Texarkana, TX 
Spring Lake Park - Central Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 great course

5+    5/1/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: cullen50
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its a beautiful course with a great atmosphere. it is a large well groomed course. has a side course in thick woods across the street from #4 so u can work on ur short game.
Cons: i really dont see one bad thing about this course. i think it is missing a sign or two but this course is easy to figure out.
Other Thoughts: this was the course i first played on. i learned the game on this course and when i ventured out to other courses, the other courses seemed easy.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, great lay out, great location (safe and beautiful),
Cons: signs been to be updated/replaced
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, in a great location. Be sure to watch out for people trying to fly kites, play foot ball or walk on the paths, because they all will cross here and there. but it adds to the game. The lay out is not that challenging, but... they are all good distance shots, some baskets hide behind trees which is interesting!

all in all, I really enjoyed the course and area, parking is easy as well!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So where's the next hole?

2-4    5/23/2010   5/29/2009
Review By: disc4life
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since the completion of the walking path, the holes have been moved and placement seems well thought out (given what obstacles they had to work with).

Like others have said: safe, nice, scenic park. I enjoyed my time walking around the course, checking the rest of the park out. Good place to take a family (plenty for spouse, kids to do if they don't play disc golf).

The signs that are up at Tee pads easily move you from one hole to the next.
Cons: Since the completion of the walking path and the movement of some holes, signs are missing in places and/or holes have just been renumbered. And, early in the day, I didn't run across any of the local players to show me the way. They were there as I was leaving, though.

Walkers of course have right of way, so you may have to be patient for a minute or two on 2 or 3 holes (the pedestrian path stays out of the way / to the side for the most part).

Not many shady tee pads throughout the course.

Not a good mixing of short / long (if you can call them that; the longest is a little under 500 feet) holes. Most of the shorter holes were around the beginning. Then the longer holes went out into the open fields.
Other Thoughts: Since they moved the holes around, the course no longer starts in the northeast corner of the park. As you enter and go left, the parking lot is about halfway back on the left side--the old hole one is now around hole 15 or so.

I pass through Texarkana every now and then. I'm sure I'll be playing this one again in the future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 For a city park, not too bad

1    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 58  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Safe park, pretty easy to navigate. A few wooded hole across the street from hole 5 added a little variety to the totality of the design. Friendly local pointed me to the first tee. Good place to try out new drivers as it is mostly open, good for beginners. I liked hole 8 and the wooded holes the most. Rest rooms and a few benches. The trees that were available were used as best possible in my opinion. More than 18 holes, if that doesn't annoy you. long concrete tee pads except wooded holes.
Cons: Some tee signs were missing. This course could get old very fast unless you prefer this type of course over wooded and elevated types. Walkers, I had to skip hole 12 because of kite enthusiasts and hole 16 because there was a baseball game in progress. I didn't find one of the pads for 1 of the wooded holes, although I didn't look too long for it. Limited terrain on most of course gave some holes that "sameness" feel.
Other Thoughts: Overall I suggest if in the area give it a whirl. Just don't make a long drive to play it unless curiosity gets the better of you like it did me. If you are from Louisiana Earl G. Williamson is on the way home in Oil city Louisiana. It is only nine but has some technical holes with a creek in play on 4 holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/14/2007   2/4/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 271  Reviewed: 260  Exp: 21.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Serene park setting. Trees as obstacles, not in woods, no rough, but you have to throw good shots. We played on a weekday morning and were the only people in the park.
Cons: Tricky to navigate at times. The open holes across the road did not fit the character of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I was unaware of the "extra" holes (read some of the other reviews of those that are more familiar with them.) Fun course for the average DGer, not too difficult, but not jokingly easy either.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Current home course

5+    9/22/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is beginner-friendly, with the exception of a few holes on the regular 18-hole layout, and all 4 of the "woods" holes. Although the landscape remains mostly the same throughout the entire course, there are enough trees to force hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots (though mostly hyzer). The park looks very nice now that the city mows regularly...lush green grass in most parts with mature pine trees scattered throughout. Course plays very quickly, since most holes are short and there isn't any "schule" to deal with.

Aside from the regular 18-hole layout, there is an extra basket on hole 13 (and an extra tee near that basket) that makes for 19 holes...though you'll need a local to point the extra hole out. There are also 4 extra holes in "the woods" across the street from hole 5's tee. These holes are probably the most interesting of the course, and although they're fairly short, they do require accuracy to score well.
Cons: Advanced and higher-level players will find this course very easy, as a RHBH hyzer can be thrown for birdie on almost every hole. Just to give you an idea of how simple the course is, my usual score on the full 23-hole layout is between 9 and 11 under par...and my personal best / overall course record is 16 under par for 23 holes.

Lacking variety, both in distance and hole design.

Navigating the course for the first time can be difficult, as it crosses park roads in a few spot. Right now many of the signs are missing or broken, which only makes matters worse.

Finally, the baskets are probably the biggest con. All but 4 were hand-made by local prisoners and tend to spit putts with a lot of speed or spin. The basket portion of the target has large "nipples" on the rim that causes low putts to be rejected...which isn't necessarilly a con, since you shouldn't putt low anyway :)
Other Thoughts: All in all, Springlake will make for a fun round for most...but for the avid disc golfer always looking for a real challenge, it could be a let-down.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.