Disc Golf Center
Austin, TX 
Zilker Park Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #18 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Very Well Done

5+    2/15/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 27.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very large tee pads, well maintained, well designed, sense of fairways, slightly hilly, easy to find someone to play with, many players using the course. Holes are variable in length and amateur friendly, but some holes are 325-375 ft. which I like. Variety of shots is required, straight, hyzer, anhyzer, 200 ft to 400 ft holes.
Cons: Being Austin, about 33% of the players stop at the table near hole 5 tee pad and smoke marijuana or something else. Lots of beginners here and I got hit with a disc -- nobody yelled "fore". No two-drive holes, except #10, which is about 400 ft with a low ceiling.
Other Thoughts: It's good practice for your drive, upshot and putt game. Although, not many radical shots are required, no spike hyzers, no rollers, no tunnel shots, no over-water shots. Designed by John Houck.

I did not have to pay for parking. The disc golfers won this battle and the parking meters are not being used.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Zilker Park- Calibration Course

5+    2/12/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: tst3c
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a delightful course that I use to calibrate my game as well as get reps in for more casual and/or post-workday games in throughout the week.

Easily accessible (right off Mopac) and parking is hardly ever a problem.

All of the tee boxes here are actually my favorite for the area, as they have extra length around them with cobblestone.

Each hole is clearly marked for distance and with a good graphic of the hole.

The back 9 holes still has enough length for a bit of a challenge, with some tight lines. It is also be very beginner friendly and a great place to bring inductees into the disc golf world (REMEMBER! GROW THE SPORT!)

I love using this course to try different discs on different lines. Who would've thought a RHBH power-hyzer to the sky with a Harp on Hole 9 would be an ideal shot for my level?? The shot variety isn't amazing, but at least there are holes of various lengths and directions, so I can get work for both my RHBH and RHFH and my overhead shots.

Baskets are Discatchers and all clean/maintained. They seem to hate me sometimes, as I get a lot of chainouts, but that's personal... The whole course is really well maintained, with most fairways being grass it's light on your disc as well. It can be very open/forgiving on most holes, which is nice when I'm practicing, but it's also nice because I've never lost a disc here.

In summary this is a very clean, shorter course that's well worth a visit. It's still challenging enough for me, and I can consistently work on improving my game and shots, particularly on the front 9 holes.
Cons: I don't want to diss this course at all, as it's perfect for what it is and my expectations.

However, it really doesn't offer a ton of variety when it comes to holes- it's all Par 3's, nothing over 400ft. That's OK for me, but I know others yearn for longer holes and more challenge.

There are a ton of pedestrians and park-goers, as it's in Zilker Park's circle area. That being said, I've had picnickers sit in the middle of the course with discs whirling by them. That doesn't make sense to me, but those who don't know the sport basically ignore us- for better or worse.'

Also, it can get really crowded. Since it's so beginner friendly, I find Hole #1 gets backed up pretty bad at times. I usually try to play the front 9 once then repeat the back 9 a few times just to avoid the clogging.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a great short course. To reiterate, it's my calibration course- I know as a variable it doesn't change much and is very manageable, so I can bust out new discs and throws knowing how the course will handle it. I really like Zilker and it's the one I play the most, and although it's not the best ever for what it is as a short, clean course? It's perfect

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker Park

5+    1/1/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 35  Reviewed: 21
This review was updated on 3/14/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As the title says, great course for beginners. Some variation in holes, but none are too challenging for beginners and most are fairly short (only two over 300 ft I think). Also, the entire course has recently undergone renovations and it looks wonderful now. New tee pads and tee signs.
Cons: Sadly there is only one hole on this course that is even moderately challenging. I love playing this course with friends that haven't played disc golf before, but aside from that this course isn't great compared to others around Austin.
Other Thoughts: There are many challenging courses around Austin which makes an easy course like Zilker a welcome to Austin disc golf. If you're introducing people to the sport, this is a great first course to take them to, but if not I would recommend playing somewhere else.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great practice, confidence builder

5+    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked in one of the best parks in central Austin
Cons: Crowded, particularly on weekends
Other Thoughts: I know a lot of more accomplished players dismiss this course, and honestly it is for all intents the equivalent of a pitch 'n putt for stick golfers.

That said, I wish I had a course close by here in Seattle like this one. This is a great course to learn on and, for me, to simply focus on building shot consistency. It's short enough and open enough to lower the frustration level, yet enough obstacles so make you think about your shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course is great!

5+    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really you get 2 separate courses with different character, one side of the street is short and the other side longer holes. Fun ,easy to play, doesn't require a lot of discs or experience. popular, easy to pick up a game. convenient location, quick rounds.
Cons: can get crowded, sometimes large groups slow up the curse, but nothing is too bad a the holes are short. course terrain is very worn down and flat, this course gets used. parking can sometimes be inconvenient, if all else fails park under the Mo- Pac bridge across the street.
Other Thoughts: I always considered this course to be like the municipal disc golf course, it gets very heavy use and is in a great location. the fun factor is defiantly there for this course, and it's a quick fun round that wont challenge you too much. Terrain wise its a dog track golf course, but defiantly get to this one as it is a great round where you'll enjoy yourself.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short course but I love it

5+    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zilker is a great place to bring beginners as there are very few long holes. Many birdie opportunities if you can accurately throw 250-300ft drives, especially on the front 9. The course is generally very forgiving, allowing you to recover a bad drive with a well placed second throw. There are only a few holes where you might get stuck in the woods and they are all on the front 9.

