Hillsville, VA 
Carroll County DGC Share
Uploaded By: sidewinder22 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2018)
2 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
No Carrolling Here

1    5/24/2020   6/8/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 641  Reviewed: 265  Exp: 27.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carroll County DGC is a 9 hole park style course literally right off of I-77 . The course starts close to the caretaker's house about 300 yards down the long driveway . I parked my car closer to the entrance in a beat up cement lot close to where you finish this disaster .There is a mailbox close to hole #1 with scorecards in it . The first tee is cement , then the rest of the tee pads are natural . There is no real signage here . The tee pads are marked with 2 bricks , one saying Hole , the other having the hole number . The baskets are the flimsy orange style , single chained that don't hold a putt well . The course is wide open . There is a tee flanking the right of the basket on hole #1 , and a metal barn straight in front of you on #7 , but other than that no obstructions to speak of .The grounds looked like it hadn't been mowed in a while , the grass well over my ankles . If you like wind , this course looks like the wind will be a factor most days .#6 might be the least of the worst of this course , being a drive over a creek into a large green . You have to cross the creek by walking way past the green and coming back . This is the only course within about 20 miles of anywhere else . Disc Risk is minimal . You can fish anything thrown in the creek out , and other than some foliage to the left of hole 6 , and throwing it up on the maintenance barn roof, you shouldn't have to look for your disc . I am trying to come up with positive things to say about this course , but I am at a loss .
Cons: Pick A Con , Any Con ,,,,,
#1 Navigation : hole 1 is clearly one of the only 2 holes on this course worth playing . It has a cement tee , throws up on a plateau with a set of the only trees on the whole course close to the basket . There is a place where I stood to get my bearings after parking , where I could see all 9 baskets in this course . After #1 , you have to play Where's Waldo and look for the bricks , especially if they are hidden in high grass . The course kind of runs clockwise around the front yard of the park , moving close to the front , then making a right turn and sliding to the left of the creek , which really only comes into play on one hole ( 6 ) . I couldn't find the bricks for 8 , and #9 pointed me to nowhere , so I safaried the last 2 holes .
#2 Safety . The safety isn't horrible here , but worth mentioning . There is a walking path that winds back around some of the back holes . Also there is a blind shot that wraps around a utility barn that I could see a maintenance worker of kid get hit on the other side . Please be considerate .
#3 Equipment . These bricks to mark the tee are worse than toe boards , which I also don't like . At least if you are going to have natural tees , make them dirt so people will know where to throw from and in which direction . The baskets are flimsy and cheap . No next tee signs to get you to the next bricks .
#4 There was a big construction rut somewhere near where you tee off on #8 . It looks like an abandoned project ( much like this course ) . The course wasn't very clean when I was there . There was no map , no kiosk , no garbage can ( take out what trash you take in , but don't accidentally throw away the baskets ) .
Other Thoughts: I really am all for the promotion of disc golf . Carroll County can fill the void by having the only course in the whole county , but it falls way short . I don't want a course to dissuade those newbies and make them think that this course is the norm and not the exception . I guess you can safari the course , but most of it is so wide open that it leaves little to the imagination . It looks like the park has more land on the sides and in the back ( even some woods ) , but I guess that they can keep an eye on the course and keep it a little more safe by having it in the front yard of the park . The park rolls some , but not a lot of elevation here . The course lacks anything to make it look appealing to the eye .
My Recommendation . Nobody more than a newbie or local living right down the road is going to touch this course . That being said , it is a leg stretcher for someone travelling from/to North Carolina to stop and throw a few holes , or course bag and easy one . Other than that , if driving north , wait til you get up to Randolph Park or Princeton City Park ,or driving south , Maybe the Vineyards .

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Carroll County DGC

2-4    9/6/2019   9/7/2019
Review By: dndelli
Played: 55  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carroll County DGC is a short, 9 hole course that is set in a small park right off of I-77. I decided to stop in for a quick round on my way to WV to check it out. There was a stocked box of scorecards at the first tee. The scorecard has a color map that should help with potential navigation issues, as well as lists viral hole information such as Par and distance.

The grass seemed like it was being mowed regularly, and even the "rough grass" was being kept in check. At most it was probably a foot tall. There is a bench by Hole 6's tee, and a couple of picnic tables scattered about.

The tees are marked with two stone pavers and each basket had a numbered flag on top that helps orient the direction you need to throw. Some holes even had arrow signs in the middle of the"fairway", pointing you towards the intended basket.

The park doesn't really have much in the way of obstacles, and only really has a small amount of elevation to play with, but the course does utilize these features decently well. There is a small creek that is thrown over a couple of times, that makes for a couple interesting holes. I was happy there was a bridge to help cross the creek. Hole 7 played around what appeared to be a maintenance shed, which creates an interesting and challenging tough shot.

The course is a great place for beginners to learn the ropes. Most of the holes aren't very long. In fact I was able to reach the putting greens on almost every hole by standstill throwing my midrange or putters off of the tee. However, the last set of holes do offer you the chance to air out a driver, which was what I desperately had been wanting to do as I navigated the field this course is set in. For most players the Par 4s are gonna feel like tweeners at best, but considering the course's intended audience the Par felt fine. At worst I had tap in birdies on those holes.

