Obetz, OH 
Area 51 DGC Share
Uploaded By: mrclc Hole #15 (Taken 5/2018)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Tight Course to Test Your Skills

1    9/2/2018   9/10/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 New courses on the southwest side of the Columbus belt ( I-270 ) , and this is one of them . Pulling up to the parking lot , plenty big enough , since disc golf takes up most of this park , I met one of the city council people that made this course happen . They were actually shooting a local camera spot showcasing the disc golf course in Obetz . After talking to the good people of Obetz and thanking them for their interest in disc golf , I started to play . They spared little expense in creating the course . The design was well done , Concrete tee pads were a shade short , plenty long for me , but maybe more run up for someone that has to swing hard for a 300' throw . Great mach 3 easy to spot baskets . Fantastic tee signs Course fairways look to get much attention and the course has a putting basket just to the left of the first tee . The course runs the length of the park on the left , turns rights and works slowly right to left all the way back to the parking lot . Port O Lets are next to the parking lot . No benches or trash cans at the holes , so carry in and out . This course is very clean , so let's chip in and keep it that way . I like the idea that you don't have non disc players wandering around the course in front of you begging to be hit or avoided altogether .
Cons: #1. The course plays tight but fair . It fairways will keep you honest , but it will play pretty short , save a couple of holes like #11 , and the last 3 holes on the course . I didn't mind that part at all . The part I DID mind was the rough . Be prepared to look for your discs off the fairway even if it is just off the fairway . This is at least as bad as Walnut Hill's rough . #2 . Bring water . There is little or no cover on these fairways and tee pads .
Other Thoughts: Overall , I think you should play this . A lot of effort and care from the good people of Obetz should make you patronize the course at least once , and many more from the Southwest Columbus regulars . This would be a good course for a Saturday morning scramble . If you are better than average accuracy-wise , then you will have a blast on this course . Great for newbies thru intermediates . Please give it a shot ,,,,

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unforgiving, But Still Fun

1    6/29/2018   7/3/2018
Review By: williams363
Played: 49  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great opportunity to work on long drives, with a very flat course.
Very clear fairways, both to walk and throw in (no low hanging branches to deal with).
Baskets are large and in great condition.
Extremely easy to navigate, there is no way to get lost.
Cons: Everyone was right about one thing. The Rough is Rough.
This is the most unforgivable rough I've played. The relative "easiness" and "openness" of the fairways give to the confidence to throw and if you make a slight error, there's a good chance that disc is gone. (Lost a brand new Buzzz on #4 to the right yellow, if anyone finds it, no name )
Other Thoughts: I was extremely excited to play this course coming into it. The layout seemed great. I had a ton of fun. Downside i lost a disc and ended up with pretty bad poison ivy rash on my legs. I didn't think I'd be in the rough that thick that long. :(

I'd give it another try in the cold months to be honest.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/15/2017   12/15/2017
Review By: Xelto
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful signage
Hi-vis coating to the baskets
Concrete tees
Easy to navigate
Cons: Very open and somewhat repetitive
Thick roughs
Other Thoughts: The 'pros' section is fairly understandable. This place has some of the best signs I've seen anywhere. The Mach III baskets come with a bright yellow coating on the top of the basket and the hole number signs, making them almost as visible as Innova baskets. And it's not like you need either of these things, since it's virtually impossible to not know where to go next; I never had to wonder the entire course. And of course, concrete makes very good tee pads.

However, I found the course play somewhat lacking. The fairways are all about 40ish feet wide, most of them with a few trees scattered randomly down the fairway, and a few being totally open. On only a few holes did the trees have any real impact on throwing lines.

The rough, on the other hand, was quite tall. I came in the winter, so it wasn't all that bad for me, but it looks like this place is an absolute bear to find the occasional disk you'll manage to throw off the fairways.

The fairways are flat, with the sole exception of hole 18, which has the basket on a 6' hill. There are no other obstacles.

I really feel that this course had the potential to be better. Probably never a great course, given the limited terrain, but there were a couple of moderate-sized dirt mounds that weren't used, and I saw a few places where there were more interesting tree placements possible.

As a result, this would be a good place to bring a large group of non-disc-golfers, and will OK for locals. Normally, I would say this is a 'variety for locals only' course, but the lack of many good courses in the area means that this may be a mainstay for the SW side of Columbus. It is definitely not a course worth heading out of your way for.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Link style

1    10/12/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: Bushman71
Played: 231  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured fairways, super sweet tee signs, flows well and easy to navigate
Cons: Missed opertunities in the tree line for better hole design, off fairway rough is rough!
Other Thoughts: If you can throw a putter 250 on a hyzer line you are bird hunting. The big holes (400+) are strait with little to no obstacles. But all in all a fun course to play, with the nasty rough the pucker factor can be high enough to keep it interesting. Hope there are plans for long tees to give it a longer and more challenging look off the drive

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in area lacking

5+    9/1/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: Cplage45
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely kept
New
Signs at every hole and concrete tee boxes
Putting area
Bathrooms
Covered shelter
Some neat hole designs
Cons: Par 72 is not real
A few holes are the same: flat, straight shot, 350-400 ft
Thickest rough around
Tight fairways
Lost discs
Other Thoughts: This course is very nicely kept and is in an area that has no other options. If you can hit fairways and are accurate you will dominate the course even with low to moderate power. But a missed fairway equals a lost disc. All in all it's a nice course and the city of Obetz did the best they could with a flat area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.