Leander, TX 
Williamson County DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
It is that good

1    3/26/2019   3/28/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 777  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 31.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Semi easy to follow
well defined fairways
decent tee boxes
paths to next hole are obvious
Cons: no tee signs, but rocks with hole numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: (if your thinking, "I have seen this before", it is because I posted this on the wrong course last night)

Best value for a disc golf course, just $1 to play.

I had no idea what to expect, I did not "study" the map before I played, I had no idea how long the holes were. I just knew this was a popular course with the locals.

So I get to hole one, simple little must get birdie hole with a GREAT oak branchs hanging in the fairway. Fun hole to throw.

Then you get to hole 2, not having any idea of how far it was. Yea, one of the longest holes on the course, hyzer, then anhyzer with two big shots to get a 3. (I didn't)

Then you realize, this is a typical John Houck course. You get some short technical holes along with your typical longer par 4 and two drive holes John likes to put on his courses.

The flow is great, because of the tree's, this course does not take up a lot of space. Stay on the fairways and you will shoot good. Lots of tunnel shots.

Would I play here again? Yes, this course is very much worth playing multiple times. While there are better courses in the Greater Austin area, this is up there with them as well worth playing.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course near Austin

1    12/15/2018   2/6/2019
Review By: Andrew Gum
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice technical lines through dense gnarly wooded park.
Plenty of long holes, including a gruelling par 5.
Quite a few nice signature ace-run par 3's through funky trees.
Friendly, welcoming, and highly competitive local scene.
Cons: A bit hard to locate the course within the fairly large parkgrounds, signs seemed to be posted for everything but it.
Large scratchy thorns tear you up if you get too deep in the rough.
Other Thoughts: Try to stay on the Fairway, the rough is harsh and trees quite grabby. Overhand shots can be very effective off of several tees.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Williamson County DGC- Worth the Drive

5+    2/12/2017   2/15/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Williamson County DGC AKA Leander is one of the top 3 courses in the area for me.

Boasting multiple Par 4's and one Par 5 to go alongside some challenging Par 3's, this long course offers everything players like in a course length-wise. You can bomb some of the open holes while also taking advantage of many precision lines on the shorter holes.

The course itself is very well maintained, the fairways are cut short or are natural dirt. It doesn't get too dusty. Since it's $1 to play and it's in the Williamson County Park, the course stays in great condition. The rough can be rough, but that's no different than most semi-difficult DGC's anyways.

The tee pads are good, although some holes have a limited run-up. This affects me, personally, but I'm trying to learn to not do that so much anyways.

You'll need to utilize multiple RHFH and RHBH throws, some over head for preference. You can take advantage of many angles on most holes, so aggressive and patient players can enjoy.

Baskets are all in great shape, the 'green' areas/putting circle can offer different putting lines and can require some good challenge for placement instead of running it all the time.

Each hole has a rock by it with the Hole # placard on it. I like these, and I use them to put my dog on her leash hooked onto them.

At the beginning of the course there is the park's newsboard, where you can grab your scorecards with map as well as donation envelopes. I like the scorecards a lot!

This is a challenging course; however, if you can confidently throw straight and relatively far, you can take advantage of the open holes in the Back 9. This course is really great, frankly. The 'cons' aren't bad enough to really influence my opinion of this course- it's too good to pass up!
Cons: Signage is definitely lacking- outside of the the actual Hole #'s on the rocks near the teepads, the course tends to loop a lot, so it can be easy to get lost. Make sure to grab a scorecard from the 1st tee area for your first few playthroughs to make sure you learn the course.

It is pretty flat and there are no elevation changes. There are other courses in the area that are better for technical and hilly challenges.

It seems to be always windy a bit due to being so open, so beginners can have a difficult time when it opens up.

There is very little to no seating on most of the holes. If you have to wait, you're just standing around. Some rocks are there to squat on for a bit and there are some picnic tables between a few holes, but it'd be nice to have some big concrete stones like Zilker and Roy G to rest up on.
Other Thoughts: Can't miss course for the Austin area. It is well worth the drive to head up to Leander, bring $1 cash (or more if you're gratuitous!) Dog friendly- it tires my pup out excellently.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great County Park Course

2-4    12/17/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 271  Reviewed: 248  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In terms of layout and challenge, this course offers great variety. With six holes of less than 250' and six holes that are over 500', you've got the full range of distances to work with. Most holes offer the challenge of having to hit a specific line or thread your drive through some tight gaps.The back nine has some more open holes, but even here fading your drive into the fairway edge will leave you a challenging shot out.

