Parker, CO 
Westcreek DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheBrownZombie Hole #3 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Nice Bomber Course

1    10/15/2017   10/16/2017
Review By: fooswillb21
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well though out course, plays wide open. Man made obstacles keep each hole interesting without being gimmicky. Lots of long holes you can really air it out on.
Cons: Very few trashcans throughout the course. You can see every other golfer out there so it feels a bit more crowded than it is.

Other Thoughts: A lack of shade as well as vegetation growth could be problems during the summer. Saw some comments about this - the course had been recently mowed when I played so there was very little searching for discs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Southeast Metro Long Bomb Course

2-4    6/26/2017   7/27/2017
Review By: bomber8484
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is Parker Colorado's top Disc Golf Course. The course amenities combined with a simple but challenging design makes this a the top course for me in the South East Metro Area. The course is without question one of the longest in the Denver Metro area. The only one I have played that is close in length is Bird's Nest. Most par 3's holes are over 300', there are a fair number of Par 4's which is rare for most city courses. This course also features the only Par 5 I have played in the Denver Metro area. This for me makes it very fun to play. The course is easily navigated with a detailed course map at the beginning of the course, take a picture with your phone and your all set. There are very few trees on the course but the mandos and the use of large logs and poles, work to guard the basket on some holes. This ads to the challenge and fun. The course looks like it is a wide open Bomb fest and anywhere you end up is good. That is not the case. In areas where there is tall grass there is a distinct fairway mowed. If you throw too far outside this fairway then you will be spending time looking for discs and even loose one or two. So there is a risk reward factor, go with the established line and you will easily retrieve your disc. Pioneer a new route to the basket and pay with a lost disc and lost stroke. Great course fun to play I highly recomend it.

As far as the amenities go this is the only course I have played with real bathrooms and water. There is also a very nice covered area with picnic benches. This is a great place to meet up with friends before you start playing or even to take a break between the front and back nine. Our plan is later in the season play a round of tags there and have a little BBQ at the installed grills. This course right now is not well known and I think is an excellent choice for evening and weekend disc golf in the Denver Metro area.
Cons: A couple cons for me is I like the front 9 better than the back 9. The back 9 is where the majority of par 4's and the par 5 is. This makes the back nine a little grind as you are throwing all out on most holes. It is still fun but I would have liked to see them mixed in a little more. A minor con is I really don't like hole 18 as you are throwing up uphill from a much lower elevation against a large berm. With the wrong wind you have little chance for a birdie on this hole. These are very minor cons as this is still a very fun course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very fun course

5+    7/18/2017   7/19/2017
Review By: mtndisc'r
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2017
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to get to: Right on the Cherry Creek trail and just off Parker Road
Huge Concrete Tees with maps of the hole
Good map at the beginning of the course near a shelter and bathroom
trash cans on the course to make it easier to do as-you-go cleanup
Lots of parking
Big greens with easy to see baskets
mowed fairways and most approaches to the next tee
Mando's to keep it cleaner
Cons: Gravel greens
Dog owners that act as if the off-leash park extends onto the course
trash blowing off 470
Rough hides discs easily and the grass will use you to distribute their pointy seeds
The one water issue is well hidden on 7 so you'll get a surprise especially if your throw lands about 230' on the fairway after the rare rains
Other Thoughts: I'm proud to be part of the community that got this park done! It is a true memorial to our troops and their dogs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Parkers new DGC

5+    6/30/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: chainbangerz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big Tee Pads

Teepads have diagram of where to throw for the hole and they also have a metal piece at the bottom of each teepad sign for scraping mud off shoes!

Awesome man made obstructions.
Mandos

Mowed fairways

Easy to navigate (look at course map before staring)

Parking is always available, for now. (Meaning that the dog park does not over pack and leave no spaces for disc golfers.)

Water fountain (also fountain for dogs and bowl!)

Cons: Gravel for greens.

Most obstructing obstacles are within 30 ft. (I would like to see more things in the middle like the mandos or like hole 4 or 7.

No trashcans around the teepads. (Not everyone has trash to throw away but if I find trash I try to pick it up to keep the course clean and respected.)
*UPDATE1*
Hole 6, 12, & 17 have trashcans now!

Not much shade.

No warm up basket or net to practice throw into. (I like to stretch/warm up first)

*UPDATE1*
If it rained a lot the previous day or possibly day of , hole 7 fairway will be wet in areas.
Other Thoughts: I love the location of this course.

Dog Park next to it with bathrooms.

Front 9 is 3262ft and back 9 is 3942 making the back 9 680 ft. longer.

