Plano, TX 
Shawnee Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #5 (Taken 3/2018)
4 / 438ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Confusing And Cramped

1    4/18/2019   5/19/2019
Review By: Prafeston
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple nice holes that use the space well.
Cons: Bad Layout
Shared Tee Pads
Shared Fairways
Several boring holes
No Tee Box Maps
Other Thoughts: The other reviews have already covered everything. I lucked out and a local pulled up right after me or else I would have been lost. It's nothing short of a miracle they managed to cram 18 holes into this tiny park. Quite odd you have the front 9 kind of loop around and end way on the other end of the park and you basically have to walk back to hole one to start the back 9 and then again finish a ways from the parking lot. Never seen a course that had holes that literally shared the same tee pad!!! A couple nicely placed holes saved this course from being a complete dud. If you are in the area and only have time to play one course drive the extra little bit to play a better course. I would only play here if this was in my back yard.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Few Good Holes But a Bad Layout Overall

5+    4/14/2018   10/8/2018
Review By: LeftyPower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 30.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Some well designed designed shots
Easy to play if you want a quick round
Cons: Layout crisscrosses some some holes that make it confusing to navigate
Some baskets right next to other tees effecting play when others are out there
Lots of other non disc golf players in way
No concrete tees
Not much to a few of the holes
Other Thoughts: This is a small park course with some of the holes having a weird layout with the baskets and "tee pads" too close to one another. The flow of the holes also crosses over other holes which might confuse you as well but the tee areas are all well marked. I used to throw a quick lunch round out here when I worked in the area for several years but playing out here when there are more people playing or just using the park does effect your play. There is one hole next to a deep gully with a 25 foot cliff that you can throw your disc down into and I have a couple of times but never lost anything down there. There are a few good holes but there are just some generic open and flat ones that just aren't that great compared to average.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Alot of time and effort went into this course

1    3/11/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 132  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park
Each tee/basket is marked with it's number
Multiple course signs throughout the course
Some tees are used for multiple holes, nice to make the golfer aware
Great lines for each hole, makes you find your line
Only way to lose plastic would be a really errant shot
Cons: Course could use a few additional trashcans
Course needs concrete teepads and tee signs
The course basically plays as two loops around the park, would be nice if it was a little more spread out.
More parking would be nice, busy on weekends, multi use park in play
Other Thoughts: Overall, a quality park. I would definitely recommend this course if your in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shawnee Park

1    6/30/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 184  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: I like how there is a tee sign on every hole as well as a number on each basket. If the baskets weren't labeled you would have no idea where to throw as the course is cramped in a small section of the park. It also seems like the course has been updated since a few of the past reviews were written. There are multiple course maps throughout the park that really come in handy.
Cons: As stated in pretty much all the reviews below, there is not a solid flow to the course. Also, all the holes are really close together making it possible to thrown in on other golfers. There are no teeboxes just really worn dirt. I like the courses I play to have some variety and this course really favors RHBH.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is a fun park with a terrible flow. I played the course in sets of 2. 2/11, 3/12, 4/13, 5/14, 6/15, 7/16, 8/17, 9/18. Since all the sets I just mentioned are really close together I would throw my drive from one teebox and drive from the other. This made for a very quick 18 holes. I was able to finish in about 45 minutes. The course is fun and worth the time if you are in the area.

 Double Looped Par

1    11/27/2016   11/29/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 264  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several Course maps available. You'll need them.
Has baskets and are in pretty decent shape.
Has hole # markers.
Course is challenging.
Very Right hand friendly. If you like that.
Should be a quick round for locals.
Has a small parking lot for disc golfers.
Cons: Very poor flow.
Dirt tee pads are in very bad shape.
Nothing really telling you what side of the hole markers to throw from.
Several different baskets are used.
Hole 8 / 17 is very confusing. As far as mando or what.
Hole 9 and 18 is mixed up on the course map.
Very Dangerous.
Please watch out for pedestrian and other players.
Other Thoughts: Course is very poorly laid out.
Park has potential.
Park has more land available.
Has port a potty by hole 1.
Bathroom out past hole 9 and 18 tees.
Decent course but definitely not a destination course.



1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for what it is

2-4    9/25/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: 02sportytex
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Never crowded.
- Most shots are easy to navigate and make par
Cons: - The layout is really odd and makes no sense. It took me walking the course before starting to understand where the next basket would be. The tee next to the basket for hole 1, which makes sense to be hole 2 is actually hole 10. Hole 2 is way out after passing by hole 10 and 11.

