Gardendale, AL 
Magnolia Links Share
Uploaded By: jasonswam Hole #4 (Taken 5/2017)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

2-4    5/21/2018   5/22/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice tees, baskets, and tee signs. Park is well maintained and won't throw you out til 10. A few fun technical shots, including a couple 6' ceiling plays on the back. I actually dropped a thumb roller on one of them and felt good about my decision. Two vaguely longer holes to encourage development of a stronger arm.

No substantial navigational hiccups: there are a couple spots where you could walk to the wrong tee, but backtracking maybe fifty feet will solve the issue.
Cons: With a mostly open layout, seven holes under 200 feet, and only two holes over 300 feet, there's not too much challenge here, aside from the occasional OB road.

Several places where the layout is cramped; for example, at one point, there were three baskets all in view from one tee, all within 300 feet of the tee (and 100 feet of each other). The correct guess, of course, was the most boring one.
Other Thoughts: This course is good for beginners, with a lil bit of everything in manageable doses, but those seeking more challenge should go on to Clay or Inverness or Civitan or even George Ward, as this course will bore most rec level players.

Locust trees are like Satan's gift to disc golfers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recreational Heaven

1    12/30/2017   3/8/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.587 Rating) A relaxing novice and recreational players course.
- ACEABILITY - Seven sub two-hundred foot holes will have veteran players eyeing the basket or listening for chains. Holes (1) (8) and (11) are going to ring up numerous times a year being both short and open.
- TEES - Adequately sized concrete tees that are 4 feet by 10 feet in length. They were recently poured and are all in good condition.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the nice tees, one of the best things about Magnolia is the feeling that you know the space is dedicated to just disc golf. There's effective and appealing hole signage, there's a community board with a beautiful course map, there's trash cans, and there's a practice basket. Things I'd like to see however is definitely some seating. I don't recall a signal bench during my round. I would also like to see some alternate basket placements as funds become available in the future.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate, I stumbled around a few times between hole transitions and then ultimately checked my map. Hole signage has next tee direction on them but there is definitely a need for some directional cues between holes. Due to how the hole signage is orientated, reading the sign # from a distance is difficult.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - An ideal course to introduce a first timer to learn the game. Lots of open to lightly wooded fairways, but also a few short technical plays. Very little opportunity to lose a disc.
- QUICK PLAY - One of the quickest 18s I've ever played. At 4,200 feet in length and with short transitions between holes, solo players with an open course could knock this one out in 45 minutes. Groups of four should have no problem playing this one in under an hour.
- MAINTENANCE - The park grounds appear to be very well maintained. Little trash was observed and the grass was mowed everywhere. A charming well constructed bridge on (5).
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In addition to good maintenance, the natural look and feel of the layout really added to my experience. A nice shallow valley plays threw hole (5). The little creek running along a couple holes has a gentle Zen touch to it. The woodsy areas appeared healthy despite my visit occurring in the heart of winter. The only real beauty drawbacks were the first few holes and hole (18), which all butted up against the open nature of the rest of the multi-use park.

Cons: Magnolia is a solid recreational course with only one substantial issue. Everything else noted below are just the inadequacies that come with this style of course.
- SPACING - The layout feels really squeezed in. Several of the fairways feel partially shared. Discs will constantly end up in other fairways. Black aces probably occur here. In addition, if this course were to get full of people, players would be wise to keep their head up and aware of other groups teeing off.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Not much of a challenge to even intermediate players as they should have no problem breaking par and being several shots down. I personally shot 7 down on first attempt as a 900ish rated player. Recreational players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish under par routinely as well. Novice players will even get some birdie looks.
- UNIQUENESS - A touch below average. To start, there are no par 4's or 5's. All of the holes are on the short side with the longest being 345 feet. There is a run of three slightly sweeping shots (14-16) and there is one nice right pocketing shot on (13). Elevation is mild. There are a few holes that have undulations in the 20 to 25 foot range. Water plays are minor with a very small 4 foot wide creek coming into play on two tee shots.
- WIND - About two thirds of this layout is lightly wooded or open. So wind can play a big factor on a lot of holes.

Other Thoughts: Magnolia is a really fun course to play. Half of my tee shots were preceded with visions of chains being smashed. If I lived within 5 miles of here I'd be here all the time. The perfect place to throw a relaxing round and hang out with a group of friends. Players looking for a challenge however will have to go elsewhere. I would recommend all of the following Birmingham area courses for a greater difficulty factor; Inverness, Clay, Civitan or George Ward.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Short & Sweet

1    7/2/2017   7/2/2017
Review By: olmster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs, excellent baskets, first time navigation around course was not too difficult. Plenty of parking, good overview map at start to take pic of before round.
Cons: Short course, some very open holes with no obstacles at all. Be very careful on #4, if you go right into woods you could easily lose a disc as it drops about 50-60 feet down to a creek. Steep hill & was very slick from rains. After some good rain several of the back nine holes are just slick mud.
Other Thoughts: Maybe add a few trees over time as obstacles to the 5-6 holes out in the open. Big arm players will rarely need their drivers on this course. Plenty of birdies available here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    5/27/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: geauxtn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I went to this course because it was listed as a good course for beginners and near Birmingham. The course is short enough for beginners to average players. I'm afraid that advanced players may find it boring. There is great signage on the course with arrows pointing to the next hole. The OB needs to be more clearly marked on the signs though. There were some holes that were bordered by roads. While the road was OB there was no mention if over the road was OB. Some courses it is, some it isn't. A word of warning to left handers like me. This course was not designed for you unless you have an excellent flick. Some of the holes were VERY narrow (#2 is ridiculously narrow) and turned right to left. The course is 5 minutes from my in-laws so I will be playing there whenever I'm in town.
Cons: - Out of bounds needs to be more clearly marked
- Designed mainly for right handers

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.