Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #6 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Basket is nestled under the large oak trees deep center-right of pic



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

1    6/10/2021   6/10/2021
Review By: Breh
Played: 179  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Umm there is lots of parking lot area, and places to park once you enter the park, hole 1 is right by parking lot easy find
Big long teepads!!! Might be the selling point here but the tee pads are in amazing condition with length wish more courses had these pads. Tee signs are adequate and nice as well, with nice stone benches near the tee pads.
This is a great course for all skill levels, as it's mostly open and averages around the 250 mark on hole distance.
Pros will find it on the easy side, but it's very well taken care of and manicured. If not for player traffic would be a great quick 18. Most shots are pretty open and birdies to be had
Baskets were in good shape and the lines were very nice to forehand and backhand players.
Baskets had arrows pointing you to next pad
Cons: Pay to park
Can get really busy with big groups and new players
Some fairways play close together and you might hear the occasional fore!
4 to 5 can be confusing but you'll find it if you just follow the path.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great place to get out learn the game and work on your mid accuracy and some ace runs

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great course for intermediate player and first time in the area

1    9/25/2019   9/25/2019
Review By: psvines
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Signage is the best I've experienced ever, very easy to navigate.
Excellent tee pads, concrete with brick borders.
Tape on basket tines indicate direction to next tee.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind, though not particularly long, it worked well for not being a long thrower.
Other Thoughts: I'll definitely play again when in the Austin area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

2-4    4/23/2019   4/25/2019
Review By: blake833
Played: 146  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zilker is an incredibly popular park with an incredibly popular 18 hole disc golf course in Austin. Hole 1 is right by the parking lot. It's easy to see why the course gets so much play, it's very easy to digest, especially as a first timer.

Each of the holes is pretty short and manageable, straightforward disc golf. The distances are good par 3's for beginners, tempting twos for pro's. The back 9 is longer more difficult two's, and maybe just out of reach for a beginner, but not daunting. The front 9 does make a great beginner course, and the back 9 completes a pretty fun round.

The baskets are old discatchers, holding up well. The tee pads are full concrete, the signs are well designed maps on large rocks. Navigation is pretty easy, with maybe a couple spots on the front 9 where it gets kind of crowded and you could get turned around.
Cons: It's lack of length is just fine for beginners, not as fun for people who want a couple par 4s or a par 5 on the course.

A lot of the holes are just kind of straight shots. There are some fun lines, but maybe just a few holes out of the 18 that bend left or right.

I played on a Tuesday, but it looks like the parking is pay-to-park on the weekends. Just keep that in mind if you're passing through.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course. Austin has some pretty notable courses for various reasons, this one for just being a fun casual round, easy to access for people wondering what this game is like.

Zilker Park was a great warm up round, and I would play this course anytime I'm in town. I've played with a lot of friends before and if you're just looking to have fun this is the course for you

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent beginner/casual course

2-4    6/23/2018   7/11/2018
Review By: TheQuietCroc
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Tee signs are in excellent condition and show where to go for the next hole
- Concrete tee pads are in excellent condition
- Large rock slabs for sitting can be found at most tees
- A few holes play with elevation change, hole 6 being my favorite
- There's enough variety of open and tree-filled holes
- Hole distances are very beginner friendly
-- Easily the most beginner friendly course I've played
- Adequately shady for half the course
Cons: - The path from hole 4 to hole 5 is really confusing for a first timer
- Hole 9's basket is placed in a way that implies it's a practice basket
- Holes 7, 10, and 11 are pretty close to a road, with 7 being near a low traffic road and 10 & 11 being next to a high traffic frontage road
-- If you're not confident in your shot, I'd skip holes 10 and 11
- Lots of pedestrian traffic along the road to the course from park and pool goers
- You can sometimes run into park goers in the middle of some back nine holes
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park charges a parking fee of $5 per car from March to September on weekends and holidays. Some players will pay it forward and pass on their ticket to you if you're lucky.

Pokemon Go: there's one stop on the course, no gyms. The course is a high traffic area so you can find plenty of Pokemon spawns.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome little gem

1    2/24/2018   2/25/2018
Review By: Happydc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a birdie-fest, everything is right there in front of you. Great tee pads, we loved how y'all do it in Austin. So convenient to our Downtown hotel. Well maintained, mulch kept it dry.
Cons: Not really any long holes.
Other Thoughts: Played quick, good pace. Next tee pads not always easy to remember, were indicated on map. Fun, competitive little course. Tidy. We weren't exhausted afterward and still had energy to party and walk around downtown.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Popular Recreational Course With Great Amenities!

