Texarkana, TX 
Spring Lake Park - Central Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
This is a layout, not a course. Why are the signs still here?

1    5/28/2022   6/21/2022
Review By: kp_1024
Played: 130  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Central layout was the original course at Spring Lake Park. When new holes were added, it was replaced by the East and West courses, but the signs remained. But despite sharing all 18 holes identically with the other courses and having nothing unique to itself, there are some advantages to the Central layout.

First, it's very beginner-friendly. You never enter the woods, since the new holes were added in the woods on either side of the park. The signs are consistent (unfortunately), and the tees are all in good shape. You're never far from the main parking lot. There are also a few long holes, including one par 4. These aspects of the layout are really the only reason I considered giving this more than a 0.0.

Using the holes that are shared with West, Central emphasizes different ways to get to the basket, while avoiding any thick brush, and they are somewhat complimented by holes 16 and 17 on this layout (borrowed from East) which have one guardian tree in front of the pin.

Because East and West have some crossing fairways, I would guess that tournaments that are held here would use the Central layout, since it is overall safer and easier to navigate. But maybe having people play Central is actually a con...
Cons: In case it wasn't clear already, every single hole on this layout is shared with one of the holes from East or West. There is absolutely nothing unique on this course that you wouldn't find on one of the actual courses. Everything good about this course can be said as a pro for one of the other courses. For some reason, the signs for Central are still the most prominently featured, causing confusion for newer players, encouraging players to play a layout that will bump people into each other, and quite frankly, play a worse layout overall.

This "course" combines not the best, but the worst of the East and West courses. There are several open holes (holes 13-17 on this layout) that are shared with East, which are mostly pretty boring, and all the safety hazards of both East and West (crossing walking paths several times). As a result, these 18 holes start to feel a little boring, and you may be looking longingly towards the newer holes in the woods. The fact that there are no alternate tees or pins shows up worst here, since there's less going on in these holes than the wooded holes.

The layout and navigation issues aren't any better with this set of holes. The walk from hole 14 to 15 is very odd, since there are weird issues with the East course going on at the same time. The tee signs help you out, but once the Central and West courses diverge after hole 4, you may be a bit confused.
Other Thoughts: Judging by past reviews, it looks like a lot of work has been put in here to keep this course in good condition, and it appears as though that will continue into the future. Given the 36 decent to good holes that are here, I'm glad the park, or rather the Disc Golf portion of the park, didn't fall into complete disrepair. Don't get me wrong by my rating - I'm really glad this course existed, but it was a stepping stone to the two courses that are on site now.

If you want to play on a real course, just play the East and West layouts; they're both good courses that don't deserve to be overshadowed by an old layout. I've reviewed both of those already.

One last time, to anyone who may be taking care of or putting money into this course: PLEASE remove the signs for the Central layout and replace them with proper signs for the course the holes are on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Huge park with 36 holes (kind of).

1    5/11/2021   5/11/2021
Review By: TRoss886
Played: 262  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- The Big 3: This course features the basic necessities of a good course. Discatchers baskets, metal tee signage, and big tapered concrete pads on all 18 holes. The tee pads are the real star here while the baskets and signage are showing some age. Sprucing these up would be a nice touch to the course. The signage receives kudos for displaying next tee direction.
- Amenities: Spring Lake does a great job in this department. I'm not sure that I've ever seen trash cans at all 18 tee boxes of a disc golf course. That's exceptional. I counted at least 7 benches on the central 18 course with even more on the other loops. Signage poles include bag hooks which is another great feature.
- Staging Area: This course has a large parking lot, picnic table, bench, practice basket, trash can, and large kiosk with the three course maps.
- Options: This is a really interesting setup of the "three" courses. In my opinion, it seems like this course would be better off being split into two 18 hole courses for the sake of player flow, shot diversity, and navigation. It seems there are a total of 33 baskets overall in the park and 36 tee pads (three holes share a basket on the east loop). However, at the end of the day, the more holes the better. You can always go out there and play your favorite 18 holes if you are adamant on only throwing that many.
Cons:
- Basic: Multiple flat, wide open holes on this course. This is especially true if you only play the central 18. Forced shot shaping can be very minimal at points due to the openness (16 and 17 are the biggest culprits). I have a hard time rating this course because of the loops it offers. I think there is a great way to break up the monotony of the basic holes by using the loops in this park. However, for the central course, this is the biggest con.
- Pedestrian Hazard: The course weaves through a walking path in the park and crosses it often. I counted a total of 9 out of 18 holes in which this could become an issue on the central course. The park seems consistently busy so be prepared for this to have an impact on your flow. For reference, this con seems to be a non-issue on the "loops".
- Flow/Navigation: This is where the central, east, west course setup goes from a blessing to a curse. 36 tee pads, 33 baskets, three 18 hole courses. You get the idea. However, major kudos to the signage in various locations on the course of trying to navigate you in the right direction of which course you are playing. It just seems like things would be simplified with an east and west course that are totally separate.
Other Thoughts:
Not pros or cons:
- Single Tee Pads/Pin Placements: While these are always a great addition to any course, I can't list them as cons. This is mainly due to the fact that there are so many baskets and tee pads total in this park. However, the addition of extra tee pads could help to diversify the total number of players that have a great time on this course. Multiple pin placements would help to keep things interesting for locals. This only really applies to the central course since the "loops" are more technical and often have defined fairways.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good Learning course

