Suffolk, VA 
Ace Run Ranch Share
Uploaded By: Riley Hole #17
3 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Straight shot around 280 feet. Basket is slightly on the right.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Backyard Fun!

2-4    5/16/2020   6/8/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2020
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***The course has been re-aligned, groomed, maintenance upkeep, and distance added since my first visit in May.
-Very scenic, enjoyable course and layout. A variety of open, light, moderately and heavy wooded holes. Some sloping elevation change. A few doglegs with protruding limbs along some fairways, Narrow aspect on some fairways. A few water holes. I give the layout itself a 4.5, and that's where my overall rating is anchored on.
-Some holes have alternate tee pads.
-The baskets are homemade except for #1 and 9. Their 25 years old, and every disc I threw in stuck like glue, as if there being grabbed, regardless of distance. There rusted, and the chains drop down from the top of the basket, instead of flared out like on all of the other courses I've played on. To me, it doesn't make sense.
-The course is privately owned on the property of Don Johnson. There's building space for equipment to bush hog the course, Drop box for a $5 donation, and several discs on displayed. Some were lost discs.
***Their are now red single brick tee markers for a shorter course. Their either grass or share the same tee pad with the longer course.
***Their are now alternate pin placements on several holes. Adding length to some holes.
-Theirs an Ace Run Ranch Leaderboard by the 10th tee pad. Don likes to have tournaments.
-Course works in a counter clockwise rotation.
-The fairways are clear of rocks and stumps.
-All long tee pads are concrete, except 18 a new tee pad is marked by a single white brick and is grass. Hole numbers are spray painted on tees.
-Updated distance signs have been added to some holes, and a few more direction signs,
***As of this time, the mowing is keeping up.
***Night Disc Golf can be played, the baskets are rigged with lights.
Cons: *** Half the holes now have signs. All holes are par 3's, But not all baskets can be seen from tee pads.
***Finding tee pads can still be difficult because of tree blockage and . Most holes have next tee signs, and very few orange cones next to tee pads. Important to note when facing #3 basket, the 4th tee is off your back right shoulder at about 250 feet. Facing #8 basket, #9 tee is off your left back shoulder at about 150 feet.
-Some tee pads are too small, a few in the wrong direction. The course has been updated in the past.
-Distances on some holes are estimates. But do match up on those holes with tee signs.
-Holes 4 thru 7, and #17 will be swampy after any hard rain. The course slopes downward to those fairways. This will likely be ongoing.
***High grass can be on some fairways, It was their back in May, but not at this time. Don does bush hog the course. Tells me it takes a full day to bush hog, but he only has time to do sections at a time.
-The amount time it takes to do upkeep on the course for a private owner, must be incredible. What ever fantasy I had of owning my own course, is pretty much shot down.
Other Thoughts: ***I was surprised today how the course had transformed the past 5 months. The layout by itself is well worth return visits. All holes are memorable, just as they were in May. The course is more scenic and picturable now.
Don is a busy man with the course, and tells me he has other plans to build it up!
***Quote from May (The course has the potential to be a favorite for me and knock up the rating. I just need to have a more enjoyment walking experience (maybe later in the summer when its drier), know the distances, catch it when the grass is knocked down, and find the other alternative tee pads if their there.) Criteria has been met, even though need to firm up the distances on a few holes. This is now a favorite and I knocked up the rating. I look forward to more frequent return visits.
If your someone searching for a fun layout, this is it. If your searching for amenities that are not currently there, I think your missing out by not playing a solid layout.
***No. 18 has been realigned. The previous #18 long throwers were landing in his swimming pool, and hitting his house. The tee area is reversed in the open, throwing down slope in a lightly wooded area where the basket sits next to the #12 tee barn.
Notable tee pad: No. 10 sits in Don's yard at the side of the house. Shaded by large oak tree, with the scoreboard next to it, and viewing into the disc shop. I liked the scene.
Notable basket placements: No.'s 3 and 8 sit up on a narrow, long knoll. Watch out for rollers.***Both holes have added distance, staying on the knoll's. The knolls snake at about 100 plus feet.
Notable Holes:
-No. 1 Par 3. 603 feet, the distance is good. Tee pad is in Don's front yard shaded by large oaks, but the rest of the hole is open. Its an island basket surrounded by a moat, except for a short walkway to the basket. The size of the putting area is smaller than C1. Theirs also distance signs (now new at 150, 300, 450 feet from tee pad) along the fairway to help you get there. Their are some growing pines along the fairway, when they reach full height in about 15-20 years, it will make the hole more difficult. Some players are calling it the signature hole because of the moat, but I think that's too easy.
-Hole #2 Par 3 405/299 feet. I call this hole the "bat cave". It down slopes from the open into a tunnel of trees on both sides, and a canopy on top. It narrows about 30 feet. The basket is protected by skinny oaks and pines. From the sunny tee pad, throwing right down the middle into the dark, your disc disappears on you "the bat cave".
-No. 5 Par 3, 320 feet. Tee pad in open, narrow gap about 25 feet wide thru trees at about 70 feet down fairway. At about 180 feet down a cluster of trees and bushes bulges out on the left into fairway. At 250 feet is a small and narrow ditch that winds across fairway, it has a foot bridge. At about 280 feet is another cluster of trees and bushes right center of fairway, that's mowed all the way around for an option on drive. Basket is in the open. I like the throw from the tee, and the scene.
-No. 6 Par 3 225 feet the distance is good. Not LHBH friendly. Theirs a skinny Oak about 10 feet from the tee pad on the right corner. Straight away, had one of those swishes that slowed me down parked about 20 feet in front of basket which is opened, fronted by waist high grass. When I walked up, found out the grass was hiding a small pond almost up to the basket. I would leave the grass alone.***Don knocked some of the grass down. Pond still hidden.
-No. 12 Par 3 270 feet. The tee pad is in a barn throwing across an open fairway, and back into the woods. Kind of looks like #2, but wider and no canopy. Basket is well protect by skinny trees. Around the tee in the barn are very comfortable chairs. Good place to take a break if needed.
-No. 17 Par 3 has been extended in length to about 500 feet plus. The hole meanders thru moderate trees starting to the right back to the left, then right. But not doglegs. Moderate trees on both sides with a width of about 40 feet. Need to stay on right side of fairway. From the tee you drive down slope, shallows out, then back to a steep upslope. About 100 feet from basket a cluster of trees on left side of fairway, stay to the right. Basket is in the open. From tee the hole looks peaceful and very scenic, which wasn't noticeable before. Then you have to play the distance.

