Weatherford, TX 
Weatherford DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great place to start

2-4    9/6/2020   9/7/2020
Review By: txmxer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for the beginner DG player.

No lost discs. I suppose it could happen in a few spots, but it would be really rare. Mostly large canopy trees over short grass or dirt. One small creek that is mostly dry.

The course dries out very well post rain.

The design rewards measured play more so than aggressive high risk high reward play--that's from a beginner/novice standpoint.

High level players would attack and shred the course, but I think they would have fun with it because the low ceilings do represent a challenge.

Great place to practice new techniques/throw types.

I was able to use UDISC on my phone, so cell service is at least decent in the area.

No crowd. I haven't seen this course crowded in my visits.

No "homeless dude under the bridge". Don't see beer cans/trash littering the course.
Cons: Very exposed to windy conditions. Could be a plus if you are working on that skill set, but also frustrating. And like any course in Texas--it can get really hot. The tree canopy is a plus, but there is still plenty of sun exposure. Wear head covering or sunscreen.

Following the course can be challenging. My first two visits I was really struggling, but using UDISC made it MUCH easier. Still, it can be challenging to identify the location of the basket for a given hole. Better markers on the baskets would be a plus.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a really great place for one to hone DG skill sets. Whatever shot types you want to work on, you can do it on this course, but it's challenging enough that once you've got the shot dialed here, you can then use it on other courses.

The course is supported by the local WDGC (Weatherford Disc Golf Club). They said they are on Facebook, but the page I found was from 2015.

Bring your own water. I don't want to put this on the cons as most DG parks do not have facilities. I didn't see anywhere on the course that you could get water although there is a pavilion--it might have some type of hose bib. There is one port-o-john near #1, but I would avoid it unless it were an dire emergency.

Go throw this course...Load up UDISC...have fun.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

They Got it Right

1    9/2/2019   9/3/2019
Review By: Can't get right
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course! Worth the visit. Nice variety of shots. Some real challenges, & some good ace opportunities, but not so tough that beginners couldn't enjoy it. Good pads & good tee signs. Well kept park from what I could tell. Loved the multi-pin placement. First time I've seen 2 baskets at every hole. I like that!
Cons: If anything, could use a good course map in the park & maybe some arrows to next hole location.
Other Thoughts: All & all this was a good course. I was able to jump in with some good folks that play this course often & had a ball. Definitely will come back again. Worth the drive. The only change I'd make would be adding directionals to next tees. Other than that, I'd like to play a tournament outhere some time. Would be a blast!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Weatherford DGC

5+    7/11/2019   5/25/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2019
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -- Multiple tee pads AND multiple baskets. Three tee pads (two concrete) and two baskets per hole (with three pin positions) gives you options galore. Concrete and plenty big, and baskets catch well.
-- Fun design that brings trees into play of most holes but isn't so choked with trees as to feel like luck is a big factor. Tree also provide shade for large parts of the course, a welcome thing most of the year in Texas.
-- Elevation change, while not awesome, is present. The downhill throw on No. 16 is fun.
-- The elevated basket on No. 8.
-- Water is a factor on nearly half of the holes. However, it is a small creek/ditch, so retrieving your disc is fairly easy.
-- Port-o-potty near main parking lot.
-- Practice basket.
-- Auxiliary parking lot in middle of course (between 14 basket and 15 tee) that allows you to start with either hole 6 or hole 15 and come right past your car after 9 holes.
Cons: -- Tee signs are fairly basic, and they are now old and out of date.
-- Creek crossings are something of an issue.
-- Ants are everywhere.
-- Course is remote. The nearest place to buy any water or refreshments is a few miles away.
-- No benches at the tees, but there are tree stumps cuts into chairs at some holes. Also, there are pavilions with picnic tables near the road on Nos. 15-16 and a few old-style cement picnic tables and benches in other spots.
Other Thoughts: -- I was told a year ago that the second set of baskets per hole were temporary and intended for another course. A sign near the practice basket now says that, but there is no mention of a timeframe.
-- New tee pads for Nos. 8 and 10 are in place (and mentioned on the message board at the practice basket), but the signs are at the old pads.
-- The short tee pads are SHORT. In several instances, that makes holes shorter than 100 feet when playing the short basket position.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course but Sparsely Wooded

2-4    5/6/2018   10/7/2018
Review By: LeftyPower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 32.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee Pads
Fairly easy to Navigate
Good design on some of the holes
Some well protected baskets
Makes good use of land available
Cons: Fairly flat and plain
Sparsely wooded in most spots
Several of the holes too easy for intermediate/advanced players
No signature or rememberable holes
Holes all close together/not spread out
Other Thoughts: Living in DFW, it was worth a trip out to play this course even more than once but not really a draw unless you live in the area or on the FW side of town. Developed by a couple of guys who helped build some of the DFW disc golf scene so it's got some good holes, but some were just typical flat open park holes with not much to talk about.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    2/22/2018   3/31/2018
Review By: 34blast
Played: 42  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 23.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice use of trees
multiple baskets per hole
Nice variety
Not crowded, only 3 of us on whole course
Cons: Signs and navigation are horrible.
You better take a photo of the map in the marking lot before starting unless you know the course
Other Thoughts: I felt it was worth the 45 minute drive. I would do it again. It's nice course and fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Birthday Roadtrip

