Tucson, AZ 
Santa Cruz River Park Share
Uploaded By: jace   (Taken 4/2008)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Little bit of confusion, little bit of good course design, little bit of garbage, this place has it all!

1    2/17/2019   2/27/2019
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 82  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-3 sets of tees for every hole, A and B pads are concrete, I think C's are too, but I don't know for sure because I didn't play them. This is rather confusing though, as it appears many tees are the same, for example, I believe 3A and 7B are the same pad, which was a little confusing for a first time player at this course.
-Tee signs are nice, ho,es are short enough that they aren't super necessary, but they are highly useful nonetheless
-Fairways are clear of garbage for the most part (its the rough that has garbage) which I suppose is good if there has to be garbage on the course. The Fairways are sandy dirt, i bet the get super dusty in the summer which could either be super annoying or no big deal depending on who you are.
-Trees are notably sparse at this course, but for the ones that are there, they are used well, usually as a tee shot hazard or a green protector. I kinda assumed the railroad ties and various objects sticking out of the ground were "artificial trees" but I just haven't seen something like that before, so i couldn't say for sure.
-On a couple of the B tees, there are steel frames that are triple Mandos, these often are implied, but the steel itself is a pretty tough gap, which in my opinion is a Great element and demonstrates course design savvy
-This course is both technical and open. If you have 300' max power, it is super technical, but if you're like me and can break 400', it can be fun to bomb hyzer over the short trees.
Cons:
-Bakset visibility is a major area of confusion, Chainstars don't really stand out, even with the little pink flags, which I think are a little weak. It would be nice to see some numbers on the baskets. Also, some holes have logs upright in the fairway with a number painted on them, that was pretty strange, so I didn't know if there was a basket or not in hole one after staring down a railroad tie with "1" panted on, not sure what the deal with that is...
-Not a fan of Chainstars, but they get the job done OK, not great, just OK
-Rough Condition: Ick. These roughs are horrible, especially the holes that play along the little steel cable fence towards the river, I mean, I don't think the bushes could be more filled with trash.
-This. Course. Is. Flat. Wow, I mean you almost can't blame the designer for not using elevation, because there isn't even so much as a mole hill (ok, not actually, but you get it) this is something that makes the holes very easy, especially at their distance. Most holes barely merit a fairway driver tee shot, and the combo of not a lot of trees, and no elevation, makes them super simple
-As alluded to earlier, the tee layout creates navigation confusion, it is nice to have three sets of tees, but, there is just not quite enough space on this property. The shared tees and no basket numbers make it rather confusing to play.
-Unfortunately, this isn't a very beautiful course, in fact it is rather bland, it is fun, but not to look at. Also, there are homeless shelters in the picinic area, which sketched me out a bit.
Other Thoughts: Overall, not a bad course, seems like it gets a TON of play, if you have time in Tucson swing by, I would prioritize Quail Canyon over this one, but if you're choosing between Santa Cruz and Rilito, just go with proximity.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Old Faithful

5+    12/4/2018   12/16/2018
Review By: jdog17
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Has a nice variety of holes
-Plenty of trees to make some holes challenging
-A, B & C pads
-Decent concrete pads
-Porta potties
-Navigation reasonable & map on site
-Dedicated course with few to zero interlopers
-Disc loss unlikely
Cons: -Bad neighborhood
-Usual desert - lack of shade & broiling in summer
-A couple of holes have difficult navigation but the course is open and fairly short so you won't get lost
-Parking can be a problem on weekends during softball season
Other Thoughts: This is a delightful course and Tucson suffers from a lack of DECENT DG courses. I noticed that Groves Park has the same rating as SC course...SC is way better, way more interesting, and more challenging. SC is a well-designed desert course in what is a moderately sized, fairly treeless (a lot of mesquite) area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation Run

1    3/23/2017   4/1/2017
Review By: Mrskinny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a fun course that makes full use of the area. It had alternate t-pads, and elevated basket and some interesting rails (soccer goal posts) to shoot through. I had to luck of running into two locals, Mike and Steve, that gave me the low down of the course and let me join them for a round.
Cons: It's a little dusty but wasn't bad for March. I wish the holes, alternate tees were a little better marked but they do have a map at least. It some bums occasionally hanging out but they keep to themselves.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to playing it again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest Course in Arizona and Still Very Good! beep - beep!

1    3/12/2016   4/29/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 158  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two concrete tee pads per hole, good tee signs and multiple basket positions available.
Baskets are in good shape.
Easy to get to in Tucson, even thought the neighborhood is not the best.
Well laid out course, using the entire park (except for a ball field), not much else going on here but DG.
Adjacent to the Santa Cruz River bike trail, would be easy to ride here.
Most of the wildlife, more on that later.
Cons: Dusty, dusty, dusty. Well you are in the desert here, I wasn't really expecting grass!
Portapottys available, but I didn't notice any water.
Looks like the DGers hang out in one picnic shelter and the homeless in another shelter.
Other Thoughts: According to DGCR, this is the oldest course in Arizona!! 38 years old this year! It feels like it has been upgraded since then, newer, longer tee positions, updated baskets, and plenty of challenges.
They used the trees available to make shot shaping a necessity. Including the "tunnel" shot on #8 under some low hanging branches and finishing to the right.
#18 was an interesting tee shot, slightly elevated tee, so instead of trying to make the opening, I wanted to go over the trees, but the shot stalls out too soon.
They also built up an elevated basket, with stairs.
Then the wildlife, as dusty as this course is, I saw plenty of prairie (desert) dogs popping in and out of their holes, a roadrunner kicking up dust in front of us (had to do the tourist thing and video that guy) and the homeless hanging out in the shelter, that didn't seem to go away!
Overall, this was a very good DG experience, enjoyed the two locals I played with and would play this one often, probably even cycle here a few times.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good desert course could use more distance and elevation

