowed the day I played and there were narrow strips of shorter fairway and paths between holes. It was really easy to navigate.

There are some other fun holes but most are very simple, with mostly short distances and usually only 1 or 2 trees to beat. I liked Hole 6 whose green is slightly elevated on a natural circle green surrounded by trees on 2 sides.

Now, the trouble spots. By far the biggest issue is the awful, wretched, downright evil dirt tee pads. Dirt was brought in and so they are elevated above the ground. They look like someones idea of what concrete pads look like but made out of dirt. They may have been even at one time but they are far from it now and the course is only months old. I took one look and just played every hole from off the side. Natural grass pads would be infinitely better and hopefully that becomes reality soon.

Not every hole can be a thriller and holes 2,3, & 8 sure seem like filler. Not sure if there are any better holes in that space, maybe plant a few trees. Hole 7, however, could be easily improved now by just moving the basket out from around that tree a bit. You should be able to attack the green on a 330' tee shot, the basket is just too close to the tree on the backside.

Overall, a pretty decent course with a few problems but some more potential. Hard to justify the drive from the city for just 9 holes but play it before or after The Jaranator, which is just up the road a bit and also the best course in DFW!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Getting better and better

1    7/9/2017   7/9/2017
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 87  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short tees, mix of forehand and backhand needed.
Great signage for each hole.
Trash bins every couple holes.
Great loop layout, easy to follow.
Great use of the area, with a small pavilion.
Great use of rough, if you miss it will make you pay, which I like.
Cons: All cons will be a dressed in due time i'm sure?
Needs dual concrete teepads.
I played on a day that the course needed to be mowed or trimmed up.
Paved or black top parking area would be nice, rock parking area for now.
Other Thoughts: ALOT OF POTENTIALLY! I can see this being a great course the more it is used. Once more people play the course the better it will be.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/5/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: txdiscer
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Long and short tees make it easy to play a full 18 without getting bored.
-Good mix of backhand and flick holes and distances.
-Was mowed when I went out there.
-Really easy flow for quick play.
-Fun for beginners, could be a slight challenge for advanced players.
-Good use of the trees and landscape that are out there.
-Dries really well after rain.
Cons: -Dirt tee pads.
-Some areas need clearing.
-Signage isn't up yet, but I hear it's coming soon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.