Quite a mix of left and right turning fairways. And some, like Hole 9 serve up a dogleg left followed by a dogleg right on the same hole.

Good level concrete teepads with nice texture. This is a clayey area, and after rains the pads do get a pretty good coating of mud. Good Innova baskets that catch well.
Cons: Signs!! There are no tee signs at all. There is a simple symbol marking the hole number, and that is it. With many blind basket placements and some long par 4 and par 5 holes, a hole diagram with distance and par would make a lot of difference to non-local players like myself.

Navigation is also tricky, and would benefit from a few carefully chosen "next tee" signs. In many places well-marked paths make it simple to go from hole to hole, but there are a few places where there are three tees within about 75' of one another, with crossing paths that make it confusing to know where to go. I have placed an updated map in the links section, showing the current arrangement of holes.

It appears that they have decided to minimize things like signs, benches, and trash cans on this course. This may be the wishes of the county, but these amenities would be welcome additions to an already excellent course.
Other Thoughts: $1 per person fee. Seems very fair given the course quality. There is a large gravel parking area near the first tee, and a large course map on a sign as you enter.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fabulous course

2-4    6/27/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: DiscFan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 7/2/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Each time I come to TX to visit family I try to get in as much disc golf as possible. Checking out a variety of courses. Players in this area are quite lucky to have the quality and number of choices for play that players here do.
That said, Wilco was mentioned as a must play if in the area, and I couldn't agree more. Fantastic course. Beautiful setting, quality tee pads, well marked, easy to navigate.
It is a John Houck design. I have now had the pleasure of playing a number of his courses. They always play well and mix challenge (he loves left to right play) with well thought out use of available space. This is a huge property, and he used it well.
I found the course played fairly wide open. Which I loved as a change of pace. I'm used to playing in the woods of the NE. The trees here offer some challenge but are sparse in comparison to my home courses where you are having to navigate tight trees on most holes. This plays much closer to a ball golf course. Wide open fairways, just enough trees to create shade from the brutal heat down here. Lovely.
Cons: I would love to see a representation of the hole at the tee pad. Here they just have the number clearly marked on a huge rock. I'm sure if I played here regularly I wouldn't care, I would know what I wanted to throw when. But as a visiting player it helps to know the distance to the basket for disc selection. Not the map at the beginning , the tee pads, or even the scorecards provide that info. Weird.
Other Thoughts: Great course, play it if you can. Bring a bag to pick up garbage out on the course if you are feeling helpful. Bring your A game and enjoy.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 184  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You can tell they take great pride in this course. I always appreciate a nice map at the beginning of a course. They have long holes that cut through the woods and even have stone pathways between holes to make it easier to navigate. I loved the first holes that were very tight and challenging. The back holes opened up a little bit more. Hole 10 was a rediculous hole being over 700ft and doing a complete"s" shape. There are a few birdie holes that you have to take advantage of in order to shoot well. In my opinion the front 9 was way better than the back9.
Cons: In my opinion the back 9 got a little repetitive and lost my interest. Where the front 9 gave tight holes throughout the woods at different lengths. I felt like the back 9 you shot out of a gap into open space on almost every hole. The grass on the back 9 was also a little overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I would of rated this course a 4.5 if the back 9 reflected the front 9. The back 9 just became too repetitive and was such a let down from the awesome front 9.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wilco is a special treat

1    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 169  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 21.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a LOT to like about Wilco. It has a very fun, unique feel to it. The holes vary a lot in their look and there are many very cool trees. It's really a joy just to walk the course. I keep expecting to see Leprechauns or giant-sized ginger bread houses or something on the course. Tough to put into words, but it's my new favorite place to play in the Austin area, even if the challenge is a bit below some of the others.

