Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: domromer  



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Interesting desert course

1    5/16/2017   5/26/2017
Review By: Dadio
Played: 118  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 32.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a large park on the north east side of Phoenix. It butts up against and partially uses the ridge that gives the park it's name. There is good parking, a nice play area for the kids, some good sized grass areas, basketball courts, and bathrooms. a well appointed park.
The course itself plays out through the natural expanse with a variety of desert bushes and scrub trees providing quite a bit of cover. This adds an interesting degree of difficulty, as they average 4 to 8 feet tall so it is not unusual to have to elevate a drive more than you might like. Add the wind and an easy medium length hole becomes challenging.
Tees are a good consistent size allowing good run-ups and signs are on most tees. Maps of main course and extra 9 holes are well placed and help with navigation.
There are a number of places by the greens where rocks have been gathered and look like bunkers. I didn't see any signs about them, wonder if the locals use them in play somehow.
Many of the tees have different different patterns and artwork in them, often incorporating the hole number. I like this artistic touch.
The designers made pretty good use what elevation there is to make some challenging holes, including 15 which has the pin on a very narrow 8' tall ridge making the choice to lay up or go for it tough as a missed putt turns into a 30'+ uphill challenge.
Cons: While it was a pretty good use of the area, by the time I made it to F(10 holes in) and some elevation change it was feeling a little rote. I think part of that is I am used to the Pacific Northwest, most courses have trees and elevation to spare.
Holes 8-13 fall into a similar pattern, up the hill then down, could have used one or two on the flat to break the pattern.
The course is verrrry rocky, almost nothing but. I hadn't realized blizzard plastic was that soft until this course. Still usable, but probably put 6 months to a years worth of my normal wear on it in one round.
The tees are a good size but some of them are over textured, almost to the point of being a trip hazard on a couple.
My biggest complaint is the the tee signs, map, and site are all inaccurate for distance and pin positions. Because of terrain I was having a hard time judging distances and on some holes both tee signs and map are wildly off. On 12 I was throwing to pin 15 or 16 because sign showed it on that line. later found it tucked behind a bush.
This is a long course to be away from water, especially with the letter holes taking you away from the bathrooms. Carry extra!
Other Thoughts: I liked this course over all, despite some of the annoyances. It was cool to see the design constraints caused by the different environment and how the designers dealt with them.
Be aware this is an area where there could be rattlesnakes. I didn't see any and doubt they will be common in an area this well traveled but be aware.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buffalo Ridge dgc

2-4    2/2/2016   3/29/2016
Review By: laurenalexDG
Played: 239  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •(only played 18 layout) Desert Mtn course that plays up and down the side of a rocky ridge, lots of short cacti and pokey trees making you need good placement.

•Pin positions were cool some raised ground baskets and some tough to putt at with the low lying trees

•Water and restrooms before hole 1 is nice

•Decent signs and fairly easy to navigate with good tee pads

•Lizards are there
Cons: • Rough terrain may mess up your plastic

• Some janky baskets

• Some repetitive shots
Other Thoughts: Could use some work but being from MN it was really fun playing a true desert course w/good elevation changes

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/2/2015   5/14/2015
Review By: josephreese
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing a proper desert course, and I liked it. The locals I joined warned me about the rough terrain, and how it would eat up my discs, but I didn't realize how bad it would be. After a few throws with soft plastic I switched to the harder stuff. One one long throw I was expecting a skip, but as it disappeared behind a bush I just heard a loud "thunk" as it hit a rock and stopped dead.

I was shown a "secret" alternate tee pad near the end of the lettered holes, where we had a nice view and a fun throw down to the basket.

There is ample parking. There are bathrooms and water near the beginning/ending of the course, but be sure to bring plenty of water to drink during your round. As you would expect, it gets hot.

Be sure to play the 9 lettered holes. They add elevation changes and some terrain challenges not available in the 18 numbered holes.

