Canton, GA 
Sequoyah Park Share
Uploaded By: Protool1983 Hole #3
3 / 421ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Mixed feels...

5+    4/22/2017   4/26/2017
Review By: HelloPoodles
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The "greens" here are scenic and interesting; putting is really quite challenging. A few holes have level greens, but for the most part you're going to be tossing uphill or downhill, sometime quite steeply, with lots of little trees in the way and roots at the ready to send your missed shots bouncing into the next county or into the pond. Putting here requires you to calculate risk/reward in a way that few courses do. Based only on "inside the circle", this is a ****-course.

* In spite of relatively modest course length and difficulty, the good holes at Sequoyah are memorable for a par 3 course. 2, 13, 17 and 18 have a lot of personality.
Cons: * Safety, safety, safety. A couple holes require you to throw over the road, a few run right along a walking path, fairly decent throws can cross fairways (13 and 12, 9 and 10) ...not to mention plenty of steep hills with lots of slippery roots (and this course is shady enough to where it always seems to be a bit wet).... Oh yeah, giant spiders lurking in the pond, too, lol. I don't want to oversell the danger, but do be careful out here folks!

* Too many filler holes. I can forgive a couple, but there's at least (charitably) four here. I don't think anything can really be done about it - the land is used effectively.

* Within the past year, the hole numbers have changed. The change has helped with parking (less competition from the ballfields at #1) but the signs haven't been updated. Actually, I'm not even sure the signs really help here, since some seem to be based on an even older layout. This one is definitely a little difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I think of all the courses I've played I have the most mixed feelings about Sequoyah. For a par 3 course, the best holes here really are quite nice... but the bad ones are really cringe worthy, too. I really struggle to know how many stars to give this one. Ultimately, I do enjoy playing here, regardless of the course's drawbacks, however.

Since this course is out in the countryside, many times there are only a handful of people here. When the ballfields are in use, however, it becomes almost unplayable - cars and foot traffic constantly in the way.

Pro-tip: If your GPS tries to send you down "Little Road" just keep driving. That's just an old mule trail that'll only cost you time.

Because I'm weird and have too much free-time, I will now go basket by basket and give a grade:

1 - Nice little warm up hole with a tricky green. Unfortunately, you're throwing out over the walking path, and poor throws easily roll into a treacherous ravine. Kinda feel like this hole perfectly represents the good and bad of Sequoyah. I'll give it a B.
2 - I can see why some people hate this hole - the slope (actually, it's probably the closest thing I've seen to a cliff on a DG course) off to the right is realllly dangerous, but I still find this one to be a fun and challenging hole. Bounce one off the basket and you can easily be four or five-putting. A-.
3 - Ugh, bad, just bad. This one plays out over the road and at 400+ feet will require either a long turnover or a respectable forehand from a RH player - skills which most players that would play here lack. Bad shots go into the road that leads in from the entrance - yikes! D-.
4 - A modest little uphill flick for the RH player. This wouldn't be too objectionable, except for the fact that #10 and #11 are almost exactly the same. Lots of trees - practice your off-balance putting for this one. C.
5 - Another modest hole near the walking path, but it's a tight enough turn to be a blind hole thereby offering a bit of a challenge. B-.
6 - The fairway narrows down to a green absolutely filled with pine saplings. No doubt some would object to the luck factor involved here, but I find this sort of hole to be a test of your recovery (mental and disc golf) ability. It's entirely possible to be within 20 feet and not have a decent line to the basket. B.
7 - Only 180 feet down a steep hill but you've got to hit a realllly tight gap. Overhand seems to be the way to go here - I saw a guy get a roller ace (hit a root and bounced right into the basket) with that approach and for that reason alone, I'll give this one a B+. Apparently, this one has an alt pin position where you're going uphill, but I've never played it.
8 - A little over 300 feet dead straight but the fairway is the PERFECT width to remain challenging for us huckers. The "rough" has that perfect amount of trees where a well-executed scramble gets you back to par but it'll be challenging. A.
9 - Sloping, tree-lined fairway narrows down to an "unfairway" yet I still like this one. If the basket is in the long pin, I think this one is pretty hard to par, because almost everyone is gonna catch a tree in the gap and only a really good scrambling approach is going to get you within the circle. B+.
10 - Obviously running out of space. A wrist-flick gets you the 150 to the basket, but there's a rollaway danger here. C.
11 - This is pretty much the same as #10, just a little longer and more of a forced dogleg. C+.
12 - Very tight dogleg left. When the basket is in the long position, it's a fairly challenging par 3 relative to its length. B.
13 - Ahhh, I really love this one - it's just a fairly straightforward throw out over a valley, but it's so pretty and naturally plays to a RHBH throw, resulting in some exciting ace runs. A.
14 - Back across the valley, this time swooping to the right. This is another one where the pin being in the long position makes it a quite challenging par 3. A-.
15 - Another little filler hole, but the basket being on a downward slope adds some fun. B-.
16 - Ugh. This one requires you to throw over the road (drivers coming around a blind turn) and hit a gap you cannot really see from the pad. If games are going on at the field, you'll also be throwing over everyone's car parked on the shoulder, too. Although the pad is pointed towards the road, you could throw down a tunnel directly at the basket, but at the risk on beheading any joggers that come down the path. I think what I hate about this one is that, if the road wasn't there, this one would be really quite cool and A material, but I'm going to have to give it a D.
17 - This one is rather interesting. Only 300 feet, first you throw out over a pond that would claim only the worst possible newbie throw, but the well-protected basket lies over a blind hill, and sits very close to a muddy creek. I think advanced players will want to go ahead and challenge the basket, but the rest of us probably just play it safe and try to layup at the top of the hill. B+.
18 - This is a pretty sweet ending to a course - a very challenging par 3 that requires your driving/approaching/putting to be on just to par due to the number of trees and a basket in a very precarious position. Birdieing in the long position would be impressive. I will say - I wish somebody would put some logs down at the edge of the pond, because luckless rollaways into that pond really aren't very enjoyable. Solid A.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another good option near Roswell & Alpharetta

