Orlando, FL 
Gordon Barnett Park - Parkside Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2017)
-- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Partial Redesign

1    7/29/2017   10/11/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 201  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.896 Rating) **REEVALUATED** , A mixed bag of a course that just went under a moderate redesign that resulted in several partially altered holes. On my initial review post on October 11th I had commented on the courses unfinished state but I was promptly notified of the finished layout and thus this revision.
- CHALLENGING - The one thing the Parkside course has going for it is that it offers a fairly nice challenge. The back tees offers up numerous wooded shots well over 300 feet. I'm going to estimate that your average 950 rated advanced player will be around course par to a couple under on average. The front tees (12 holes) should challenge intermediate players to break par.
- UNIQUENESS - Above average and pretty good for a par 56. A good mix of fully wooded holes to fully open holes. Some of the fully wooded holes offer up some great shot shaping opportunities. A very nice bender on (6) as well as a few partially defined pocket shots. The hole distances seem to vary fairly well. Distances include ever thing from a 238 foot putter run to a plus 600 foot par 4. Lots of water in play as well with a couple clears and several parallel creek plays.
- COURSE MAP - Be sure and download the course map on this site, I am not certain if the course map on site is up to date with the finished layout.
- CHARACTER - About average. 12 holes have multi-tees and it also appears that most holes have 2 or 3 basket placements. Seating is only at a couple tees currently but I think I saw some benches at a few abandoned tees, so it may just be a matter of moving them. There is a practice basket as well. The biggest missing item is up-to-date hole signage.
Cons: During my round there were lots of issues with the uncompleted redesign. However, several of the issues I dealt with in July are now fixed.
- NAVIGATION - Was in sad shape. However, I have been informed that it has been adjusted since my round and now just needs a few more touches to finish up. During my I ended up playing several holes incorrectly.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Holes (9) and (10) put lots of people and property into play. I personally grip locked one over a row of cars on (10) but thankfully I did not hit anyone or anything. In addition to these two holes, there are several other occurrences where you'll wisely decide to put the disc back in the bag rather than throw due to all the kids running around.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Several sizable gaps between holes. Also, some holes play around pathways, roads and other park amenities, so you can figure there will be some holes that will back up with groups when the course and other park amenities get heavy use.
- TEES - The unchanged holes still have average sized concrete tees and there are still a few temporary mats in use.
- ELEVATION - Like most Florida courses, a very flat course. Perhaps one hole (5) changes by 10 feet. The North course has a lot more changes in elevation compared to the Parkside Course
- NATURAL BEAUTY - There are some really nice parts to this course, but there are also some duds as well. I think the course falls just below average. I gave its counterpart, the North course, a touch higher rating.
- TRASH - The creek that runs along several holes of this layout is just littered with trash.
Other Thoughts: - Upon arriving to play, I did not realize that the Parkside course had been going thru a redesign. I played to wrong baskets several times and once teed off to a blind basket that didn't exist. It resulted in one of my worst disc golf round experiences. Post round I found the redesigned map and contacted timg to achieve the old layout.
- In all, a really tough course to rate since it was still being updated. Within hours of initial review post I was informed by another DGCR member (thank you Chainedwraith) that the update is mostly complete and he graciously got me a link to the finished layout with holes distances. Still however, I think the North course at Gordon Barnett is a slightly better layout.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs work

1    8/21/2017   8/21/2017
Review By: allenshorter
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has potential. Not the worst layout.
Cons: The grass is poorly mowed. The signage, when it does exist, is confusing. Hard to find the next tee. But not as hard and confusing as the Northside. Sometimes there is a lack of challenge on this course as the obstacles are not present on every hole and sometimes you are just chucking it any way you want at the baskets. OB is not marked on the signs or on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course could be great, but it needs a lot of work. A few holes have moved around since the map was made. It is slightly easier to find the tee pads than the northside course. I never felt unsafe as folks passed through the park. One guy that lived over a fence off of 17 came out of his house and helped us get a disc out of his yard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for beginners and intermediates

5+    8/3/2017   8/3/2017
Review By: WhereTheIDivides
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/11/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - No underbrush except for a couple of holes. Trees are great, but underbrush/palmettos are snake magnets.
- No leaves or sticks on the ground. The course is out in the open.
- Good use of using the field in multiple directions.
- Park is well kept.
- Huge park has multiple bathrooms, soda machine, water pool, BMX, baseball, football, lake docks, skateboarding, billiards, ping pong, weight room, golf diving and putting green and lots of stuff.
- Staff inside main building are nice.
- 2 bathroom buildings along course.
- Course is near roads so if you loose a disc, you can get a rake from the groundskeeper and drive right up near the hole.
Cons: - Signs and maps are wrong. Multiple pads on some holes that go nowhere. A complete mess.
- Park is located in the middle of the gettos of Pine Hills Florida (AKA Crime Hills).
- No putting green (but there is a putting basket) and no driving range with distance markers.
- No circle markers.
- Not to sound racist, but the park is in the middle of the gettos. The only caucasions are on the disc course. You'll hear plenty of loud rap music from all directions. And just don't go into the woods on the northside unless you feel like becoming a statistic. and whatever you do, get out of there before dark.
Other Thoughts: - Map shows hole 9 before water ditch (east). It's on the far side of the ditch (west).
- This is a favorite of just about everyone. It is located behind the central florida fairground and is huge. It's not to hard. Your disc can go in the woods on hole 6 but not far to get to. It can go into the watered ditch on hole 9 as well. Other than that, you don't have to worry about losing your discs as the course is out int he open.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.