Libertyville, IL 
Adler Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 392ft.   4 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Fun for all levels

5+    6/5/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course makes great use of the available space for the layout. Even though a large portion of the park is taken up by a pool and some playground equipment, there is enough space to fit in 9 quality holes.
- Some pretty good elevation changes on 3 or 4 of the holes. Mostly downhill shots, with one that goes from hilltop to hilltop. The last hole has a path and a creek past the basket, so the downslope becomes that much more significant.
- Excellent use of forest and trees to make most holes very interesting. #1's basket is guarded by a large patch of forest, very difficult to park a drive by the hole. #2 is a straight/right shot and #3 is a straight/left shot through wide tree-lined fairways. #4 is a short tree-littered hole, while #5 and #6 are a little more open with bigger trees. #7 has a number of trees protecting most lines to the basket. Great variety of wooded holes.
- Holes have decent length overall, with 4 over 300'. Combined with the various obstacles, a very good shot is needed to deuce some holes. Only a couple that are short and open, some elevation on these instead.
- Some water can be in play on #4, but is really just a small run-off ditch.
- Good tees, baskets, and signs.
Cons: - Park is used by a lot of people for a lot of different things. Personally, I have never had a problem with people getting in the way, but it would be very easy. Also, you have to deal with the entrance road on a few holes, and the feeling by Milwaukee Avenue is the opposite of seclusion.
- The last two holes can seem very short and very easy, especially after the first seven. They feel sort of tacked on to the rest of the course, and don't do much to leave you with a good feeling on the way out.
- Long uphill walk back to the car after #9, would make a great upshot hole if other park equipment wasn't already there.
Other Thoughts: - This is a great 9-hole course for people to experience some woods and hills without leaving the northern suburbs. Great use of the forest, there are some decent challenges here. Overall, the course is not extremely difficult, but still very enjoyable. I think it is appropriate for all players, from beginners to people who have been around the block a few times.
- I wish I had the chance to play here when there were still 18 holes. I feel the last two holes really suffer because of the shared land, since there is nowhere else to put them. Still, the course does a great job with what it has and has a high replay factor in my book.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course

5+    6/6/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: chestdisc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Great park location
- There are a variation of holes from easy to hard
- Good mix of terrain
- Good course for moderate players
- Nice people
- Good neighborhood
- Nice long fairway on hole seven and nine
- All concrete tee boxes
- Usually not crowded
Cons: - Can be muddy in certain areas if wet
- Some tees are hard to find
- Easy to lose discs on hole nine
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a relaxing game here do not go on Tuesday nights because those are league nights.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better Northeastern Illinois Courses

5+    4/29/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Verrice
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of great variety in this course. Very few of the holes are repetitive, and there is no strong favor of RHBH throughout.

While most of the course is fairly short, it is a fun course to play. It is easy to have a disc go errant, and when you do, you are often punished accordingly. ;-)

Of most of the courses in the area, this one has the best variety and fun, in my opinion. Several of the holes have multiple ways to be played. Holes 5, 6, open up a bit, and 7 is wide open and you can let them rip.

Nice, full-size, concrete tees, and signage. The course map has had graffiti on it for at least a year. Not sure if it's been cleaned and re-tagged, or if it's been the same all along.

The park itself is very nice, well maintained, and has plenty of parking and shade.
Cons: Crowded... for this park, it's a big con all around. There are often lots of disc golfers about, and many of them are not considerate of other players. While I've met several people who are great, there are enough at this park to make it really stand out.

The other issue with being crowded is that it is a multi-use park, and in some cases holes may be unplayable due to people on the course. Hole 7 especially has this issue. I've had people walking with their dogs and children go right through fairways without even a clue there's anything going on. This can be very frustrating, or even dangerous.

Hole 4 can get quite muddy, especially after recent rain. I know a lot don't like the number of trees on 4, but it's definitely playable, just gotta watch out for the creek, and mud. ;-)
Other Thoughts: If this course was closer to home for me or much less crowded, I would play it more often. As it is, it is probably my second most frequently played course behind Central Park (due mostly to proximity).

It's a great course in design, and definitely worth playing. From a course perspective it's one of the better courses I've played in Northeastern Illinois.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Longstanding classic

5+    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety holes, some deep woods, others in open fields
- Variety of shots needed to play a successful round.
- Good use of terrain to make fun and interesting hole layouts.
- Good length variation
- Fairways were well groomed.
- Decent/good elevation changes.
- Memorable holes (#2, #3, #9)
- Generous par
- Sufficient concrete tee pads.
- Tee signs with par, distance and a picture.
- Large sign with a map at the first tee.
- Bathrooms are sometimes open.
Cons: - The baskets are rather old and could be updated.
- Long walks between holes (look at the map before hole one before playing.)
- Can get very sloppy when it rains.
- Lots of traffic, tends to be a lot of newer players lately.
- The river on hole #9 can eat discs if you over drive it.
Other Thoughts: Adler is an older yet fantastic course. It was the first course I ever played disc golf on. It used to be an 18 hole course, but was redone to accommodate the pool complex from what I have heard. With the current set up there are some long walks between holes. Personally I think they have enough room to put in a few more holes. It is debateably the most challenging courses in Northern Illinois and has some memorable holes. Especially #2 and #3 which play through majestic corridors of mature trees. I have to drive 30 minutes to get to this course, yet return many times a year. Maybe not a course to plan a road trip around, but definitely a course to hit on the way. I would even drive a couple hours to experience it once.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Better Than Most

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Massasauga
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees are a nice touch
-Everything was in great working order
-People playing are very friendly
-Challenging but reasonable wooded shots
-7th and 9th holes are very fun and open holes to play
Cons: -Very muddy on a rainy day
-Not too many open fairways
-A lot of woods

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole!