I played fairly early on Saturday, and the course was not crowded.
Cons: The lack of trees made most holes friendly to whatever shape you wanted to throw. I prefer a couple of clear lines, with varying risk and reward for each, but that's not really possible here. It's no fault of the course designer, who did a nice job with what was available.
Other Thoughts: I played in May, and by the middle of my 27-hole round it was pretty hot for this California kid. Play early unless you like the heat.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Visit

2-4    1/28/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: ManU
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Use of the hill side is good. You warm up with some flat ground shots before hitting a number of holes where you throw up and down the hill.

The difficulty for this course comes about in misplaced shots and where your lie might be. Some of the bush and plant life is thick and prickly. So if you end up underneath or behind one your next shot will be tough.

You won't throw rollers here but you will need a good straight shot, hyzer, FH, and OH.

The baskets that are on elevated mounds make for some enjoyable holes. And there are a few decent ace runs.
Cons: Is it fair to say the lack of shade? Probably not as that is just the nature of the environment and not the fault of the course.
Again, not really any particularly tight fairways to hit. Some of the holes back up the hill are pretty much just open throws with the only difficulty being whether or not you have the distance.
Other Thoughts: The Course Map that you can download from this site is useful and helpful for navigation around the course.
It is quite rocky so you will want to use premium plastic. My star/GL discs held up quite well but I did put a couple of slices in a champ disc.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Fun

1    11/10/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : I had the opportunity to play this course during a recent business trip to Phoenix. On Hole 1, I ran into a great group of guys who asked me to join them. The fact that I had so much fun playing with them really colors this review.

Amenities-- bathrooms on site, very active park with joggers, bikers etc, easy to find the park

Scenery-- being from the East, it was really cool to be in the Desert. I have been to Phoenix a few times and this is the first time that my feet have touched a non man made surface. The weather was perfect (72 degrees), so the walking was really easy both up and down the hill. I didn't bring any water.

Overall Course-- great location within the park. You are close to everything but minimal interference with hikers, bikers, etc. We had to wait a minute one time for a jogger to pass through. The course is wide open so it is next to impossible to lose a disc. You will get the opportunity to watch your disc fly here.

Holes 1-5-- Course starts off flat with some nice, straight forward holes. The designers tried to break up the holes with a few tricks (placing a basket behind an electric generator or a scrub bush). They did have the ability to move the basket to multiple locations on a few of the holes.

Holes 6-14-- The real challenge on these holes is playing up and down the mountain. You can really lose control of a downhill shot here and end up 200" off course especially if the wind is blowing (can still recover, see below). Again, the course designers tried to add some uniqueness with elevated baskets, etc.

Holes 15-18-- Similar to holes 1-5. They are flat straight ahead holes. Good way to finish a round after navigating the mountain.

Tee pads-- great cement tee pads on each hole

Aces: Plenty of opportunity to hit an ace on this course. This is definitely a "go for it" course.

Navigation: No idea--followed the guy in front of me. If you are solo, make sure you print out a map.

Cons: There isn't really any risk/ reward, especially if you have a big arm. Two hundred feet off the course? No problem, park one at the basket. The guys I played with consistently scored par on holes where their driver would have been lost back East. At the very least, it would have taken 2 shots to get back on the course. In addition, the holes can feel repetitive with only the elevation changing.

I chalk this up to the novelty of the course. Wind and elevation are your foe, not foliage.

Other Thoughts: The group I played with said they were putting in another 9 holes. I am anxious to see them. I rated the course a 3.5. I would have given it a 3.0 if I hadn't run into the group. They added at least a .5.

If you are in Phoenix and from the East Coast, definitely give this course a shot. It is a lot of fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun AZ Course

1    3/5/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 107  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Cement tee pads (each hole a a different design)
-Baskets, Mach II's
-Good signage
-Great workout
-Multiple pin placements on most holes
-A variety of long and short holes
-Quick play (if your by yourself)
Cons: -Could be real hot during the summer
-Need good shoes this course is rough
-Some baskets had funky inner chains
-Lots of broken glass on the lower holes
-Hole three needs some signs to the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is the gem of this course. I would play this course if you are in the area.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 So this is dessert disc golf?