1    10/1/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1506  Reviewed: 1451  Exp: 43.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I always laugh when I read multiple reviewers list a course's popularity as a con. It's too crowded! You have to wait on # 1 to tee. These are a testament to a course's design and enjoyment factor. Only on the rare occasion is it due to a lack of competition. Morley Field in San Diego is the perfect example of that having the same great design and fun factor and almost no competing courses. Austin has a wealth of courses but there's a reason Zilker is so popular. Zilker Park is a lovely, well maintained recreational course and recreational players make up the greatest percentage of disc golfers.

Zilker is a very large, city park with much going on. This morning workers everywhere were setting up for a giant music festival. There was a large group of high school wrestlers engaged in a pre-season conditioning program and there was a disc golf tourney starting at 10 AM. Parking was a problem this morning. The park is too popular.

The course's amenities are second to none. Only, here in Texas have I seen these large stone benches. They are much more aesthetically pleasing than the hodge podge of old broken down lawn chairs and poorly built handmade benches you find on many courses. The same goes for the great tee signs which are bolted to these large stones. They have great information, look great and most importantly, appear to be vandal proof. The baskets are Discatchers in good shape. Another great idea here are the octagonal shaped, rubber mats below each basket. They look nice and are aids in the fight to prevent erosion around the baskets. The tee pads are masterful. They consist of a nice suzed concrete pad with a large border of paving stones.

Most holes are in the 225-275' range. There are only a couple playing over 300' making this a true recreational course. I think intermediate players can enjoy Zilker, as well. I see it as being beginner friendly, too. The course is mostly flat with just a touch of elevation here and there. It's mostly open with scattered trees but there are more trees and brush in the front nine.

Navigation is good with well worn paths leading you to the next tee although as I was hurrying through trying to beat the tournament start, I missed one obvious path and wandered away on another.


Cons: Rec distances. No par 4's or 5's.

Fairly repetitive design with no raised baskets, no crazy 90 degree turning holes and no water.

The holes near the busy street are quite loud, if that bothers you.

Although generally easy to navigate, I would love to see some simple next tee arrows attached to the basket. I saw a course in Michigan that had next tee stickers stuck to the bands on the Discatchers.

Players throw hysers out over the park road on # 7. Be sure and check for traffic before throwing.

The # 3 tee box is just left of the # 2 fairway. You need to be aware when standing at the # 2 pad and not just ignore those fellows teeing off behind you.
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course for you Austin players. If I lived here, this would be my go to course. I didn't get to play 16 & 17 due to the tournament getting started. My congrats to the Austin Park's Department. This is how you build a first class course from start to finish. As opposed to the buffoons who so badly bungled the design and building of Willow Fork Park DGC in Katy. If I were the mayor of Katy, I'd poach this parks and recreation director away from Austin. Maybe double his salary! Guarantee him hookers for life.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very Well Done

5+    2/15/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 31.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very large tee pads, well maintained, well designed, sense of fairways, slightly hilly, easy to find someone to play with, many players using the course. Holes are variable in length and amateur friendly, but some holes are 325-375 ft. which I like. Variety of shots is required, straight, hyzer, anhyzer, 200 ft to 400 ft holes.
Cons: Being Austin, about 33% of the players stop at the table near hole 5 tee pad and smoke marijuana or something else. Lots of beginners here and I got hit with a disc -- nobody yelled "fore". No two-drive holes, except #10, which is about 400 ft with a low ceiling.
Other Thoughts: It's good practice for your drive, upshot and putt game. Although, not many radical shots are required, no spike hyzers, no rollers, no tunnel shots, no over-water shots. Designed by John Houck.

I did not have to pay for parking. The disc golfers won this battle and the parking meters are not being used.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker Park- Calibration Course

5+    2/12/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a delightful course that I use to calibrate my game as well as get reps in for more casual and/or post-workday games in throughout the week.

Easily accessible (right off Mopac) and parking is hardly ever a problem.

All of the tee boxes here are actually my favorite for the area, as they have extra length around them with cobblestone.

Each hole is clearly marked for distance and with a good graphic of the hole.

The back 9 holes still has enough length for a bit of a challenge, with some tight lines. It is also be very beginner friendly and a great place to bring inductees into the disc golf world (REMEMBER! GROW THE SPORT!)

I love using this course to try different discs on different lines. Who would've thought a RHBH power-hyzer to the sky with a Harp on Hole 9 would be an ideal shot for my level?? The shot variety isn't amazing, but at least there are holes of various lengths and directions, so I can get work for both my RHBH and RHFH and my overhead shots.

