Washington, NC 
BCCC DGC Share
Uploaded By: lee76007 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2021)
3 / 230ft.   4 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Campus Disc Golf Course 101

1    7/3/2021   7/10/2021
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A variety of open, wooded, water, elevated, upslope and downslope holes, and ditches. The course is on a college campus.

-First time playing holes with guardian hedge bushes near the basket, holes 10 and 12. Hiding the baskets from the tee in an open hole. First time teeing off a parking lot sidewalk on No. 8 an elevated tee.

-Hole #12 an open tee to open basket with a little tree interference, guardian hedge bushes, and water. I rank 2nd as my personnel open air hole behind #9 at Bryan Park in Richmond, Virginia.

-#2 hole the mystery air bounce reminded of #2 at Munden Point in Virginia Beach, and #4 at New Quarter in Williamsburg, Va. I love air bounces!

-#7 thru 16 a solid 10 holes stretch with variety and obstacles to get your attention.

-From the tee threw a variety of putters, fairway, and drivers.

-Tee pads are compact gravel, and had grass growing in a few of them. But the gripping was good and unlike other courses I have played were smooth with no ruts. Unless there going to pour concrete, I would leave them alone. There are also a few long tee pads.

-The open fairways were recently mowed, and shrubs well groomed. There are walkway bridges to cross water on the course.

-Tee signs had hole number, distance, par, outstanding graphics, and when present alternate pin position.

-Course plays clockwise with next tee signs in the woods and a written instruction when needed. Same with open tees when having to walk a short distance, such as 7 baskets to 8 tee a walk of a few minutes.

-If you like solitude this, is it! July 4th weekend I was the only one playing.

-New and recreational players will have fun, but could struggle in the woods, water holes, and narrow tee throws. Intermediate and Advance should find the course entertaining with some challenges.

Cons: -Long tee confusion. The original course map shows long tees on almost every hole. Course map II shows long tees having been eliminated. I did play a few long tees where I found them that and played them, those had gravel. I skipped one in the woods because of overgrowth around the tee and in the fairway before joining the short tee fairway. I would have loved to of played the course in its original long tee format. Tee signs still showed long tees when it looked like they were not there, or did I just not see them?

-No 4-6 wooded holes were not memorable, looking back they blurred together. That would likely change after another visit or two. The other 15 holes very memorable.

-No. 7 just to the right of tee had exercise equipment. If someone is using them, you will likely have to walk up and tee to clear them. If no one is using them, for RHBH you are going to have possible interference.

-The crush gravel tee pads were firm and grippy. But as with other courses they eventually rut out. Perhaps they will be maintained.

-It had rained about an inch the day before. Fairways 3 and 16 were swampy. Also, some low-lying areas in the open fairways which won't be a problem in the summer, but in the winter very possible to have some standing water from sustained rain.

-Those walkway bridges on some fairways, would also make a lovely trail for joggers and walkers during school hours. Keep your eyes peeled.

Other Thoughts: BCCC was my first college campus course, and I was pleasantly surprised. The variety was outstanding. I enjoyed woods golf over open golf, but this was the first time the open holes won me over wooded holes. Outstanding work putting a layout together by the course designers, they made good use of the land. If I lived just an hour away, I could see myself playing here at least once a year if not twice. The only disappointment was whether are not I had played all the long tees, or did I just miss them? It looks like a decision was made to eliminate some tees and combine them? If I had played the original long tee format, I could see myself rating the course at a 4.0. Regardless, the fun factor was high for me.

With the variety of the course, grippy gravel tees, solitude, a high fun factor and a few unique holes my overall rating is anchored on a 4.5. Snapping pictures, looking for long tees the round took 75 minutes.

Notable holes:

No. 2 par 3 at 474 feet my air bounce hole. From the tee the fairway slopes slightly down over a pond, and back up in the open. An upside-down L shape fairway with heavy tall pine tree line, with the left side heavy with trees. No wind on the ground, but I can see the tops of the pines swirling. I threw a second disc and same air bounce result. Did not experience air bounces anywhere else on the course.

