Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar DGC Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #13
3 / 270ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee (Short Straight Position)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
God course with moderate elevation change

1    1/19/2019   1/21/2019
Review By: MiddKnight1
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Friendly local players who are more than willing to help guide you. Elevation changes make for a fun round for different skill levels.
Cons: Navigating from a couple of baskets to the next tee pad was a bit tricky but with local help and Udisc, we made it through just fine. nothing really grinded my gears so.......
Other Thoughts: I liked this course along with my partner that I was playing with. We drove up from San Diego on a day trip and will definitely be back for more!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

SoCal Special for all skill levels

1    12/9/2018   1/6/2019
Review By: Sharknado2
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - obvious flow, never hard to spot a basket or the next tee. Walks are very reasonable and the course is not to tightly spaced.
- baskets are usually somewhat guarded, LOVED the one elevated at the top of a wooden pyramid, that was the most memorable hole
- a variety of hole shapes, elevation changes and window sizes
- the surrounding park is cool and it has a convenient parking lot by the first and 10th tee.
- impossible to lose a disc, only 2 holes by a road with a fence but you would have to really shank it
- tons of a friendly regulars who gave us directions and advice
- the perfect difficulty, I would definitely bring a first timer to this course. But it's not easy by any means. Though my buddy somehow shot -3... I'll just chalk it up to a lucky round.
Cons: - clearly a local favorite, the course was packed on a Sunday and there was a league. Lots of waiting on the back 9.
- I could have just been having an off putting day but I chained out 3 or 4 times. The baskets seemed different than Chavez and I really struggles with them.
Other Thoughts: Great course, much better than Chavez and Kennett Hahn which are my usual haunts. Would love to see a par 4 here but the amount of land wouldn't support that it seems. Great layout with a couple of tricky holes and a lot of wide open let it rip holes. The 3rd hole (double mando dogleg right) and the pyramid hole were easily the most memorable. But damn the 18th hole I really struggled with, it's long, tight and has a super low ceiling. Would love to get back here, wish it was closer to Santa Monica.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sylmar

5+    7/16/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 118  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 6/26/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes= Concrete Tee pads in good condition. Several holes have a long and a short Tee

Baskets= One of the more unique design features I have seen. The baskets are in a Red, White and Blue pattern (which also matches the tee sign frame). This makes navigation a bit easier since you can often see multiple baskets from the tee. Many pin positions for every hole and the baskets are moved regularly.
Practice basket located next to parking lot.

Signs & Stuff= Signs are in good condition for the most part listing possible pin placements and distances, again the frame color matches the basket color. Bathrooms and a drinking fountain are located on the course near hole 5, 7 & 8.

Nice playground located just up the hill from the course.

Design&Maintenance=flow of the course is good with two 9 hole loops starting at the parking lot. A good variation of shots, mandos, and out of bounds keeps a round interesting. There is a fair amount of elevation changes on the course, so be prepared for a hike. Hole 11 is a fun shot and one of my favorite places here in LA.
The course has lost many many many many trees in the last several years, taking the teeth out of many of the holes. There has been a good effort by the locals to replant new trees, some of which have made it, many of which have not. Thanks Jeff for your recent efforts in watering!!! I would also suggest building some protection from discs for the young plantings.

Dave's Point= Sylmar is a legendary course here in LA! Unique and challenging. Nice group of locals who were very welcoming when I moved into the area. Draw Dubs on Sundays is always a good time.
Cons: Tee Boxes= short tees on every hole would be awesome.

Baskets= Many of the baskets are showing their age. There is at least one that has a tiny cage and worn out chains.

Design& Maintenance= Again, lots of trees lost recently, blame that on the drought. Likely this will continue till California gets more regular rains.

Signs&Stuff= My only beef with the tee signs is that the pin placements are indicated by colored dots. This in often confusing for first time visitors to the course due to the colored baskets. The color dot does not match the color of the baskets (again they are always in a Red, White and Blue pattern)
Many of the benches are in disrepair and can be dangerous due to splinters.
Lots of graffiti on the course, much of which is not always safe for families.
No more Proshop, but it's free to play now.

Dave's Point= Its hot and dusty during the heat of the summer, with less and less shade weekly it seems.
Other Thoughts: I wavered between a 3.5 and a 4 for Sylmar, but after playing Mt. Waterman last weekend (an Epic course, but not a 5), I went with the lower score. Perspective, I suppose.

