Montello, WI 
Wilderness DGC Share
Uploaded By: BlazedOrangeHat Hole #3 (Taken 10/2017)
4 / 400ft.   4 / 590ft.   4 / 580ft.   5 / 770ft. Par / Distance:
hole #3 fairway from the short tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wow!

1    5/10/2019   5/14/2019
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Infrastructure is top notch, the very best I've seen:
- Two baskets per hole, color coordinated for short (yellow) and long (red) positions; all baskets in great condition
- Two concrete teepads per hole, both with signs containing easily navigable hole maps (also, overview map located at parking lot aided in navigation)
- Extremely well thought out and maintained fairways
- Benches at every teepad
- Port-a-potties located throughout the course
Having multiple permanent baskets and teepads for every hole really adds a lot of variety. I wish I had time to go back through a second time, because some of the basket/pad combos would make the hole play completely different. Also, this makes it so you can have players of a variety of skill levels play together and all play a course appropriate for their ability. And most important of all, the fun factor is off the charts with this course! Every hole feels different, and many of them are super memorable. My wife walked Wilderness with me, and we literally had the woods all to ourselves. The course is very serene and naturally beautiful. It was an absolutely perfect disc golf experience.
Cons: Nothing, in my opinion. The location is somewhat remote, so odds are you'll have a healthy drive to get here regardless of where you're coming from. But honestly that is a Pro in my opinion rather than a Con, since it keeps the course from getting overcrowded. Same thing with the $5 fee - I actually like the pay-to-play concept because it seems to help with overcrowding in my experience.
Other Thoughts: Make time to play this course twice; I wish I had. Playing short tees to long pins followed by long tees to short pins will give you a true 36 hole round. And of course the usual recommendations for woods golf -- come prepared for poison ivy, ticks, mosquitos, etc.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Another great addition to wisconsin disc golf

2-4    6/30/2018   8/14/2018
Review By: in4d
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2018
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Longer holes, i cant stress enough how we need longer disc golf courses in wisconsin, so many pitch and putt courses. Its a relief to have a course around that we can actually throw drivers on! Thank you.
- Large variation in angles and elevation, well thought out design
- Challenging, yet works for any skill level with short/long pins and tee locations
- very good signage
- Overall quality pads and landscaping, the property is also beautiful
Cons: - A couple of the dense wooded holes dont have a clear enough fairways from the Pro tee pads. Majority of the holes are great and play well especially from white and have a good balance of skill to luck ratio, dont get me wrong. However, trees in the middle of fairways on holes that are already heavily wooded acting as a "fairway splitter" can create frustration and a feeling of luck factor esspecially from the longer pro tee pads. I would prefer to look down a fairway and know if I shape a line through a gap (even if that gap is only 10' wide!) that I will have a good chance of getting to my landing zone without having to play "plinko". Most of the holes are great, but i can think of 3 that would benefit from having just 1 tree removed to reveal a "fair way" to aim for. its called a "Fairway" for a reason. Again, a majority of the course is great, i would just like to see every hole feel that way.
- theres a couple areas that i wasn't sure initially which way to get to the next tee pad location. Maps could solve that issue.
- No map/scorecard available at the entrance. This is expected when paying $5.
Other Thoughts: If the course designer would go through the pro tee pad layout on a couple of the heavily wooded areas and clean up a fairway splitter tree here or there to give more of a deliberate fairway i would certainly increase my rating to a 4.5 or 5!

Thanks for all the hard work put into this course, it really shows

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

2-4    8/2/2018   8/2/2018
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 165  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing 150ish courses, I genuinely believe that this belongs right up there with the "Best of the Best".

While having two baskets/tees per hole may seem gimmicky to some, it is masterfully executed at Wilderness DGC.

This course is expertly designed and accommodates all skill levels. If you're a beginner, looking to boost your confidence, or wanting ace runs, the short-short is great. On the flip side, attempting to shoot par on the long-long should be challenging to even the most skilled disc golfers. I was playing best-position doubles with my brother, and we were still struggling to break even on the long-long layout. Even though it completely kicked our ass (2 rounds of 18 here was 22,000 steps) and we lost a disc to the rough, we were extremely satisfied and happy as we drove home.

Even though this course is entirely in the woods, the fairways are in great shape. The rough, on the other hand, is quite a beast.

The course, for the most part, flows pretty well, but I would advise printing out a map before hand or grabbing one from the kiosk if they are there.

