Lichfield, United Kingdom 
Lichfield Beacon Park Share
Uploaded By: lathama Hole #3 (Taken 9/2017)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Clean cut Golf

2-4    2/28/2019   3/1/2019
Review By: I_am_Groot
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good parking
New tee pads are great
Great tee signs
Well maintained
Excellent nearby facilities
Cons: Directions to next tees
A couple of strange trees in front of Teepads
Other Thoughts: This course is in my top 5 I have played (UK). Multiple options for parking but recommend Greenhough Road Car Park (2 for 4hours). The course is council run so is well maintained. They were planting new trees when we were playing. Cost was 8 for 18holes which seems fair for such a well maintained 18hole course. Payment is at the Ranger station near the play park / mini golf area. Being shared with footgolf and ball golf, the course is varied but the design is very good without being too intrusive on the other sports (can be tricky on existing golf courses). Disc catcher baskets are perfect and give the course the professional set up that it deserves.

The layout is great, if you can throw 60m then you can almost Par every hole. For the more advanced player there are turnover lines, forehands, big hyzers if you have the arm and straight fairway shots. Play bunkers OB for the extra challenge.

We had a superb day and was well worth the trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course - recently redesigned

2-4    8/15/2018   8/17/2018
Review By: andrewdouse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course - shared with pitch and putt golf and footgolf.
Gravel? Teepads are being put in, they were filling wooden frames with gravel as we played, and the disc golf tees have moved away from the raised golf tees - often to give more challenging drives.
Helpful staff - the ground staff were busy on the course and helped us reorientate ourselves when we got slighty lost halfway round - there is signage going in along with the new teepads which will help with the navigation.
Great play area, cafe and toilets next to the course. Tesco's also backs onto it, so lots of food options.
Several car parks (I seem to end up,in a different one every time I go) but reasonably priced.
For a golf course based course it has a good variety of disc golf holes, if a lot of bunkers!
Cons: Not much elevation change, but it is nicely undulating.
8 adult / 6 child to play, but i suspect that is consistent with most council pitch and putt prices.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A nice course with scope for more

1    9/24/2017   9/25/2017
Review By: lathama
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location: Close to good transport links (Lichfield has 2 train stations and the bus station is easily walkable too).
On street parking is also available, as well as a large carpark which shoulders the course, however this did appear to be full when I played.

Developed Course: Set on an already established golf course, there are plenty of nasty pockets of woodland that need to be avoided. Each hole is well laid out around these areas.
Cons: Pay to Play: I did feel that 8 was a little steep, however I can see the positives of having staff onsite constantly

Very samey: The course does get quite repetitive ---> concrete tee, 2 bunkers on the left and right front of the golf green, with the foot golf hole on one side and the disc basket on the other. The sides for Footgolf and DiscGolf do swap over and there are the occasional holes where the basket is behind the green.

Tee pads: The mix of concrete and astro turf was just a soggy mess on my visit and not suitable for throwing from. However it is then difficult to find a flat throw as most tee pads are built up as so you could find yourself throwing from an upslope or having to give away 4 meters to get a flat throw.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the use of the undulation on the course. Some holes seem deceptively shorter than they are, and some trees can look deceptively close, but they you will find that you don't even reach them.

Really like hole 15 (despite scoring a 7), as its the only semi dogleg on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun and deceptively long

2-4    9/6/2017   9/13/2017
Review By: rhatton1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully Maintained
Easy Flow
Dedicated Sporting area
Good baskets
Lovely park and great potential
Easy transport links and good facilities in the park.
Center town location
Pay to play - pro for me
Redesigned to minimise a couple of safety risks and bring some more of the foliage into play.

Astro tees and signage have been added as part of the redesign and there is now a 13 hole beginners layout alongside the 18 hole main course.
`
Cons: Not Many - overall length maybe, could do with using the stream to the left of holes one and two but not currently allowed to. Wish they would let me cut a couple of holes into the woods especially for tee of 14 which its in front of a natural alleyway of mature trees, a redesign for the future! aside from that not much
Dog walkers

Will get congested as it shares the area with golf and footgolf

Pay to play - con for many!

With heavy winter rains the section between two and three can get very wet.
Other Thoughts: Further to my previous review the council have now embraced this and undertaken a redesign that brings in some more of the foliage around the edges and adds a beginners layout to the main 18. Whilst not every recommendation was adopted the course has now added some difficulty and taken away the ling range pitch and putt element that had been there before, you will need to shape some shots now to score well.

Final signage will be installed next week (WC 1st October) but I'm jumping the gun with this review as I've seen the signs and know they're good, informative and full of a couple of extras ;) Final pruning is still required but should be finished next week on holes 1,2,6, 9,10,13 and 18.

Holes now test a range of shots and have added a couple of par 4's to the mix whilst increasing safety to other park users (the side of hole 12 still needs some work with bush planting to change foottraffic)

The course starts well, hole one is a fun attackable but challenging par 3 around 95 meters slightly uphill which can be reached with a couple of different lines. Guarded by the OB bunkers, it's nicely framed and sets you on your way. The 18th is the shortest hole on the course but guards the basket with a unique green allowing easy access only from the front,

It's hard to call one particular hole a signature, but there are a number of solid enjoyable holes out there.

it should be a very enjoyable experience to play out here on their well tended fairways.

This adds to a number of quality courses in the area with Bedworth, Quarry Park and Cotswold View all within an hours drive of each other making the Midlands a destination venue especially with a few more ongoing projects in the works.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.