Disc Golf Center
Savannah (Pooler), GA 
Tom Triplett DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #10 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 302ft.   3 / 323ft.   4 / 424ft.   4 / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 White/Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
A peach of a course!

1    1/31/2018   2/6/2018
Review By: xGIRTHx
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was passing through to spend a couple of days in Savannah for a mini getaway. If there is a course within 25 miles I'll always stop and play. The park is peaceful and the weather was perfect on my playthrough. We played red tees and I was pleasantly surprised with the variety of shots required. This course has multiple cement tee pads for each hole that actually make each hole dramatically different depending on which pads you play. You could play two rounds from different pads and it would feel like a different course each round. Each hole is well marked with good signage and the pedestrian interference was minimal.
Cons: If you are a person that gets easily frustrated at wooded courses, this might not rate as highly for you as a fair number of holes are tree laden. There aren't too many negatives about this course IMO.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would rate this course a 3.75 but I rounded up instead of down as not to lower the score and make someone skip this course. I hit the short sidearm shot on hole 3 and got myself an ace which is always a bonus especially on a new course. You could say Justice was served. This course is scenic, relaxing and perfect in January when the weather is cool. There isn't much walking in between most holes which could be a pro or con depending on the type of course you fancy. I couldn't help but wonder if anyone has tried to skip off a passing train on hole 15 from the long tee. If you are passing through town or live within an hour of this course, you have no excuse not to stop and enjoy a round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lots of different shots needed

1    7/27/2016   5/19/2017
Review By: Nader77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked this course. It has water and wooded holes. You will be able to get sun as you are playing. They have scorecards and pencils which is rare!
Cons: There is too much I would say in regard to the course. We enjoyed the park settings along the water and in the woods. I do have one thing to say. if you are on the back nine in the wooded area, be cautious of the tall trees falling. We saw two trees snap and fall hard.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tom Triplett DGC

1    3/25/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 153  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads for all tees

Has tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

Has some mandos throughout

Has an elevated basket

Has next tee signs posted throughout

Course flows pretty well except for between holes 14&15

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs - which will be challenging to the casual player

Water comes into play on a few holes but holes #4 and #14 are the only ones that are really a factor in losing a disc

Challenging, long course with variety of pars

Well-maintained

Free parking

Restrooms

Water fountain
Cons:
Safety issues - course has a few holes that play near the walking path and park's amenities

Walking path cuts through on some holes - one can expect some delays on a nice day

One has to cross hole #5 fairway after finishing hole #14

Course is mostly flat

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging multi-use 18 hole city course in Pooler that I enjoyed playing on a cloudy Saturday morning. The many trees that are scattered throughout the course reminded me to keep my drives in control while playing from the blue tees. The concrete tee pads are not flush with the ground and may fall a little on the short side for those with a long run up. Most holes have tee pads positioned differently from each other in that each offers a different line to the basket. This is a well-maintained course and I can see how this course can get crowded with other players and parkgoers. Some of the holes play fairly close to the park's amenities and walking path so that potentially can cause some concern in safety and delays depending on how busy the park is. The course is mostly flat but so is the surrounding area. Other than that, it's an excellent course to play. If you're in this area, I highly recommend playing this course as it's a fun one to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great place to play when passing through Savannah

1    1/8/2017   1/8/2017
Review By: KungFuCharlie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Easy to follow course.
- Variety of open and wooded holes.
- Close to I-95 so easy to stop and get a round in when passing through the area.
Cons: - Lots of people walking near or on the course so be careful not to hit anyone.
- A few of the next tees are difficult to find due to not being clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable course to play. It was very pretty. There are a few holes that have tight fairways through the trees but most of the wooded holes are pretty open.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Challenging Course

1    10/5/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained, very fun, very challenging, and offers a variety of tees for every level of player. I played from the Championship tees and found myself getting my butt kicked halfway through. It was definitely more challenging than it looked on the walk up. The course is really well designed and offers a lot of variety from hole to hole.
Cons: Some holes are ridiculously hard. I played from the championship tees, but even still... damn
Other Thoughts: Get out and play it, probably the best course in Savannah.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Technical + Beautiful

