Red Oak, TX 
Cherry Creek Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Cherry Creek

1    6/14/2018   6/14/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 146  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 34.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Map of the course by the parking lot.
-- Tee signs (at the long tees) are good.
-- Trash cans
-- Baskets are numbered
-- Navigation is easy. No. 1 tee is right of the parking lot as you pull in. A mowed path takes you hole to hole, except for No. 9, which is perpendicular to No. 1. From the No. 8 basket, come toward the parking lot and you'll be in the No. 9 fairway.
-- Two practices baskets, about 100 fee apart. I would prefer them closer together (40-50 feet) to practice putting back and forth, but two practice baskets is a good thing.
-- There is reasonable shade, although in the heat of a Texas summer, there is never enough shade.
Cons: -- No restrooms or water
-- Tee areas are natural and not well defined. The short tees are a mowed circle or semicircle just off the mowed path.
-- Almost no elevation change.
-- No benches or places to sit.
-- The No. 8 tee sign is facing the wrong direction, but given the mowed path, that isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: -- This is a fairly straightforward course. An intermediate player from the short tees has a chance to birdie just about every hole and should expect to shoot under par. The long tees mostly just add 40-50 feet, although there is the occasional added obstacle. And the No. 8 long tee is much longer than the short tee. I would not go out of my way to play this course again, but if I lived nearby, it probably would be worth the occasional visit to get in a quick round.
-- No. 2 is the only hole without two tees, and it is the shortest hole on the course.
-- There is evidence of concrete tees being installed, but in one case, what appeared to be the frame for a tee box was nowhere near any current tee pad.
-- Getting to the course was not easy. If you are going east on Daubitz Drive, you'll make a right on Live Oak. However, that looks so much like a driveway for the ball field there that you are tempted to go past it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2 Practice Baskets, 9 Holes

1    4/6/2018   6/6/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.851 Rating) A simplistic city park nine hole course.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Cherry Creek is the perfect little course to bring a new player too. The course in general, is forgiving. There is no water, the lanes are wide and the overgrowth is manageable being present on just a few fringe fairways. A good choice to bring the whole family to.
- CHAINS - Adequate MachVs that are in great condition. The plate sign number on top is present too.
- SIGNAGE - For a nine holer, I thought the tee signs were good. A two colors scheme designed effectively. They show obstacles, distance, par and have a large hole number so that they can be spotted from a good distance. The only omission on the tee sign is next tee direction and the signage design fails to show the correct location of the main obstacle trees in many instances. A really nice course map as well. Its accurately scaled and has a north arrow. Taking a picture will clear up any confusion on this layout.
- NAVIGATION - Easy breezy due the signage pro listed above. Players with a disc golf cart will have no problems.
- QUICK PLAY - This one took me 25 minutes solo first time thru. Figure a group of 4 should be done in 45 minutes.
- MULTI TEES - Although not the easiest to spot, (see cons, Tees) there are two defined sets of tees out here. The short tees are aligned to novice level and the long tees are recreational level.

Cons: No glaring issues with Cherry creek but this course will struggle to find a large following in its averageness.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Other than drawing a windy day like I did, shooting low here for even intermediate level players will occur routinely from the back tees. I figure a 900 rated player will average 2 to 3 down from the back tees. Advanced players will likely throw 9 down every once in a while. Precision is not really a requirement except on maybe hole (4).
- POISON IVY - The ivy was absolutely getting ready to explode everywhere off fairway. The is not that uncommon in the spring in East Texas but the density of this plant here seems excessive compared to other city parks in the region.
- TEES - The tees are natural and fairly hard to spot in a few instances. Only the back tees have signage. Most of the tees are slightly raised from the surroundings, but by no more than 2 or 3 inches. I think there may have been some mulch thrown in them at one point but dirt is now the most prevalent element upon a closer look.
- CHARACTER - Below average. As stated, nice looking signage, adequate baskets and poor tees. No alternate basket locations, no seating and limited shade at the tees as well. There's a shelter with tagging graffiti in the park but oddly not one picnic table underneath. There are also two practice baskets which is the first time I saw this at a nine hole course. I would surmise that a local must have installed one here on their own agenda as they don't match.
- ELEVATION - Extremely flat. Maybe one or two holes vary by 5 feet.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to absent elevation, the holes themselves are generally all non-descript city park shots. Mostly open or lightly wooded with a limited amount of technique and precision required. No water in play and no doglegs. No par 5s or even par 4s and the longest hole is only about 400 feet.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Meh. A lightly wooded park without any signature looks or exotic features. I scored the course a 2 out 5.
- PARKING - A really bad pitted lot comprised of gravel.

Other Thoughts: Not every course needs to be an exotic gem right? Sometimes as a player, all I want is a utility course to relax at and practice my game. Cherry Creek meets this need and it will be serviceable for those nearby. In addition to the utility for nearby players, this course is also great for beginners. It offers just the right amount of challenge for newer players and it's very forgiving.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

meh...

1    9/9/2017   9/9/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 575  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 30.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dedicated parking lot
Course map by the parking lot, although it is facing backwards.
Decent flow, easy to follow.
Does use the brush, trees about as good as can be expected
Nice Tee signs with hole distance.
Cons: Horrible horrible tee areas.
T signs maps are not very good.
Other Thoughts: Nice little 9 hole course in a small town of 12K.