Baskets are Discatchers and all clean/maintained. They seem to hate me sometimes, as I get a lot of chainouts, but that's personal... The whole course is really well maintained, with most fairways being grass it's light on your disc as well. It can be very open/forgiving on most holes, which is nice when I'm practicing, but it's also nice because I've never lost a disc here.

In summary this is a very clean, shorter course that's well worth a visit. It's still challenging enough for me, and I can consistently work on improving my game and shots, particularly on the front 9 holes.
Cons: I don't want to diss this course at all, as it's perfect for what it is and my expectations.

However, it really doesn't offer a ton of variety when it comes to holes- it's all Par 3's, nothing over 400ft. That's OK for me, but I know others yearn for longer holes and more challenge.

There are a ton of pedestrians and park-goers, as it's in Zilker Park's circle area. That being said, I've had picnickers sit in the middle of the course with discs whirling by them. That doesn't make sense to me, but those who don't know the sport basically ignore us- for better or worse.'

Also, it can get really crowded. Since it's so beginner friendly, I find Hole #1 gets backed up pretty bad at times. I usually try to play the front 9 once then repeat the back 9 a few times just to avoid the clogging.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a great short course. To reiterate, it's my calibration course- I know as a variable it doesn't change much and is very manageable, so I can bust out new discs and throws knowing how the course will handle it. I really like Zilker and it's the one I play the most, and although it's not the best ever for what it is as a short, clean course? It's perfect

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    5/6/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 496  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2016
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.230 Rating) I find Zilker to be a fun and relaxing round for every skill level.
- TEES - Some of the best tees in all of Austin. They are concrete, long and wide.
- CHARACTER - There is a community board, (no map unfortunately) at hole 1. There is very well artistically illustrated and accurate hole signage at each tee. Most of the tees are shaded well and there is some of the best seating in all of Austin at each hole. Zilker however, is void of multiple tees, extra pin placements, and a practice basket.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is very low. There are a couple of moderate overgrowth areas between holes 3 and 8. There are no water hazards. Perfect for beginners and rec players.
- MAINTENANCE - The course appears to be constantly trimmed and manicured. I've played here at least ten times and never saw the grass in the wide fairways, higher than 6 inches. Despite the heavy use, trash was in check.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are very aceable to intermediate players and above, You will have great opportunities on holes (1,2,4,5,9,11,14).
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In my opinion, Zilker is one of the most beautiful courses to walk in the Austin Metro area. You will have wonderful views and picture opportunities of downtown Austin's skyline. I will also add that the wild flower bloom in March/April can be quite amazing.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways and no overgrowth. No water hazards in play.
- CHILL AREAS - holes 3 threw 6 all play threw a somewhat secluded wooded area.
- LOCATION - located in the "crown jewel" of the Austin park system, and across the river from downtown.
Cons: Just a few minor things.
- PARKING FEE - Although there is no cost to play, there is a cost to park your vehicle. I have gotten a ticket before, I think it was 20 bucks if I recall correctly.
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use and sometimes has mob golfing going on. In addition, there are plenty of other park users and walkers about. I don't think I've ever played a round here and did not have to stop and wait for other park users.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are a touch below average. There are no water features (creek on pond) along the layout. All but 3 of the holes play between 220 and 320 feet. There are only two sweeping shots (#16 and #18) There are only a couple of blind baskets. There are no par 4's or 5's.
- ELEVATION - Really not much to speak of. I know that lack of elevation is typically for other parts of eastern Texas, but its far less common for a south Austin course. No more than 40' elevation change throughout the entire course and no more than 20' on any one hole.
- DIFFICULTY - Not much of a challenge to advanced/pro level players as they should have no problem finishing well under. Intermediate and Recreational players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish a couple above par.

Other Thoughts: An all around good course. I recommend this course to those visiting downtown as it is easy to get to and quick to play. If you have more time in the area, check out Circle C or Bible Ridge nearby.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 DG @ZilkerPark

5+    6/25/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 36.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location = Central Austin, most folks know where ZilkerPark is but locating the #1 teebox and parking may be an issue.
Easy = Not a challenging course for intermediate to advance players.
Tee box and layout = all tee boxes have pads and have very good signage. Course is easy to follow if you pay attention.
The view of downtown Austin TX is great.
Cons: You now have to pay for $5 for parking. The lot parking meter only takes plastic and coins. The parking pass gets you all day parking up until 9:59pm.
Other Thoughts: We played this course in the spring after an overnight rainstorm and the course drained very well. Little mud on our shoes and hardly any standing water. Tee boxes and cage surrounding all were damp but not wet.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.