Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #6 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Basket is nestled under the large oak trees deep center-right of pic


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Popular Recreational Course With Great Amenities!

1    10/1/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I always laugh when I read multiple reviewers list a course's popularity as a con. It's too crowded! You have to wait on # 1 to tee. These are a testament to a course's design and enjoyment factor. Only on the rare occasion is it due to a lack of competition. Morley Field in San Diego is the perfect example of that having the same great design and fun factor and almost no competing courses. Austin has a wealth of courses but there's a reason Zilker is so popular. Zilker Park is a lovely, well maintained recreational course and recreational players make up the greatest percentage of disc golfers.

Zilker is a very large, city park with much going on. This morning workers everywhere were setting up for a giant music festival. There was a large group of high school wrestlers engaged in a pre-season conditioning program and there was a disc golf tourney starting at 10 AM. Parking was a problem this morning. The park is too popular.

The course's amenities are second to none. Only, here in Texas have I seen these large stone benches. They are much more aesthetically pleasing than the hodge podge of old broken down lawn chairs and poorly built handmade benches you find on many courses. The same goes for the great tee signs which are bolted to these large stones. They have great information, look great and most importantly, appear to be vandal proof. The baskets are Discatchers in good shape. Another great idea here are the octagonal shaped, rubber mats below each basket. They look nice and are aids in the fight to prevent erosion around the baskets. The tee pads are masterful. They consist of a nice suzed concrete pad with a large border of paving stones.

Most holes are in the 225-275' range. There are only a couple playing over 300' making this a true recreational course. I think intermediate players can enjoy Zilker, as well. I see it as being beginner friendly, too. The course is mostly flat with just a touch of elevation here and there. It's mostly open with scattered trees but there are more trees and brush in the front nine.

Navigation is good with well worn paths leading you to the next tee although as I was hurrying through trying to beat the tournament start, I missed one obvious path and wandered away on another.


Cons: Rec distances. No par 4's or 5's.

Fairly repetitive design with no raised baskets, no crazy 90 degree turning holes and no water.

The holes near the busy street are quite loud, if that bothers you.

Although generally easy to navigate, I would love to see some simple next tee arrows attached to the basket. I saw a course in Michigan that had next tee stickers stuck to the bands on the Discatchers.

Players throw hysers out over the park road on # 7. Be sure and check for traffic before throwing.

The # 3 tee box is just left of the # 2 fairway. You need to be aware when standing at the # 2 pad and not just ignore those fellows teeing off behind you.
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course for you Austin players. If I lived here, this would be my go to course. I didn't get to play 16 & 17 due to the tournament getting started. My congrats to the Austin Park's Department. This is how you build a first class course from start to finish. As opposed to the buffoons who so badly bungled the design and building of Willow Fork Park DGC in Katy. If I were the mayor of Katy, I'd poach this parks and recreation director away from Austin. Maybe double his salary! Guarantee him hookers for life.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    5/6/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 175  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.230 Rating) I find Zilker to be a fun and relaxing round for every skill level.
- TEES - Some of the best tees in all of Austin. They are concrete, long and wide.
- CHARACTER - There is a community board, (no map unfortunately) at hole 1. There is very well artistically illustrated and accurate hole signage at each tee. Most of the tees are shaded well and there is some of the best seating in all of Austin at each hole. Zilker however, is void of multiple tees, extra pin placements, and a practice basket.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is very low. There are a couple of moderate overgrowth areas between holes 3 and 8. There are no water hazards. Perfect for beginners and rec players.
- MAINTENANCE - The course appears to be constantly trimmed and manicured. I've played here at least ten times and never saw the grass in the wide fairways, higher than 6 inches. Despite the heavy use, trash was in check.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are very aceable to intermediate players and above, You will have great opportunities on holes (1,2,4,5,9,11,14).
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In my opinion, Zilker is one of the most beautiful courses to walk in the Austin Metro area. You will have wonderful views and picture opportunities of downtown Austin's skyline. I will also add that the wild flower bloom in March/April can be quite amazing.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways and no overgrowth. No water hazards in play.
- CHILL AREAS - holes 3 threw 6 all play threw a somewhat secluded wooded area.
- LOCATION - located in the "crown jewel" of the Austin park system, and across the river from downtown.
Cons: Just a few minor things.
- PARKING FEE - Although there is no cost to play, there is a cost to park your vehicle. I have gotten a ticket before, I think it was 20 bucks if I recall correctly.
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use and sometimes has mob golfing going on. In addition, there are plenty of other park users and walkers about. I don't think I've ever played a round here and did not have to stop and wait for other park users.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are a touch below average. There are no water features (creek on pond) along the layout. All but 3 of the holes play between 220 and 320 feet. There are only two sweeping shots (#16 and #18) There are only a couple of blind baskets. There are no par 4's or 5's.
- ELEVATION - Really not much to speak of. I know that lack of elevation is typically for other parts of eastern Texas, but its far less common for a south Austin course. No more than 40' elevation change throughout the entire course and no more than 20' on any one hole.
- DIFFICULTY - Not much of a challenge to advanced/pro level players as they should have no problem finishing well under. Intermediate and Recreational players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish a couple above par.