1    3/25/2017   3/27/2017
Review By: MadGame32
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2021
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees on every hole.
-Multiple pin locations that are pretty easy to know the difference between.
-Safe environment for the family.
-Tee markers provide a good description.
-The tower pin placement on hole 8 was interesting.
-There was a creek, but the water was almost all dried up. I imagine it would only be a problem after a huge storm.
Cons: -TREES! Being a relative newcomer to the sport, the trees gave me fits all day. I understand this is desirable for "technical and experienced" disc golfers, but the trees made my experience miserable. Strategic placement of flight lanes through trees is one thing, but most of these were "Throw and hope it gets through."
-While being interesting, the tower pin placement on hole 8 was harder than it needed to be in my opinion. Maybe I am just new and things like this are the norm.
Other Thoughts: I traveled here as a gift to myself for my birthday to try a course other than my home course. I had high hopes based on previous reviews, but this was not worth the trip in my opinion.

If you are hard core, experienced, and a good technical disc golfer, I say go for it. If you are a beginner, I would look for other options.

3/29/21 Update:

Out of the 68 courses I have reviewed, this is where this course ranks along with similarly rated courses:
Rank-Course, Location
30-The Firecracker, Fountain Inn, SC
31-Granbury City DGC, Granbury, TX
32-Owens Field Park, Columbia, SC
33-Hampton Park Baptist Church DGC, Greenville, SC
34-Pecan Grove West, Sherman TX
35-Weatherford DGC, Weatherford, TX
36-Timmons Park, Greenville, SC
37-Crooked Creek Park, Chapin, SC
38-USC Upstate, Spartanburg, SC
39-Trails DGC, Anderson, SC

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive from DFW

5+    5/25/2016   5/29/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 997  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs on every hole
multiple tee cement tee boxes
multiple pin positions
VERY good use of the land given
Cons: pay attention to the map, some of the holes can be confusing if your not paying attention.
Other Thoughts: 1st time I had played this course in years. I had played it many times as a 9 hole and with 9 temp holes added. This was the first time in many years sense the course was expanded to 18 and with all the alts.

Very large tree's for most of this course, while not a lot of them, they do come into play on most of the holes. There is a small creek running though the course, it had water in it the day we were playing, but I can see it drying up for the summer.

There is some slight elevation changes on a few of the holes. There is also a few wide open rip it holes.

In all, a very good mix of long and short, tight and wide open.

Best thing, stop at The Shed @ Daves Stove Shop at the corner by the highway for lunch, well worth the trip on it's own. (not open on Sun/Mon)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Weatherford is Impressive!

1    6/28/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is pretty awesome. Great use of land and lots of challenge shots with all the trees around. Plenty of shade, great landscaping and teeboxes.
Cons: Needs to be mowed right now. Grass was pretty high in some places. Don't expect your discs to skip for extra distance, the grass is too thick.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to come out and play here again. Too bad I live about an hour away. If there's a PDGA tournament here, I'm definitely signing up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, fun for beginners

2-4    4/26/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 9/4/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: **UPDATE** Finally got back out to this course last night after work. It is in great shape right now. I think they may have recently added a new 3rd pin position on every hole, and that's where the pins are right now. They are all pretty long, so it made the course more difficult for a beginner like me. While we were there people were out spraying for ants, and trimming dead off the trees, always good to see!

I truly enjoyed this course. It was my first time ever playing, and even though I have been to others since, this is still my favorite by far. I feel like it has a great mix of hole types. I went with two experienced players and another rookie, and we all had a really good time.
Cons: Grass was a little tall in some places in the fairway, a couple tee pads need to have some dirt added around them so water doesn't collect right in front of them. Makes for a pretty scary tee shot!
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip out west if you live in the DFW area!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Open but not too easy

5+    5/17/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 100  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners and experienced players. It has great sweeping lines that let you rip a long drive on most holes. There are excellent long and short cement tee pads for every hole as well as two or three pin placements for each hole. It plays well even after a good rain because of the grass and good drainage. If you play the long box to the long pins then it is a very challenging course and if you play the short box to the short pins it is very beginner friendly course.
Cons: I have difficulty with low ceiling shots so this is not in my favorites. There are some nice open shots that let you get a good bomb shot, but most of them have a low ceiling and that will be frustrating for most players. I personally would like more elevation changes and more variety in the holes/shots.
Other Thoughts: The park is well taken care of. There are plenty of trash cans and there is rarely trash on the course when I play. My favorite holes are 7 and 8.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.