Decatur, TX 
Jones Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #9 (Taken 1/2020)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Jones Park

1    6/20/2020   9/20/2020
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Course Overall! Finding the actual course was a little difficult since it was my first time playing it but it is tucked away in the back near the soccer fields. Big course map that helps with navigation but that is fairly easy anyways. Nice Concrete teepads and awesome teesigns. Seems to be accurate distance and also points you in the right direction for the next hole. Some OB in play and also a few holes have extra pin locations or Am/Pro teepads. Some good mix of shorter holes as well as one's that let you air it out a little bit. 10,11, 12,14,16,17,18 have some sort of water hazard come into play. Risk/ Reward shots are always enjoyable. Good mix of RHBH and RHFH shots as well.
Cons: The only thing I didn't like was the 4,5, and 6 area. 4 and 5's basket are too close together. Also, don't like the walk from 4's basket to 5's teepad as you throw back to where you just were. Also, 6's teepads are in that general vicinity which could have people throwing onto each other if the course is full. Very well may not be a problem as the day I was there I didn't see any other golfers. Also, be cautious of the other park users using the walking trail that comes into play on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course that is well cared for. Great signage, accurate distances and multiple pins/teepads to name a few of the highlights. One advantage of this course is that it is a multi-use park so it will always be well maintained since the soccer and baseball fields share the park.

I imagine during local leagues the course is unplayable with the fields being occupied so that is one thing to plan for when you want to play the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Jones Park

2-4    4/18/2020   4/18/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Nice course map by No. 1 tee.
-- Practice basket.
-- Excellent tee signs.
-- Nice concrete tee pads.
-- Makes use of limited elevation.
-- Tight woods though the middle of the course that create some real challenges.
-- Creek comes into play along with the woods, and there are three water carries over ponds.
-- Alternate tee pads on some holes, although the one listed on the map for No. 6 does not appear to exist.
-- Port-o-potties near No. 1.
-- Multiple basket positions on No. 18. The B position is devlish, in a good way. From the short tee, the hole plays 290-300 feet and basket sits about 20 feet across the water with the land sloping down to the pond.
Cons: -- The opening five holes are mostly open. The baskets are usually on a hill or near the edge of a hill, adding some pucker factor, but the holes are still fairly easy.
-- The creek has steep sides and thorny vines. Any discs that find the creek (or the ponds) are likely gone.
-- Some fairways are very close to one another in the tight wooded section, and some baskets are too close to the next tees.
-- Baskets 4 and 5 are really close to each other. From the No. 4 tee, is is difficult to know which basket you are throwing to.
-- There are mandos on a few holes. I'm not usually a fan of mandos, but these are clearly about safety and keeping discs away from other park users.
-- From the short tees (15 of 18 holes only have one tee), only four holes are longer than 300 feet. No holes are 400 feet.
Other Thoughts: -- The first time I played here was a few years ago (before tee signs). It was difficult to navigate. The tee signs (and map) make this very enjoyable.
-- 14 and 18 share a pro (long) tee pad.
-- The course really has three distinct 6-hole sections: 1-6 are open; 7 throws into the woods, and you are in the woods on some part (or all) of the next five holes; the final six holes are pretty open again (a few trees to navigate), but there are three water carries, and a pond behind a fourth basket.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This "will be" a great course

1    9/3/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: No signs makes this super hard
Go to parking lot end past golf for 1
1 is blind off to left
Great variety
nice baskets
water holes are awesome
forest holes are intersting
Cons: NO SIGNS
none and this is not the easiest layout.
Put chalk on tee pads or something to help please i dont even need a sign
Other Thoughts: This will be a perfect course once signs are put out

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a little bit of everything

1    9/9/2017   9/11/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -makes use of elevation, tight woods, a creek, two ponds, and open areas around the park
-some fun holes, some very tough holes, and lots of risk/reward around the water
-new dynamic veteran baskets
-concrete tees
-practice basket near tee 1
-plenty of parking
Cons: -no tee signs and no hole numbers, it's tough to navigate for the time being
-i played the holes in what i thought was the most logical order but the distances listed here are way off. maybe the routing is supposed to be different (i hope not) or maybe the distances have changed by the time the pads and sleeves went in the ground
-some of the wooded holes (especially 5-8) have a ton of water danger on pretty tight fairways. hole 6 is particularly treacherous with a very tightly wooded fairway with a creek in the bottom of a ravine all along the left side.
-the rough is dense and thorny along the wooded holes
-the fairways have been cleared and lots of work clearly has been done but there are still lots of vines and stumps on which to trip
-the creek is difficult to access with steep sides, thorny vines and poison ivy, and the water is deep and murky. discs are as good as gone in there
-not sure to what level this course is supposed to cater. there are some very easy, wide open holes and there are also some very tough holes with water danger where losing a disc is very likely for an inexperienced player
-there are a number of fairways very close to one another in the tight wooded section. there are mandos on a few holes marked by pink tape but anything could happen on a errant shot
Other Thoughts: This course has a little bit of everything, for better or for worse. There are some very easy, wide open holes at the start and the finish of the course, there is a stretch of tightly wooded holes with lots of water danger, and there's also an open area playing back and forth across the larger pond and one hole that shoots to a small green behind the smaller pond.