1    11/25/2016   11/25/2016
Review By: Thothga
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice challenging course, where you'll get some good exercise walking the hills.
Cons: Finding 1st tee was a challenge since they are moving the holes around. You gotta be really careful around the water on 17 &18th holes, we lost two disks.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Middle of the road course

2-4    7/9/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: gardenthug
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: ~ Well maintained course with bathrooms available and lots of benches near teeboxes(which you'll need).
~Challenging layout that offers mostly wooded holes, with a couple open grip n' rip holes.
~good mix of forehand and backhand shots.
~you have to hit your line or you'll pay the price. This course will help your accuracy.
Cons: ~The signage was very poor. Recent changes to the layout have not been reflected on signs or maps. If you're playing this course for the 1st time, try to join up with others that know the course.
~A couple holes play along walking paths, so you have to wait for pedestrians. One hole in particular made me nervous about hitting someone that could be turning a corner.
~some of the baskets on hillsides punished what were otherwise nice shots. Our group took a coupe doubles when discs rolled 20+ yards down a hill into water.
~some long walks between holes and a hilly course means you'll show up winded to a couple tee boxes, particularly in the dead of summer.
Other Thoughts: Sequoya is a shorter, less fun version of East Roswell Park. I enjoyed my rounds(disc is always fun) but I don't see myself making the drive for this course again. There are to many other courses around metro-Atlanta that offer far more.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sequoyah Park

5+    6/5/2016   6/10/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 116  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has two practice baskets

Has concrete tee pads (except for hole #7)

Has many benches throughout course

More wooded than open fairways - which will be challenging to the casual player

Most holes have changes in elevations

Some holes have multiple basket placements

Well-maintained

Free Parking at multiple locations

Restrooms
Cons:
Some of the tee signs are missing - I believe there are plans to install ones in the near future

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between 2&3, 3&4, 15&16

Hole #2 is very steep and could some logs to stop discs from rolling down the hill

Water really comes into play on holes #17 & #18 where losing a disc in the murky retention pond can be a factor

