Beaverton, OR 
Tektronix DGC Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The Tektronix Disc Golf Course was one of the highlights of my recent trip!

1    5/23/2018   5/24/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1409  Reviewed: 1356  Exp: 41.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wasn't expecting very much from the Tektronix Disc Golf Course. I half expected to drive up to a gate manned with a big mean, surly guard and get turned away. Instead I drove into this lovely grassy, wooded park surrounded by corporate buildings and was pleased to find this lovely nine hole recreational course. It was like playing at a lovely manicured park with green grass and mature fir trees.

The course has pavers for tee pads and yellow Discatcher baskets with the numbers on top. There are no signs but navigation is fairly simple using the online map.

The tee pad for the first hole is across the street but this should never be a problem as I don't think there's enough traffic to pose a problem. # 1 is probably 285 feet to an open basket. Next you walk across the street and number two is a little shorter at 260 feet with the street on your right. Number 3 is maybe 300 feet to a basket tucked in the midst of about 15 large Fir trees.

Holes 7 and 8 were the highlights of this course for me. The tee pad for number eight is tucked underneath a group of about six large mature Firs. Then the hole is just a fun little 225 foot hyser shot. Number eight then throws across the street twice with the basket down in a little indentation with only the top of the Discatcher showing. Number nine is probably the longest hole on the course playing over 300 feet across the street with the parking lot on your left. You can play safe and try to land on the landing strip or try and clear the street landing near the basket. This basket sits beneath the branches of a large Fir.
Cons: Not much to complain about. The grass could have been mowed shorter. It was a little long.

Basic recreational challenge. Intermediate players and above won't be challenged but most everyone else will have fun.

No signs.

I'm disappointed. I just read a previous review and PierParkNut was approached by a security guard who stated that this is a private course for Tektronix and Nike employees only. Too bad!
Other Thoughts: I guess I should be thankful that I was able to play here without any security guard interference. A possible solution might be counterfeit Nike employee badges. Do we have any counterfeiters here at DGCR?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Never seen anyone playing on this course

1    3/11/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: Marc55410
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Never seen anyone playing on this course
Cons: Never seen anyone playing on this course
Other Thoughts: Not really a destination course. If you work nearby and have a lunch hour, you could practice a few fundamentals. Good idea that went nowhere.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish it were public

1    11/25/2017   11/27/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 56  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course plays through a nice area with mature trees on the Tektronix campus. It is well designed, with a variety of shots. The course starts off with two relatively simple warm ups. Every hole after that demands considerable precision with both backhand and forehand shots to navigate a number of mature trees.

-It's well maintained with short grass and pruned trees.

-New Innova Discatcher baskets.

-Two noteworthy holes were #3, a tight, uphill forehand flex, and #7, a short, technical shot to an "island" green in the parking lot. No real risk of hitting a car here, BTW.
Cons: -The brick paver tee pads provide a nice grip. However, they're slightly raised and feature a wood border. Make sure not to trip on your run-up.

-No signage, but the layout is fairly easy to follow.

-Parking lots and roads come into play frequently, but Hole 9 is the only hole with a real safety issue. It plays directly over the corner of the parking lot. During the weekend it's empty, but a lunchtime round at work would be another story.
Other Thoughts: -I played here on a rainy Saturday, usually a good time to play an office park course. Our round went smoothly until the last hole, when we were approached by a security person who informed us that the course was only available to Tektronix and Nike employees. :-(

-It's a shame this course isn't open to the public. I'd certainly agree with colink that this is the most fun/challenging course in the area, topping Orchard and Greenway. My suggestion: Post a sign by the first tee stating:
1. No Drinking/Smoking
2. No Loud Music or Rowdy Behavior
3. Be Respectful of the Property and Don't Litter
4. Public play only allowed on Weekends
5. Violation of rules may result in expulsion.
6. Any other important campus rules

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good, private course

1    7/16/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: colink
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the land and trees. A little bit of elevation and parking lot edges to force shot shaping. Course was nicely mowed and landscaped.
The only course in the Portland area within a short walk from the MAX line.
Cons: No tee sign or course maps.
Tee pads are pavers, kinda short.
You are playing near and over parking lots and roads. Cars and people will make this a challenge.
Private course, although I was told by Tek folks that it was available to the public.
Holes 3 and 4 are going to have water in the wet seasons.
Other Thoughts: Easily the best course in either Hillsboro or Beaverton. It's longer and more technical than Orchard. It's better than playing the berm at Intel with your Intel friends, and it's just a cleaner and safer design than Greenway.

Stop by, play the course, haul out your trash and respect the folks who have made this course and shared it with the public to the degree that they have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.