Bowdoinham, ME 
Acker's Acres - The Wicked Share
Uploaded By: justin   (Taken 10/2008)
Pro Shop


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Pleasant yet challenging

2-4    10/22/2017   10/23/2017
Review By: HumorMe
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: - Well maintained (hard to lose a disc, except under leaves this time of year)
- Good baskets
- Good tees (could be a bit longer)
- Several portable bathrooms along the course.
- Benches and picnic tables on most holes
- Clear signs
- They sell water (stay hydrated!)
- Owners are marvelous
- Each hole has a distinct lane, although some are quite tricky.
Cons: - Can be crowded, and you run into some big groups. On the other hand, this is a pro if you consider that regular traffic is still the best way to keep a course maintained.
- Very limited disc & food selection in the shop
- It's a small acreage to fit 2 courses on. They've done the best they can, but tees can be near baskets and in one case you have to cross a fairway to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I suppose I also agree with prev reviewer that they could use more parking. Was fine this time of year, but must have been quite tough to find a spot in the summer months.
All around, a great place.

Acker's Acres - The Wicked

5+    7/6/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: Geer_Boggles
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: This course has great elevation. Flat to start, second is a sharp uphill to the right. Followed by a steep downhill 420' footah.
Plenty of benches to rest on and the pads are solid and level. The course has a good mix of technical & open but mostly towards the technical side.
Signs have been updated within the past couple years and accurately reflect hole basket placement.
Atmosphere is VERY relaxed and friendly. You won't find a better owner anywhere.
Very reasonable pricing
Cons: Not much of a pro shop. Not a lot of Discs for sale.
Not enough parking for how popular the course is.
Other Thoughts: I've always loved Acker's Acres in general but The Wicked was the first course I played there and still continue to play.

Acker's has had one of the best atmospheres I've ever experienced and Dave and his wife (owners) are the friendliest people in the world. I've played many other courses all over Maine and by and far this has been my favorite. As long as I'm in Maine I will be a lifer.

 great simple course

1    9/8/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: cmcnamara
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not as challenging as the other 18 at Ackers, but still a course where you'll have to hit some technical drives as well as toss your distance discs well. The Ackers have a beautiful piece if property, and these courses have some of my favorite spots; it really epitomizes disc-golf-in-Maine for me.
Cons: It can get muddy in areas when wet. not much for a clubhouse.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 No rest for the Wicked

5+    7/4/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: Lynchpyn
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great owners who are as friendly now as they were as a start up. Just want you to have fun. The only free "rental" discs in the business for bringing noob friends. Just off 201, 197, and I-295 means they're close to everywhere, but feel miles from nowhere once you start playing. Nice pro shop with snacks and drinks.

The Wicked is their cornerstone course. It's gotten better every year of the 12 or so I've played there. Very fun course that won't dismantle a newbie, and won't bore a pro. Fair uphill shots on 2,5,9 and 17. Some good downhills too. Some lefts, some rights, lots of trees but none that are so obnoxious as to be peppered like they were hit with machine gun fire. There is some water to contend with on several holes, and a LOT on 18. But they leave a net and a canoe there to use if you go swimming. Great people.

I usually shoot 5 to 10 below, but I think I've played the course 100 times. It's not easy, but it's not hard. My buddies are challenged to par, meaning it's just that much more fun for them to chase the white whale. We are far from pros. Amateurs to pros will have fun here.
Cons: I don't live next to them anymore.

