Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 213ft.   3 / 242ft.   3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Nice park, OK course

1    12/17/2017   1/2/2018
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 46  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Vista del Camino Park is set in a well-kept park in the city of Scottsdale. Like many other area courses, it is located in a low canal type area designed to fill up with water during heavy rain storms.

-The park looks very nice. Several ponds, walking/bike paths, mature trees, and immaculate grass create a pleasant ambiance.

-Many baskets are set on a hillside or elevated, adding to the challenge. Water comes into play on four holes (1, 10, 11, and 18)

-The tee signs are outstanding, in color and with all three or four pin locations shown. However, an indication as to which pin is currently in use would be nice. The course is flat and judging distance by eye is a challenge.

-The tee pads are enormous, grippy, concrete ones. Only problem was the dirt in front was instead a mud puddle. A sprinkler adjustment should solve it.

-Spinners Disc Shop near Hole 11 has a large selection of discs to purchase. Bicycles may be rented here as well.
Cons: -The typical hole: Tee pad near the walk/bike path. ~300 feet. Finishes to the right on the hill near the fence. Problem is, this is at least half of the holes. This happens is because the layout follows the long, skinny shape of the park in a counter-clockwise format. So, the course is very friendly to lefties and players with a long flick. My solution to even out the spread of holes would be to reconfigure the course into a figure-8 pattern.

-The course is routed to avoid the walk/bike paths as much as possible. But in a popular park like this, you'll still have to wait on a few holes. Also, watch out on the tees, of which several share space with a pathway. My brother almost got taken out by a speeding cyclist.

-The routing is tricky. You'll need to make two bridge crossings and back track to find a number of the tees. To add to the confusion, there were a couple of extra baskets that did not correspond with any hole.
Other Thoughts: -This is certainly not technical golf, but there are enough large trees to force some shot shaping.

-This course, in many other areas of the country, would be average at best. Unfortunately, the desert landscape and climate in Phoenix doesn't lend itself to top level 5 star courses. As a result, this is one of the best courses in the area. It can appear a bit overrated to out-of-towners like myself who are regularly spoiled with a choice of several excellent courses.

-That's not to say I didn't enjoy my round. It was a splendid break from the cold, wet Portland winter. Dry grass underfoot + no need for a towel + no grip issues = :-)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ponds are nice & Spinners is Great!

1    11/22/2017   11/22/2017
Review By: The Katana Kid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2017
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Spinners on the Green - Disc Golf Pro Shop is the nicest pro shop I've seen. Several of my PROS will be related to Spinners, which is where you want to park, start on 12, and finish on 11.

Playing and parking are free.

If you return a disc Spinners offers a $3 credit in their store, which is a really big place with lots of stuff and was full of people when I was there this afternoon. The person who lost the disc pays $3 to get the disc back. I returned a disc there that I found and elected not to receive the credit so the guy getting his disc back won't have to pay anything. What a great service! They have a lot of used discs for sale for $4-5.

I met two local guys, Paul and Michael, who allowed me to join them and that always helps with course directions and other information. They told me that Spinners sponsors free beer at Dukes, a place right next to Spinners, every Friday night from 6-7pm and then there's a night tournament afterwards. There is a doubles tournament every Saturday at 10am and it's a random draw for your partner with a $5 entry fee so there's awards to winners and a separate ace pot. At 8am Saturday the over 50 group plays. There's a league every Monday and Thursday at 4pm. Winners get credits at Spinners.

I really like the small ponds, even though I left some plastic in there. None of the water shots, (1, 9, 11, and 18), force you to go over the water, but allow for a reward if you want to take that risk. I tried for the basket on #1 over water instead of the safe way on land to the left and that's where I lost a disc. In the description here it says, "Three small lakes come into play on 7 holes" but I could not see how water was involved in more than the 4 holes I mentioned. On #18 there's a long and short tee. Only the brave of heart and strong of arm would play the long tee with more water; not me!

The course did not play nearly as long as I expected from reading the reviews here. There are 4 basket positions for each hole and in the short positions, like today, none of the holes were distance challenged even for my noodle arm.

The concrete tee pads are nice and the tee signs are great with the exception that they don't let you know which position the basket is in.

Although there are not many trees to create lines to challenge your technical skills there are enough mature trees used as guardians to make it difficult for ace runs.

