Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Old School Course

1    5/8/2018   5/20/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 575  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 30.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads for all the holes
Sweet stone benches on every hole
Tee signs with map and distances
Easy to follow with paths between holes, many of them lined with wood.
Mostly wide defined fairways, good for casual/rec disc golfers
Ample parking with a restroom across the parking lot from the disc golf course.
Cons: This course was originally built in 92, so the holes are short for today's standards.
Course can be crowded as it is a popular course in the area.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here, it is a birdie fest, but the lines were fun to throw.

There is a practice hole from the parking lot to the practice basket near tee 1.
Hole 1 is a nice slight turnover across a small creek. Nice large green.
Hole 2 is your basket straight to slight turnover shot
Hole 3 is the longest hole on the course, the only one that is really a two shot hole for most players. Unless you got the big arm, placement is important so your not throwing out of the ruff for your second shot.
Now for Birdie ally, a few nice short ace runs, slight turnovers on 4 and 5, then a straight shot for hole 6 and a hyser for hole 7 and another basicly straight shot for hole 8.
Hole 9 is an interesting shot, either go over the top if your a big arm, the hyser shot is blocked by a tree 3/4 the way down the fairway. Even the turnover shot is blocked by some tree's hanging out into the fairway about 1/2 way down the fairway. At 390, I just lay up and stay in the fairway aiming to hyzer out at the tree blocking the hyzer shot.

Holes 10 and 11 are hyzer, then anhyzer shots for birdie holes.

Hole 12 is the 2nd longest hole on the course, my goal is to clear the trees 1/2 way down the fairway and try to get the 3.

Hole 13 is a nice over the slight hill shot with the basket on the right side of the fairway.

Ok, now for my only hole to whine about, hole 14 is a hard hyzer shot over the tree's. You can't see the basket and the green is actually pretty small. This is not a long hole, but it is not an easy hole to birdie unless you shot is dead on. I don't like how there is not a fairway for this hole. It is very tight for rec players.

Contrast that to hole 15 where you get to rip it down a slight hill over some brush. The brush is not too tall so it is easy to throw over. And while there is not any real fairway, there is enough areas between the brush to get around if you don't clear the bushes.

Hole 16 is a nice turnover, then to hole 17 that is a nice short hyzer shot.

Hole 18 is a good finishing hole, the fairway gets tighter as you get closer to the basket, at 300 ft, you should be going for it and can be rewarded if you hit the line and punished if you are off. The hole is a nice turnover shot.

This was a fun course to play. It was first built when you could only get DX plastic so the holes are not too long. With the course being in the ground so long, the fairways are pretty wide with plenty of small paths if you do throw off the fairway. The greens are good size and clear for the most part.

Would I play here again.

yea sure, even though there are several Championship level courses nearby, this is a fun shaded course to play if you want to have some nice ace runs and make plenty of birds.






3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very nice

1    3/21/2018   3/22/2018
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 480  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer playing holes and both dog leg left and right playing holes as well.
Tee pads are more than ample allowing for a proper run up.
The flow is logical here and there are trashcans and benches throughout the course.
Multi-use park so there are other things to do here as well.
The holes provide a good challenge but aren't so overwhelming that they will frustrate a player. This would be a place where you could take a first time player and a seasoned veteran as well and both should find something to keep them coming back.
Hole 15 was a sweet downhill shot that played to the basket that was below the tee. There was a nice gap that needed to be hit and this hole was the best IMO.
Cons: The lack of signage at many of the holes is a con that could be easily fixed IMO. For the first time guest its nice to know where the pin may be located if not visible from the tee and what the distance is etc. Now with that said I realize that sometimes things are out of the park control especially since it appears that there were signs and they've been vandalized.
Carts might have a tough time due to the rocky terrian. I wouldn't say its impossible but it will make for extra work during your round.
Some players might find the walk from hole 2's basket to 3's tee and from 9's basket to 10's tee a bit long.
Other Thoughts: Players should find that this course is challenging enough to keep them working on a complete game. A full bag of shots, BH, FH, Hyzer, Anhyzer, skip shots etc will be used. The rough isn't so bad that you can't get back in the fairway but it will make you want to stay in the fairway in order to get up and down. There are a couple of holes on the back half of the course that have some uphill and downhill action to add to the challenge here a bit. This course has good lines that make for some interesting shots and will make you use your head when you are planning your approach.
Solid course that is fun to play and a good warm up if you headed out to Circle C. If you like a course that has a bit of everything then this course will be right up your alley.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wasn’t really worth the Uber