It is also mostly flat with a few hills, so it is a great place to bring the family. I have brought my kids in the stroller along with me and have no problems getting around.
Cons: Difficult to navigate if you haven't played it before. Some of the holes are close to each other so beware of stray throws -- and try not to throw any yourself. :)
Other Thoughts: I love this course but work very close to it so I often play a round over my lunch break. Even with a group of 2 or 3 we can still finish in about an hour. If there are large groups in front of you, it's quite easy to skip ahead on the back 9.

Note that they charge $5 for parking on weekends, holidays, and special events (as of April 2012). You can park on the west side of Mopac (there is a little picnic area on the south side of Rollingwood Dr) and walk under the bridge if you don't want to pay. I have heard that parking under the bridge is no longer allowed and can result in getting your car towed.

One final note, this site seems to label the course as two 9 hole courses, but it was redone a few years ago and is now labeled as a full 18. So the "south" course is the front 9 and the "north" course is the back 9.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker Park

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short but sweet, Zilker Park is one of those old school courses without a lot of bells and whistles but overflowing with character and charm. Despite its lack of length, every hole seems to be tucked into just the right nook or cranny to maximize the difficulty. The challenges mostly come from trees in the fairway blocking the direct route to the basket or trees off the fairway with very low overhanging canopies. Experienced players will have lots of birdie opportunities, but they will have to carefully place their drives to do so. Novice players and even families with kids will have a blast because there aren't any hazards that will lead to frustration. The tee pads are concrete, huge, and have concrete blocks that serve as benches and concrete markers that serve as tee signs. The concrete makes navigation a snap since you can easily spot the next tee from afar, and the orientation of the blocks leave no doubt to the direction to the basket. This is a very nice touch and seems to be a staple of the Austin area courses. The terrain is mostly flat, even though the few gentle hills factor in beautifully.
Cons: There is no signage and finding the first tee pad can be tricky without a map. The crowds on the course forced my twosome to jump around to avoid long backups caused by groups of six or more. Because the layout is so tight, this was actually pretty easy to do. The tight layout did cause some stray drives to come dangerously close to us. The baskets on the north course (see below) are really showing their age and I had some trouble with them not catching well. The navigation from 4 to 5 on the south course (see below) is not marked and there are two trails--the one to the left leads to the next tee while the one to the right leads to, well, we never found out. Take the trail to the left. Other than roads that are OB, there are not a lot of hazards to increase the level of difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park actually has two separate nine hole courses (north and south) that make up the entire 18 hole course. It appears the south course is intended to play as 1-9, then the north course plays as 10-18. The south course appears to be the newer of the two, although both are quite mature and have aged well. The park itself is the centerpiece of Austin recreation and is maintained meticulously. If there was even a spot of trash on the ground, I never saw it. The park is easily accessible from the Mo-Pac freeway and all downtown surface streets, and there is plenty of parking on-site and under the freeway underpasses. There are many food offerings in the surrounding neighborhoods that are off the chart. While there are other more championship caliber courses around town, I chose Zilker Park as my first Austin course and was glad I did. It is a great introduction to the Austin disc golf scene and is sure to be enjoyed by many.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Zilker

2-4    4/12/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice open layout
Concrete pads and stone benches
Well maintained course
Good mix of lefts and rights and elevation chages
Fun and well layed out course, not overly difficult, but still challenging
Cons: The park can be crowded and at times you may have to pay for parking

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I think I'm home

5+    1/6/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: Soulfire75
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A fun course for players of all levels, alot of long open shots with some nice technical shots mixed in. A Beautiful Park in the heart of ATX!!
Cons: Can be very busy on the weekends and theres a park fee (Saturdays and Sundays only).
Other Thoughts: Zilker Park DGC is a very fun and a moderatley challenging course that is great for all levels of player. The front 9 is shorter and somewhat technical. The back 9 is longer and shots must be thought out well to be succsecful (big trees). The best thing about Zilker for me is that it's "FUN and Short" I can play a solo round at Zilker in less than an hour if I need a quick fix. Perfect for busy people who can't get enough. Zilker is also a great confidence builder. The holes are fun, challenging, but Not Impossible. The perfect course to get your "groove back".

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    1/3/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: Le4385
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice concrete tee boxes on all 18 holes. Easy to navigate, especially if you have a map. Fun holes, one where you throw from behind an old outdoor amphiteatre. Catchers in good shape. Easy, fun, and fast play through.
Cons: Road traffic can get annoying. Huge groups of new players everywhere get annoying fast. No tee signs at all.
Other Thoughts: You can do most of the holes with just a mid range if you wanted to. Parking is free unless you park near barton springs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.