Rio Vista, TX 
Rio Vista DGC Share
Uploaded By: JeremyKShort Hole #9
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Short only good to teach 1st timers

1    11/23/2018   11/24/2018
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy layout. Nice signs.
Cons: Way to short. All flat no variety or obstecles. 1 basket hit by mower is leaning. Several pads are moved
Other Thoughts: If you are teaching a kid or a 1st time player this is great. If you want to try for aces also every hole is able

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rio Vista

1    6/27/2018   6/27/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Map at the parking lot
-- Very nice baskets (Innova Chain Catchers)
-- Tee signs with map and distance on every hole.
-- Will never, ever, be crowded.
Cons: -- Tees. Someone put some time (and maybe some money) into building tee pads a few inches off the ground. The problem is that they are WAY too short, and they are not stable. Whatever time and money went into the tee pads was wasted.
-- Only one tree on the entire course. And it's not poor planning. That's the only tree on this part of the property, and there is no elevation or water. This is a terrible piece of land for disc golf.
-- Not only does the lack of trees hurt the aesthetics, it hurts the game itself. On any sort of windy day (today was very windy), there is NOTHING to block any wind.
Other Thoughts: -- I understand that high school students designed and put this in. Kudos to them for the work, but this is NOT a good course (or even a decent one) and isn't likely to ever be.
-- This might be a good course to introduce the sport to people, but I'm even worried about that. If you get the idea that almost all tee shots are under 200 feet, and there are no obstacles to avoid, you will not be happy when you play a real course, even a short, easy one such as Carver Park 15 miles up the road.
-- You might not feel like it's torture if you can convince yourself that those 150-200 foot shots off the tee are really second (approach) shots with a mid range disc. Otherwise, I can't imagine anyone who has played disc golf more than 2-3 times ever playing this course.
-- The course is so open and windy that the flags on pole attached to each basket are ALL torn and gone. One hole has part of a flag remaining.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where Eagles Dare

1    9/23/2017   9/24/2017
Review By: Can't get right
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for locals trying to get exposure to the sport. Very easy.
Cons: Too easy even with just putters. Short holes. Very little obstructions. Even for someone like myself who is a less than average player, anything less than a bird is a fail. (By that measure I failed 8 of 9 holes).

Elevated wooden tee box is not ideal. I played from beside them.

Signage is there so that's a plus, but a few are marked as par 4 or 5.

Also, being on a high school campus makes it not easy to just show up and play.
Other Thoughts: I think their hearts are in the right place, it just isn't a course I'd drive down to very often. I hope they keep working on it to try to make it more challenging. Maybe some artificial obstacles?!? I only rate it so low because it's just too easy. I wish them luck and just keep working on the course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not a challenge

1    8/1/2017   8/1/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice new Innova Chain Catchers
Tee signs with map and distance on every hole
Map at the parking lot
Cons: Tee Boxes are like throwing off a shipping palate, some even rock back and forth.
No tree's, well there is a tree on hole 3.
Other Thoughts: This is what it is, a GREAT course for beginners to play and get hooked on disc golf.

What this course isn't for is anyone who plays on a regular bases.

It is a good course to work on your upshots and or ace runs.

Course is set in some flat land with 1 tree behind the school between a football field and the Tennis Courts.

Personally, I ran for aces on every hole and finished -8 (19) for the 9 holes. I only missed my putt (chains left) on #7, the longest hole on the course.

Those tee boxes got to go. They are horrible. The cover is already coming off and they are too short to take a 3 step throw.

Would I play here again?

Well, not really. If someone was running an ace run event or a round of 51, maybe. But there is zero reason to drive 75 miles from my house to play this course again :)

However, if you are in town, you HAVE to check out Roughnecks on the old square. Best onion rings I have ever had and REAL beef burgers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.