There's plenty of elevation as well. For example, the long tee of the monster par 5 #18 starts at the top of a ravine and certain holes require you to throw up hills. #3's long basket also sits at the top of a hill which adds to an already difficult 775 ft hole (from the longs).

The training/practice/warm-up area at the beginning of the course is also quite nice. There are two baskets and a large, open field that appears to be mowed regular.

Porta-potties available not only at the beginning of the course, but also throughout the course. This was a nice touch!

The course equipment is also world-class. The two tees are concrete and spacious, the baskets are beautiful and catch well, and the tee signs are very descriptive with maps, distances, and pars.

Wooden benches behind every (I think) tee make it easy to enjoy watching the tee-offs of your card mates and also give you an opportunity to rest if need be.

Very secluded. My brother and I were the only people on the course all day. It was serene and peaceful. We came within 10 feet of a family of deer, which definitely added to the vibe.

This area of the campground is only used for disc golf, so you don't need to watch out for people engaging in other activities.
Cons: As previous reviewers have pointed out, the cons consist of terrible rough (very thick and sometimes thorny), bugs/ticks, and lack of any water obstacles.

This course also lacks a really wide open hole where you can just air it out. You're going to be facing tree obstacles on literally every hole.
Other Thoughts: $5 for an all-day pass here is an incredible value. While I know that I may get dinged by some for giving this a perfect score, I would argue that Wilderness is absolutely in the same league and of the same caliber as the courses at Highbridge. I spent 4 hours here and would have stayed longer had my legs not begged me to surrender. Definitely worthy of a road trip!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in WI

5+    6/17/2018   2/6/2018
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 172  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2018
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is so good and the only thing missing is water hazards if I had to look at everything. The teepads are a little elevated on top of some asphalt which makes for great erosion control. Teepads are also long wide enough. There are benches on most holes so people can rest after walking up and down hills. There are a lot of up and down shots that really give a lot of variation to the course. It is very wooded but most holes are fair and there are actual lines that you must hit in order to shoot well. There are dual tee pads and dual baskets for every hole. Red tees to red baskets is a beast of a course and is intended for advanced and pro level players.
Cons: After finally playing the short to short layout, I was pleasantly surprised by how fun it was. Only con now is that there is no water hazard.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'm so happy that this course was built. Thanks to Pat Blake for the design and the wilderness campground for allowing the course to be built. They are always improving the course and if you haven't played since summer of 2017, go again and you will be pleasantly surprised. The rough isn't as thick and has been cleaned up a lot and some trees were cut to make for better shot shaping. It definitely is worth the $5 a day or $45 a year pass. Wilderness Campground is my go to course now in Southern WI.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Get out and play this course

1    7/28/2017   8/1/2017
Review By: Tim Hultgren
Played: 125  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course will, with time, be one of the best courses in the midwest, if it is not already. The choice of two tees/two baskets gives a combination that will challenge any level of player. The use of tree placement, elevation change and course layout is excellent. Although the course starts out as average it continues to get better, hole by hole. I particularly liked the use of elevation change, not all up or down, but across valleys, along ridges and over rises.
The people where great and anxious to share the course and tell about future plans. The course is finished and only the ancillary things, parking, access, etc. are still in the works.
Pick up a map. The signage is great, but the course is still so new that no paths are worn to the next tee.
Cons: I did have some trouble, even with the map, finding the next tee. This will correct itself with time. A simple colored tape in the right direction on the basket would solve this problem.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Top tier course