Wilco provides a very good light blue (white/blue) level challenge. The course is very beginner friendly and still lots of fun for advanced players. There is a good variety to the shot shapes required. (I disagree with the "lefty friendly" comments by some of the other reviewers.) The fairways are very fair and the punishment from the rough is appropriate to provide good risk/reward opportunities when deciding how far to try and throw off the tee. Most of the long 3's and multi-shot holes have me thinking about throwing a fairway driver or even a mid-range instead of a high-speed driver.

The hole #'s near the tees are quite easy to spot from a distance and the paths between holes are nicely lined to make course navigation very easy. The tee pads and baskets are all top-notch. The course has recently re-opened after an extended closure and the maintenance is very good. The course gets high marks for aesthetics and fun.

The course costs $1 to play. Yes, this is a "Pro". The money that golfers put in the box will go towards maintaining and possibly improving the course. If we don't pay, who should?
Cons: Wilco could benefit from a second set of tees. The course is a bit too easy for blue level players and gold level players will kill it. This is not a major con, but worth a mention. The course is pretty much flat as a pancake.

There are a couple places where the holes crowd each other a bit. From hole 1, the walk is behind hole 4's basket to hole 2. It's not a safety hazard, but is distracting for players approaching on hole 4. Hole 8's tee is very much in play on hole 7. The course doesn't loop back to the start after 9 holes.

The course is situated in a pretty low-lying area. As a result, it is susceptible to lots of standing water following heavy rains. The county is pro-active and closes the course to play under such conditions. Be sure to call the number before heading out to play.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend Wilco to anyone visiting the area. Please pick up litter as you play and enjoy!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wilco

5+    4/6/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is THE course to play in this part of the Austin area. It places a premium on disc placement and accuracy and will challenge the play of any disc golfer. The holes all have concrete tees. There are lots of tables and benches as well as trash cans. I like the number of left and right holes on this course. Holes 1 and 2 are short shots as kind of warm-ups before you get to the first two par four holes of 3 and 4. Hole 5 is a short throw around some trees before tackling number 6 which has more trees and is a par 4 dogleg right. With the exception of hole 10, which is a 784 foot left and right par five drive to the basket, most of the rest of the holes are short shots through trees or open fairways. Exceptions to this are holes 9 and 15, which are doglegs right and will challenge a golfer to place their throws just right to obtain birdie or par. Hole 14 is a wide open grip and rip 600 footer as well as 16 and 17. Hole 18 is a 600 foot straightaway that a golfer could possibly throw a good straight shot, but they would have to watch out for the trees that encroach on the fairway in a couple of places. Great course. Excellent layout. The course is pay to play, but $1 is well worth the price for this excellent disc golf experience.
Cons: The only con I can see is a reference to another reviewer: The course seems to favor the LHBH or LHFH player. This can be dealt with easily though with some well thought-out and well placed shots.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, you owe it to yourself to play this course at least once. I am willing to bet that, once it is played, you will want to come back again. I know I did and will do so several times more.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Wilco Regular

5+    11/2/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: Robrasta
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Generally wooded course but great for all skill levels. Hole lengths not terribly long (except for #10) but dog legs and trees demand variety of shots/skills. Easy navigation,well marked trails (follow the stone-lined paths), relatively condensed layout,and overall natural setting make this a solid course. Not uncommon to see youngsters and other family members tagging along with golfers for the walk in nature.Plentt of parking across main park drive and other activities inside huge county park.
Cons: * No elevation changes or water in play.
* Could use more trash cans
* Lots of cactus and thorn bushes throughout course- just off of fairways. I usually leave the shorts and sandals behind.
* Rocks strewn throughout fairway on some holes. Ive twisted the ankles more than a few times.

Other Thoughts: Happy to say WCDG is my home course and dont mind paying the $1 fee to play. Course is well maintained and WILCO PARKS and REC is in the process of moving their headquarters right next to the course which will hopefully translate to continued upkeep.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Wonderful Course

1    3/16/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: thshistory
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in terms of shot selection and hole variety. Hole one may have been my favorite. It gets a little heavy on the trees but a course in great condition. It is obviously cared for.
Cons: Needs more trash cans. The thing I hate to see is trash on a course. Common' disc golfers. take care of your courses even if you have to carry your trash a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course, well laid out. Worth the drive and one dollar fee. There is little elevation if you like that kind of thing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.