1    2/25/2018   2/25/2018
Review By: Happydc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They have made a short course challenging. Pretty speedy pace for the most part. We liked the way they marked one wire of the basket in neon orange to direct you to next tee, why don't they all do that? Brilliant. Good variety of high and low shots required. Creative pin placement on a few holes. Makes you think harder.
Cons: Muddy when it has rained, clods of mud all over tee pads. Slick at times.
Other Thoughts: Nice practice area. Good variety of open and wooded holes. Fifteen was pretty, most fun hole. Tough to get a birdie on any hole. We were visiting from Atlanta, this was our third course to play, and ranked third behind Roy G and Zilker. We paid $15 to Uber each way, not really worth the cost to get there and back from downtown, probably should have replayed one of those two.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still great 7 years later

1    10/29/2017   10/30/2017
Review By: webulu
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Searight again after not playing for about seven years, and it was just as fun as I remember. A heavily wooded course with lots of tunnel shots and some low ceilings: some very technical shots, but only a couple opportunities to really rip it.

- A good mix of difficulties. Some pretty straightforward holes, some really challenging ones.
- Hole 15 is wonderful, of course. The course does a really good job using elevation. Some uphill holes, some downhill ones, some that dip and rise, etc.
- Great teepads, trash cans, seating areas.
- The feel is good. Come out to Searight first thing in the morning and you can pretty much forget you are in Austin.
- A good mix of shots, longer straight shots, shorter straight shots, hyzers, anhyzers, some flex-lines, with a pretty good dose of those right-turning shots. You are also going to use a lot of scrambling shots, with how narrow the fairways are and how tight the woods are.
Cons: - From a competitive, consistency perspective, so many fairways are rocky and full of tree roots, so pretty much every ground reaction you get is totally random. Had a couple good shots turn into bad shots and a couple bad shots take really favorable bounces and turn into good ones. The course will definitely tear your plastic up.
- Some unsavory persons have destroyed the very nice tee signs on the majority of baskets. A shame really.
- The fairways have definitely gotten narrower in the last seven years. I think a couple holes could definitely do with a trim to open things up a bit to make multiple shots viable. IMHO, some holes have become so narrow, your only real option as a RH player is a big RHBH spike hyzer over the trees. IIRC hole 14 was the biggest offender.
Other Thoughts: - I would not recommend playing alone out here, not for safety reasons, but because there are so many blind shots, it is easy to lose a disc. A big skip into the woods or getting caught up high in a juniper and you're gonna have a hard time.
- It is definitely great to be close to Disc Nation. It made for a great morning to play a round at Searight and then do some shopping at Disc Nation.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Flat Earth Eric

1    10/25/2017   10/26/2017
Review By: PGC9
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 29 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course with fun shots.
Trees.
In a nice park.
Found Flat Earth Eric's disc in a tree. Thanks.
Deer walking the course. Almost hit one with a disc.
Cons: Crowded midday midweek.
Many short holes for the big arm guy.
Other Thoughts: Good choice if you are driving down hwy 35.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A short but technical course

2-4    2/17/2017   2/20/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not too long
-Very technical
-Scenic and memorable
Cons: -Crowded
-Will be rough on discs (bring your premium plastic)
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (3.5/5): This course isn't very long, all of the par 3's should be well within an intermediate player's driving distance. But the fairways are extremely narrow, the rough is unforgiving, and there are quite a few doglegs. It's often times smart to play for par by just tossing a putter down the middle of the fairway rather than risk going for it and ending up with a bogey or worse.