5+    9/5/2019   9/5/2015
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2019
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Interesting variety of holes, distances and basket locations. Well layed out.. good use of space.
Cons: Dusty and no elevation changes. A bit short and not enough trees. It's a bit too easy for an intermediate player. I average 4 under par
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course. It's not difficult but is fun and the ppl here are friendly.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/28/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: sssrn
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A big pet peeve of mine is finding tees. This course is well played out with easy to find tees and is a good use of what space they had available. There's enough artificial light from a nearby school and businesses that it's possible to play at night. This is important when it's 105 degrees during the day 4 months out of the year.
Cons: Flat and dusty. The entire course is simple tree dodging.
Other Thoughts: This is the oldest course in Tucson and as long as Marana Rock is under water the best course in Tucson. That also tells you how poor the other Tucson courses are. Definite finesse course so since I'm a bit of a slinger on my drives it doesn't play to my strength but if you're accuracy is good this is a must play for you. As of 3-30-2015 the city of Tucson started replacing the old hexagonal tees with new larger rectagonal tees and adding new tees so each hole will have a red and blue tee for greater variety. It's nice to see a city put a little effort into a course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Santa Cruz - Dust Town

5+    6/15/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Chromezero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Santa Cruz is well maintained, has a nice variety of shots, and the regulars here are super friendly and generally very mellow. I really like the tee-pad placards and the way the course is laid out.
Cons: This course has zero grass; it's just dirt/dust. Some of the tee-pads are a little too small. A few of the fairways criss-cross a bit, which can cause some issues. Did I mention the dust?
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really like this course. It's a ton of fun to play and gives me a chance to try some lesser-used shots without fear of losing a disc. If you only get to play one course in Tucson, it should be Santa Cruz...unless you're willing to make a short road trip to Marana Rock, which is technically in Marana.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Overload

2-4    5/21/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 618  Reviewed: 386  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations per hole. Weathered-but-decent tees and signs.

Minimal chance to lose a disc - unless you throw dust-coloured discs. :-)

Cons:
Crossing fairways, narrow parallel fairways, some tees quite near prior basket - too much in too little space?
Other Thoughts:
Course is set in a very long but narrow strip of flat, dry-n-dusty land, squeezed between the Santa Cruz "River" and a very tall fenceline guarding a row of interesting abodes, some with chickens. Also saw my first Roadrunner (the bird, not the disc, nor the cartoon) while playing here.

Scattered, relatively short trees that you'll either throw around or over do force some shot-shaping, but rarely are there any tight windows or extreme shapes.

Plenty of birdy opportunities from the short tees (average under 270', nothing over 350'), while the longs average ~330'.

Online map makes the course relatively simple for a visitor to navigate, although I did throw to basket-15 from tee-2 / to basket-14 from tee-4 my first time around.

Having just arrived the day before from the East coast, I thought I'd have the course to myself when I arrived on a Wednesday morning pre-0600, but there was already a foursome halfway through their round, and when I left a bit past 0730, there were an additional dozen+ players there. Anything to avoid the heat, I suppose - dedicated locals!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Santa Cruz - Can't Lose!

5+    5/16/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The location: Tucson is pretty scarce on city parks, especially near the University of Arizona and downtown. Santa Cruz is about 10 minutes west of campus, and is easily accessible from the I-10.

The creativity: Santa Cruz doesn't have any elevation changes or many large obstacles to avoid (except for the tunnel of trees on #8). Nevertheless, the course requires a lot of creativity and shot selection for getting a low score.

The network: The Tucson Disc Golf Club does a great job taking care of the course, and there are plenty of weekly meet-ups available if you're interested in playing with others.
Cons: The tee pads: Most of the tee-pads are hexagons and don't really allow for much of a run-up before throwing the disc.This is more frustrating than you might think. The B-tees are nearly all rectangular tee-pads, let's update the others!

Hobo Jungle: If you throw east of the bike path anywhere on the front nine of Santa Cruz, you'll more than likely be entering a place that my circle of friends likes to affectionately call Hobo Jungle. This is an exaggeration, as the "jungle" is actually just a wash. "Hobo Jungle" is really just a term of endearment for the course. But seriously, try your best to avoid throwing over here. To get your disc back, you'll have to descend / ascend a very steep embankment and avoid getting cut by broken glass.
Other Thoughts: Think I'll go play here tomorrow morning!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 In a van down by the river

1    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Adamodisco
Played: 80  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The air is clean and warm. Delicate songs of the desert birds provide a nice contrast to the rooster farm just west. Also the ground squirrels running madly about are a nice touch. I think they were laughing at my putting attempts from their holes.
Cons: This seems like an 18 hole course on a spot big enough for 12-15 holes. Be careful out there before somebody loses a head. The hole to hole signage needs work as there are baskets and tees crossing all over the dusty lot.
Other Thoughts: Make more courses near Tucson! I need something to do when my dear old snowbird relations are taking ther afternoon naps.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.