1    7/27/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 344  Reviewed: 217  Exp: 15.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a secluded area of the campsite that is quiet and disc golf exclusive. There are two flared concrete tee pads on every hole. These are good sized, level and grip nicely. There is also packed gravel that almost seems like asphalt bordering every tee. These are some of the nicest tees I've thrown off of. The signs are temporary but serve their purpose for now. There is one at the short and long tee for each. They have hole # and the distance to each pin color coordinated to the band for said pin. Nicely done. There are two baskets on each hole as well. These are Disccatchers that are brand new, level and catch great. The ones with the yellow bands are the shorts and the ones with the red bands are the longs. These have the hole #'s on them facing the tees which is nice to see. The elevation here is awesome. There are a bunch of up and downhill shots to be had here. There isn't a single hole without some trees to contend with. In fact there isn't a wide open hole anywhere here which is exactly what I like. Good decision making and and shot shaping are required to score well. Execution is a must. It says that it's permanent which is cool but I don't know that they are open in winter since I don't know who camps in WI in the winter. There is a good variation in distances as well. Up to over 800 feet on hole 18 with a solid mix sprinkled throughout. There are also a bunch of different shots required here. Many holes, most in fact offer a few lines to hit. The lines for the most part are tight, tight ,tight. The flow of the course was pretty easy to follow too. They have an excellent course map on this site too which helped me in a couple spots but I'd have managed without it. Good flow. There are a couple porto johns throughout which is always nice (especially for my wife). Also trash and recycling cans located by these to help keep the course clean. The course would hardly ever seem to be busy which I like. There was 1 other player there today. We started ahead of him and never seen him again. Had the place all to ourselves. FYI: the course starts just south of the parking area just into the woods. Be prepared for a workout here. Make sure to have plenty of fluids as it is very up and down and you'll be fine. Great design here, very well done.
Cons: It's still a little rough around the edges in areas but this is to be expected since it's brand new and won't be an issue in short order, just worth noting for now though. The rough is pretty thick in spots so really keep an eye on your throws or you may be searching. And in certain spots you don't want to be searching. Quite a few thorns and nettle about. Since it is rural WI the bugs can probably get pretty bad though it was great when we went. Again not really a con just remember where you are really. No open bomber holes if that's your thing which is not my thing so it may not be as awesome to everyone as it was for me. Worth noting.
Other Thoughts: This is really an excellent course. It IS worth going out of your way to play. I don't feel like I get to say that as much as I'd like to. It's not too far off of 39/51. The course is $5 to play per person, which, for what you get is totally worth it. I will be back here for sure, probably again this year even. And I live over 90 minutes away. If you don't like technical wooded golf this isn't for you but if you do this is the place for you. I am also a big fan of the either dual pin or dual tee concept and a HUGE fan of the idea of having both. Makes for almost unlimited play options. Highly recommend this one.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant addition to WI!

2-4    7/3/2017   7/4/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 480  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 7.8 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located at Wildnerness Campground, a few miles outside Montello, WI. This is a full service campground with a vibrant community on a fabulous piece of land.

Concrete tees on every hole, two per hole. These are very well done concrete trapezoids. The course is still very new, but nearly all tees have some sort of built up sand or asphalt around them. Plenty large and grippy.

New Discatcher baskets, with two permanent baskets per hole. Yellow for the short (A) pin, red for the long (B) position. They are all mounted perfectly, and were very easy to find in the woods. There are many interesting pin locations, with lots of roll-away opportunities. There are also some very nice risk/reward type runs.

The course has tons of elevation. Lots of up and down, with some very cool tee shots. Lots of added distance on the uphill shots and a ton of fun downhill drives. The long tees do an especially good job of incorporating said elevation.

I prefer wooded golf, and this place is one of my new favorites. You won't find big open bombers here; what you will find are very fair fairways that require you to shape shots, both short and long. You will be rewarded if you can hit long shaped shots, but if you don't you'll be punished accordingly. The rough here isn't usually easy to get out of!

The design here is stupendous and will cater to all skill levels. The short-short layout is ace run fun and will appeal to everybody with its short distances and technical lines. The middle layouts should appeal to just about everybody. The long-long layout will challenge just about everybody with those same lines, but much longer and tougher. Having thrown all four layouts not a single time did I have a feeling of repetition, which is quite the feat for a fully wooded course.

There are porta johns and trash cans scattered around the course, which is a very nice touch.

Navigation can be a touch tricky the first time through, but there are temporary (which are getting upgraded) tee signs at every tee, and you are given a full color map when you check in and pay...so it works itself out just fine.
Cons: The rough here is pretty rough, with wild raspberries and other obtrusive plants. There a few areas of rough with somewhat thick cover, so losing a disc is possible. Coming out with some lost blood is also very possible. If you can wear long pants, you'll be better for the wear.

No water to be found here. Add a couple spots of water here, and this course is very close to becoming a 5.

Not overly cart friendly, mostly because of a decent amount of hill climbing.

As with any wooded WI course, the bugs and ticks are definitely there. You'll want your 40% (or more) deet products for summer rounds.
Other Thoughts: Just another wonderful addition to Wisconsin disc golf. This is a top notch course on top notch land, and paired with somewhat nearby Zobel Park, make this area a destination. The campground has cabins for rent very close to Hole 1, and we were informed that they are building a bar/pro shop/etc in the same little area.

An absolute must play if you're in the area.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.