- The tee "boxes" or worn out. No concrete pads and they "boxes" are dug out so bad you have to make your own spot in order to get a good drive.

- No map of the course available.

Other Thoughts: For a "course" that you can knock out in 1 hour, that is close to my house, it's great. Sadly, it seems like it was laid out by someone who really didn't think it through very well. It's also been forgotten, clearly pointed out by the poor tee boxes.

Something that would really help this is putting up a map of the course. If there was a map on the already gigantic sign talking about the rules of Disc Golf, the course would be higher in my book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/29/2016   7/29/2016
Review By: mikebushell
Played: 69  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice location, and great potential
Cons: The lay out is terrible, it's Very confusing, there are no maps/signs telling you where to start where to end, there are fairways that cross each other,and tee boxes right in front of baskets, tee boxes I front of each other,from one tee box you are looking at 3 baskets, I will not be playing this course again!!
Other Thoughts: Don't put a picnic table right beside a basket

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but room for Improvement

1    2/2/2016   2/2/2016
Review By: strain
Played: 42  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a very good variety of shots on most holes when playing this course. You have a good choice of short, long left and right shots to make the game challenging. There are hole numbers on all holes to make the navigation some what easier. There are restrooms on sight, which is a plus. The park is very well kept, with plenty of trash cans to keep the park clean.
Cons: If you have never played this course before, you better print you out a map from this site. This course can be very difficult to navigate for the first time. I pretty much had to walk up to each basket and backtrack to the tee pad, just to see which hole it was going to throw from. I noticed on a few holes, you are throwing through the pathway of other holes or throwing near the tee pads. I would hate to see this course on a busy day, it would probably be a little hectic with people in the way. Some holes you do share tee pads for other holes, which isn't a big deal. You have to just make sure your throwing at the right basket, because it is very easy to aim at the wrong one, because of lack of signs. The tee pads are dirt which isn't too bad, because they were mostly level on most holes. Out of playing this park, the navigation was probably the worst part of my experience playing here.
Other Thoughts: Now that I have played this course once. I pretty much figured out the layout. I will definitely play this course again, when I'm in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Unkept. Bad Layout.

1    7/5/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: twispar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its close I guess. There is a map of the course too.
Cons: Very unkept. The grass was over a foot in many places (almost lost a disk in the fairway because of overgrowth). There are holes that I had to search for to find, and honestly, I don't even know how you are supposed to throw to them! Hole number four is surrounded by trees to the point where there is a single gap that you could maybe throw through. Bad course layout too. There are multiple tees that are shared between holes. Throws over pathways, baskets near tees, etc. Not a good experience and I do not recommend playing on it until it is fixed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Home Course

5+    6/2/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: lineenil
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I constantly find myself throwing new shots there. Being my home course, it is great for practicing as you have to use every asset of your game.

Usually pretty well maintained- there was actually just a new, large flower garden planted in front of the the tee boxes on holes 8/17.

Highlight holes- The first hole opens with a tight tunnel of trees opening up into a large field. Not long but can be difficult to birdie because of the tunnel. 3 is a longer hole requiring a good second shot. There are many different looks you can have at the basket, and you have to avoid the creek in the back. 4 is an extremely hard look into the basket, with trees on the right cut out for an easy look in. You have to decide to run the basket or lay up every time. 5 is a fantastic dogleg hole with a tight option over a creek to cut through. 6 goes deep into a forest of trees- I constantly find new lines to throw on this hole. Can be awesome and frustrating at the same time haha. 14, overlaid on 5 is another fun dogleg left. Overall a great mix of shots and keeps the play very interesting.
Cons: However, you do have to be realistic. The flow of the course is pretty awful. As many have mentioned, it's better to play both the front and back nine at the same time as they are overlaid on one another. This makes each hole share a fairway essentially. It's bad for traffic and is pretty confusing. Usually a good idea to go out with someone who knows the course for the first (few) time(s) lol.

Can be muddy after rain but tends to dry pretty quick.

Teeboxes are pretty brutal, but you can make them work
Other Thoughts: For being a 5 minute drive from my house, I'm not complaining. Certainly worth checking out, but not a destination by any means.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.