In my opinion:
The Signature Hole is No. 11 Par 3, 310. Throwing from the open tee with growing pines along first part of fairway on left. Your going upslope with a lazy dogleg right, that's down slope on the dog leg and the rest of the way in. On the lower right are oaks to stay clear of or punch thru. On the bottom right is a cluster of oaks hiding a small pond. The basket is up on a knoll left to right, and only 5 feet wide. Upper left fairway is the place to be, if not careful a roller can make the pond or if you happen to head in that direction off of the tee to the pond. At the basket you look left up slope is Don's disc shop, the other building, his home, and to the right is the #12 barn. The hole represents who Don is, and the entire course with an open tee, growing pines, oaks, a pond, and basket on a knoll.
Trouble Hole is #16 Par 3, 225 feet. The basket is dead straight protected by skinny trees. From the tee LHBH has a skinny Oak about 10 feet out, 45 degree angle, but RHBH is not off the hook, theirs a trio of skinny oaks about 30 feet out lined straight out from the left corner of pad. The rest of the fairway to the pond is heavy trees with canopy, about 25 feet in width. The pond is about 165 out with the left side covered with a wall of skinny trees, and the right opened across the pond to the basket 30 feet across water, and upslope to the basket. Just thread it, and a lot of fun!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/10/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: gener571
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: long course in a beautiful setting. refrigerator availabe for use. lost disc claim area. firewood availablefor group outings.Don is great showing you around to learn the course. donation to play is great.
Cons: lack of trash cans on course.
Other Thoughts: much nicer than bennetts creek and much better maintained.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 117  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is private in a personal farm setting. I met with the amazing owner, Don, and he gave us the run down of the course. We had the course to ourselves while Don was doing some upkeep of the course.

Other Pros:
- tons of variety (elevation, obstacles, and distances)
- well maintained grounds
- club house area with restroom
- "next tee" signs in confusing areas
- nice flow and easy to navigate
- extended rake to get discs from the moat
Cons: All but 2 baskets have extremely rusty chains and they just don't sound right when you hit them. Hole #4 throws directly over #5 and #7's tee pads.