Other Thoughts: An all around good course. I recommend this course to those visiting downtown as it is easy to get to and quick to play. If you have more time in the area, check out Circle C or Bible Ridge nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

DG @ZilkerPark

5+    6/25/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location = Central Austin, most folks know where ZilkerPark is but locating the #1 teebox and parking may be an issue.
Easy = Not a challenging course for intermediate to advance players.
Tee box and layout = all tee boxes have pads and have very good signage. Course is easy to follow if you pay attention.
The view of downtown Austin TX is great.
Cons: You now have to pay for $5 for parking. The lot parking meter only takes plastic and coins. The parking pass gets you all day parking up until 9:59pm.
Other Thoughts: We played this course in the spring after an overnight rainstorm and the course drained very well. Little mud on our shoes and hardly any standing water. Tee boxes and cage surrounding all were damp but not wet.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Austin Disc Golf Experience

1    3/24/2016   3/25/2016
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 83  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a pleasant surprise based on the previous reviews that I had read.

I was unsure about the kind of topography or wooded area in this part of Texas. However, I thought this course did an excellent job of using the lay of the land to weave between trees and across fields.

- Really good mix of shots, most of which required control.
- The flow of the course worked well, with the parking in the middle.
- The location of this course was really great. I spent a lot of time in Zilker park with my family, so the location was very convenient. And the backdrop of downtown Austin is great. It made the park feel very accessible.
- Quite a few birdie opportunities to make it exciting.
- Oh, and I thought the stone benches were super awesome. They seemed to be somewhat randomly spaced, but top quality benches.
Cons: I didn't find and major cons with this course, just a few things that could be improved upon.

- Some of the baskets and teepads were placed within close proximity on the front 9.
- A lot of the short hook shots seemed to favor lefties or a sidearm shot. Not necessarily a con, but worth noting.
- The course was moderately busy around 3pm on a weekday. With that said I only had to wait on 2-3 holes during my round.
- This course was not the most challenging, but I knew that going in to it.
Other Thoughts: I somehow managed to get 4 birdies on the back 9 and none on the front 9. Not sure how that happened. The front 9 plays quite a bit shorter.

Around hole 7 I caught up with a couple local players. We talked for a bit and they let me play through the remaining holes with them. Its a good thing when you have a friendly disc golf community. I can see why the park is popular and the folks in Austin made disc golf enjoyable too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Location is incorrect

1    11/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This is just a place holder for now till i can come back and review but:

The location on here is incorrect. It took me to another part of Zilker park that is nowere near the DG course.

If you are coming south on Mo-Pac and get off the exit to the turn around for barton springs... head north on barton to the second right wich should be Andrew Zilker Road, then make a left. The course is in there.

(didnt find it till i did some random exploring)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Convenient Location

5+    10/27/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a short course. It's a perfect course to practice your mid-range throws if you're at least an intermediate or advanced player. It will make an easy and quick round when you're playing the course when it's not busy.

Ever since they went with all 18 baskets, we all can play true round of disc golf as opposed to having to play 9 holes twice in the past. There's good amount of variety of shot selections for a short course.

The location is perfect for casual players who are looking to hit the town after a round. Down the street from the course is several restaurants that you can get drinks or grub. There's always the famous Barton Springs Pool that you can cool off after a round if it's particularly a hot day.
Cons: The problems with this course are going to be a bit obvious to some people who have played this course before.

First of all, it can get very crowded, and it can get very tedious trying to get a round in with the casual players who may not know the basic etiquettes or have the decency to let people play through.

The second problem is that, even though there's "new" stone benches, the signage seemed to be an afterthought. They were never installed, so visitors from out of town will be confused about the navigation or about where the first hole is. The baskets are fairly old, so some of you may not enjoy that as well.

