Leander, TX 
Williamson County DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 3/2013)
5 / 784ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fine and Flat

1    8/6/2020   10/6/2020
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 136  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 2.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Constructed on what I perceive to be typical Texas terrain, WilCo is a solid stretch of really flat holes with typical but fine shaping challenges.

-Variety: Plenty of diverse distance (one 5 and five 4s). Fairways bend both left and right. Some tight holes with trees and scrub, some bombers.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: Really solid, almost so solid it's unremarkable. Choose and hit a good line, you'll be in good shape. Miss, and you'll be throwing from the rough, which has varying levels of friendliness. Playing at WilCo is a bit like going down a checklist of all the different normal hole shapes on flat ground and ticking a different one off with each tee. Nothing is unique, but it's all fun and enjoyable. (Well, actually, hole (1) is a pretty unique shot through a window of horizontal tree trunks. Otherwise, the course felt like normal Texas golf to me.)

-Navigability: If you stay on the fairway, WilCo is the easiest park ever to walk through. No climbing up steep hills, tripping over roots, or trying to fit your cart on unwieldy paths. I think the odds of losing a disc here are really low.

-Maintenance: It's always hard to judge based on one appearance, but all the fairways were mowed and cleared of debris when I played, whereas off the fairway was left with tall but manageable grass.
Cons: So very, very flat.

-Flat: This really drags WilCo down. Normally I'd be thrilled at a course with 6 multi-shot holes, but with the flat terrain, all the par-4s and 5s felt pretty similar. There's only so much shaping you can do when the property is entirely homogenous.

-Signage: There is almost none. Hole numbers are placed on rocks next to each concrete tee, but otherwise you're on your own. No next tee cues either, which is confusing when you come to an intersection of paths. Make sure to take a picture of the course map at the beginning or utilize UDisc.

-Rough: Most of the rough wasn't problematic to me, though my playing partner thought it was too thick to be fair (leaving only a pitch-out often). However, near the beginning the rough is sharp. I got scratched up pretty badly on (2), and could have been on (1) and (3) for sure.

-Pay to Play: $1 per person per day. They have an honor system where you put the money in an envelope, rip off a receipt, and then stuff the envelope in the box.

-West Nile? Signs said that West Nile Virus is in the area. I don't believe there were any mosquitos around at 10:00 on an August morning.
Other Thoughts: WilCo is a great design on a really boring piece of property. There are all sorts of reasonable and challenging shots to throw, but they begin to run together when it's perfectly flat and has mostly the same number of trees throughout. For the fun of flinging frisbees, I give it a 3.5, but I think it falls short of other Austin area courses that add more diverse terrain into the mix.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It is that good

1    3/26/2019   3/28/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Semi easy to follow
well defined fairways
decent tee boxes
paths to next hole are obvious
Cons: no tee signs, but rocks with hole numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: (if your thinking, "I have seen this before", it is because I posted this on the wrong course last night)

Best value for a disc golf course, just $1 to play.

I had no idea what to expect, I did not "study" the map before I played, I had no idea how long the holes were. I just knew this was a popular course with the locals.

So I get to hole one, simple little must get birdie hole with a GREAT oak branchs hanging in the fairway. Fun hole to throw.

Then you get to hole 2, not having any idea of how far it was. Yea, one of the longest holes on the course, hyzer, then anhyzer with two big shots to get a 3. (I didn't)

Then you realize, this is a typical John Houck course. You get some short technical holes along with your typical longer par 4 and two drive holes John likes to put on his courses.

The flow is great, because of the tree's, this course does not take up a lot of space. Stay on the fairways and you will shoot good. Lots of tunnel shots.

Would I play here again? Yes, this course is very much worth playing multiple times. While there are better courses in the Greater Austin area, this is up there with them as well worth playing.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course near Austin

1    12/15/2018   2/6/2019
Review By: Andrew Gum
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice technical lines through dense gnarly wooded park.
Plenty of long holes, including a gruelling par 5.
Quite a few nice signature ace-run par 3's through funky trees.
Friendly, welcoming, and highly competitive local scene.
Cons: A bit hard to locate the course within the fairly large parkgrounds, signs seemed to be posted for everything but it.
Large scratchy thorns tear you up if you get too deep in the rough.
Other Thoughts: Try to stay on the Fairway, the rough is harsh and trees quite grabby. Overhand shots can be very effective off of several tees.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good intermediate course

1    11/24/2018   11/29/2018
Review By: TheQuietCroc
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: * Hole design is pretty good, there are a few obstacles on some holes
* Plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the course
* Course map at the start
* Concrete tee pads
* Hole numbers by tees
Cons: * The hole length is very inconsistent, the first hole is short like 250', then the next hole jumps to 600+'
* Navigation could use some help, it's like navigating a spider web
* No practice basket

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Big arm not required, but it helps!

1    8/17/2018   8/17/2018
Review By: rthomp8
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful and most challenging courses in the Hill Country, this is a course that will test players of all skill levels. An absolute must if you're passing through the area, and possibly even worth a drive to the Austin area just to play it.