Other Cons:
- 5$ is a bit too much
- only some tees have signs
- no garbage cans on the course
- swampy areas
- OB areas could be thick with briars during the summer season
- most holes have concrete tee pads but there aren't all big enough (I actually prefered the natural tees marked with cones)
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 was by far my favorite hole. It's a 600 ft. shot to a raised island surrounded by a moat. I couldn't get a hold of Don by phone so we just showed up and it wasn't a problem. He did a great job making the course but overall it isn't anything special. I would play there more often if it was cheaper.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Private Course/Rural Challenge

2-4    4/25/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: Charltone
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ~It's a private course
~Love the water filled Mote around hole #1!
~thoughtful/Challenging shots w/mounds, trees & turns both hyzer & anhyzer
~Tee pads
~signs w/maps at most holes
~not over populated
~great spot for tournament/camping festival
~7-11 conveniently down the street
Cons: ~easy to lose disc
~some wet/mushy spots
~rusty chains
~hard to find basket 1st round
~kinda bushy
*I can't imagine mowing the grass not to mention paying the taxes to maintain it
Other Thoughts: "The chains are a lil' rusty, but that helps the disc stick & go in the basket..." quote from Don Johnson, the owner (no not the same guy from Miami Vice, he's kooler than him)

There is a lot of potential at this course & it does need some work...but I kinda like the rural challenge of it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible Swamp Golf

1    9/9/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am sorry to say that there aren't too many Pros about this course. It is private, so you can bring beer, etc. without worry of running into the cops.

Also, there are some interesting and challenging "greens" and pole-hole locations -- some up on little hills, on an island.
Cons: As for the course, the $5.00 Don asks for is way too much for the headaches this course causes. The signage is terrible or nonexistent making navigation ridiculous first time out.

However, the absolute worst thing about this course is the horrible boundary condition. Swamp. Thick, weedy, damp, impassable swamp that surrounds every nook, cranny, and bend in this course. If your disc doesn't land exactly on the fairway, kiss it goodbye, because unless you're Crocodile Dundee, it's gone.

The OB areas are **nothing** like typical OB areas (i.e., you can probably get your disc back with a little hunting). Not gonna happen here.

I lost two discs in two holes -- one on hole #5 that went barely 10 feet into the brush but was utterly "unfindable," and another in a fairway tree on hole #1. You would think that getting a disc out of a tree would be simple. No. The fairway trees are bushy, unclimbable, opaque conifers that swallow discs and don't give them back.
Other Thoughts: This course needs some major, major work to be worth playing again. I give Don an "E" for effort, but an "D" on this course at its current state. This place needs some MAJOR deforestation (or at least some major thinning out of the barrier/OB swampy weeds! Come on!!!).

Also, bring your OFF! because you'll need it. And don't bother going if it has rained any time in the last 10 days.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run

1    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Chanllenging and fun. Don improved Hole 1 by making it longer. A couple of wide open holes and a couple that look wide open but have some deadly rough .
Cons: The course is being revamped and it is a little hard to find your way around the back nine. It is easy to loose a disk in the thick rough.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Tide Water area make sure you play this course. PS if you come in the late spring or summer bring the bug repelent If you are worried about find your way around call ahead and talk to Don he is a great guy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun homemade course

1    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 733  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 18.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of hole types from the well groomed grass fairways on the open holes to the woods. baskets are nicely labeled with big numbers.
Cons: Course is in transition and alot of the tees are marked with cones, and getting to the next is alittle confusing after hole 8.
Other Thoughts: If you get to talk with the owner he will give you the run down on the holes, it helped but i still got a bit mixed up on three holes. All the new tees are marked with cones, would be nice if he had marked them with numbers so you were sure you are at the right tee. The course has a great future, it is fantastic now but you can see how nice the signs were so if he gets it all back to that stantard it will be at least a 4 if not better. Most baskets were homemade and are fantastic. Hole two has a moat around the basket and there is a creek the plays close to a few holes. a few of the woods holes could use a bit of shaping up but all in all a fantastic course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Private Course

5+    11/2/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Riley
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved it. This course has it all. From wide open bomber holes to tight turnover shots. Water comes into play on two holes including hole #2 in which the basket is on an island! A few of the baskets are on on top of what looks like man made hills. A missed putt will surely put your disc far from the basket with a roll down the hill. Baskets are a little bit old, but catch extremely well for their age.
Cons: Currently this course is being worked on so some of the tee's are grass (see photo's). Some of the original tee pads are a bit short. Locating the next hole can be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: If you have the pleasure of meeting Don you will see that he is a wonderfull person. He will surely answer any questions you have about the course or area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.