The property is not perfect for a course, but a resonable course was laid out with long and short tee's for 8 of the holes. (#2 only has one tee)

#1 tees off from a small hill on the west side of the parking lot. Nice framed throw to a basket down behind a very large tree. Slightly right to left.

#2 is the shortest hole, nice ace run, but you don't want to overthrow this hole as the hole is on the edge of the rough.

#3 nice left to right shot with some decent distance. DON'T be right or your in major dodo.

#4 tightest hole on the course, slight left to right shot.

#5 Big right to left shot around a set of trees, come in too hard to the left is trouble.

#6 Nice under 300ft hole with rough/pond when wet on the left, slightly elevated and rough/ob behind the basket.

#7 biggest left to right shot, tree in front of the basket will grab your discs. You don't want to go far right or your in major trouble.

#8 longest hole on the course with a tree/rough on the right side of the fairway and some tree/rough behind and to the left of the basket.

#9 finish off with a big right to left shot with the basket set between some large trees.

They have a few practice baskets around a small pavilion too.

I think my only complaint is that it is a long walk from #9 basket to #1 tee. As long as you stay in the open areas, this course is rather easy.

I did play all the short tee's, most were ace run holes and really not worth playing.

Would I play this course again?

Well, it is not a destination course, it is not a difficult course. If I lived nearby I would probably play it some. It would be a good course to bring out someone new to disc golf. So no, I will probably never play this course again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice park, decent course, bad tees

1    8/11/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 322  Reviewed: 258  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new Mach V baskets
-detailed signs
-3 practice baskets next to the parking lot (Mach 2s)
-long and short tees
-many large evergreens in play on all holes
-2 minor instances of some elevation used well
-counterclockwise loop, easy to follow
-adequate parking for a small town 9 hole but the lot is not large
Cons: -the elevated dirt tees are a cruel joke, natural pads would have been immensely better
-some of the tee sign maps are misleading
-a few holes could be improved by moving the basket a bit (especially hole 7)
-short pads are really short and seem like an afterthought
Other Thoughts: The park here at Cherry Creek is pretty good for a course. The park is bordered by thick lines of evergreens that are very rough if you get in them. The interior of the park is dotted with many more mature evergreens and they come in play on all the holes.

The first was my favorite and probably the best hole. The tee is next to the parking lot and throws slightly downhill into wide gap with a line of trees on the left, separating this fairway from hole 8. The basket is tucked behind a tree that sticks out from the tree line. Straight down the middle with a slight hyzer finish to get parked, simple but fun. The tee sign map is a bit misleading though. It almost makes it look like it will be a dogleg right. There are a few other signs like this but Hole 1 is the trickiest since the basket is hidden from the tee.

Other than that, the signs are excellent and the Mach V baskets are in great condition. The grass was mowed the day I played and there were narrow strips of shorter fairway and paths between holes. It was really easy to navigate.

There are some other fun holes but most are very simple, with mostly short distances and usually only 1 or 2 trees to beat. I liked Hole 6 whose green is slightly elevated on a natural circle green surrounded by trees on 2 sides.

Now, the trouble spots. By far the biggest issue is the awful, wretched, downright evil dirt tee pads. Dirt was brought in and so they are elevated above the ground. They look like someones idea of what concrete pads look like but made out of dirt. They may have been even at one time but they are far from it now and the course is only months old. I took one look and just played every hole from off the side. Natural grass pads would be infinitely better and hopefully that becomes reality soon.

Not every hole can be a thriller and holes 2,3, & 8 sure seem like filler. Not sure if there are any better holes in that space, maybe plant a few trees. Hole 7, however, could be easily improved now by just moving the basket out from around that tree a bit. You should be able to attack the green on a 330' tee shot, the basket is just too close to the tree on the backside.

Overall, a pretty decent course with a few problems but some more potential. Hard to justify the drive from the city for just 9 holes but play it before or after The Jaranator, which is just up the road a bit and also the best course in DFW!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Getting better and better

1    7/9/2017   7/9/2017
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 123  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short tees, mix of forehand and backhand needed.
Great signage for each hole.
Trash bins every couple holes.
Great loop layout, easy to follow.
Great use of the area, with a small pavilion.
Great use of rough, if you miss it will make you pay, which I like.
Cons: All cons will be a dressed in due time i'm sure?
Needs dual concrete teepads.
I played on a day that the course needed to be mowed or trimmed up.
Paved or black top parking area would be nice, rock parking area for now.
Other Thoughts: ALOT OF POTENTIALLY! I can see this being a great course the more it is used. Once more people play the course the better it will be.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/5/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: txdiscer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Long and short tees make it easy to play a full 18 without getting bored.
-Good mix of backhand and flick holes and distances.
-Was mowed when I went out there.
-Really easy flow for quick play.
-Fun for beginners, could be a slight challenge for advanced players.
-Good use of the trees and landscape that are out there.
-Dries really well after rain.
Cons: -Dirt tee pads.
-Some areas need clearing.
-Signage isn't up yet, but I hear it's coming soon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.