The water carries are pretty fun on holes 12, 14, and 15. Those are mostly open and not too long so the challenge is placing your drive accurately so that you are safe but hopefully close enough for a putt. The green on 14 has water on two sides and the green on 15 is small and slanting toward the pond. I really liked these holes, great design and great risk/reward.

The wooded section from hole 5 to hole 11 has some really tight fairways and lots of danger from the creek running alongside these holes. Holes 6, 8, and 10 especially has lots of water in play and lots of trees to kick you into it. Holes 5-10 all have really dangerous greens with slopes toward the creek very close to the baskets.

Compared to those two sections, the opening 4 holes and the final 2 holes seem really bland in comparison. At least most of those holes make use of the large hillside around the soccer fields and baseball diamonds though, so you do have to execute your shot and control the angle of your disc to stick near the basket.

This course seems to be trying to fill the role of a more challenging course in Decatur and I'd say this track does that for the most part. The course will be a more enjoyable experience once the tee signs are in and the wooded fairways get played in a bit more. For now I would wait until the course is really finished but once the signs are in, this is a course worth driving to check out at least once. Plus there are some other shorter courses nearby here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not that bad

1    8/1/2017   8/1/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sweet Dynamic Veteran baskets
A lot of work has been done clearing for this course
Nice use of the elevation
Noticed multiple pin positions on one of the pond holes.
Cons: several holes throw along or towards a creek that looks pretty deep. I see a lot of lost discs, specially from rec players
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT done just yet. The city has been working hard for the last several months getting it ready for play. There were only 4 baskets not in place yet in the area they are putting in the bridge.

As you come into the parking lot, you will see a blue practice basket. That is the place to park. I was unable to figure out where the tee pad for hole 1 was, I played from the end of the sidewalk by the fence. The basket is on the side of the hill and is a nice little toss.

Then from the top of the hill, you throw down between the sports fields. I notice tape on the light poll, I can only assume it is going to be marked a mando eventually. (I saw this on more than one hole) The basket is at the top of the hill, turn it over and you have a long upshot up the hill to the basket.

Hole 3 tee's off from up by the parking lot down to the basket under the trees. Blind hyzer shot.

Hole 4 is a nice little ace run, basket is on the side of the small hill.

Hole 5 throws down into the tree's with a big drop off behind the basket. The good thing is this dropoff is dry and you have to be way deep to the right to be in the creek.

Hole 6 throws through the trees. There is a tight hyzer or a little more open anhyzer shot to the basket with the creek all the way along the fairway to the left. Note that there is a direction marker on the bottom of this basket, you go out of the woods over near the baseball field.

Hole 7 is a nice flick shot from the open back into the tree's. I noticed tape probably marking a mando.

Hole 8 throws down and over the creek, not a long shot.

Hole 9 is back into the open, not too far from 7's tee box. Throws down into the tree's again. your throwing over the sidewalk and you have the creek way to the left.

Hole 10 throws towards the pond, I seem to remember some tape marking a mando.

Hole 11 throws from next to the pond, back into the open. Fun hole if you hit the line.

Hole 12 tee's off from next to the shed ACROSS the pond. (no basket as of today)

Hole 13 is a little short uphill shot to the corner of the park near the road.(No basket today)

Hole 14 is a longer hole down the hill with the pond behind the basket and the fence/road on the left. Wide open hole, just don't overthrow it or hyzer out into the road. (no basket today)

Hole 15 is a SWEET shot over the lake and almost into the trees. (no basket today)

hole 16 is a signature shot across a small pond, I see 3 different pin placements on this hole. One is on the left side of the pond, one is in a set of trees just past the pond and the 3rd is on the right of the pond. All 3 are good pin positions.

Hole 17 is a simple hole from the consession stand towards the basketball courts.

Hole 18 throws from next to the playground, past a row a disc grabbing trees to the basket on the side of the hill.


Would I play here again.

YES, I enjoyed the holes and would like to play the course once it is finished up. Dynamic discs is running a tournament here and I am tempted to make the drive up to play the course again.

If you make a day trip, the High school course is longer and more open.

Then you have Melba Doyle DGC about 2 miles away.

There are several interesting places to eat in town. Great place to spend the day playing disc golf.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.