-usually multiple lines from the tee, all of which are challenging but it's always nice to have options.

-beautiful, stone-lined walking paths between holes. A lot of work went into this course and its maintenance.

-Incredibly challenging, but still a ton of fun to play.

-Great shot variety will be required for this course: straight lines down tunnel shots, rollers, thumbers, big hyzers, anhyzers....it's all here.

-big distance. You'll need a 400-450ft teeshot on a lot of these to have any chance of par overall.
Cons: -No real elevation changes (plus side, no roll-aways!)

-A lot of doubling back, sometimes walking back along a fairway to get to the next hole. Very easy to miss the path to the next hole, so be sure to snap a picture of the map at hole 1 or take one of the score cards.

-Pretty easy to get scratched up if you have to retrieve discs from the cedar trees, thorny scrub brush, and cactus. Worth it to wear long pants.

-If you have pollen allergies, be sure to take your meds before you come out here! Cedar pollen is killer.
Other Thoughts: While this is a notoriously difficult course, it's still enjoyable for a lower intermediate player like myself. Some of my friends told me I should wait to play it until my skill improves, but I'm glad I went for it. Just don't pay attention to the par scores and focus on hitting your lines and enjoying the beauty of the course and you can still have an incredibly enjoyable round.

I can't wait to come back and play this one again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Williamson County DGC- Worth the Drive

5+    2/12/2017   2/15/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Williamson County DGC AKA Leander is one of the top 3 courses in the area for me.

Boasting multiple Par 4's and one Par 5 to go alongside some challenging Par 3's, this long course offers everything players like in a course length-wise. You can bomb some of the open holes while also taking advantage of many precision lines on the shorter holes.

The course itself is very well maintained, the fairways are cut short or are natural dirt. It doesn't get too dusty. Since it's $1 to play and it's in the Williamson County Park, the course stays in great condition. The rough can be rough, but that's no different than most semi-difficult DGC's anyways.

The tee pads are good, although some holes have a limited run-up. This affects me, personally, but I'm trying to learn to not do that so much anyways.

You'll need to utilize multiple RHFH and RHBH throws, some over head for preference. You can take advantage of many angles on most holes, so aggressive and patient players can enjoy.

Baskets are all in great shape, the 'green' areas/putting circle can offer different putting lines and can require some good challenge for placement instead of running it all the time.

Each hole has a rock by it with the Hole # placard on it. I like these, and I use them to put my dog on her leash hooked onto them.

At the beginning of the course there is the park's newsboard, where you can grab your scorecards with map as well as donation envelopes. I like the scorecards a lot!

This is a challenging course; however, if you can confidently throw straight and relatively far, you can take advantage of the open holes in the Back 9. This course is really great, frankly. The 'cons' aren't bad enough to really influence my opinion of this course- it's too good to pass up!
Cons: Signage is definitely lacking- outside of the the actual Hole #'s on the rocks near the teepads, the course tends to loop a lot, so it can be easy to get lost. Make sure to grab a scorecard from the 1st tee area for your first few playthroughs to make sure you learn the course.

It is pretty flat and there are no elevation changes. There are other courses in the area that are better for technical and hilly challenges.

It seems to be always windy a bit due to being so open, so beginners can have a difficult time when it opens up.

There is very little to no seating on most of the holes. If you have to wait, you're just standing around. Some rocks are there to squat on for a bit and there are some picnic tables between a few holes, but it'd be nice to have some big concrete stones like Zilker and Roy G to rest up on.
Other Thoughts: Can't miss course for the Austin area. It is well worth the drive to head up to Leander, bring $1 cash (or more if you're gratuitous!) Dog friendly- it tires my pup out excellently.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 North Austin Gem