5+    8/13/2020   8/14/2020
Review By: GeneO
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well Maintained, both by Parks Dept. and locals. Central 18 is more wide open, while the East and West share some of its holes with challenging wooded holes.
Dog and Cart friendly, Signs and Map are good for out-of-towners, UDisc is a big help as it is anywhere. Locals are super friendly, always meeting new players.
Cons: Occasional right-of-way waiting during busy times for the walking trail that meanders through the park. Rarely a big issue, as it only really about 1/4 of the 36 holes available.
Thick OB on wooded holes on Park boundaries, and can be disc-eaters.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Golf Course

2-4    10/2/2016   10/10/2016
Review By: FlyFish84
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to learn the game! All new signs on central course as of May 2016. Makes it easy to navigate even for beginners. Not sure when the tee pads were installed but they are all nice cement pads.
Cons: Walking path can slow play occasionally, and they also have festivals in the park that can interfere with part of the course occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Learning the game here, and can't wait to get back out and work on improving my game!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Public Park Course

5+    3/26/2015   3/26/2015
Review By: Cwsteed07
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -very well maintained course in the middle of public park
- lots of open holes holes for newer players to learn their throw
- some long, open holes to test your arm
- some good variety between open and lightly wooded holes
- a fun course for many different skill levels
- 27 hole layout (optional)
- alternate holes provide more technical shots for better players looking for the challenge
- nice baskets on regular 18
- nice teepadd on most of course
Cons: - needs updated signs
- a couple of older teepads
- hard to navigate the entire 27 unless with a local player who knows the layout
- walking trail that can come into play during busy times
Other Thoughts: Much improved course over the last couple of years. If you haven't played it lately all of the 18 hole layout had new baskets and all a few teepads.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where I learned to play

5+    8/30/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: treysonagras
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes. Some nice tee boxes. The park is very well maintained.
Cons: Lots of trees that will rob you of some great shots. This is pretty challenging for a new player. Some missing signs.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and is where I am learning the game. It might be tough for someone who doesn't know the course very well but I enjoy playing here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 upgraded course!

5+    7/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: huntin4hitters
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park this course is in stays well manicured.
New tee boxes have been built on various holes over the past year and also new baskets put in.

There are I believe actually around 27 holes if you know where all the extra ones are but it is a straight 18 typically.

Some long holes that give a chance to rip some drives.
Cons: some signs/maps at teeboxes are broken
Other Thoughts: very good average day course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 run down

1    3/10/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: pretty park
good variety of distances
good variety of shot shapes
Cons: missing signs
unreadable signs
broken baskets
confusing navigation
mostly open, no tree lined fairways, which is expected of a public park type course
Other Thoughts: would be a good course to have nearby, but hard to enjoy on a road trip because you will do a bit of wandering to find your way

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A nice park

1    3/13/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A nice little park. Good distances. Good routes. Decent tee pads. A very pretty location.
Cons: A bit crowded. I would like to have seen a better variety of lengths and pars. I like to see a hole or two I can go for, and 500 feet probably has no business as a par 3. Poor signage makes it hard to navigate at times.
Other Thoughts: Really pretty park. Worth a stop.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 294  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The park is very easy to find and it is easy to find where to park and begin play.

-The course is very scenic. The trees are huge and the park itself is very well manicured and cared for.

-There were asphalt tee pads which is not as good as concrete tee pads but much better than grass or dirt. The course was very easy to follow on the first 10 holes.

-The course had very good lengths on some of the holes, some holes involve a big bomb others need the player to weave through the big tall trees.
Cons: -If the first 10 holes were easy to navigate the back 8 were nearly impossible to navigate. All 8 are missing signs and I completely missed about 5 holes because I simply could not find where to go, I never saw any of the last 5 baskets. I assume either they do not exist or they are in a different part of the park because were I go lost there was, what seemed like, a brand new walking path so those last few holes must have been relocated.

-Walkers are another thing to be cautious of. Some kind of walking path comes in play on a few holes on the front 9 and since the park seems to get a lot of walking traffic there may be small waits waiting for the pedestrians to walk through.
Other Thoughts: This course is very forgettable. The front 9 are fun but the fact that the back 9 is very hard to navigate makes for not so fun disc golf.

This seems to be the only course in the area that is worth playing but definitely needs a bit of work to get the rating up.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.