Golden, CO 
Wondervu DGC Share
Uploaded By: KMBreith Hole #7 (Taken 6/2019)
4 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Somewhat up to the hype

1    8/16/2020   9/15/2020
Review By: barfwaldo_emerson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some great hole variation, in length, shape, elevation etc. Most of the holes feel unique from each other keeping you on your toes when you come up to each tee.

The shop and staff were great and clearly love the course. Nice selection of discs to get you to spend a little extra.

Great tees and baskets with a couple of interesting hanging baskets to get those who rely on the bottom pole to stop your disc rather than attempting a long putt.

The scenery is pretty great when it opens up. Admittedly, we played it during some of the peak smoke from the grand junction fires but you could still make out longs peak if you squinted.

The unlimited plays option is great though I didn't really understand how it worked with the tee time "system" they have.
Cons: Branch cuttings, limbs, rocks, etc. fill up almost every fairway. I get that this is a mountain course but if you're not looking down while walking here, ankle twisting or worse is kind of an issue.

Some of the fairways are bordered by steep hills that dump directly onto the roadways surrounding the property. Specifically thinking of holes 7 and 11 (I think), where if your disc gets rolling, it'd be a bit of a pain to retrieve.

The back 9 are a lot rougher than the first with a lot of back tracking, dense trees and holes that play straight up some of the steepest hills on the property. Also, we just had more difficulty in general following this part of the course. I'd heard that the back 9 were kind of an ongoing project from some other players and it definitely showed.
Other Thoughts: There seemed to be a pretty steep drop off in hole quality between the first and second halves of this course. Honestly though, the first 9 felt like the start of a solid 4 star course. The flow was great, the holes were interesting and they also felt like they'd undergone a lot of branch and brush clearing. The second half felt a little more half hazard and wonky with steep holes going straight through uncleared woody sections. It's not that it was all that bad, it just felt really inconsistent especially with the high ratings this course gets.

As others have noted, this course seems to always be changing with the owners making improvements kind of at their own pace. With some of the great holes this course does have, I'm definitely planning on coming back to see what they end up doing with the others.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lot's of ups and downs

1    8/5/2020   8/5/2020
Review By: blake833
Played: 136  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wondervu DGC has a great local disc store with custom stamps and unique plastics from a variety of makers. I didn't get anything but I loved looking through the selection! And while there are other pros to this course, this may be my favorite.

A lose second though was the elevation. I like a course with some good ups and downs, and more downs than ups. There are some great downhill shots and uphill shots, and really only one very steep uphill (which is 1/3 the length of the steep downhill, but feels just as long or longer).

The hole design is overall very good (does that count as a pun?), and there's not really a hole I would say is bad on the course. There were only a few where I really got on the tee and was excited about it, excited for the challenge of it, and had to look at my discs and say, "which one of you is right for this hole, and which one of you will I throw anyway?"

The tee's were the best feature of this course, right up there with course design. They weren't all level, but the full-sized astroturf is pretty grippy and elevated into the fairway.
Cons: I was kind of underwhelmed here. I didn't look too closely at the reviews, and that all of the 5 disc reviews were from, well probably less substantial than the disc ratings from the Trusted Reviewers.

To be more specific, I was frustrated by how many baskets were blind from the tee, especially being so short, ESPECIALLY BEING NO MAP. There's no course map available (that I could find, which maybe is a lack of my ability to find), and no hole maps on the tee's. This course desperately thirsts for direction on the holes, and some help navigating from 11 to 12 (also there was a lot of work being done, it's possible the directional arrows were on trees that got chopped down during my visit, as navigation was very labeled on every other hole). From 11 to 12 is a long uphill walk that does not seem intuitive, especially with other baskets being very visible.

The terrain is pretty rough, as there are woodchips EVERYWHERE. It's not too bad, but does take away from the natural beauty of the terrain.

There were a lot of superfluous trees on some approaches to the basket. A lot of luck will come into play on whether you're parked or dinked off a tree and possibly down the slope another 30-50'.

Another one of my biggest frustrations was the incongruency between distances on the tee sign, and the distances listed on the course site. It was usually an enormous discrepancy. If I had realized this was going to be a huge problem, I would have noted all the distances on the tees and adjusted them, but even those distances felt pretty off sometimes.

The finishing hole is pretty average, but the layout here makes it almost not worth it to play. After 17, you walk around the headquarters complex back to where you start, throw away from the pro store, then walk all the way back after you throw. I just left my bag on the tee pad and took my putter.
Other Thoughts: I still give this course a 3.5 out of the good use of elevation, tee's, and layout. Hole 12 will always stand out to me because even though it was a little overgrown, the view from the tee was just gorgeous. Wondervu may not have been my ideal disc golf course, but it was a great place to be.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

superb staff. great course. creative lines. HUGE tee pads for exteme mountain terrain.

