Brighton, UT 
Solitude Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 1219ft.   3 / 793ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
 Slow Locals

1    7/15/2018   7/26/2018
Review By: ThrowBot
Played: 183  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Fun throws! Lots of elevation in play. Mostly downhill throws but a few steep uphill mixed in. Most fairways pretty open, but often entering technical and/or guarded greens.

+ Tee pads are in great shape, which really makes the bigger throws more rewarding. (I've played a number of ski resort courses, and these were by far the best tees!)

+ Baskets in good condition and catch well.

+ Just gorgeous terrain. LOTS of elevation in play, and pre-cleared ski runs form very clearly defined fairways.
Cons: - This is just my experience: The locals don't seem to have much appreciation for pace of play. It seems customary to glob together in groups of 6-8. A lot of imprecise throws lead to a lot of time searching for discs. Most of the groups were very cordial about letting a pair of skilled throwers play through. But oh man, it only takes one obstinate eightsome to waste a bunch of other peoples' time.

- By mid summer, foliage gets DENSE and you really have to watch where your disc lands. You will still spend some time looking, but hopefully not lose anything.

- Mountain bike trails wind around & through most of the holes. In some cases there are signs warning about the disc golf course, but they seem to get ignored most of the time.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course in beautiful country. I would love to play it again, but maybe in the morning before a bunch of locals clog it up.

I guess if you're looking for a place to turn up some tunes and hang out with a half dozen friends for 4 hours, this course is perfect!

Really hate to ding the course so bad because of one slow round, but the pace of play really honestly detracted from my experience. The average course rating of 4.3 seems a little bit generous to me; maybe gets some benefit for the novelty of riding a ski lift? (However, 4.3 does seem to be the average group size that plays the course, and the average number of throws per hole among those groups, and the average number of minutes spent looking for each disc...)

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great mountain course!

5+    6/10/2018   6/12/2018
Review By: utah
Played: 61  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful property sitting in the mountains, starting around 9000' and finishing around 8200'

Strong rubber tee pads

Good signage and shorter (9 hole) course available (1,2,6,7,10,11,12,13,18) is the flow for the shorter version, still flows nicely due to great design.

Good layout with a couple uphill holes as you play your way down the mountain

18th hole is 1000' straight downhill and has to be in the running for best top of the world shots. Putters can get all the way down the hill (not guaranteed :D) and can fly for 30 seconds or more, but you can throw any shot and watch awesome flights

Additional 9 holes go in (The 'Uppers') later in the summer and are a nice added touch of humility. Throwing straight up a mountain is very humbling and unlike much else. A junior top of the world shot waits at the top of that hike, and they (uppers) conclude with my two favorite holes on the property (H, I, on the scorecard)

Multiple (2) basket locations for most holes, changed a few times through the summer to keep it interesting when you think you have it dialed.
Cons: Little bit tricky to find by hiking unless you know where you're going, but once you know the way, the easy hike is about 15 minutes, basically traversing in from Solitude Nordic Center up near Brighton. The con is that you need to find your way back up to the top if you choose the easy walk over the lift or harder hike.

You will probably lose a disc or two your first time. Knowing the property helps, but part of throwing huge downhill shots runs the risk of losing sight or depth perception of flights.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love playing up here. I try to go at least once a week in the summer as it is so peaceful and serene. I have lived in Utah for a long time and it is still awe inspiring to be up there and see the scenery while playing.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain golf for the big arms

5+    9/4/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: Keasto
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2016
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Very nice setting with great views.
-There is often nice wildlife to see.
-The down hill shots are very fun to watch your disc fly once you figure out what to throw.
-The elevation changes are a unique challenge
-You rarely run into large groups or any back ups
-Great way to spend an afternoon hiking in the mountains
-Option to ride a lift up is nice
-Bonus letter holes way up the mountain are a nice addition
Cons: -It is a bit complicated to figure out how to hike in
-Mostly open holes going straight up or down ski runs
-Can easily loose discs on down hill holes
Other Thoughts: The extra letter holes at the top are really fun. They are worth the extra walk.
I personally think it is a bit unfortunate that most of the holes play straight up and straight down ski runs.
There is so much terrain out here, there could be spectacularly long winding holes across the hill side. The up hill holes are just dominated by anyone that can throw really far. However this is a truly unique setting to play golf in and its hard to not have fun. The course is pretty well marked as long as you figure out how to get to hole 1.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top of the World

2-4    9/10/2016   9/12/2016
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 103  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2016
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation change and altitude. That is what this course is about. If you have never played a course where elevation change is its own obstacle, you are in for a treat here.

