Hudsonville, MI 
Wellspring DGC Share
Uploaded By: Pateradactyl Hole #7
3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 A Beautiful Nine Hole Course With Plans To Add A Back Nine!

1    9/2/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I always question why you would build an intermediate course on a church property instead of a fun little pitch and putt? After talking to Aaron, the guy in charge around here, he informed me that this course was designed as a community course with more challenge for all.

The Wellspring Church sits back about 1/4 mile from the street on a large parcel of acreage. This area between the street and the church is where the course is located. They've done everything first class with the help of their generous membership. One member donated the lumber for the tee signs. Another did the concrete work fir the nice tee pads. The tee signs are awesome giving you all the info you need including a route map. The baskets are triple chain MVP models. I agree with apdrvya that brighter bands on these would be best.

The course combines more difficult holes with some shorter and less challenging ones. # 1 is a 600' hole play beside a large holding pond and murky ditch. It's listed as a par 5 though on many courses might be a 4. So birdie it if it's that easy. # 2 is a 415' hyser around the thick forest area. You're throwing out over the church's entrance road so be careful of incoming cars. The basket is set fairly close to a creek. Next, cross the creek.

# 3 is interesting, some might say bland hole. It's a 550' shot with a 50' wide fairway cut out of the hay field. There is a larger landing zone about 225' out. This is so straight and cut so perfectly and then the basket is set upon a small hill near the street. Par Is 5'

# 4 plays 197'. It looks as though it could be on the grounds of an Arizona 5 star resort with the basket tucked into this amazingly beautiful desert looking landscaped area. Very pretty hole!
# 5 is a little anhyser throw over some tall grass. # 6 is 250' open but there is the creek in play just beyond the basket.

# 7 is 305' throwing directly toward the church. The basket is up a small hill and protected by trees around it. 8 is a little anhyser throw around the cool play area and then # 9 is a mostly straight, 205' throw to a basket set in the trees. I think a skip off the sidewalk might work here.
Cons: Yep, there are throws across the entrance road.

I might be a little concerned about # 8 when there are children playing in the play structure.

The holding pond, creek, deep rough on # 2 and tall grass all could mean looking/ losing discs
.

Other Thoughts: This is not an uptight congregation here. I'd say they're enlightened. Pack a few beers, that's OK. Smoke a bowl, no problem. Ingest some mushrooms, sure. Snort a little coke, cool. Shoot up some herion, go right ahead.

With plans for another 9, this could be one if the premier courses around. Come on out and check it out. It's already one of the better 9s you'll find.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/28/2017   8/28/2017
Review By: drk_evns
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the only high level "open" courses you can find in the area. I love this style of course and I'm so happy with the care they've put into maintaining the beauty. West Michigan has several incredible woods courses to its name, but lacks a really well thought out and high level open course. This seems to be a good start!

This course seeks to punish you with heavy rough, OB, and water rather than just trees. The landscaping is beyond anything I thought I'd see on a disc golf course. Hole 1 (which, at the time of review, is currently the long 607ft hole next to the pond) is one of my favorite holes I've ever played. It's marked a par 5, but is more realistically a 4 (also confirmed by the designer, it was intended as a more difficult par 4).

The course designer (I believe he is the pastor of the church) came out and talked to us about future plans of the course and he was very pleasant.

The teepads are really nice concrete and the black hole baskets are awesome. West Michigan seems to be taken over by chainstars and it's nice to play on something different.
Cons: Only 9 holes. They're working on a second 9 (they have a beautiful piece of property and plenty of room) so this won't be a con for long. There IS a slight week spot through 5-8 where the holes get a little shorter and there's less to punish you. I found if you consider the road OB on every hole, it adds a little difficulty (I don't know if it's intended to be OB, as it's not marked on the signage).
Other Thoughts: When they make changes to the course, it would be awesome to see some of those shorter holes shuffled up and brought to the level of the other holes (possibly more distance?). On the back 9, it would be awesome to take advantage of some of the wooded areas BUT I would love to see the open spirt of the front 9 carried over too. A good mixture would be really cool to see on the back 9. I'm super happy about these larger, open holes, and want to see more of it. It's something you don't really get as much around here.

New favorite course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great 9 holes, looking forward to the full 18

5+    8/2/2017   8/2/2017
Review By: abolduc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course.
Great baskets (Mvp black hole portals with 3 layers of chains)
Great risk and reward on several holes
Feels like and 18 hole course
Some nice par 4's with fun par 3's, lots of cool ace lines
The church people are nice, and really want it to be a public course for everyone
Great use of terrain and water
Cons: 9 holes
Hole 1 is probably a par 4 for higher rated players
The rough on holes 1and 2 can be rough, keep right on those holes.


Other Thoughts: Really glad to have a long challenging course in the Jenison and Hudsonville area. We are reall looking forward to the full 18 to come. Definitely worth a stop, you won't be disappointed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Terrain

1    7/13/2017   7/13/2017
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 318  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic--plays through the entry drive and near a parking lot on a large parcel of land owned by Wellspring Church. You do throw across the road and near a playground and parking lot. Throw with caution.

Teesigns--Boarder on amazing. These signs are truly beautiful and give all needed. Minor gripe would be the non-inclusion of the "next tee" arrow.

Teepads--again, brand new and beautful.

Terrain--The first two holes throw near a lake (retention pond?) and a creek. Hole 5 throws near the creek again. Great use of topography and available elevation changes.

Baskets-- New Black holes. I wish these had brighter bands

Navigation-- Decent. Look for the tee sign from the basket, it's pretty intuitive. Longer walk from 2 to 3 with a walk across 5's approach.
Cons:
Minor stuff here

Safety--throwing across a road, near a parking lot and near a playground make this a semi-dangerous course. When I played I was pretty much the only soul on the property. The crossing of the walk from 2-3 across 5's approach was a dangerous thing.

A little vanilla--#4 plays 500' or so straight as an arrow with a 10' fairway. Each side is just tall grass. bleh.

Other Thoughts:
The landscaped beauty of this course is something to behold and will place it in my top 3 9-hole courses for sure...

I think that a bench or two, along with a trash or two would make this place great!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.