1    7/4/2020   7/15/2020
Review By: Satchizmo
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Huge level tee pads for an extreme high altitude dusc golf experience. Great vibe, pro-shop, and hang out shelter at 'base' lodge. Good mix of up and down terrain, with mixed terrain.
Cons: Great course for those thar are left handed or have a great forehand shot. If not, massive heizers might be required to post a good score.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work! Still a little bit of ground clearing work needs to be done, but the lines are awesome!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

awesome mountain course

1    7/3/2020   7/3/2020
Review By: dkarlan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: definitely fits the "hike with a game attached to it" category. gorgeous scenery, creative holes. some narrow fairways, with elevation change, make for tricky shots. but recovery from bad shots is rarely treacherous. and landscape is desert-mountain, so rarely hard to find an errant disc. and nice little disc golf shop too, with friendly folks all around.
Cons: a beginner would need to be chill, otherwise would get frustrated with constant tree whacking. the stumps in the fairway noted by others is right. don't plan a throw for a nice skip at the end.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great in Theory

1    6/7/2020   6/7/2020
Review By: shai
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 21.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location and scenery are in the Rockies with views of the Continental Divide. It is a stunning location - 10/10. The ideas of each hole design are sound -- good use of elevation, nice challenging short holes. The designers did not just add distance to make a hole interesting. The benches and course "art" are a nice touch. You will need to rest as the course is at 9000 feet, and the walk between holes is up and down. The tee pads are wooden platforms covered in astroturf and all built from scratch. This gives each hole a really flat and consistent approach on the tee. Lots of work to make this happen. Kudos. FInally, the owners are really friendly and stock a nice pro-shop.
Cons: There is no map at all, and the signs about distances are sometimes off by 30-50 feet. You cannot always see the basket from the tee -- and with no flags to spot, this makes the lack of a map a deal-breaker. Most important, as much work and love as these guys have out into the course, and it is worth the $5 to play, the design and implementation of most of the holes is a work in progress at best. There needs to be consistent fairway options, and when you are off, it should not necessarily cost a stroke to get back in. At least half the holes need some pruning, thinning and managing before I would say this is ready for prime time. The course can be windy and crowded despite its remote location and pay-to-play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

5+    5/27/2020   5/28/2020
Review By: Bogie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging--lots of narrow fairways, trees and rocks
Disc Shop is usually well stocked
Knowledgable, friendly staff
Nice tee pads
Dog friendly
Cons: Brutally punishing for straying off some fairways
Lots of rocks and stumps can spoil a good fairway skip
Numerous trees in fairways of some holes
The uphill hike from #11 basket to #12 tee pad--killer
Other Thoughts: This course isn't for beginners or the out-of-shape
Be prepared to hike
Improvements--clearing and expansion--are ongoing daily

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 amazing course

5+    11/1/2019   5/17/2020
Review By: CFH454
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Large wooden deck tee boxes with new Astro turf, new baskets, nice disc selection in pro shop, all around amazing property
Cons: Snow in the winter means you can’t play it as much as we’d like to.
Other Thoughts: Dan and the folks who help out have made this an amazing destination course. Worth the $$ for sure.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent mountain course with constant improvements!

2-4    5/16/2020   5/16/2020
Review By: Btbammer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are so many pros to this course! I've only played twice so far but here are some of the highlights... -Gorgeous scenery -Private course so its never packed -Lots of really technical shots with great variety -Well defined paths to the next holes with plenty of arrows -Nice pro shop with awesome Wondervu printed discs and shirts and things
Cons: I guess the only con would be the parking situation. You have to go up a dirt driveway to park and really low vehicles might scrape in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: Just in the few times Ive gotten to throw there so far, I've already seen improvements. They are doing pretty aggressive work to clear trees and define fairways more. Plus, as a HUGE bonus there are an additional 9 holes currently being cleared out!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Burgeoning Potential

1    9/2/2018   9/3/2018
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 23.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots to love about this course! Very technical, which is a rarity for Colorado disc golf. Lots of love has gone into this course, which is apparent from the time you set foot on the property. Located high in the foothills on personal property. It has a kitchy feel: there's nicknacks spread throughout the property, some for decoration, some for seating, some just randomly strewn about for no reason at all. Some wood piles were made to be tunnel entrances to certain holes. Lots of signage and basket flags, making navigation a breeze (mostly). Each hole has it's own feel, and none had the feel of a filler hole. Finally, a small pro shop with goodies for everyone, staffed by some very laid back golfers. I felt very welcome! $5 to play is extremely fair.
Cons: As currently constituted, this is a very difficult course, even if you're a seasoned vet. Beginners be warned. Some holes just have no line to the basket, save for an absolutely perfect (lucky) shot. I had one or two tee shots the entire day that went mostly, but not exactly, as planned. Natural tee pads were rough. Concrete pads would be overkill imo - I'd go with astroturf covered wood boxes personally. As a RHFH player playing alongside a LHBH player, we both were using a LOT of turnover shots all day, leading me to conclude this course is biased towards RHBH players. I didn't need a disc faster than a fairway driver. Currently, this is a cash only course, which was a mild bummer but something all players should be aware of coming in.
Other Thoughts: I really was torn between rating this a 3.5 or a 4. I went with the 4 based on the awesome, generous staff, and the potential that this course will ultimately reach. It's easily worth the $5 to play. Looking forward to this course reaching full maturity!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/14/2018   7/16/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 160  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 layout is really good. Couches and benches at every tee box trust me you will use and appreciate these. First time I've seen chairs and couches at boxes and loved them!! Nice baskets including a few hanging baskets throughout the course. Very cool mountain shots, with incredible views. Pretty good navigation with arrows pointing you in the right direction. This course will challenge all players and having you throw different shots. A very cool tunnel par 4 if you get off the fairway goodluck saving your par
Cons: Natural tee pads aren't in the best shape. This is really a tale of 2 courses. The front 9 is a 4.5 Star however the back 9 has a ways to go. A lot still needs to be cut out as many of these holes have a throw and hope type feeling. No really lines and hole 15 par 5 is just ridiculous. Couple pin placements are questionable on backside
Other Thoughts: Potential potential potential that's the keyword with this course. I could see this easily becoming a top level and destination course with tee pads and more defined fairways. Overtime I think this course will be great but with how it sits now still a little to rough. Once the backside gets work done my review goes up without question but how it sits now 3 stars is fitting

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.