Paw Paw, WV 
The Woodshed Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #1 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 494ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Plays to the left, around a pond positioned in front of the trees


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 Worth the drive

2-4    9/1/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 101  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.4 Years
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenery - The course is located in the WV mountains on a beautiful tract of land with big views on many holes. The piece of land is gorgeous - rolling hills, steep ravines, thick woods & open areas. When I visited the grass was in two cuts: long & full of wildflowers and short around the fairways & greens

Challenge - The woodshed will test players of all abilities, especially those that can throw less than 500'. Mix of long bomber holes & super tight technical wooded holes

Upkeep - the land is in phenomenal condition and the hard work put into these courses is evident by the lack of underbrush & the great condition of the course

Character - this place is amazing - having two world class courses on the same tract, the barn/music venue, a pond to swim in/lose discs in, and killer camping spots

Not a par 3 course - there are legit par 4's and par 5's -- a score in the 60's is good and in the 50's is great

On private land!!!

Some awesome holes - #1, #10, #13 are all great
Cons: Far from anywhere, which becomes a pro once you've arrived

Not beginner friendly - as noted in the other reviews, this is a long & tough course & doesn't have shorter teepad options (on most holes)

Fairway trees: Holes 3 (gauntlet) & 6 have little/no fairway. The saying I heard several times was: "not saying it's fair, but there's a way"....this holds true for more holes on the whipping post, but definitely true on these holes. Get your forehand roller ready!


Other Thoughts: Woodshed is more open than the whipping post & caters more to big arms, with several two-able holes if you can throw 450'+.

Both courses are phenomenal & the setting just adds to the experience. These are definitely two of my favorites that I recommend to everyone. The courses are tough and can be mentally taxing - they can really beat you up - but at the end of the day when you wind down in a beautiful campsite & look up at the stars, the beauty of the place becomes more evident



22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course in Every Way

5+    6/20/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: t i m
Played: 251  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
24 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: PawPaw is a place that is much more than just the sum of its parts and is my favorite place in the country to spend a weekend playing disc golf.

Both The Woodshed and The Whipping Post are awesome, but what is even better is having both courses side by side. And having a hill from which you can sit, surrounded by WV mountains, looking down over some of the pivotal and most beautiful holes on both courses makes this an unparalleled place to both watch and play disc golf.

Spencer and Gabi are two of the most generous and welcoming people I know of, and it has been a labor of love on their part -- and on the part of many dedicated volunteers -- to make these courses what they are and to keep them maintained for play.

The Woodshed will eat you alive and challenge your mental game to the limit. It's a course with an SSA of 63-64 strokes, and you'll need every one of them. The course is a great mix of open holes and nasty woods holes, with many true par 4s and tons of great elevation changes.

And one of the perks of the course is that every hole has a name and every hole has a history. Play through with a local or someone who's been there since the beginning and they'll tell you more stories than your brain can hold.

The camping opportunities at PawPaw are awesome -- lots of barefoot grass and flat places to pitch a tent. A clean pond for swimming. Enclosed areas for fires.

And if you go out for a tournament weekend, expect a late night of live music in the barn and some of the most beautiful stars you'll see anywhere in the country. The Milky Way is blinding out there in those West Virginia mountains.
Cons: The only cons are that PawPaw is out of the way. But that's part of what makes is so wonderful -- the solitude and the true escape from urban/suburban life. So that's not really a con so much as it is the price you have to pay for solitude. Just make sure to bring everything you need with you for a weekend of camping, because you aren't going to want to leave and it's a bit of a drive even to the nearest convenience store.

The biggest con is having to leave the course after a weekend and return back to regular life. At a course like this, you wish you could stay forever.
Other Thoughts: I saw John's comments on the gauntlet and have to disagree with him about all the rollers. Yes, I've seen a lot of people throw the roller, but the best shots I've seen on the hole have consistently been from people throwing long, neutral drivers (usually TLs) off the box RHBH and lacing up the fairway. There is a fairway on the gauntlet -- it's just not a very big one. But I've played through the course with enough top players by this point to believe that the Gauntlet isn't just luck -- it just requires a great amount of precision and a couple of practice rounds to get a feel for the layout.