The course is set in a beautiful park that's well maintained by the City of Scottsdale. Because of this nice grass your discs won't get nicked up, like on other desert courses of dirt and rocks in the area.
Cons: If I didn't have locals Paul and Michael guiding me it would have been frustrating to know which basket to throw at and also to find the next tee. Both of these problems could be solved simply and inexpensively by Spinners if they added a "next tee" arrow marker in each basket and put a washer on each tee sign marking which basket position is currently being played. Both of these are common in other good courses and would be an easy upgrade here.

Since it is a nice park and there are fish in these ponds there are non-disc golfers to contend with. On #9 there was a family having a good time and some were fishing. My preferred shot here would have been a RHFH to stay away from the water, but that's where they were. So I threw a RHBH and went over the water to avoid them. I succeeded on that one and it hyzered back to land.
Other Thoughts: The course is very active with disc golfers. Paul and Michael told me it's usually got more disc golfers and that found discs here are always returned. A trio ahead of us let us play through. So they seem courteous.

I might give this place a 3.0 if it was just the course on it's own. I'm giving it a 3.5 because the value adds Spinners offers.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the great courses in the area

2-4    12/18/2016   3/10/2017
Review By: Habtacular
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Plenty of challenges here, good tee pads and basket, very well kept fairways. This course will challenge everyone from beginners to top pros.
Cons: No cons in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Played it from the shorts and caddied from longs during memorial. This is a long, challenging, but fun course. Several holes with water and ob. Spinners disc shop is next to course and is one of the finest DG stores you will find. They manage lost and found discs for course too.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Too open - disappointed

1    1/13/2016   1/13/2016
Review By: gabereif
Played: 41  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Free
-Easy parking
-Beautiful kiosk with info on leagues, lessons, course map
-Great concrete tees
-Baskets with double chains that catch great
-Multiple pin positions
-Good use of water and existing topography
Cons: -Very flat plot of land
-Hardly any risk/reward. Rewards distance and places hardly any value on accuracy
-Course plays along pedestrian walkways and somewhat close to parking and apartments
Other Thoughts: I showed up at the course at 7AM and was glad to find the course was accessible, despite the fact that I had read something online that the park opens at 9AM. You can play it any time you want. The park was pretty dead and I was the only disc golfer around. I may have had a better experience if I had met some of the locals. But I may have had a worse experience if the trails had had more pedestrians.

This course is entirely different than courses in New England, where I play most of my disc golf. There is no rough. You do not have to hit lines. There is hardly any topography. The trees are few and far between. The holes are long and there are trees in the fairways, but you don't have to hit gaps in order to be successful. Just launch your disc as far as you can through a very wide space between a couple of trees, and you'll be left with a 50-100 foot approach and a pretty easy par. Distance makes birdies pretty much impossible unless you can throw accurate 325 foot shots (most of my accurate drives only go 280 feet). The golf is not dynamic or interesting. For the most part, it's repetitive. The course designer did a good job of using the small hills around the property, and some of the water holes provide some challenge. The pin positions on hills and near the water are good. But when I saw this course was rated 3.4, I was expecting something substantially better. The tees and baskets are great and the design is good and the use of water is very good. But I'm not interested in playing this course again, although it's certainly a valuable local resource.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The other course

1    1/18/2015   1/6/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2016
1 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: The course has more obstacles and is more interesting than the other courses in the area.
Cons: The course is far too long and the obstacles aren't enough to make it all that interesting. No elevation either. It's just another prime example of a place that the technology of the game has passed by. It doesn't offer any real technical (i.e. skill based) challenges and is just another glorified distance competition.
Other Thoughts: Courses like these need to go the way of the dinosaurs.

1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

A nice city park course with few challenges

5+    11/5/2016   9/5/2015
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2016
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting with some challenging water and distance holes.
Cons: Few elevation changes, few challenges and few significant trees. Repetitious. Watch out for park users. Plays tough in the wind. Throwing into properties = lost disc. Water shots will be returned at nearby Spinners on the Green.
Other Thoughts: Very few challenges. Long does not equal interesting. This course does not belong in the desert (what a waste of water!)

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not Top Level, but Humbling...