Park can get crowded when there are baseball/softball games present (play on holes #3 and #16 can be delayed due to close proximity of the road)
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice, multi-use course that has been improved significantly in the past year. Starting hole has been moved to where #16 used to be so that disc golfers can now park in a separate lot from the other parkgoers. Also, there's not a long walk after you finish with hole #18 anymore. New baskets have been installed and new pads have been poured. This course receives a lot of TLC from the county and the local disc golf club - good work everyone!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My "Home" course

5+    3/19/2016   4/7/2016
Review By: Ram Fan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is real close to home and I have played this course more than any other. It has recently been reconfigured. What used to be 16,17 and 18, are now 1, 2, 3. The rest of the course is till in the same order, so you end at what used to be 15.
This is a very challenging course with lots of variety in hole length, elevation and direction. A couple of nice long valley shots. The course is fairly easy to follow. Water hazards on a few holes (1, 17, ,18). I like the reversable hole 7 that alternates to shoot up or downhill.I like this course because it makes you use your entire bag of tricks to make good shots and stay at par. They have really cleaned up the fairways so that it is much harder to lose a disc. Many times the park is not busy, so it is easy to get through the course without waiting.
Cons: Some baskets and tee areas are still showing the wrong hole number. If you don't know the old layout of the course, you will get confused. Hole 16 shoots along the driveway coming into the parking lot, so it is possible to hit cars. I don't like hole 3 because of the steep hill and the chance your disc can roll a long way.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Par for the course

1    7/11/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Almost no traffic from other park activities
-good amount of "next tee" signage
-many of the holes had a good terrain features across a small valley or throwing off a steep drop off
Cons: -very few tee map signs. So while the tees were relatively easy to find the baskets were not (it didn't help that the baskets were grey metal color not brightly painted). Often I found myself having to walk down the fairway 50-200 feet to find the Basket and once on hole 12 I played the wrong basket the first time
-everything is a par 3...... boring (I only give 4.0 rating to par 56+ and 5.0 to par 62+)
Other Thoughts: not a bad course but not worth the drive for me. (especially with wills park and East Roswell park less than 15 min from my house) If the hole map signs were all there and it had a few par 4s and one par 5 it could be a great course there were lots of really fun terrain features and hole concepts. and the layout made a lot of sense except one or two holes

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Play Here

1    3/1/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin Placements, Technical Holes, Bathrooms at Hole #1 and on walk to #13. All kinds of shots will be required to get under Par. Most holes have concrete which was noted above.
Cons: Old tee signs, Couple Long Walks between Holes
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course a lot. The local guys are doing a great job keeping it up and hosting weeklys here. I am looking forward to new tee signs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gets the job done.

2-4    4/1/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: threedaysmore
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's pretty for a wooded course
-Good distance variety on a lot of holes
-Baskets are the same the whole way through
-Paths are clear
-Many basket placements on most holes
-Decent shot variety
-Really fun tunnel shot on hole 5
-You go by the pavilion where you parked after 12 holes (wife always uses the restroom here)
-Safe environment
-Plenty of benches and trashcans at the park, great park to bring a dog to
-Most of the locals are pretty fun and relaxed about what's going on
Cons: -Really poor navigation. There are signs that point to the next pad, but they're nailed to trees and often times aren't pointing the right direction due to gravity or people messing with them.
-Poor signage on holes. Some holes actually have a sign with the hole layout on it, but a lot of times it's no longer accurate or doesn't depict the hole location that is actually being played. Holes without signs have a piece of plastic with the hole number on it, on some of these people have tried to draw out the layout of the hole with a sharpie. Good idea maybe, but practically it's hard to tell what the drawings are actually showing since most of them are very faded.
-Very strange layout. 6,10, and 11(I pretty sure it's those 3, if not it's 3 holes on the front 9) all share the same little pocket of open space. I understand trying to make the most out of the open space in a wooded area, but I personally think that this is a little much. Every time I've played here (4 or 5 times) I've almost been hit with a disc while putting out on 6 or playing my second on 11(11's drive almost throws over one of 6's baskets). Not a huge deal, but it's just kinda weird and really cramped feeling.
-Not an organic flow through the holes. 1-15 are all fairly close to the parking lot, however 16-18 pretty much all take you directly away from the parking lot and you end up with a 1/3 or 1/2 mile walk back to the parking lot. I most certainly don't mind the exercise but it does kind of make me wonder why on Earth it was designed like this?
-On the topic of design and layout, there are entirely too many blind holes on this course. Depending on the basket placements well over half the course is a blind tee shot. I get that that's a neat shot and all, but to see it used so many times on a course it just gets a little boring and frustrating.
-13 plays down a road with a big curve in it (thrower and driver are blind to what's around the corner). It's the road that comes into the park so it's fairly well trafficked. I've almost been hit in my car and hit cars while throwing a couple of times.
-15 plays down a walking trail that people have been using every time I've played, not a huge deal but definitely a bit of a safety concern.
-The way that 4A/4B plays is really weird if you've never been there before.
Other Thoughts: Sequoyah is a very acceptable park. There are some really nice things about this course, but at the same time some really werid/stupid things that keep me from going back frequently. I gave more detail on the cons because I think cons without explanations are worthless, I hope people don't see that as me totally trashing the course because it is a decent course. I've played with friends not from the area or my wife all the times I've played it and sometimes just kind of feel lost out there. I imagine playing this course with a local could make it a fair amount better, but I can only rate it through the experiences I've had with it.