Maintenance (3.5/5): The teeboxes are in great shape and there's almost always somewhere to sit nearby. The baskets are in great shape. Most of the fairways are composed of gravel, so there's no overgrown grass. The teesigns seem to be missing on most of the holes, but there are still poles with the tee number on them.

Variability (2.5/5): Searight had average variability. I felt the majority of the shots were either dead straight or anhyzer shots. When I say dead straight, I don't mean a fairway driver that flies straight then settles left. That shot would likely skip off into the trees on the left. I'm inconsistent at best at those two types of shots, so I was scrambling a lot on my second shots. There was a handful of hyzer opportunities, particularly spike hyzers.

Flow/Experience (4.5/5): It's a very easy course to navigate, particularly because of its popularity. If you're playing on the weekend you'll likely be tailing a group the whole round, so you just follow them. The course is beautiful, if a bit rough on your discs (and you if you aren't careful in the trees). Hole 15 in particular offers a phenomenal view that's worth the visit alone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Defined fairways galore

1    1/17/2016   12/10/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 313  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.586 Rating) Among a class of very good courses on metro Austin's south side.
- UNIQUENESS - The overall uniqueness is a bit above your average 18 hole course. There are a couple of 4's. A couple of holes have a creek element in play. In addition, there are some pocket shots, and windows shots and lots of well defined moderately spaced tunnel plays. The is some moderate elevation when comparing this course to the other area courses. It is missing a true Dogleg hole. Hole 14 twists significantly, but it's a par 3, so more of a pocket skip shot. No 5's or opportunities to really bomb one. But in all, unique enough to make for a fun round.
- HOLE 15 - One of the best shots in all of Austin. A well framed 40 - 50 foot down shot that looks over south Austin. I think everyone who plays their first round here, snaps a picture on this hole. It is my 2nd favorite hole in Austin behind hole B at Bible Ridge.
- CHARACTER - There is a community board right at hole 1 along with a very spacious practice area and basket. Hole signage was adequate. Most of the tees are shaded well. There is good seating and plenty of garbage cans. After the round, near the course parking there is a shelter with picnic tables as well. No extra pin placements or tee pads however.
- TEE PADS - Concrete pads are long and wide. Among some of the better ones in Austin.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues. I had no troubles on my first time threw. It almost seems intuitive the way it flows to together.
- SPACING - Very good hole spacing. It would have to be borderline intentional to put a disc into another fairway.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy is regardless due to the low disc losing possibilities. The fairways width are moderately spaced and should challenge rec and intermediate players. Advanced and pros may come away less than challenged however.
- ACEABILITY - Several holes are aceable, You will have exceedingly great opportunities on holes 5 and 6.
- CHILL AREAS - Most of the course plays threw a secluded wooded area. definitely relaxing.
Cons: An all around good course with a few exceptions.
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use and often has mob golfing going on with groups of 6 or more. Typically the large groups will let faster groups play through (or try to get you to join in), but you'll still have to wait on that initial hole. Rarely will one play a round and not have to stop and wait at some point. There are a couple of good opportunities to make a jump if needed. These are holes 3 to 6 and 12 to 14.
- TIME PLAY - Course is surprisingly not a quick play despite shorter length, mostly due to the before mentioned large groups. A group of 4 should plan to be here at least 2 1/2 hours to complete 18 holes.
- DRAINAGE - The course does not take to rain very well. You'll notice from playing here that there's lots of erosion control terracing throughout the layout as the water just wants to sheet flow down the 5 degree sloping hill side. Expect a lot of mud if it rained recently.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - About average, but definitely not the most scenic course on the south side of Austin. The trees, mostly cedar, has a more raggedy and rustic look. I'll also add that the course takes a lot of wear and tear and is mostly void of grass.
- VANDALISM & TRASH - There was a bunch of tagging on the hole signage and there was also a bit more trash than you'd typically see on an average course despite to plethora of garbage cans through-out the layout.
Other Thoughts: A good to great course for those living within 15-20 miles. Definitely worth a look see if you are from out of town and have already hit Circle C and Roy G. If you live in Austin metro, be sure to play this course at least a few times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Searight