2-4    11/13/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee signs, nice mid length course, fun to play with the elevation and the wind around the hill. Elevated baskets are nice challenge, esp w wind. "fairways" are delineated to the extent that you do not have to trample the terrain to move through the landscape. Very little trash here. park is clean. While a few amenities here might be nice, trash cans, benches, posts for disc bag hooks I can easily see the reason NOT to do any of those things to alter the landscape and natural setting. maybe it is just best left as is. Yellow streamers on baskets make finding baskets easiet. Play a few times and you know where to look anyway.
Cons: No good signage to indicate location of 1st tee. hard to see baskets on many holes... they blend in to this environ... Some baskets have ribbons on them, flags would be nice... but I can see where some would feel this is a eyesore to the landscape. The mountainside can get a bit windy. Not a con as much as a natural element to be factored in.
Other Thoughts: This is my first time playing here in PHX. I enjoyed it very much. Terrain eats discs pretty bad. Baskets are hard to see in this environment. I am used to the forested courses in the mid west. nice use of elevation... we have little elevation in IL :)... Fun to toss downhill... makes my arm feel bigger :). Hard to lose a disc which is nice. A bit of experience and disc golf instinct and you will find your way through the course pretty easily... by mid round it was much easier to spot baskets and next tee pads. back to play again. Old review still holds up. Evidence since last visit of a lot of hard work to improve this course. Lots of rocks moved, piled stacked, etc to clean up and more formalize the course. I felt oddly obligated to participate. On each hole I moved a rock or two to contribute to the "building" of the course. Hole comments... 14 is a sig hole with elevated tee and basket. Fun to shoot over the gully like that. 8 is a serious downhill bomb that was a ton of fun. Wind was light so accuracy was quite high today and quite forgiving. 4 is a nice short hidden basket. Shaded tee pad and tree gateway on 2 was fun. Obstruction on 3 is kind of silly. 12 was another down-hiller that is just a bomb!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 LOVED IT!

5+    8/16/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 47  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Water fountains at entarnce. Easy to navigate. No where to lose your disc if you pay attention. Good baskets, great locals, not too busy good elevation, and distance.
Cons: The rocks will tear up your discs a bit if you have the wrong plastic. Anyone reading this knows its hot in AZ. There is NO shade on this course. But a hat and water solves that problem.
Other Thoughts: The course is off the charts on fun factor. Good scenery. I will come back to Buffalo any chance i get and I'm from out of state.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Real Desert Course

5+    9/1/2006   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a real desert course. Lots of scrub and Mesquite trees that obscure the baskets and your driving line. Great elevation changes. Scenary from the holes on top of the ridge are fantastic. Locals are very helpful and eager for you to join their group. Restrooms and water at the parking lot.
Cons: HOT HOT HOT! This is a true desert course. You'd better be ready to hike and bring plenty of water. Cactus, prickly trees, sometimes snakes. This course is rock and dirt if you're throwing DX plastic it will probably be the last time you use that disc again. A little tough to follow the first time through as the low trees can obscure the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I used to live 5 miles from this course and played it often. One of my favorite courses. The club has done a great job on some improvements with the tee pads.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quintessential desert course

3/23/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of a desert landscape
Good use of elevation
Well laid out, considering the lanscape available
Unique challenges due to vegetation and topography
Though the terrain is limited, not a lot of redundancy in layout
Cons: Of course, certain times of the year can have brutal heat (not the courses fault)
Discs take a beating on rocks
Occassionally hard to spot a disc in the brush..**"I know it landed somewhere near here"
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play.
The thing I like most about it is the desert terrain--it's so different than 97% of the courses I've played.
It's amazing how varied this course feels with the limited terrain options...whoever designed it did a great job...I love the hole (maybe 14) where you tee off on the side of the one hill and the basket is across a small "valley" and on top on a little hill--a great challenge...I have only birdied that hole once

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.