1    4/18/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: AdubSLO
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set around a very nice park and lake. 90% of the holes are spread out under tree canopy. With multiple pads offering technically challenging drives. Not only is the course layout great but it is also well maintained and cared for. Fairways are clean and vegetation is maintained. Pads are well kept in good working order. Plenty of "Next Hole" direction signs to keep you on track and benches with current whole layout signs at every pad. There is a great map at the first hole showing the course layout and a spot to return lost discs.
Cons: Due to the course being set in a forest atmosphere near water i would recommend you bring your bug spray.
Other Thoughts: As I travel the nation for work I attempt to play one course in every new city I hit. This course will forever be remembered. Well done Tom Triplett!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well maintained and challenging

1    2/13/2016   2/15/2016
Review By: ebasch
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2016
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:

-Very well maintained
-Well marked
-5 different Tee options
-Course map at entrance which lays out all 5 tee options
-Disc drop box a Tee 1 for found discs
-local community has regular amateur tournaments
-Excellent markings which direct you to the next tee, also great colored markings to establish each tee box's skill level
Cons: -A little muddy during the rainy season, almost lost few shoes
-Jogging path presents a risk if you lack control
-Can be difficult to find if you are not from the area
-Last couple of tees throw back into the wooded start ares which is near some sitting pavilions and playground area for kids
Other Thoughts: An absolutely astonishing course. Excellent opportunities for players of all skill levels. The course can be easily navigated and one can test their technical skills if they choose, or select a slightly simpler approach and play through with greater ease.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course - well designed

5+    11/26/2015   11/30/2015
Review By: crwharton
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I play the course when visiting Savannah. Always enjoy coming back and playing. Playability is enhanced by the different tee pads available on each hole. Longs are very tough - shorts precise.

Excellent variety of shots - tough alleys on many.

Always well maintained - flat course w/some rubber tee pads but most have plenty of room to find good footing. Georgia sand/trees/heat/insects so come prepared depending on time of year.

Signage/parking/facilities are all solid. Well used park but never posed a problem for me.

Nice running walking trail and lake for fishing if there are non-discers in your group.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A little something for everyone

2-4    5/1/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Kiosk/Mailbox at #1 stocked with scorecards/course map & a practice basket!!
- Course starts and ends right near the parking lot
-Three different tees on every hole with great tee signs at each
-Course is pretty easily navigable with the next tee signs and decent walking paths guiding you along the way. Only had to use the map twice to confirm where I needed to go around holes 13-15.
- Mix of Wooded and Open holes
-Unique pin placement, particularly on #4 and #15
-Benches available at almost every hole.
Cons: -Tee pads were a little disappointing The concrete ones were a little too short and some of the rubber/carpet/natural ones were on pretty uneven ground.
-Course is mostly flat but it's not major negative, although many areas still had standing water from rain a few days before I played. I couldn't play 14 because it was almost totally under water.
- #18 is a little too close to the playground. I experienced other park users wandering around the fairway not realizing they were on the course.
-Quite a few blind shots to the basket from some tee pads, more than I prefer during a round, but with the great signs at every hole it adds to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a really great course in a nice little park. This course has great re-playability with the three different tee pad choices, you get 3 quite different approaches to each basket. The harder tee boxes are a lot more than just added distance to the easier tees. The holes in the wooded areas offer quite the challenge with tight fairways lines and heavily wooded rough areas. The more open holes had a very different challenge with the lake and paved paths as out of bounds. The signs and path to the next tee were pretty good. The toughest holes to find from the previous holes were 13-15 but with the map they were easy enough to find. This was a really well maintained course. I expected the tee pads to be a little better quality than they were, but they were all easily recognizable with the wooded colored posts. Overall I enjoyed my round at this course and I would definitely play the course again. It offers a great variety for all different skill levels of player.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    3/18/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: terryduthu
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every hole has 3 different ways to play giving a lot of shot variety and variable play experiences depending on the format you choose. Good mix of wooded and open shots. Baskets are reachable from most pads (except some Gold) making for several long fun ace runs. Nice park with gorgeous sunsets over the lake. The occasional train passing on hole 15 makes for a fun experience. The local club does a good job keeping up the course and providing several weekly events open to everyone.
Cons: Tee pads are a concern on several of the holes. Some pads are slick and dangerous while other pads have drop offs right in front and could cause potential twisted ankles. Baskets are solid, but showing age. Hole 6 basket is slowly leaning down hill and needs to be reinforced.
Other Thoughts: New information board and disc drop box would be nice improvements. Hole 18 can be tricky with park visitors/children wandering the fairway, so be careful before you throw. New tee pads and this course is a 4.5-5 all day. Bring bug spray and watch out for snakes in the summer. Hole 14 can be a swamp after a hard rain.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.