Can get crowded, but that's just due to the awesomeness. Even then there's tons of parking and a beast course in Twisted to divert disc golfer traffic.
Other Thoughts: I moved to Bowdoinham as Acker's transitioned from a quirky and impossible 9-hole par 3 to a legit destination location. Always friendly ownership and cool people that play there. Has to be a prime time stop on the Maine disc golf circuit. Have fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course for all skill level

1    10/6/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: mslebzak520
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun to play course that won't kill you physically. Very friendly owner. Woods course with some slopes and decent variety. Very nice tee signs with cool boxes to write your name if you throw an ace. Great course for beginners to tight courses.
Cons: Bit marshy in areas. $8 a day is a little pricey. Maybe par is a tad high.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course that will keep me coming back. Highly recommend.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: mainediscgolfer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course one of the best around very well kept easy to get around it is fun to play there are some chances for aces and there are some holes that will challege you one of my favs they also have a board on each hole for you to right your name if you get an ace

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

2-4    6/13/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: neilstegman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of long holes and short holes. Very well maintained. 2 different courses to play.
Cons: It was a little muddy when I was there because it had rained the previous 2 days...but nothing too bad
Other Thoughts: My wife actually let me play this course on our honeymoon. It was about 40 min from Westport Island(and about the same from Boothbay). I went to play a round, and the next day just happened to be their big summer tourney, so I had to come back. The second course was under construction at the time, but really had some promise to it(and is probably finished now). The owners couldn't be nicer. They even sent mailed me a tournament mini after the fact. Thanks for showing a Maryland boy a good time. Definitely the best course in the area.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dont miss Acres Acres

5+    8/7/2010   11/7/2011
Review By: Discobedience
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of Maine's best disc golf locations. They have two courses and both of them are fantastic. Upkeep is done on this course regularly always making for a great experience. The course owners Barb and Dave are nice as can be. There is a nice balance of long and short holes pressing you to use a varied amount of shots. Located in Bowdoinham, ME you are in the middle of Maine's disc golf Mecca - it's a great location to be able to see a lot of different courses in one area. Feel welcome at this golf course, bring some food and some bevarages and enjoy during your round.
Cons: There aren't too many bad things to say about this place. One of my only complaints are a few specific holes, all problems which could be fixed by a tee pad relocation or the removal of certain trees. That being said the owner is open to suggestions and will make adjustments if he feels the are reasonable. If you lose a disc in their pond chances are you might never see it again, I;m not sure how often someone dives there.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting Maine, this should be on your list of places to go. Two great courses with a great mix of long and short holes - backhand and flick holes. There are also many great courses within a half hours drive.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in maine

5+    11/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Goods course to work on the basics in every way shape or form. You will need every disc in your bag at some point during the normal holes, not to mention a almost 800' par 5 on the twisted 12; a side course that will test your abilities as a disc golfer and set greater players aside from the rest. Also home to a rather nice couple that runs the shop whom always around to greet players.

One hole over water to note, however, they dragged the pond last year and ALOT of discs came out so if you lose a disc on the last hole you might just get it back since its a small pond.

Good layout overall alot of short holes under 200ft or so. alot of aces happen on this course and there is a board at the tee on every hole where you can sign your name if you get an ace on it, also you can see how many people have gotten an ace on every hole in the club house as well.

This is an extremely well maintained course and I have seen the owner out on the course plenty of times keeping up the course, he even complemented me on an amazing 300ft hyzer shot in the trees as he was riding his tractor through the hole next to us.
Cons: When they dragged the pond, they didn't have a labeling system for the discs they just threw them on the side of the pro shop in a few large totes and let people rummaged through as they pleased, at least it seemed.

This was always a plus for me at Pleasant Hill Disc Golf in Maine where they had a alphabetized list of every disc the type of disc it was the color or the disc and who made it and if you had more then one it was labeled by the owners name so disc recovery was easy.
Other Thoughts: Wish list it if you haven't been yet, its worth the trip and only about 45 minutes outside of Portland maybe an hour and a half outside of Portsmouth NH

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 acers

2-4    5/21/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kfitz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice hole lay outs, very well kept, owners are on site getting feed back, players where out in force and let us play through their large groups. last hole plays to club house over pond, watch the ace runs
Cons: little congestion where two coarses share a few holes
Other Thoughts: owners where really involved in the devolopment feed back, cant really really overstate general good player vibe there

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.