I would say this course is not for beginners because it is long. However you can throw your disc without worrying about losing it to the drink. Just remember to spot it and walk straight there because the tall grass is hard to locate discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lots of distance

1    6/24/2017   6/24/2017
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 72  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the newest course to the Denver metro area. The city of Parker put a lot of effort into this course and mostly did it right. They didnt just find a piece of land and put baskets on it. They took the time to design and landscape. Large man made mounds are abundant on the front nine, adding some variety to some otherwise very flat land. The design flows well and takes advantage of every tree and berm. There are no conflicts of safety anywhere on the course. Oversized concrete tee pads allow you plenty of space to run up, or possibly land a helicopter! In all seriousness, the advantage is you have a nice place to put your bag down instead of in the dirt. The designers also spiced up ordinary holes by forcing mandos with large posts and incorporating dead wood and sculptures for obstacles. I waited to play the course until I heard that it was mowed. The fairways are clear, but they left the longer grass to define the fairways. You'll definitely be motivated to hit the fairways as the long grass can sometimes be chest high. The grass will get beaten down in time, as this will be a popular course. Lots of distance to conquer here, average hole is well over 380 feet. Brand new yellow Discatchers catch great. The course has great amenities, with bathrooms, shaded gazebos, picnic tables, water fountain and plenty of parking.
Cons: Obviously this course favors big arms, so beginners may get frustrated with the length. Some of the things they added to the course to increase difficulty seems forced, but thats a minor critique. Additional pin placements would be very welcome on some holes. The long grass can take a lot of fun out of a round with long search times, but this will improve with time. This is mostly an open area, not much shot shaping required here. Some of the par 4's are pretty generous.
Other Thoughts: This is a great addition to the line up of south Denver courses. Though I don't have a huge arm, its good to see a course with the focus being on distance. This course will test your stamina and ability to repeat your mechanics over nearly 3 miles of hiking. Bring your bright big bomber discs, plenty of water and go play this course!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Finally, Parker has a course

1    6/20/2017   6/21/2017
Review By: Gumby23
Played: 109  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Biggest tee pads I have ever seen
- Easy to follow with good signage
- Huge benches made from trees
- Good use of land
- Man-made obstacles provide some challenges and uniqueness
- Long holes
Cons: - Long grass, watch your disc carefully
- No birdie holes, unless you can throw 290'+
- A couple blind tee shots
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the town and designer, the use of elevation change and terrain makes the course very enjoyable.
The course offers a challenge with its distance, average hole length is 400'.
Unless you are a beginner, I would play every hole as a par 3, except #15 which is 715'.
Hole #5 is down the ditch on the left, blind tee shot.
I'll be back regularly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good now and AWESOME later!

1    6/15/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: Steamrohler
Played: 56  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long holes and long grass
-Lots of land
-Mando's add challenge and keep play safe
-Ginormous tee pads
-Nice tee signs
-Not bad to navigate
-Elevation changes add interesting touch
-Really liked the use of old large pines as benches
-Deadwood use was nice as obstructions.
Cons: The long grass pretty much everywhere is a real detractor at the moment and will add significant time to your game if you don't use a spotter.
A trash can here or there wouldn't be a bad idea, I don't recall seeing any other than the parking area.
I am skeptical if the use of "baseball stone" around the pins is a good idea. It may keep the area around the pin clean but it could also eat up discs as they land. Maybe a heavy pine bark mulch could be added in the future? Easier on discs and would help stick shots coming in hot, imo.
Other Thoughts: Additional pin placements in the future would add variety to the course.
Maybe an additional tee pad on some of the longer holes for those that don't have the arm or technique to throw or compete at the lengthy distances.
Think about mowing only fairway grass and leave tall prairie grass and make it OB.

I loved the course and really can't wait for it to grow-up. I think in 5 years, after the grooming, sculptures, and trees grow....this course will truly be AWESOME. Thanks to whoever put in all the effort now and in the future to make this course what it is....you all did a great job. THANKS.
.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brand New Parker Course!

1    6/15/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 69  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is the first course to open in the Denver Metro area in a while
-Long holes, average hole is about 400ft!
-Good use of land
-Mando's add a good challenge
-Huge tee boxes, like mini helicopter pads
-Nice tee signs
-Easy to navigate
-Elevation changes
Cons: -Long grass, front 6 is mowed and perfect but after that it could be anywhere from ankle high to chest high grass. This makes makes this course longer to play due to spending at least 10 minutes finding your tee shot on almost every hole unless you land right next to a land marker or make it to the basket.
Other Thoughts: -I think one good mow of the whole course would do wonders and then maybe once a week for the fairways. I mean if they spent this much time and money on building the dog park and course they should groom it a bit. After this course has been played a ton the grass will be trampled down, but right now its scary to throw on some of the holes just because you may not find your disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.