Tee Boxes= .75
Baskets= .75
Signs & Stuff= .75
Design & Maintenance= .75
Dave's Point= .50
total= 3.50

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This isn't a good course

1    12/10/2016   12/11/2016
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 186  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 24.5 Years
6 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: It has baskets and tee pads and a pro shot ... that's about it
Cons: There's no grass
The design is VERY weak
The signage is very poor, very confusing, hard to tell what basket position it is in
Other Thoughts: I've said this on other reviews but it's never more true than on this course. I've played hundreds of courses all over the US. This course wouldn't even crack the top 100. I would never go back to play it. Yet, it has a 4+ rating on this site. That's because it's reviewed by locals who don't play good courses. There are no par 4's or 5's. The design is just ehhhhh. The courses in general is SoCal are so weak that this seems great by comparison but it's a relic from another age.

6 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course with Intermediate Difficulty

5+    11/5/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: BBB-SoCal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 6/16/2018
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variable Terrain
1 long distance TOW shot
Multiple pin locations
Cons: Poor shade on back-9
Location is subject to flooding in heavy rains (and this affects the terrain for a long time)
This course will not be particularly challenging for a professional
Other Thoughts: I consider this my 'home' course as I play here the most out of all of the places I have been. The course starts off fairly easy for the first 4 holes and the terrain is very forgiving (grass, shade, short distances). Once you get to hole 5 you are in the more desert-landscape mode with moderate hills. There is a decent amount of variety in the pin placement as well as hole layout to give a decent amount of shot selection. I think this course would be tough for a beginner but just right for an 'intermediate' skill-level. An advanced player might not find a huge amount of challenge here (in my opinion).
Fun fact: The font color of the tee # on each tee sign corresponds to the color of the disc catcher. So when you see a few baskets nearby you can discern your target by the color at the top of the basket. (They alternate as RED, WHITE, then BLUE in succession throughout the 18.)

UPDATE June 2018: Pro Shop is now closed. Course will remain open and be supported by locals. (Also: the tree re-planting still needs time as most holes are now much easier than they were a few years ago.)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SoCal style Disc Golf

2-4    7/7/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: Phlick
Played: 81  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 37 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -'19th hole' disc golf shop on site - staffed and owned by the fabulous Rico family. Good selection of Legacy and Innova discs and accessories, cold drinks and snacks.
-Great teepads - lots of work went into these and it shows.
-Great signage - accurate distance and map of the hole
-Multiple Pins for each hole - at least 3 - some have 5. Replayability would be VERY good.
-Low traffic - all things considered
-Running water bathrooms on site
-Abundant trash cans
-Nice layout - good use of elevation and mandos.
Cons: -dusty and barren in the lower part of the park
-baskets are well worn
-navigation can be tough for first timers
-sketchy locale
Other Thoughts: Review is based on just a single day visit with multiple rounds. I played on a Tuesday afternoon from 2PM until about 7PM. The parking lot only had about 3 other cars in the DG lot, hardly anyone out on the course in the middle of a sunny afternoon in LA. With so few courses in the LA area given the population, I was very pleasantly surprised to see so few people. The lot was full when I left at 7PM, however it looked like the majority of the people parking were not disc golfing, the course still probably only had 5 or 6 groups playing, which is unbelievable.

$2 'green fee' is a great value - I've paid more to park my car for 30 minutes downtown. The shop is well stocked and has a nice collection of collector discs on display. Park is situated at the top of a hill and plays mostly on the slope, with a few holes going up and down, although It's a lot more fun to play down. The first 3 holes play in the grass/irrigated part of the course and the rest plays out on the woodchip/dirt/rock slope part of the course. Trees are sparse (by Pacific Northwest standards) - but well positioned in the course, continually coming into play. The course plays very fair with most holes being reachable by intermediate/advanced level players in all positions. The only opportunity to really rip into long range driver really only happens on a couple of holes - memorably -#4 which is a long slightly downhill shot that plays through a double mando 75' off the tee - and #12 which is only 300', but is about 50-60' up hill and plays more like 450'. There's a tough double mando on hole #16 that plays along a fence which could be tough for lefties or righty forehand only players. Locals were few and far between, but friendly and accommodating to let a single play through. The teepads and signage are some of the nicer ones I've played on. I really like the multiple pin positions and can see that this would make a killer home course with almost infinite re-playability. It's obvious a lot of blood sweat and tears have been put into this course. Being in a sketchy neighborhood there's going to be some un-savory NPC's hanging around the course, but the locals obviously do a good job keeping it as good as it is.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/19/2015   4/28/2015
Review By: m_jank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is isolated from rest of park, only had to wait for a couple walking once.