1    3/24/2016   11/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 486  Reviewed: 469  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.339 Rating) One of the best on metro Austin's north side.
- CHALLENGING - Williamson County is one of the more challenging courses in the entire Austin Metro Area. It will definitely challenge your game as you'll have to tactically attack each hole and be willing to settle or scramble for par when things don't go your way.
- TEE PADS - Concrete pads are of adequate length and width. nothing special but does the job.
- SPACING - a well spaced hole layout. with well defined fairways. 6 and 7 was perhaps the only duo that seemed to be in play where tee shots from 6 can approach the tee on 7.
- UNIQUENESS - Although flat and devoid of water elements, the overall uniqueness was above your average 18 hole course. there are a bunch of 4's and a par 5. several shots are blind. Doglegs holes occur in both directions. Pocket shots, windows shots, poke and hope shots, and tight tunnel fairways all occur.
- SHOT SELECTION - I probably played half and half flick to backhand. Nearly every drive has to be well thought out and placed, especially on the 4's and the par 5. The course however doesn't fair well for overhead shot players as most shots need to be kept low (16 and 17 are exceptions)
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Definitely one of the more scenic parks to walk. The vegetation was vibrant and alive during my visit.
- CHILL AREAS - despite the lack of seating, there lots of little nooks and crannies to plop down and relax. The course has a very secluded feeling.
Cons: - NAVIGATION - Its definitely tricky in spots. on my first visit i went with a players who had been here and we still got turned around several times as there were no directional ques and several seemingly "this must be the right path" occurrences, only to be not the right way. Tricky spots are 2 to 3, 7 to 8, 9 to 10 and 12 to 13. Be sure and take a picture of the course map at the entrance on your first visit or print the DGCR linked map. You'll need it or wish you had it.
- CHARACTER - I was definitely surprised by the lack of disc golf extra items. There is no hole signage (other than number), no seating, no picnic tables, no duel tees, to extra pin placements, no practice basket, etc. The tees were mostly shaded however and as stated there was a course map at the entrance.
- ELEVATION - A surprising lack of Elevation on this course. Its flat as a pancake. probably varies by no more than 20' on the entire course and no hole varies by more than 10'. definitely subpar among the Austin area courses.
- FORGIVENESS - not the tightest layout around, but it's up there. if you're the player that likes to bomb it and not worry about accuracy, you will not like this course. check out nearby Old Settlers instead. The vegetation is thick in many areas. Errant shots often result in boggy.
- PAY TO PLAY - Although only a dollar, payment is really on an honor system as there's no one there to collect. Just a drop box.
- TIME PLAY - Course is not a quick play, plan to be here 3 hours to complete 18 holes
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - this is not a beginners course. although the odds of losing a disc is low, the course is way to tight to provide any enjoyment to inaccurate new throwers.
Other Thoughts: Skilled players should very much enjoy this course. South Austonians and south DFW's should definitely place Williamson County high on their list as a first course to check out on the north side of Austin. Beginning players are advised to stay clear.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

1    1/8/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: Texasmouth
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome course with great landscapes. Some really challenging holes. Make sure you have a spotter.
Cons: More of a desert course than I expected although there were a lot of trees. Lots of cactus and rock. Tough on your discs.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Very fun to play. Lots of work and lots of walking but worth it. Dont miss this one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great County Park Course

2-4    12/17/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In terms of layout and challenge, this course offers great variety. With six holes of less than 250' and six holes that are over 500', you've got the full range of distances to work with. Most holes offer the challenge of having to hit a specific line or thread your drive through some tight gaps.The back nine has some more open holes, but even here fading your drive into the fairway edge will leave you a challenging shot out.

Quite a mix of left and right turning fairways. And some, like Hole 9 serve up a dogleg left followed by a dogleg right on the same hole.

Good level concrete teepads with nice texture. This is a clayey area, and after rains the pads do get a pretty good coating of mud. Good Innova baskets that catch well.
Cons: Signs!! There are no tee signs at all. There is a simple symbol marking the hole number, and that is it. With many blind basket placements and some long par 4 and par 5 holes, a hole diagram with distance and par would make a lot of difference to non-local players like myself.

Navigation is also tricky, and would benefit from a few carefully chosen "next tee" signs. In many places well-marked paths make it simple to go from hole to hole, but there are a few places where there are three tees within about 75' of one another, with crossing paths that make it confusing to know where to go. I have placed an updated map in the links section, showing the current arrangement of holes.

It appears that they have decided to minimize things like signs, benches, and trash cans on this course. This may be the wishes of the county, but these amenities would be welcome additions to an already excellent course.
Other Thoughts: $1 per person fee. Seems very fair given the course quality. There is a large gravel parking area near the first tee, and a large course map on a sign as you enter.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fabulous course

2-4    6/27/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: DiscFan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 7/2/2015
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Each time I come to TX to visit family I try to get in as much disc golf as possible. Checking out a variety of courses. Players in this area are quite lucky to have the quality and number of choices for play that players here do.
That said, Wilco was mentioned as a must play if in the area, and I couldn't agree more. Fantastic course. Beautiful setting, quality tee pads, well marked, easy to navigate.
It is a John Houck design. I have now had the pleasure of playing a number of his courses. They always play well and mix challenge (he loves left to right play) with well thought out use of available space. This is a huge property, and he used it well.
I found the course played fairly wide open. Which I loved as a change of pace. I'm used to playing in the woods of the NE. The trees here offer some challenge but are sparse in comparison to my home courses where you are having to navigate tight trees on most holes. This plays much closer to a ball golf course. Wide open fairways, just enough trees to create shade from the brutal heat down here. Lovely.
Cons: I would love to see a representation of the hole at the tee pad. Here they just have the number clearly marked on a huge rock. I'm sure if I played here regularly I wouldn't care, I would know what I wanted to throw when. But as a visiting player it helps to know the distance to the basket for disc selection. Not the map at the beginning , the tee pads, or even the scorecards provide that info. Weird.
Other Thoughts: Great course, play it if you can. Bring a bag to pick up garbage out on the course if you are feeling helpful. Bring your A game and enjoy.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.