From the very first hole, you are presented with a short (286'), steep-downhill hole with the basket on the right of a fairway lined with trees. No matter what you throw, there is a very good chance of overthrowing this hole. If you are tentative and under-throw it, there is a good chance of being very short and presenting yourself with the same elevation problem on the upshot. The hole just looks like an easy birdie from the tee box, but it is just as easy to bogey.

This same issue presents itself on hole after hole requiring different disc selections than you are used to at lower altitude and on more flat ground. I often caught myself throwing at 1/2 or 3/4 power with fairway drivers on holes ranging from 300 to nearly 500 feet. Indeed, on hole 6 I threw well past the basket that was nearly 600 feet from the tee box with an Amp. I don't have that kind of distance, but with the tee box being over 150 feet higher in elevation than the basket, it is as easy to go past the basket as it is to go short and into the woods if you choose a disc too overstable or understable or throw too hard or too soft because you aren't used to that kind of elevation change.

Hole 6 is also a good example of the challenges presented by the excellent course design. There are two distinct fairways around a tree "island" in the middle. The elevation change also offers the option to go high and go over all of the trees and try to drop the disc in from the top, with all of these approaches requiring accuracy just to keep the disc from ending up in the woods.

There are a good number of holes that require right and left turning throws and a few with very tight fairways. I threw forehand as often as backhand.

Another challenge on this course is that on the short holes, and even the longer ones, your disc may be coming into the landing area moving much faster than you are used to leading to giant skips that turn what looked like an easy birdie into a challenging upshot to retain a chance at par.

This course has several good, fairly short, uphill holes and one longer one. There are a number of sidehill holes that use elevation only as punishment for an errant shot. Several holes will also reward errant shots with dropoffs severe enough to make you want to just forget about that disc and rethrow.

While there are one or two holes that I would otherwise consider to be too open, the slope could severely punish an errant throw. Only hole 17, a slight uphill, 312 ft. hole, was truly wide open with little consequence to an errant throw, unless you went very far past on your upshot.

No hole presents elevation-as-obstacle better than the finishing hole. You really have to see this hole in person to understand how severe the downhill portion is. Reaching the bottom with your first throw is difficult, not because it is difficult to throw a disc 1200 feet when you are 400 feet higher than the basket, but because your disc stays in the air so long that it is difficult to keep it on the 500 ft wide fairway and out of the woods. I managed to get my Underworld to the bottom on my first throw, but it flew so far that I lost sight of it before it landed even though my view of the disc was never obstructed. As fun as it is to watch a disc fly for 15 seconds, and fly so far that you can't see it anymore, this hole is a bear of a par 3 and should probably be listed as a par 4.

This course is on a ski slope that has a resort hotel at the bottom. The resort is self contained with shopping, eating, bars and a shop with a narrow selection of Innova and a few MVP discs. This is a fantastic place to go for a disc golf vacation. There are a few other courses nearby, but after playing this course the first time, I really wasn't interested in trying to go anywhere else to play; I wanted another shot at almost every hole.
Cons: Although you are free to hike up and play (for free), the lift doesn't start running until 10:00 a.m. By that time you could have already played a round. If you choose to hike up, it will probably be 10:00 a.m. before you get there anyway. This isn't really a con for the course itself, but you really do need to take the lift to play it.

The slope of this course is severe everywhere. Do not try to play this course if you aren't in decent shape.

You don't need extra weight while playing this course but you will need to bring water with you because there are no amenities other than benches on the course. On the positive side, it was very cool when I played and so I didn't need much water.

Navigation is really pretty straightforward, but there are few places where better "next tee" signage would be helpful. We saw several groups get briefly lost after the second basket. Go back and to the right to the get to the #3 tee box.

Watch your discs carefully until they land. It is easy to lose them because they fly so far on many holes.
Other Thoughts: There is no charge to play the course and it should NOT be listed as a pay to play course. However the lift ticket is $10 per ride or $20 per day. If you don't see mountains often, the views on the ride alone is worth the price. Take the lift unless you often hike in the mountains and are certain of what you are doing.