-Was very quiet in the morning, around 11am when we played.

-Pro shop right at the first tee

- Beautiful surroundings. The park abuts right to the mountains.

-Nice elevation changes and multiple pin placements
Cons: -For a small course, if you aren't familiar you might get lost your first time.
-Very short course. Advanced players should have runs on must baskets.
-Dusty and hot.
-Pro shop was not open when we got their in the morning.
Other Thoughts: Nice, short course. Good elevation changes in a beautiful setting

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meticulously upkept course

1    1/30/2015   2/11/2015
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has to be the most meticulously groomed courses I have ever played. The course is challenging and still very, very fun to play. It has lots of great elevation changes and plenty of distance to challenge even the big arms on some holes as you still have to have plenty of accuracy. Birdies are easiest on the first few holes and then get harder to come by.

I cannot emphasize how clean this course is. You can tell the locals (pros?) take great care of this course? The pro shop was nice and the disc return policy is really helpful.

Very accessible from the highway, parking was great and wasn't in the way of any of the holes.

Navigation is one of the biggest pluses of this course. The baskets and tee signs are red, white and blue...in that order. So when you hole out you look for the next color tee sign. I haven't ever seen that before and it really made the course easy to navigate. I had no problems my very first time playing it.
Cons: I am not a huge fan of mandos...this course had a couple more than I would like but it still made things interesting. On a busy day, I am sure the traffic could be bad and the holes can be a little close so would just have to be careful of that. A little bit of pedestrian traffic on one side of the park but that only affects a few holes. Not much OB that I could tell...some will like that, others wont.

A few people were practicing putts on holes in the middle of the course...hard to say this is a con as this was probably not real common but could have you waiting for a while.

Probably my biggest complaint was all the mulch. It made rollers on many holes nearly impossible. I did hear that it was really dusty and dirty out there before they put that in so all in all it was a good move.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to play this course again. It was plenty of challenge and plenty of fun. If you are even close by come check it out! Definitely worth your time. Just make sure you have the $$$ to play with you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Must play in LA

5+    7/15/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the best maintained courses in the area.
-Excellent pro shop
-3-5 pin placements per hole. I've played this course for a couple of years and I still sometimes see a new placement.
-Intuitive course flow (both the front and back 9 begin and end at the parking lot/pro shop
-Well marked
-TOP OF THE WORLD HOLE 11 is super fun!
-While not containing many skill shots off the tee, the ones they have are very cool.
Cons: -Last 2 holes are arm-taxing uphill shots (see my tip in "other thoughts")
-Severely elevated tee box on 1, No actual pro box on 4
-Hole 4 is an annoyingly long blind shot into a potentially trafficked area.
-DUSTY and STICKY BURRS
-Very little stroke variety off the tee. Almost every hole can be opened with a flat RHBH drive (hole 5 turns left, 2 and 9 are skill shots, 11 lets you get really creative).
Other Thoughts: If you're making your way through the LA area, this should be one of the 3 courses you make sure to play (the others being Elysian Park and Oak Grove). It's challenging but not oppressive. A beautiful location North of the city center, it's a great place to pack a lunch and make a full afternoon.

Tip: Try playing the back 9 first, then the front 9. It's a good way to avoid having a tired arm for those uphill shots on 12, 17, and 18.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Home Sweet Home

5+    2/7/2017   2/22/2014
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ·Nothing but disc golf, over a mix of typical city park, and groves of Eucalyptus trees.
· A mix of lefty/righty holes
- great elevation changes
·4 or 5 pin locations on every hole, with some very creative placements
·Good local crowd, the Legacy crew are helpful.
·Great pro shop right by hole 1
·Not a lot of wind here in LA but Sylmar can get some pretty strong gusts coming from the pass to the north. Good practice certain times of the year.
Cons: ·Could use a few longer holes.
·The valley gets hot and dusty in the summer. People use to the lush green courses, keep an open mind.
·A single walkway cuts through the lower half of the park. The occasional dog walker comes through, but they're easy enough to spot.
· Many trees have died off, leaving several holes wide open on top of already being short.
Other Thoughts: Several memorable holes, if you're planning a visit come in March or April when its at its greenest. Trees are being planted but they're still saplings. Still not a terrible course for the local scene, but nothing to go too far out of your way for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.