Maple Valley, WA 
Gaffney's Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: joshwhite Hole #8 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fun course, highly recommended

1    3/19/2022   3/19/2022
Review By: play4fun
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 46.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great layout, next tee close to hole out
*Variety of shots, most require tunnels shots, some slight elevations, many dog legs
*Fairly short course, will not take long to play
*In the beauty of the forest
*Near Lake Wilderness activities for the rest of the family (if they're not disc golfing)
Cons: *Signage kind of confusing
Other Thoughts: Really a fun course! Not many over 300', but the short ones will eat you alive if you hit a tree and get a bad ricochet. This course will force you to hone in on accurate drives. If you hit trees, it may force you to hone in on get out of jail shots.

There are a few elevation shots, mostly gradual elevations. Lots of dog legs. One island hole. About every tee will be a tunnel shot. Not sure what is considered OB, but on a few there are yellow ropes showing what OB is. Several mandos, which are designated with extra signage and tell you if there is a drop zone or bring back to the tee for the penalty.

I think this course would still be fun for the novice and would be an easy course for advanced players.

Nice layout. Tee #1 is right off of the parking lot and #18 brings you back to the parking lot.

I'm not sure how helpful the signage is. Kind of confusing to read and interpret. I played behind a threesome of locals that made it easy to see where the basket is. Even seeing where the basket is, however, sometimes didn't make sense looking at the signage.

These are DGA Mach 5 baskets. All the tees are concrete. Most have benches. A few have protective netting as a slice or a shank drive from the tee before has potential to fly towards the tee.

UDisc is accurate for the full 18. I wanted to play the back 9 after I was finished, but had to use the map for the 18 because the back 9 wasn't mapped out on UDisc.

No water fountains that I could see, but it does have a porta potty at the parking lot.

It doesn't take a lot of time to do a round. If the family wanted to accompany you but not play, Lake Wilderness is adjacent which has a path around it and many hiking trails across the street to the north of the course. There's also an arboretum, a museum. pickle ball courts, a playground, and a park. For those of you who want to make a mini vacation out of it, there is the Lake Wilderness Lodge and two bed and breakfasts there as well as a boat launch.

I highly recommend this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 First timer

1    6/22/2019   6/29/2019
Review By: Liv2xplore
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a first time player this was a great course to try out. Not too long, but still 18 holes. Plenty of challenges with all the trees but if you have bright discs you'll find them. Trails are well marked and well maintained, we even had someone in a power wheelchair that only needed an occasional push up a steeper slope. Course is nicely laid out and you can find the next tee easily.
Cons: There is some broken glass here and there, it's unreasonable to think they could ever get all of it. But it's something to watch out for and good footwear is advised. (I saw someone playing in flip flops today at another course, smh) It would be nice to have more garbage cans around but I didn't see litter so at least people are respecting the area.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing so I don't have much to compare it to. But it was difficult enough that I don't see becoming bored with this course soon and it was a great place for my son and I to play for our first outing. Having trails wide enough and mostly flat enough for a power wheelchair made it a bonus for us since my wife is in a chair and it means she can come with. It's also only a few miles from my home so that's a major bonus!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intermediate Course

5+    8/31/2018   9/1/2018
Review By: antsofthesky
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ignore other reviews about this course not being finished. Tee boxes are all in and the course is well worn in, losing discs should be no problem.

-Easy to navigate
-Great beginner to intermediate course
-Great place to work on technical throws
-Friendly locals
-Beautiful surrounding
-Decent amount of garbage cans
Cons: The few cons are mostly due to the parks former squatter resident. There is quite a bit of broken glass in the area so be careful with your pets and thin shoes.

-Not many benches
-Only one hole to really air it out on for big arms (hole 9)
-Ants if youre not into them
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place to both introduce somebody to the game and improve your mid range and approach games. It is technical enough to give a challenge but unfortunately lacks any distance game besides one hole. If youre looking to air it out there are better courses around. Overall a really great addition to the area. Also be warned there are huge ant hills in the area. They are harmless thatcher ants, however my girlfriend was not a fan at all.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Exceptional course, better location

1    10/8/2017   10/11/2017
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 93  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2017
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are a good length, challenging enough to be fun but not too hard. Paths are well marked as are the fairways. Holes are easy to find and course as a whole is easy to navigate. The location is perfect, large mossy trees mixed with more open fairways. A variety of shots/ discs can be used well. Some fairways are tight, and you have to use one shot, but others open up and allow you to be creative. This course lends itself well as a day trip destination because of the surrounding area. The course begins and ends in almost the same exact spot which is nice.
Cons: Lots of brush on the sides, easy to lose a disc if you shank a drive. Hole 2's fairway is so cluttered with trees it is a little to hard.
Other Thoughts: There is a league that plays there on sundays.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Only been open a few days

5+    5/15/2017   5/15/2017
Review By: PBokor
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2018
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Free and close to home.
- City fully committed to maintenance and improvement.
- Well marked and easy to navigate.
- Many tempting ace runs, which provide great risk/reward ratio for better players. Hit your line perfectly and 80% of the baskets are ace worthy, miss by a thin margin and you might struggle for par.
- Ample parking with multiple access points allows custom play, based on how much time you have to play.
- RH/LH equally represented.
- Novice and kid friendly (see cons)
- Drains great, few puddles.
Cons: - Incredibly short, no par 4's only one long par 3.
Other Thoughts: This is a great Rec course, which will get better with seasoning. Anyone can shoot near par with conservative play. Challenging enough to promote constant improvement for those learning to throw. Quiet times provide endless safari opportunities.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.