It's a good park, but it's hard to convince myself to go here with Oregon Park fairly close and Frog Rock nearing completion of its back 9.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Saq!

5+    7/31/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: iLessThan3DiscGolf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~Mostly concrete pads, with a couple high-density rubber mats
~Tight & technical course. Definitely "Shot Golf"
~Mixed variety of shots will test most of the discs in your bag
~Couple chances to bomb a driver
~Holes are long enough to be tough, but short enough to be fair
~Some short, ace-worthy holes
~Fairways are kept clean and clear
~Most holes have multiple pin positions, and positions are updated throughout busy season
~Local club & county maintains the course
~Great walk through the woods
Cons: ~Older Mach 1(or 2?) baskets do frequently spit out discs
~Murky retention pond in play that will eat your discs (Holes 14,15,16)
~Walking path sometimes in play
~Road in play, but only one hole and generally not a hazard
~Hole 17; one of the less-enjoyable holes ever created
~Park is getting busier every year. Baseball and fall-football tends to fill the parking lots most days
~Can be a bit tricky to navigate; the signs are dated and some are missing
Other Thoughts: Sequoya is a course that will test your game, and your patience. If you are willing to fight through some tight fairways and ill-placed trees, par will be your reward. Hit a few too many trees and you're looking at a long round.

The "shot-golf" style course will test your woods-game, and if played often will sharpen your skills into a better golfer. Sequoya has been my local course over the past few years, and she still reaches out and slaps me in the face quite often. There are a few unfortunate aspects of Sequoya that we could live without, but those things are what make Sequoya what she is. You know what to expect when you play Sequoya; a real challenge!

During baseball season weekends, the concession stand is open and will sometimes even stock Chik-fil-a sammiches, but don't expect it every weekend.

If you are a fan of the tight & technical aspect of disc golf, I highly recommend Sequoya!

*She recently received a bit of a haircut, so if you haven't been here since June, take a look.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Bag

1    3/2/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 57  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has great potential, some very nice technical wooded holes and obstacles. Significant elevation changes throughout and the baskets are pretty good.

Concrete tee pads on almost every hole with a few grippy rubber mats mixed in.

It's a pretty course and a decent hike as well.

Also if you are there during baseball games there is a conssesion stand with water and power aide.
Cons: It's a very busy multi use park and there are serial times where you have to throw across the jogging path and a few where the road comes into play. I didn't like the fact that an on target throw could often hit a runner.

The layout is okay if you have the map, you will want to download the map, but can be a little confusing. There are several spots where you can see 2 or 3 baskets from the tee and if you don't have the map you won't know which one to throw to.

Also 13/14/15 throw over a murky retention pond. If you throw one in there it's done you won't be able to see it at all.

Actually several easy spots to loose discs, I won't bring my A bag if I play there again.

It's also a little hard to find tee 1.
Other Thoughts: I like the course but the many spot where it is hard to navigate and intersect the jogging path detract greatly.

If your working on refining you short game it's great but overall other local courses are easier to enjoy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.