24 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 It's Just A Matter Of Preference

7/7/2003   3/12/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
26 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic West Virginia countryside.
A perfect piece of land for a course.
Awesome host and hostess-Spencer & Gabby.
On sight camping available.
Has hills and water hazards.
Three par 5's.
Six par 4's.
7675 total feet of disc golf course.
Will challenge top pros.
Combination of wooded versus open fields holes.

Cons: Paw Paw is a very long way from anywhere.
Tight wooded fairways are tough on the average player.
The ravines off the fairways are tougher on the average player.
The open field par 3's are long.
Three par 5's.
Six par 4's.
7675 total feet of disc golf course.

Other Thoughts: As the review title states, I have a very slight preference for the Whipping Post course. As mentioned in that review, I think the two courses here at Paw Paw are similiar in so many ways to the two Circle R courses in Texas. Both are privately owned by wonderful hosts. Both are ungodly long and difficult! Both will challenge the biggest arms. If you enjoyed Paw Paw, then by all means, make a road trip to the Texas hill country. LEGAL NOTICE: I received no financial consideration of any kind from the Circle R Ranch folks for these plugs.

26 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 I'm a Whipping Post kinda guy

8/11/2007   3/6/2008
Review By: John Merhi
Played: 48  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 29.4 Years
6 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Your host and hostess. All the other pros I mentioned in my Whipping Post review.
Cons: The Gauntlet. Every time I play it, it's the same thing. Five guys step up to the tee, 5 guys throw a two finger roller. 5 guys walk to their lie, pick up, and throw another two finger roller. All 5 then walk to their lie again, and at least 4 of the 5 throw a two-finger roller. Sorry, but I rank this hole 36 out of 36.
Other Thoughts: You're in heaven here. My silliness about not liking the Gauntlet is MEANINGLESS in the overall picture that is Paw Paw. Welcome to Heaven. Look for me on the Whipping Post. I like it better than the Woodshed. Similar to liking a Lamborghini over a Ferrari.

6 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 God's Country

3/1/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 38.6 Years
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Every time I drive to this course I start smiling before I get there. Any top player who has not played Paw Paw should put it at the top of their playlist. Rolling hills, brutal woods, wickedly narrow fairways, thirsty ponds...Wap Wap has it all! Some complain about the lack of "fairways" or the elevated sense of luck, but I agree with Spencer...trees are easy to take out, but hard to put back.
Cons: It takes me a full day to get there from San Diego.
Other Thoughts: I had the privilege of playing DeLaveaga in the afternoon, catching a red-eye into Baltimore, then driving to Paw Paw to finish off my favorite 24 hours of golf ever.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Paw Paw Rules

8/20/2006   2/11/2008
Review By: matt30556
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.4 Years
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: As the review title says, Paw Paw RULES!! The absolute best courses (The Woodshed and The Whipping Post) I have ever played. The holes are geared to big arm guys but once you get in the woods the controlled shots will take over evening up the competition.
Cons: The only con is the location, it's a climb up the mountain and will work out the best of the vehicles 4WD or not.....
Other Thoughts: Spence and Gabby are the best hosts ever, get out and enjoy the golf, the camping, the hospitality and the all around best disc golf experience you will ever have.... hands down.

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't Get Better Than This

6/23/2007   6/27/2007
Review By: chiggins
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An amazing course that will drop your jaw over and over again. On many of the holes, 4's, 5's, and 6's are solid accomplishments, and 2's are incredibly hard to come by (don't bother looking for aces on these courses).

The holes through the woods are long and narrow, several going over multiple hills, with long steep ravines threatening a couple hundred feet of uphill comeback on errant shots. The holes going out over the meadows are long (really long), uphill, downhill, and often both. The water holes are designed to tempt big arms into making the big shot, and the OB's are easy enough to stay out of (Circles excepted), but easy enough to cross into on big drives.
Cons: Paw Paw, WV is not the most convenient location to reach for most folks, but it is worth the trip. Also wanna watch out for bears and snakes, it is the mountains.
Other Thoughts:
These courses are easily the most challenging I've ever played, rank as two of the prettiest, and inspire both deep love and frightening memories.

The Thurmans have also cleared some areas for tent camping, and are the bestest, hostiest folks you'd ever wanna meet.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.