Golden, CO 
Wondervu DGC Share
Uploaded By: KMBreith Hole #8 (Taken 6/2019)
3 / 178ft. Par / Distance:
Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Burgeoning Potential

1    9/2/2018   9/3/2018
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 75  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots to love about this course! Very technical, which is a rarity for Colorado disc golf. Lots of love has gone into this course, which is apparent from the time you set foot on the property. Located high in the foothills on personal property. It has a kitchy feel: there's nicknacks spread throughout the property, some for decoration, some for seating, some just randomly strewn about for no reason at all. Some wood piles were made to be tunnel entrances to certain holes. Lots of signage and basket flags, making navigation a breeze (mostly). Each hole has it's own feel, and none had the feel of a filler hole. Finally, a small pro shop with goodies for everyone, staffed by some very laid back golfers. I felt very welcome! $5 to play is extremely fair.
Cons: As currently constituted, this is a very difficult course, even if you're a seasoned vet. Beginners be warned. Some holes just have no line to the basket, save for an absolutely perfect (lucky) shot. I had one or two tee shots the entire day that went mostly, but not exactly, as planned. Natural tee pads were rough. Concrete pads would be overkill imo - I'd go with astroturf covered wood boxes personally. As a RHFH player playing alongside a LHBH player, we both were using a LOT of turnover shots all day, leading me to conclude this course is biased towards RHBH players. I didn't need a disc faster than a fairway driver. Currently, this is a cash only course, which was a mild bummer but something all players should be aware of coming in.
Other Thoughts: I really was torn between rating this a 3.5 or a 4. I went with the 4 based on the awesome, generous staff, and the potential that this course will ultimately reach. It's easily worth the $5 to play. Looking forward to this course reaching full maturity!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    7/14/2018   7/16/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 77  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 layout is really good. Couches and benches at every tee box trust me you will use and appreciate these. First time I've seen chairs and couches at boxes and loved them!! Nice baskets including a few hanging baskets throughout the course. Very cool mountain shots, with incredible views. Pretty good navigation with arrows pointing you in the right direction. This course will challenge all players and having you throw different shots. A very cool tunnel par 4 if you get off the fairway goodluck saving your par
Cons: Natural tee pads aren't in the best shape. This is really a tale of 2 courses. The front 9 is a 4.5 Star however the back 9 has a ways to go. A lot still needs to be cut out as many of these holes have a throw and hope type feeling. No really lines and hole 15 par 5 is just ridiculous. Couple pin placements are questionable on backside
Other Thoughts: Potential potential potential that's the keyword with this course. I could see this easily becoming a top level and destination course with tee pads and more defined fairways. Overtime I think this course will be great but with how it sits now still a little to rough. Once the backside gets work done my review goes up without question but how it sits now 3 stars is fitting

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

This course is on it's way to greatness

1    5/26/2018   5/26/2018
Review By: DeebsTundra
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --It's a Colorado Mountain Course, it's absolutely beautiful up in the woods.
--It's a challenging course, and sometimes it takes a few minutes to find a line which means every hole will be a different experience.
--The layout is fantastic. Even though most of the holes are only 2-300 feet, they play much more challenging than that, because of unusual lies or the fact that you straight up cannot see the pin from the tee.
--It plays in a great loop, that puts you right back to your car after 18.
--Super cool people running the place, that will play with you as a guide sometimes.
Cons: --Natural Teepads on every hole
--Paths are sometimes hard to find
--Signage is there, but not totally obvious on every hole.
--Some of the course is still full of cut down which can make a shank difficult to get to
--Sometimes there is no good way to get to the basket, even if you are smack in the middle of the fairway.
For additional explanation on this see below:
Other Thoughts: Honestly, here's the deal with WonderVu. All of the cons listed above are a work in progress. They are working on getting everything adjusted, built up better and turn it really into a destination of Colorado Disc Golf. This course is going to be amazing. It's already amazing, but some people really hate that natural feel and really demand concrete tee pads, but this course is absolutely worth a play, or 2 or 40. It's $3 to play, which honestly is too low. All of the profit goes directly back into the course. Hop on the Facebook page, call for a tee-time and wander up to WonderVu. Like my title says, this course is on it's way to greatness, and if you want it there faster, go play it and throw them some cash. In no time at all this place will be incredible.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/2/2017   10/5/2017
Review By: Dillonpyle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great wooded course with fairly open fairways
Well mapped tees
Clear paths between each hole
Bench and trash can at each tee
Not much risk to lose discs
Cons: Didn't see any
Other Thoughts: The course was well cleared, you could tell that a lot of work had went into making the fairways and paths between each hole. By far the best course I've played on in all of Colorado and Oklahoma. Amazing atmosphere and for a wooded mountain course it was not too much of a hike. Would highly recommend any players to check it out.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Wondervu

2-4    7/21/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 88  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 7.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Baskets in decent shape, even the Discatcher Sports on 10 & 11

+ Signage is great for a new, wooded course. Tees have hole number & distance, plus there are plenty of arrows to point you in the right direction between holes

+ Plays a loop currently, no real threat of crossing fairways

+ Rough isn't too bad for a course carved out of virgin woods

+ Benches/couches at most if not all tees, trash and recycling also present

+ Great use of elevation, foliage and trees; decent mix of distances and a variety in shots needed - excellent challenge, you definitely need some accuracy and precision here
Cons: **A lot of these are temporary - the course is still in its infancy and work days on the course continue**

- Still a lot of stumps/wood on the ground, and a fair few slash piles (these will eventually be gone, but sometimes they're handy in stopping a disc from rolling downhill)

- lack of really open holes, or open, long bombers (it's by nature a woody course though)

- If somehow you're not playing with a guide I can see how navigation might get a little tricky, and there's no map available for the time being

- natural tees - not really an issue, I'm reaching on this one
Other Thoughts: Wondervu is a relatively young course still going through growing pains - currently there are 11 holes w/ plans to add more. I enjoyed it immensely, it's got the great challenge of a wooded course which is something the immediate area is sorely lacking. While woody, it's not the kind of course that you run the risk of hitting a tree 5 feet from the tee, as long as you hit your line your real threats are the trees that have been kept for a reason - there's obviously been a lot of thought put into it. If you've gotten used to short, flat courses like Johnny Roberts or the back 11 of Valmont, or mostly open courses like Fehringer, it's refreshing to have to negotiate these fairways, I admit I was really rusty my first time out.

It is a private course though, on private property, so make sure to send a message to them on facebook to arrange a day/time to play. People going unannounced will be greeted by a closed gate at the road so don't waste your time.

All in all I really enjoyed myself (despite my personally abysmal playing) and can't wait to go back. There's a donation box at tee 1 which gets directly reinvested into the course. It's still a work-in-progress but judging from what's here already, I can't wait to see what's added.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.