2-4    8/4/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21
This review was updated on 2/1/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well defined fairways due to good course design and lots of use. Every hole here can be birdied, but if you screw up your first shot you'll likely be punished, which makes some of the tighter fairways (like hole 9) great risk/reward tee shots. Course also has a lot of ace run holes which can be very fun. This course is great for beginners because it isn't too challenging, especially when compared to some other courses around Austin, and it forces players to learn how to keep their discs in a defined fairway.
Cons: Lots of pot smoking here. Most tee signs are missing and the course has a decent amount of trash on it. Also, the course has eroded pretty badly in the fairways due to heavy foot traffic which means that when it rains the fairways become very unstable slick mud. Very few cons in terms of course design.
Other Thoughts: As far as Austin courses go this one fits in perfectly in terms of playing courses that offer challenges for certain levels of players. Zilker is easier than Searight, but Searight is then easier than many of the other great courses in Austin like Austin Ridge, Circle C, or Roy G. Definitely a good course to play in the Austin area, especially for those who have some basic skills but still have a lot of room to develop in their game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Step You Mid-Range Game Up

5+    6/11/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: Unknowndoing
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Perfect course for really getting a feel for your mid's, as wells as practicing your approach game. A fantastic course for one disc rounds

- It is tucked away in the forest at Mary Moore Park and is gorgeous regardless of the time of year. This also provides lots of shade!

- Great variety of shots and lines possible! I never feel like I'm throwing the same shot over and over again.

- Hole 15 is easily the signature hole here, playng down a hill, and boasts one of the best views in the city. (In my opinion)

- Easy to navigate. You have to be trying in order to get lost here.

- Benches at every hole, and trash cans at most. (I try to be good about pack in/pack out... the cans can be overflowing at times)

- I like the open field right at the first tee. It really gives you the chance to throw and get warmed up. The practice basket is also good quality with a practice tee pad set up about 180-200' out.
Cons: - This course does NOT take weather very well. Due to the high traffic the course gets, the fairways and tee boxes get sloppy after a good rain.

- MMS is the most played course in Austin, and some Locals will argue also in the country. It's always been bad, but due to the sport gaining popularity recently it is near impossible to finish a round in under 2 hours at peak times. Go early in the morning, or bring a set of lights and play at night. Even when I go out by myself, groups will sometimes not let me play through because there are groups of 5/7/5/8 in front of them.

- The course has been getting vandalized with broken/stolen tee signs and graffiti on benches/trash cans. Please be respectful to our course
Other Thoughts: For what the course has to offer, MMS really is one of the best courses in Austin (When you can avoid the busy times, and really get a chance to enjoy it). Some days you shoot 48's, others you can walk out with 59's/62's. It looks easy at first glance, but if you end up in the roughs you will start picking up strokes quick. The cider tress provide a great challenge, and punish you for not keeping it in the fairway.

There is a Mini held here every Wednesday with a flex start that starts around 9am (depending on the TD and weather) with final card going out at 530pm most days.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun!

1    11/25/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: mattrowe
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of ace opportunities. Good for beginners, but experienced golfers can get into trouble if they can't keep discs in the fairway. Close proximity to Disc Nation. Very empty and peaceful on a Tuesday morning, a deer let me take a very close photo. Very easy to navigate without a map, even though there were no signs.
Cons: Probably the shortest course I've played (not really a "con," but something to be aware of). A little bit more trash than I'd consider acceptable for a public park. Not a lot of variation in tee shots. For the most part, it's either a short flick/thumber or a hyzer flip. There are no places to really bomb a drive, even the par 4's.
Other Thoughts: This course would greatly benefit from some alternate tee/basket positions. It seemed like most of the short holes required the same shot. There is a lot of potential here.

I thought I'd note that the park is on the south side of Slaughter Ave. Google Maps wanted to drop me off on the north side. Drive to the end of the entrance road to the park, and the first tee is on the northeast corner of the parking lot.

There are lots of short holes here, and most of the shorties require a left-to-right shot. I think I threw 6 or 7 thumbers off the tee for a -7 on my second round here (I don't have much of a flick and I consider myself an average golfer). I got metal three times in two rounds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.