1    7/9/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. What a beautiful setting for a DG course in the Phoenix area! Lush, Green , some trees, all in a nice Park setting. A nice combination of hole lengths and Alternate Basket placements. The layout is a Great use of available space in the park. O.B. is well defined, fairways are fair, available trees and obstacles are well placed/thought out. A good number of Water holes to keep it interesting, especially with the lines of them and the WIND.
Cons: Some of the holes, particularly on the back 9, seem like repeats of the same hole. Not that it is a CON, per se, but this is a Multi use park. LOTS of other folks doing other things and you need to keep your eye out Before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I was Stoked to Finally set foot on this course after seeing it on Youtube over and over. If the Wind is Constant like it was today, I can see this course being a bit of a Sleeper, IMO. The WIND came up after Hole 5 and beat us to death. Steady 15-20 mph with 25-30 mph gusts. For an Intermediate player like me, I recommend being prepared to throw more Stable plastic than Normal! Can't wait to hit this course again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    11/8/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice city park. The fairways are grassy with some scattered mature trees. There are a couple holes with defined lines, others make you choose which way to go around an obstructing tree or two to get to the basket. The park is flat with a couple small hills coming into play and providing some rollaway potential.

The small ponds in the park come into play on several holes. Some have interesting risk reward decisions with an opportunity to lay up and take the water out of play or the chance to go for the pin with a trickier water carry. There is a variety of hole lengths with some shorter reachable ace runs and some longer holes where most players will be reaching for their long drivers. The tee signs are nice and descriptive, showing the multiple pin positions. The tees and pins are in fine shape.
Cons: The park is busy, with a walking path running through a lot of the holes. The design works to minimize conflicts, but there are still a lot of safety concerns. On top of this, many of the fairways seem to be popular picnic spots on a nice weekend afternoon.

The course is flat and mostly open. There just aren't enough obstacles or terrain to keep the holes from feeling repetitive. The tee signs are nice but don't indicate which pin position is in use which makes them a little less helpful for first time players.
Other Thoughts: This course does a pretty good job with the space available, but it ends up being a bit repetitive and doesn't present enough different challenges to be a top course. Beginners might find some of the holes a bit long, but with no underbrush it won't get too frustrating. Experienced players can get some good practice time in here, but with no line shaping required it's not going to be the best test of a full set of skills.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 overrated courses must be a thing in PHX

1    8/3/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a couple of small, interlinked ponds that come into play on some holes
-a few holes make use of the extremely limited elevation changes
-tons of alternate basket placements is great for locals and replay value but difficult for the traveler to ascertain in which placement the basket is currently located
-some trees to provide shade and an obstacle or two
-concrete tees, older but decent baskets
Cons: -few obstacles on the course other than some sparse trees and the water. there are usually just one or two trees to avoid on each fairway but nothing that demands a certain line.
-tricky navigation spot: cross the creek after hole 3 to get to hole 4
-no marker system on the tees for the basket positions
Other Thoughts: This course is situated in a decently sized city park with a few small ponds running through the middle. The course makes decent use of the land but the land doesn't have much to offer. I found the only fun holes to be the ones next to the water and the elevated ace run on hole 8.

A great feature of this course is the many basket positions on every hole. Most holes have 5 or 6 positions and it is a nice way to keep the course interesting for the locals that play here. Unfortunately it makes it difficult for the traveler to determine which location is currently being used. There are all visible from the tee but it would be nice to know the distances on some of the longer holes where it is harder to eyeball off the tee.

A nice looking course with mediocre golf, saved from being completely boring by the water in play on holes 1, 9, 11, and 18. Seems like it is unfortunately one of the better options on the east side of the Phoenix metro area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Scottsdale Favorite!

5+    5/4/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The water: there are only a few courses in Arizona with water in play, and Vista del Camino has plenty of it. #1, 9, 10, and 18 involve throws over water, so be careful.

The terrain: a course in Arizona with grass?? It's a great change of pace for AZ disc golfers.

Spinners on the Green: the BEST disc golf shop in AZ, hands down! The shop is about a 2 minute walk from #11. Even if you're not looking to get a new disc, you should stop by. They also have a great lost-and-found system for discs - if you happen to lose a few in the water, check with Spinners later in the week!
Cons: The pedestrians: don't get me wrong, they aren't doing anything wrong. But some of the baskets require throws that are close to the Indian Wash Greenbelt, so watch out for cyclists and walkers.
Other Thoughts: I'm in Phoenix about once a month, and this is the course I always play!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.