No. 11 par 3 at 240 feet is an open hole carrying over a pond to clear at 130 feet, there is a second carry over a ditch that can be filled with water to clear at 200 feet. The fairway between both water carries has a crown providing a roller experience in either direction. At the ditch is a row of pines and oaks with the largest gap at about 20 feet. You're throwing with hedges to your back, and the basket is slightly in the open. The hole is very scenic.

No. 14 par 3 at 167 feet is short and sweet, kind of. From the tee you are throwing thru a gap of 6 feet and 30 feet in front of you on a downward slope. At the gap, its leafy. At 140 feet the fairway doglegs right on an upward slope across a ditch and over a bridge. The area is surrounded by shrubs. The basket sits on a slope and can be a roller. The look from the tee is awkward to throw.

No. 16 par 3 at 276 feet is an elevated hole and slopes all the way to the basket and heavily wooded. There are pines and oaks peppered all the way down. A gap about 30 feet out and 15 feet wide, the fairway crosses ditch at 120 feet with a bridge over it. More gaps at the 200-foot mark, the basket is somewhat open. Very scenic and airy with sunlight passing thru. Threw my best throw of the day as I watched my disc weave its way thru untouched.

Signature Hole:

No. 12 par 3 at 339 feet is an open tee to open basket. Sounds easy enough, until you look down fairway and do not see a basket. Just off the tee and to the left, lefties will need to take note of a corner building. Down fairway center and to the right are a few oak trees righties will need to pay some attention. At the 250-foot mark is a row of hedge bushes, and at the point the fairway drops about 10 feet down to a hidden pond with the basket sitting to the left of the pond. The basket is about 20 feet from the pond and sits as a roller on the side of the hill, and that grass is cut. Need to aim left fairway. If you have the arm lefties may roll their disc in the pond, and righties could have the advantage by biting into the hill. The hole won me over by "where's the basket and what's behind the hedges"? As I gazed over the hedges as I walked up, it was a wow moment.

Trouble Hole:

No. 13 par 3 at 260 feet an open tee to a heavily wooded basket. At the 130-foot mark is a gapped dogleg right at a 45- degree angle. The gap is about 30 feet wide and covered with heavy trees and hanging branches, at that point the fairway drops. Run your disc too far and will head down hill to a small stream and on the way down brush. But you need to get as far down as you can for a good look at the basket. The basket sits as roller and has tree sentinels on the left and partial front. Need to be down slope at least the 230 mark and putting up slope for a good look within C1. The hole has potential double bogey. I was lucky and had branches slow my drive down and had a straight shot at the basket. As a lefty with those sentinels and looking at a roller to the right. I flopped putt and watched my putter still roll 20 feet down.





-

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Clarification of some of aredoubles remarks

5+    7/15/2019   7/15/2019
Review By: Jonathan K.
Played: 76  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: As the course designer, I am very hesitant to leave a review, but after reading some of the Cons by aredoubles, I wanted to clear up some of his concerns. I am posting 3.5 stars, the current review average, so as to not overly influence the average course rating.

1) The long walk that he refers to between 7 and 8 is just over 600 feet (all on a sidewalk, and a sign by 7's basket clearly explaining where to go). It is nowhere close to "across nearly the entire campus". There was no possible way to include a hole in this transition area.

2) The basket for 8 is near the road, but the entire fairway is well away from the road. It is a shorter hole as well, minimizing the chance of throws getting too wild.

3) Two pond holes do criss-cross, but both tee pads are within easy eyesight of each other so even on a super-crowded day this shouldn't be an issue. We consulted with several other players, but couldn't come up with any alternatives to the criss-cross.

4) 13's teepad is off to the left of 12's fairway. It could be an issue if someone throws a really sawed-off hyzer, but I haven't seen any throws end up over there.

5) The walkway mentioned on hole 14 is an elevated ramp 50 feet past the basket, on a 160 foot hole. I'm not aware of this having been a problem for anyone.