The course seemed empty enough and had enough interesting basket placements, that locals who aren't beginners could probably create their own layout. I really wanted to throw from the top of the hill, down to Hole 6's basket, but unfortunately, the sun was setting.
Cons: Navigation at this course has the potential to be a bit rough. I parked my car in a lot that was right next to Hole 4, so I just started my round there since I couldn't tell which direction Hole 1 was. This meant I didn't get my scorecard/map until I was near the end of my round. Even with a few signs pointing me towards the next tee, I struggled to find them at times. I probably spent more time looking for Hole 9's tee (which was not level) than I did playing the rest of the round. The map would have helped some, but probably wouldn't have solved the issue entirely. They've already got the signs directing fairways around the course, so they're not opposed to signs - so I think they should consider installing some nice tee signs that include par and distance, in case the box of scorecards ever runs out. Plus if they put maps on said tee signs, they could create/indicate OBs that felt like they should have existed anyway. The walking paths and beyond could be OB, the tall rough grass could be OB, and Hole 6 could play as an island green. Doing even just this, the course would feel more like a round of golf and less like just throwing in a field.

The baskets that are used are nothing to write home about. Even for single chained baskets, these things felt really squirrelly when you were putting. Still a bit bummed I splashed out of Hole 8, costing me an Eagle. Many of the baskets were also leaning heavily.

Construction (or something) around the tee to hole 8 made it to where I couldn't actually find the pavers on either round. So I just used pictures from DGCR to play as close to the right tee location as I could. I ended up doing the same thing to help me locate hole 9's tee.

The course plays really close to a walking path at times, which could become frustrating on a day the park was busy. Luckily it never became an issue for me. People seemed to respect the fact that I was chucking plastic out.

When I was there, the grass was mowed and the course looked decent, but there was litter everywhere. It was very disappointing to see, but I didn't notice a single trash bin while I was out there.
Other Thoughts: There is more to Carroll County DGC than meets the eye. With a few changes, this course would actually get a decent rating from me. But for the time being I am giving it a1.0 because it falls short on a lot of course basics (tees, navigation, baskets etc. A small makeover and this course could warrant a slightly higher score from me. But to score decently higher, there's probably need to be a few tweaks to the course tohelp differentiate the holes; something along the lines of OB implemented. Plus I'd personally love to see Hole 6's tee moved back 30-50 feet and/or for it to play as an island green. If the OB were implemented well, the course could offer more for intermediate players.

All in all, I could see myself stopping here again when I'm traveling along I-77, since you can almost throw a disc to the interstate from the course, but I likely wouldn't go out of my way to return (unless the course was tweaked/improved).

Favorite Holes: 6 & 8

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2018   5/1/2019
Review By: Qikly
Played: 155  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carroll County's course is relatively accessible off the main highway and provides a quick play through for a nice chance to stretch your legs and chuck some discs. The grass seems to be well-mowed and rough is otherwise minimized.
Cons: The course plays across a more or less entirely open field, with little to differentiate most holes from sheer unbridled chucking. A storage shed comes into play at one point. The baskets are a single layer of chains and not particularly good.

The tees are yellow bricks laid into the ground and can be very hard to find, with little else in the way of lines or obstacles helping you discern where a hole should start.

The modest elevation present hardly comes into play if at all.
Other Thoughts: This course teeters on the edge of being such, and is scarcely more than baskets in a field. The land can hardly accommodate a real course without even modest obstacles, and the design does little to fight this fact. It would be hard to even safari here in a meaningful way, and the baskets make for poor putting practice. Worth bagging or as a chance to stretch your legs, but not much else.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Openville

1    7/20/2018   7/25/2018
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 222  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park course consisting of 9 mostly wide open holes with blocks in ground marking the tees, and arrows pointing to the single chain baskets. Next tees are relatively close to baskets so navigation is very easy and quick to play.

Good variety of distance and use of available elevation and creek coming into play as well as the maintenance building. Great course for rank beginners. Bridges to cross the creek. Grass was freshly mowed. Very little chance to lose your disc.
Cons: Baskets aren't of the best quality. Never seen a basket using carabiners to hold the chains, and the carabiners were all worn out and hanging open, and could potentially damage discs, but still holding the chains well enough.

Natural tees although they were flat enough and work ok. No real tee signs. Mostly flat and wide open, so there is not a whole lot of challenge. I nailed the door on the maintenance building on hole 7 which is probably the most challenging hole. There is some drainage issue on hole 8 and was a bit muddy.
Other Thoughts: I was staying in the hotel across the street and happened to notice some baskets when I was leaving and decided I had to play it since it was literally right there. It was enjoyable enough and certainly convenient. If you happen to be staying in any of the HIllsville hotels the course is really close to all of them and about as easy a course to bag as possible.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Fun

1    7/20/2018   7/22/2018
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 886  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 37.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Stocked scorecard box at first tee.
Easy to navigate.
Arrow signs in ground about 50 feet off of each tee to indicate basket to throw to.
Large hole# flags on the top of each basket.
Well groomed fairways.
Cons: No hole distances on the side by side paving stones marking the natural grass tee.
The Catch21 baskets have cheap attaching links, many of which no longer close, although they do still hold the chains in place.
Other Thoughts: There are very few obstacles, but elevation is used well. Tees are fairly close to the previous basket and are easy to locate. Not a lot of challenge, but It was a quick, fun round.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.