It can get boring for the most advanced players unless they're looking for ace runs. That's something to keep in mind, because the Austin area certainly have other courses that can give better challenges to the more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a score of three. I think it is a good course for what it is, and nothing less. It's certainly better suited for the more casual players who are learning the game of disc golf. It's the reason why it's so popular along with it's proximity to downtown and the Barton Springs Pool.

I come here a lot during the week and during early mornings on the weekend. I usually only bring mid-ranges and maybe couple of fairway drivers. I've come to enjoy this course because it really helped me improve my throwing skills with mid-range discs.

For you who are more advanced, it may be a better idea to find other courses in the area as Zilker will not give you the ultimate experience, especially with the weekend crowds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Beginner Course

1    5/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 40  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open holes making the course beginner friendly. They now have concrete tees on all holes. They also have large stone blocks at each tee for those waiting to throw to sit on. The few wooded hole didn't have tons of underbrush so very hard to lose a disc here. Friendly locals. Some of the tees where very large giving you freedom in how you tee off.
Cons: No Tee signs though one of the people I talked to who was part of the Worlds Biggest Disc Golf Weekend Event( WBDGW.com ) said tee signs would be in soon. Some of the holes are just to close for my comfort. I am not comfortable having disc shoot by with in 20 feet of me. This wasn't because I had thrown bad or the other people had it is just that some of the baskets and fairways are very close to each other. There may have been more trees in the past that helped prevent this. They are having a drought and you can see where trees have died off and they had to cut them down.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed attending the WBDGW event. Everyone was friendly.
This course is very beginner friendly. Easy to see most baskets from the tees. No overly long holes, no thing I have learned is beginners hate throwing 10 times on just one hole cause of how long it is. Little or no underbrush makes recovering from a bad throw easy. I will defiantly be bring my in-laws who are very much beginners to play here the next time I am in town. Layout if cart/stroller friendly. Saw people pushing baby strollers around the course. Saw a few dogs. Not sure if the park rules allow for off leash or not.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the kids

2-4    10/9/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy and quick. In town. Great course for beginners.
Cons: Crowds on the weekend. Takes forever to recover from rain.
Other Thoughts: Bring your kids out to the south 9 and watch them light it up. For a good golfer it's a putter drive on 5 of the 9.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Downtown for a quick round

5+    2/19/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 217  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Until I put a midrange in my bag I hated this course. I just found the second shot to be between putter and driver for me. Now I drive most holes with my midrange and my attitude about the course has changed drastically.

As stated before this is really two 9 hole courses but sometimes all 18 pins are there. Both North and South courses offer different shot selections, with North being a bit more open and longer for the most part and the South being a bit tighter but shorter on average. Together as 18 holes it's a nice round. Or just play the 9 twice and you're good as well.

This is the course I would recommend to beginners in Austin...or if you've been playing a while and want to introduce someone else to the sport. I'd say it's a little less crowded than Pease and not as frustrating for a new player. They won't have to worry about throwing discs in the water. And you can work on your midrange and short game. Win-Win.

Once you get over the relatively standardized difference of the hole lengths this course is exceptionally designed for such a small area. Even though the North side is open, it does require a lot of different shot types. Left and right turns, long low shots (or rollers,) uphill, downhill, skip shots and a nice long drive. The South side will make you place your up shots, maneuver around trees, forehand or anhyzer, throw off a hill, long shot under some trees, a tight tree hole and a putt drive. All in all, it has a bit of everything.

I have a newfound love of this course and it makes a nice companion course for Pease...or if Pease is too crowded it's a 5 minute drive and usually not as bad.
Cons: Sometimes the course gets crowded and there are a lot of new players here. You may be looking forward to playing one side and the other is up. The North side has you playing next to a busy road at times and sometimes you'll have to deal with a honk or two.

The only real cons are lack of signs, dirt tee pads on the South side can get muddy. Only 9 holes at times. And doesn't really let you get out there and throw huge bombs as much as I'd like.
Other Thoughts: Park under the overpass on the way down to avoid the park fee on the weekends. Really makes a for a nice quick round or a secondary round if you've just played somewhere else and just need a bit more to top off your disc golfing for the day.

A great place to visit for Ice Bowl early in the year if you don't want to play in the snows up north. lol

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/12/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: You Can't really loose a disc on this course unless you get it stuck in a tree. It is a quick play and not usually to busy.
Cons: Short, only 9 holes at a time. Only half the course has cement tees.
Other Thoughts: Bartons Springs is right there if you want to jump in after a round. NICE

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.