Sherman, TX 
Pecan Grove West Share
Uploaded By: Logos114   (Taken 12/2018)
Course Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Great course

1    11/25/2018   11/25/2018
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets pads and signs
Good flow some in forest some near water.
Good distance
Great elevation changes
Cons: A little cris cros near some baskets and tea boxes.
Other Thoughts: I played after fall so forest was clear i bet much harder full trees

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Polar Bear Round

1    12/26/2017   1/2/2018
Review By: MadGame32
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2021
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice goals.
-Well built tee pads.
-Signage is great!
-Some open holes sprinkled into a mostly wooded course.
-The open holes that allowed you to really hammer drives.

Cons: -Wooded holes became redundant.
-Flow was confusing. Definitely need a map or a local.
-Only 2 reasonable ace opportunities on the whole course.
-Very difficult to know where goals were due to length.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I had a decent time despite the cold, but there just seemed to be something missing. We really could not put our finger on it when we finished. As I reflected later, it felt like several of the wooded holes were essentially the same. It may have been that all the leaves were gone, but it just felt like there was not much personality in the layout. I think that was the main issue.

Hole 1: I liked this hole due to its length and direction. You don't see holes like this often, so it was refreshing. Tough, but fair.

Hole 2: I counted this as one reasonable ace opportunity.

Hole 3: I did not like that we had to cross the street for this hole. It made it feel a bit separated from the course. It was not a terribly long walk, but crossing the road just made it feel as though it was squeezed in. This could be a long shot ace opportunity for people that can throw long hyzer bombs.

Hole 4: I like the long hole that fed into the woods. It would be helpful to mark the trees where the designed intended you to travel so outsiders will know where to place drives.

Hole 5: This is a long uphill out of the woods. I did not mind the distance, but I do prefer to avoid stacking trees really close to baskets. You want to be on the left side of this basket for that reason.

Hole 6: Nice long drive into the woods.

Hole 7 & 8: Essentially both are long wooded tunnel shots. One downhill and one uphill. They would be difficult to ace due to length and trees.

Hole 9: Nice shot that tucks into the left at the end.

Hole 10: Another tunnel shot the would be next to impossible to ace. Felt much like 7 & 8 after the turn.

Hole 11: The layout adventure starts here. Use a map or get lost. Watch out for other disc golfers as you walk through. Felt similar to 7, 8, and 10.

Hole 12: Long bomber hole! I really enjoyed letting a drive fly after dealing with all the woods. The tall flag on the goal was great help. Be very careful not to go long on approach shot. Sharp downhill on other side.

Hole 13 & 14: Long shots on the backside of dam. Nothing too difficult.

Hole 15: This was my favorite hole. On paper, it looks wide open and easy. But, the goals and tee pad being on top of the dam leaves a narrow landing area. Miss left and you roll down the dam on the left. Miss right, and you could roll into water. Wind really comes into play as well.

Hole 16: This was another fun hole that drives over water. There is a forehand path in the winter.

Hole 17: Another long trek to find the next hole. Watch out for flying discs as you cross other holes. Very similar to 7, 8, 10, and 11.

Hole 18: The other decent ace shot on the course. I liked the flow of this hole.

3/15/21 Update:
Out of the 66 courses I have reviewed, this is where this course ranks along with similarly rated courses:
Rank-Course, Location
25-Griffin Park, Norman, OK
26-Boyd Pond Park, Beech Island, SC
27-Golden Grove Farm & Brew DGC, Piedmont, SC
28-Riverview Park, North Augusta, SC
29-The Firecracker, Fountain Inn, SC
30-Granbury City DGC, Granbury, TX
31-Owens Field Park, Columbia, SC
32-Hampton Park Baptist Church DGC, Greenville, SC
33-Pecan Grove West, Sherman TX
34-Weatherford DGC, Weatherford, TX


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 George George, watch out for that TREEEE

1    6/20/2017   6/24/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Red Disc Nation baskets
Great Tee pads that are all level at the moment (I worry that they built up sand under them, I worry about erosion)
Takes advantage of the elevation in the park, specially on the dam.
Takes advantage of the trees
Several 400 ft 2 shot holes.
Most of the holes are cleared out pretty good
Map next to the parking lot
Good tee signs with distance and "next tee" arrows.
Cons: Some of the fairways and holes are a little too close to each other. More than once did I land on or across another fairway due to hitting trees.
Course has some narrow fairways.
Holes 12 to 15 are WIDE open and play on the Dam and spillway. (you get a lot of elevation on those holes)
Other Thoughts: The City is a GREAT job clearing out the area for this course. Several of the holes are back and forth in a grove of tree's. But no <300 foot holes in the woods, these holes are 400ft and more with dogleg right or left on a few of them.

I do like how the course was laid out so that hole 9/10 are back at the parking lot, you don't see that enough anymore.

This course is trying to be a championship level course, but it the property isn't right for that. HOWEVER this course will be challenging for the more advance players.

So why did I only give it a 4, if it were not for those dam holes (12 to 15) with no tree's I would give it a 4.5.

Once this course gets broken in (recently cleared so it is pretty rough right now) it will be a destination course.

So, will I play this course again?

YES, but not when it is 90+ and sunny. (or just skip 12 to 15 as 16's tee is close enough to 11 basket)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.