Providence Village, TX 
Lake Providence DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 5/2018)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Lake Providence DGC

1    6/7/2019   6/8/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Decent tee signs.
-- Elevation change on a very small piece of land.
-- Good baskets (Mach II).
-- Water in play on one hole.
Cons: -- Only six holes.
-- Major safety hazard on at least two holes due to walking path and blind shots. DO NOT play without a spotter.
-- In addition to the path that creates a safety hazard, holes 1 and 6 are way too close together. In particular, #6 tee is basically in the #1 fairway.
-- Gravel tee pads. They might be adequate because the holes are short (No. 2. says 360, but it is at least 100 feet shorter than that), but the No. 4 pad is already starting to wash away.
-- Long walks (particularly for such a short course) between 1-2 and 5-6.
Other Thoughts: -- GPS might take you to the cul-de-sac on Oakmont, but there is basically NO parking there. Park in the lot for the park on Cedar Lake (at the boat ramp). There is a pavilion there with a water fountain. Walk the extra few hundred feet east to the #1 tee.
-- Two of the three safety issues seem like fairly easy fixes. Move the #1 tee (gravel, so not a big problem) south, closer to the edge of the property. Move the #6 tee closer to the walking path (you're throwing away from it, so no harm there). You now have much more room between the holes. On #5, trim the underbrush to create a straight path uphill to the basket instead of a RHBH hyzer that goes over the walking path. You probably need to trim a few limbs, but I don't think you need to take out a tree. In addition to increased safety, I think this makes the hole better.
-- This is listed as private, but there is no gate and no security. However, the first time someone gets hit by a disc, this course might get pulled.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better

1    12/9/2018   12/10/2018
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs and baskets
Interesting layout
Cons: Could not find basket #2 making this a 5 hole
Not worth going out of the way

Very private area but when its cold no one is here
Other Thoughts: Not worth going out of your way but if your around it fast and nice

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Providence

1    6/8/2018   6/19/2018
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has good teesigns and is easy to follow since it is so short. The lake can come into play on 3 of the 6 holes if you allow it to on 1,2 and 6. The course makes good use of the thick woods that it has access too.
Cons: The biggest issue with the course is that there are multiple shots that you are throwing blind and/or over sidewalks. When I was playing the course I saw a few people running on the side walk that makes its way around the lake and through the woods where the course. Make sure you run around the corner to make sure it is clear prior to your throw.
Other Thoughts: This is short course located at the back of the neighborhood. You will park near the lake and hole 1 is on the right hand side. The course accomplishes what it sets out to do. In this community they are trying to provide different recreational activities. The course isn't challenging but it gives exposure and a practice area to disc golf. This is listed as a private course but there isn't a security guard or anything to get past. I didn't have any issues going to and playing the disc golf course. Since the course private (and in general) be respectful and pack out what you pack in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Private course that isn't completely private

1    5/27/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Defined teepads
Teesigns for each hole
6 decent baskets
Course is decently kept since it is set in a small sub division
Cons: Only 6 holes
Natural teepads
Rough is really rough
Errant shot on hole 2 can make you pay
Other Thoughts: Not the greatest of courses, but set on a nice piece of property and in a nice sub division. Always a nice quick bagger course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 private course - no entry

1    12/13/2016   9/5/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice tees with crushed granite
-signs at each tee with distances and hole diagram
-brand new Mach baskets
-a few fun shots
Cons: -private course, residents only, very active and hostile HOA
-very much a danger to other park users: 3 blind shots across or along a walking path and 2 more open holes where the path can come into play; so 5 out of 6 holes with serious safety concerns
-the 3 open shots are pretty boring except hole 2 has the lake in play on the left and a nasty ravine on the right
-the 3 wooded holes are pretty much either easy deuces or hellacious, super thick rough
Other Thoughts: Lake Providence DGC is an afterthought amenity in a community park dominated by Providence Lake. There is a walking path around the lake and unfortunately the course follows the path on 5 out of the 6 holes.

This course is a danger to other park users and shouldn't be played alone. Even though the park is not busy, you need a spotter on the 3 wooded holes to make sure you don't cause an incident. The 3 open holes either have the walking path in play or the lake in the case of hole 2.

Thankfully, this course will be not be played often. The community is very strict about trespassing and have already threatened to pull the course if outsiders persist in coming to play here. That may or may not actually be a bad thing but the point is that this course is for the people who live here. It is best left to the few folks utilizing it who are residents since it can't handle the volume of other players and honestly, it's not worth coming to play anyway.

I held off on reviewing this course as I didn't want to draw attention to it but there are already a couple reviews now so oh well. Let it be known that other players aren't welcome here and it's no loss anyway. If you're looking for a private course worth sneaking on to, go to Windsong Ranch and thank me later.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

1    8/16/2017   8/17/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: crushed granet tee boxes
decent signs
New Mach II baskets
defined fairways
Cons: 2 different hard left fairways
3 holes that throw along the sidewalk and you can't see anyone coming.
long walks between parking lot to course, between 1 and 2 and between 5 and 6.

Other Thoughts: I literally found out about this course this morning. I stopped by for a quick round.

The actual parking lot is a little walk to the course. At least you can see hole 6 and the tee sign from the parking lot.

first 2 holes throw across the dam for the lake, then you have a few shots in the woods along the walking path. (very dangerous)

then back to the 220 wide open hole 6.

I was really scared to go for some of the shots, I had my wife walk down the fairway and give me the all clear before I threw.

I ran into a local who told me about 3 alternate holes he plays to make it 9.

A) throw from the dock by the parking lot to basket 6

B) between 1 and 2, there is a trash can, throw from that can to basket 5. (he said he throws his drive, plays 2 to 4, then plays 5 and his alt shot)

C) throw from that trash can from B again to basket 1.

This course is not long, hole 2 is NOT 360 (more like 260) and you have two holes that would take a pretty good trick shot to get the bird. (I had a 50ft putt on 5 with a skip off the sidewalk) I think hole 2 is an up an over the top shot to get the bird. Not sure there is enough room for a hard skip.

But, for someone just starting out, those holes are not bad because it might be out of there range.

The lake really only comes into play on hole 2, if you right hand hyzer out, your disc is gone in the lake.

mmm, I am all over the place......

Would I play here again?

I can't see playing it again. It is a quick course to play as long as you stay out of the rough. Good ace runs on a few of the holes.

The best part was the guy I ran into told me about Fish Trap Disc Golf Course nearby. Not listed on this web site (Yet) so I didn't know about it either. Heading up there Saturday to play that multi basket course. (was told it has multiple baskets on some of the holes)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small Community Challenge

1    8/9/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginners course for the community.
Nice new tee signs.
Adequate gravel tees for the distance.
New Mach II baskets
Couple of challenging holes for advance players
Short quick round.
Don't expect it gets much play.
Cons: Gravel tees.
Short open holes.
Walking trail comes into play on most holes.
2 blind shots with potential injuries to park goers.
Other Thoughts: Course is built basically for the community.
Not much here for a advanced to pro player.
Good course for practice more then anything.
Area has a lot of future potential.
Lake comes into play on a couple holes.
No parking lot just a open cul de sac to park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.