I debated whether to give this course a 5 disc rating. I think that the elevation is enough of a novelty and distraction that it is easy to discount the challenge that it presents or the way that the course uses that challenge in what may seem like holes that are otherwise too open. However, this is a very challenging course and I found it to be more fun than any other course that I have played. It is certainly not a one-trick pony and while the 18th hole is epic, it isn't even the best hole on the course in my opinion. The cons I listed are mostly nitpicking and if you like watching your disc fly, there few places where you will get to enjoy doing that as much as Solitude.

Notes on play: If you are not used to playing at higher elevations, you need to keep in mind that the less dense air will make your discs act somewhat more overstable. It will be difficult to hyzer flip and flippy discs may not turn over for you very much. You generally won't need any very overstable discs and you probably won't need any distance drivers.

On hole 18, you can reach the bottom with ease with a lower speed, understable discs. Higher speed discs and stable discs may lose speed and fade long before they get to the bottom. I reached the bottom easily with both an Underworld and a 167g Insanity. The Insanity flew straight as a bullet. The Underworld turned over.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Downhill Hike

1    7/2/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: samillerggiw
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of right and left throws.
The downhill aspect to the course makes it extremely fun. The holes are long and so you can throw long consistently.
Scenery is unparalleled.
Cons: Almost every hole is downhill, so there's not much variety in the elevation changes.
Errant throws can be hard to find, but the fairways are pretty large, so it's really not that bad unless youre throwing a disc the same color as the grass.
Other Thoughts: Epic. This is the must-play course in Utah.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 scenic

5+    8/30/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: while you are on the ski lift you have a really good view. there is an equal amount of short holes and long holes. really big fairways.
Cons: really hard to find disc on all of the holes. really over grown. no trash cans on the mountain. no bathrooms on the mountain.
Other Thoughts: a lot of down hill side arms. you can some times see moose or deer. bring a lot of water. the ski lift is really fun.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing but sweet solitude

1    8/29/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: willygriff
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course was well marked, thank you to the mountain staff. Beautiful views, trails maintained. Nice benches at every hole. Beautiful scenery. Holes were exciting an of variable difficulty, well named I might add.
Other Thoughts: $10 lift ticket or a hike. Not unreasonable.
Hole 18 is a ridiculous 1200ft launch watch where your disc goes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Mountain Course Period

5+    8/25/2013   3/21/2014
Review By: luckypeak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Chair lift takes you up mountain to hole 1
-Beautiful scenery as you meander through the aspens and pines.
-Great course design and layout
Cons: -Some of the upper holes are strenuous but still fun to play
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Utah by far, the air is clean the views are marvelous and the golf is amazing!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bombs Away

2-4    8/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2020
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to make you feel like a king. Want to throw 500 feet with a mid-range, this is your course. Want to pass that pesky 1000 foot barrier, you have come to the right place. Have plenty of money to replace a lost disc or two, welcome to Solitude.

Take the lift, or walk over from Brighton. This course starts high on the Solitude resort, and lets you wander down the mountain. Two steep uphill holes, and a few neutral holes, otherwise, a great downhill course. The last hole is 1200 feet with a huge vertical drop. At over 300 feet wide, there is no guarantee you will find the fairway, and even if you do, you may still lose your disc. But, find the perfect line, and your disc will never stop flying.


Cons: Getting to the first tee is a bit of a job, requiring either paying for the lift, or taking a half mile walk from Brighton. There is a good chance of losing a disc. I personally love the tee boxes, but some may find them a bit on the short side.
Other Thoughts: This is an epic mountain resort.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 lost and found

2-4    7/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great downhill mountain course. I highly recommend solitude as a great disc golf experience in Utah.
Cons: The reason for this review is to warn disc golfers about the Solitude lost and found 'Black Hole'. DO NOT turn discs into the Solitude lost and found. I lost a disc and another player found it the same day. He called me and explained that he was leaving it with the lost and found. I phoned Solitude to make sure the disc was there and the guy told me "I'm looking right at it." When I returned to get the disc, I was directed to the lift shack near 18 basket. I described my disc to the guy at the shack and he retrieved a box of 15-20 ratty discs and literally threw them down the hill to where we were standing and said "take what you need man."
Zero accountability with the Solitude lost and found.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.