6) The low areas of Hole 16 drain very well, and even a day after heavy rains it is just fine thanks to the little streams that flow through. Just look out for the cypress knees. :-)

Even on normal, crowded school days, you shouldn't have any problems playing this course. Disc golf was actually one of the PE classes this past year, and the only issues were students losing discs in the ponds, not any of the other concerns mentioned below, and that was with very inexperienced players. Hopefully this clarifies some of the concerns left by aredoubles in his/her review.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tangled up in the middle

2-4    7/13/2019   7/13/2019
Review By: aredoubles
Played: 218  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2020
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Unexpectedly nice mix of holes, ranging from long open bombers, to surprisingly nice wooded holes with well-cleared fairways and fun shot-shaping lines.
- Absolutely fantastic tee signs, with beautiful and informative illustrations. Among the best you'll ever see on a disc golf course.
- Good quality MVP Black Hole baskets.
- For some of the longer hole-to-hole transitions, 'Next Tee' signs gave very helpful text descriptions (ex: follow the gravel path to the left, the next tee is next to the exercise station). I would've liked small graphics too, to give a visual description, since I wasn't familiar with some of the buildings described. Nevertheless, this was a very appreciated feature.
- Many holes will soon have two tees and/or two basket locations, adding to the variety of options here.
- I really liked the design of Hole 13, which tees off in the open, and requires throwing a RHBH turnover to hit a late window into the woods, where the basket is tucked (a RHFH probably wouldn't work, the angle into the gap is too shallow). This is a hole design that you usually see for straight shots and hyzers, not often for turnovers, so that was fun.
- Not sure if the college or if local disc golfers are maintaining the course, but whoever is responsible is doing a very nice job. The woods holes are shockingly clean for such a new course, and the open holes were all nicely mowed and pleasant.
Cons: I was really enjoying myself from holes 1-7, as the holes flowed nicely, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the wooded holes.
But suddenly then, getting to hole 8 required a long walk across nearly the entire campus, thus beginning a stretch of the course that felt like a real mess to me. Holes 8 through 12 suddenly bring roads and campus walkways directly into play, two holes have criss-crossing fairways, and a teepad is in the middle of another hole's fairway, all concerning safety issues to me. The rest of the course improves somewhat, but then 14 is another shot directly at a campus walkway, and then 18 almost shares 1's fairway, but in the opposite direction! I'm glad that I played this course on a weekend with an empty campus and empty course, because otherwise there are some big safety no-no's here that wrecked my enjoyment of the course.
- As mentioned above, the next tee signs give helpful text descriptions on where to go next, but course flow was still very iffy on the longer transitions. Bring the UDisc map.
- On several tees, you will be able to see multiple baskets in front of you. The excellent tee signs very helpfully show which baskets belong to which holes, but better hole layouts could have avoided this issue and improved safety at the same time.
- Two holes carry over water, and another features a basket sloping down to water. On most courses, water carries are distinctive and fun features. But given the small pond sizes and the shot shapes involved, these holes were not interesting, and not worth routing so much of a course towards.
- Hole 16 is quite beautiful, with a hallway of Cypress trees halfway down the fairway. However, those Cypress trees are also a key indicator that this hole could regularly be underwater or at least very wet. Probably fine in the dry summer, but potentially a hole that will need to be regularly skipped in certain seasons. My drive also landed on some old rusted metal hiding in the leaves in circle 2, which absolutely needs to be cleaned up.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed holes 1-7, and a few on the back as well. But the middle was a tangled mess of fairways and campus traffic, and I would never want to play this course during school hours on a weekday, or if the course were ever semi-crowded for any tournament. I'd give that section of the course a 1.0 rating, while the rest might be closer to a 3.5. Taking the average of that takes me to a 2 or a 2.5, and given the disparity involved, I think a 2 is closer to how I feel, which is unfortunate for the good sections here. If the middle section of the course were ever re-designed, I would absolutely look forward to re-visiting.

3 Jun 2020 - I did end up re-visiting while in the area, and my feelings on this course remain largely the same. No change to rating, small edits to review.
In the future, I will probably play this course as an 8- or 10-hole loop, to include holes 1-6, 17-18, and optionally 7 and 16 in-between them. That loop flows really nicely, and skips the back half of the course that I have most of my issues with. Frankly, if the course were just that loop, I would give it a far higher rating despite having fewer holes, as I enjoy those parts quite a bit. Those holes on the other side of the campus really do drag things down for me. I'll take a killer EP over an LP with too much filler, every single time.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course to play, Great Variety and it's not a swamp!