1    5/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 312  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Skilled shots are required
-pretty nice flow
-nice park all around
-nice mix of shots crunched in one small 9 hole
Cons: -People
-People
-People
I understand Disc Golf is an upcoming sport that everybody wants to play but come on PEOPLE! 10 person groups!?!? Everybody throwing 3 and 4 discs per person!?!? Dude.... Sometimes I wish people would just be aware that there are other people out there that wanna play too and your causing a DISC GOLF TRAFFIC JAM!!! ok, I'm done bitching...
Other Thoughts: I totally liked the course! Just the huge groups are just a good reason I'm not going to regularly play this course. Sorry!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/27/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: jared21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the best 9 hole courses in northern Illinois, challenging and makes you play a variety of shots.
Cons: Could have a few longer holes or just more holes period like I have heard it did in the 90's. Busy almost everyday during the summer but still worth it.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/15/2009   4/16/2010
Review By: naturenut
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots, with long shots through trees and wide open field shotsfields. There are elevation changes on several holes. Adler is a very well maintained park. It is fairly easy to navigate, just watch the walk from 3 to 4, which is just down the hill along the tress, 6 to 7, which is just straight along the path, and 7 to 8 is past the baseball field and through the woods. It is well marked and there are always others . Holes are not repetitive. An absolute great course. All holes playable, and a challenging course for a beginner.
Cons: Parts of the course are flood basins and will flood over when it rains. The entire end of the ninth hole can be submerged after significant rain. Bugs can be bad in summer. Careful of the park district summer camps that can take up several holes in the summr as well. Often time hole 2 and sometimes hole 3 have to be skipped entirely due to camps taking up the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Every hole can be shot in 2. I have seen a lot of reviews complaining about hole 4, and it is entirely throwable, just keep the disc low and there are several lines to choose from. Just watch the weather before you go, if it has been raining, it will be muddy. There are always other players on the course, so if you get lost, ask one, most of us are locals who are more then happy to help.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix of fun

5+    10/2/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a fun course with a lot to like. This course is a bit longer than most others in the area. Good variety of holes. Open fields to heavily wooded tunnels. 1 is a bit tricky as an opener... basket is dog leg to the left behind trees. 2 and 3 are tunnel shots in the woods of some distance. 4 again hooks left in woodsiness. 5 had lotsof tree choices. Ditto, but somewhat less for 6. 7 is a long open shot to a basket in the trees and a bit down hill for a great place to grip and rip. 8 and 9 are much morelike many other local mid length, open baskte holes in this area. On a damp morining there were no crowds to worry about. Tee signs are good and tee pads are all smooth, nice concrete.
Cons: Course was a bit muddy after rain. Had I not met up with a local regular and played my first round here with him I would have had no idea where to go from 7 to 8 or from 4 to 5. Use your cell phone camera to snap a shot of the course board at the start to follow it. During summer the campers are everywhere... depending on their activities they can be in your way (or are you in theirs?).
Other Thoughts: I could play 5, 9 times and call it a course... every time picking a different approach to the basket. How many holes can you say that about. The many trees and options would make for a lot of fun. Come to think of it... I will try this on my next visit. 7 seems to get shorter every time I play it... I throw better... the long down hill helps here. 1 could be a great ace hole if the basket were in the clear... 4 is just tree pinball... but fun. I have played her many more times since my earlier review. Like this place a lot... Just do not care for hole #1... just a waste... move the basket for a natural RHBH chance at a lofted ace... and I would play this hole 9 times in a row... 2 and 3 make for a pair of annie and hyzer twins in the tree tunnel that is fun... likely 2 is the sig hole for this course. 4 is frequently muddy, but still good fun... throw annie to move inward from the stream... then lay up from there for an easy putt. I got a 3 on 7 the other day... I am driving farther every time I T off on 7 and will get a 2 on this hole some day. 8 and 9 seem a bit lame... maybe move the basket on 8 to a big annie towards the river... and move 9... somewhere...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Popular 9 Hole Course

5+    8/20/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: beamrider
Played: 129  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything at Adler. Elevated tees on holes 1 and 9, tunnel fairways on 2 and 3, dense woods on 4, trees to navigate on 5 and 6, and a long open hole on 7.

Beautiful park setting. Most of the disc golf scenes from the comedy movie "Clubless" (2008) were filmed at Adler.
Cons: Summer days can be overrun by "day campers", sometimes taking over the fairway on hole 7.

Too crowded most of the time (very popular course).

Can be very muddy in many spots in the spring.

Close to a very busy 4 lane highway on hole 5.
Other Thoughts: One of the best 9 hole courses I've played. Adler is worth the trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.