1    7/5/2019   7/7/2019
Review By: pmay5
Played: 259  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2019
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee signs, showing both the white and blue tees.
Really nice MVP Black Hole baskets, the yellow bands on them looked like DisCatchers from a distance, but these have 3 rings of chains!
Very good next tees signs where needed, and excellent walking instructions where REALLY needed. Since this course plays across a rather small college campus, there were a couple of long walks, but the next tee signs were very descriptive.
Great variety of holes, plus they end up back at the parking lot. This can be an issue for some campus courses, but not here.
Cons: The White tee pads were crushed gravel, in good shape, but not my favorites. Blue tees are natural surface.
No benches or trash cans on course, usually not an issue with such a flat course, but they can easily be added.
The wooded holes on the back nine are a little rough still, especially 13. Careful around the large downed tree, I about lost a shoe there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. Except for the short, High School course in town, this is the only course for 15 miles. And a really fun one to play.
The variety of holes ran in groups:
2 open - 4 wooded - 3 creekside, moderate
trees - 3 pondside - 4 wooded - 2 open .
They really mixed the variety of holes in well, so you aren't overwhelmed or bored with one type of hole for long.
After two open holes to warm up your arm, the next 4 are in the woods, which have been cleared very well, included sizeable fairways with no underbrush.
Longish walks to #7 and #8 to get to short, downhillers over a creekbed. #9 goes through old growth trees, to a deceptive basket position.
#10 and #11 both cross the same pond (in a X) to baskets set back a ways, fun little adrenaline boosts. Then #12 (by the near side door of Bldg #10) may be the prettiest hole, nice grass, bushes and trees bisect the fairway, then the basket is on a small slope leading down to a "hidden" pond.
The next 4 play near buildings and into thick woods that had been cleared for these holes. #16 is a another good one, elevated tee, large trees to avoid, basket on an upslope. The final two are back in the open to let em fly, with a few trees to avoid.
Exellent how the designers used unused parts of the campus to avoid conflicts. I can see that several holes could be soggy after rains, but everything was dry the day I was there.
With the gravel white tees and natural blue tees, I'm kind of torn between 3 and 3.5 rating. But thinking back about several things, nice grass on the open holes, tees pads close to the pond (to minimize the carry), variety of left and right holes, and overall hole variety, I'm going with a 3.5.
If the white tees are cemented and once the wooded holes get worn in (stumps, debris, etc) this could rise to a 4 in my book.
I'm sure the players in this area are glad they don't have to drive to Greenville any more for a quality course, they've got one in Washington, and its not a swamp!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Solid

1    5/10/2019   5/10/2019
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 330  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. Very well maintained, clean, clean, clean. Two tees per hole. Great signage. Good parking.
Other Thoughts: I played whites. The blues I noticed were a mix of a longer white and completely different lines. An intermediate player should score par or u set from whites while have a fun round in a beautiful space. Really used the available land well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/16/2019   4/24/2019
Review By: J Wallace
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. A couple bombers, a couple water holes that arent too scary, and some super fun ace runs. Very nice bridges that have recently been put up to help get you over the nasty spots. MVP black hole baskets but with a yellow top band (havent seen before) were really awesome.
Cons: a couple crossing fairways. Really shouldnt be an issue unless in tourney play. Even then its set up well enough that it can work out fine.
Other Thoughts: Excited about the future of this course. Once the wooded holes beat in a bit more its gonna be great.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  great course!

1    2/12/2019   2/12/2019
Review By: jddickens
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent course! Nice people and it's well cared for. that is pretty decent signage from hole to hole, and the signs at each hole give you a really good idea of the layout of it. Hazards are clearly marked.
Cons: in between a couple of holes is a long walk, but if you keep the map that is at the first hole on you it'll be easy to find the next few.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of everything

5+    12/22/2018   12/23/2018
Review By: Tater
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has a little bit of everything. Fun course with short, long, wooded, and open. Very good use of the land around a college campus.
Cons: Always a little soggy in the first couple of holes, but it gets better after that. Could use a couple more bridges throughout the course. Little stumps will get ya.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, beginner friendly. Look forward to seeing it grow up!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.